BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Student Adventure Travel, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Student Adventure Travel, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Student Adventure Travel, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 21, 1999 Business started: 07/11/1985 Business started locally: 07/11/1985
Business Management
Kirk Riley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Kirk Riley, President
Business Category

Tours - Operators & Promoters Travel Agencies & Bureaus


Additional Locations

  • 205 W 3rd St

    Dallas City, IL 62330 (800) 328-7513

  • PO Box 504

    Dallas City, IL 62330

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the Senior Advisor for the Empire High School Class of 2016 who booked a senior trip event through this company. We placed an $1800 deposit knowing that we may or may not have enough students sign up for the trip. Unfortunately we did not get enough interest and had to cancel the trip. **** ***** stated that I agreed to a non refundable deposit, however I would have never agreed to that nor signed anything stating that as these are student raised funds. This group of kids does fund raising throughout the 4 years they are here to use towards their senior year events. **** did offer to allow a future senior class group to use the $1800 as a credit, but I honestly would never recommend this company for future trips due to his lack of communication. I have emailed and called him several times with no response back. Additionally since this class of 2016 raised the money, it would not be the future classes funds to use. At the end of the day we did not receive a service from this company at all.

Desired Settlement: We would like all of our deposit back as a service was not provided by this company or I need documentation from each company that he claims he paid money to account for the $1800 deposit.

Business Response:

Attention to BBB Arbitrator.                                #********

Please allow this letter to introduce myself ; **** ***** Senior Trip Planner and currently COO of Student Adventure Travel. We specialize in young adult student travel, typically between 15 and 18 years of age. This is our 31st year in business and I have been with company since it was started..  We offer a range of product from student volunteer services in 3rd world countries- packaged as service, volunteer and leadership to the fun fun fun of a high energy & creative graduation trips for the senior classes to 26 US Resort Areas from White Water Rafting to Beach Volleyball – we are fast approaching our 20th year with BBB

 Now in response to Consumer Complaint #********---  In 2014 and in 2015, we were fortunate enough to work with ****** **** ****** in the **** ****** ******** of AZ. Both those programs were highly successful for an inexpensive Southern California Trip, and we entered into a 3rd year with the 2016 program, stretching ourselves but basically “price matching” for the 3rd straight year for the school’s benefit.  Ms ***** ***** and Ms **** ***** were years #1 and #2 group leaders/teachers respectively. 

Ms ***** ***** took over for 2016, an assistant to the Vice Principal.  Things started operating a little differently for this 2016 package with Ms *****. We would send communication, then it would be lost and we would send again, we sent our main Student/Patent Information Flyer  and TPA 6 times in 7 months.  I have 44 documented e-mails back and forth at her first e-mail address.

NOW!!  In Ms ***** complaint to my STL BBB office, she states I dropped communications- Well 44 email chain from ******@vail.k12.az.us and EVERY ONE answered???    53 tracked telephone calls to **** ****** ******** this season!!!

Then 5 new e-mails from April 1st originating under a new NEVER USED BEFORE e-mail   ******@vailschooldistrict.org that went undetected until a series of angry calls from her on my answering machine alerted me to this communication problem, which I think was created by her change in e-mail abruptly.  So when I got these messages, I was then and still am today out of the office on assignment; hooked up to slow rural wifi, trying to research and meet Ms. *****’s expectations. I am leaving my packaged students and business interns here two weeks early after finding a replacement for me yesterday, to fly back and see what else I can uncover for this BBB arbitration.      

 

     First and Foremost!! Thank you BBB, for giving me the opportunity to explain Student Adventure Travels’ (SAT)  terms and conditions or (TPA) Tour Participant Agreement, that Ms ***** / ****** **** ****** questions in her communication form, plus her statement of not knowing that the deposit was non-refundable..

.    SAT’s TPA for our young adult student travel product was developed in 2003.  Prior to USA’s 9/11 Terrorism strike; the airline, motor coach, lodging and travel packaging industry was much more non-cha-lant.  Booking policies were not standardized which led to much- much more fraud pre 9/11.   So in 2001 and 2002- SAT as most travel & transportation companies sought out and developed relationships with Transportation –Travel – DOT- FAA  - Hospitality & Entertainment Law Firms to give us guidelines and policies for bookings of packages and specifically group packages.   Of course group packaging has many more pricing dynamics then individual reservations and most subsequently require  “Non- Refundable” designation to work. 

First I would like to address several things regarding this statement that Ms ***** ***** was unaware that the $1,800 she talks about (Actually they only sent $1,300 Check #3308 **** ****** ********.20) was non-refundable

 

 She was sent letters – Plus The Parent /Student Information Flyer (TPAs) repeatedly at her request on:  These complete correspondences are on file in our office and can be forwarded to you! 

July 27   from ****** – These all had an excerpts about the Payments and Booking Policies.  TPA’s (at Bottom of Parent/Student Info Flyer) listed in two different places that this deposit is “Non-Refund able” in (2x) Bold and also Underlined to call attention to these details       It States:  All Payments Are Non-Refundable, events happen rain or shine,  name changes allowed for substitutions up until 7 days before trip departure on non-air or non-cruise programs only. Prices for all transportation methods used   then  Paying deposit signifies that you and all parties concerned have read & understand these rules, regulations &  payment policies thoroughly.

July 27 Continued from Above   Letter - Writes in Center of 1st Page      ATTN:    Parent/Student/Sponsor Travel Committees It is important that all sponsors and student leaders read entire content of this communication regarding group movement of students   

July 31   from ****** TPA’s (at Bottom of Parent/Student Info Flyer) listed in two different places that this deposit is “Non-Refund able” in 2xBold and also Underlined to call attention to these It States: All Payments Are Non-Refundable, events happen rain or shine, name changes allowed for substitutions up until 7 days before trip departure on non-air or non-cruise programs only. Prices for all transportation methods used then Paying deposit signifies that you and all parties concerned have read & understand these rules, regulations &  payment policies thoroughly.

 

Aug 3     from **** – An Invoice

Aug 10  from ****  TPA’s (at Bottom of Parent/Student Info Flyer) listed in two different places  that this deposit is “Non-Refund able” in 2xBold and also Underlined to call attention to these It States : All Payments Are Non-Refundable, events happen rain or shine,  name changes allowed for substitutions up until 7 days before trip departure on non-air or non-cruise programs only. Prices for all transportation methods used  then  Paying deposit signifies that you and all parties concerned have read & understand these rules, regulations &  payment policies thoroughly.

Aug 14 from ******* PLUS She states in e-mail     “ READ ALL Print for Your knowledge toward leadership/ sharing to your young adult travelers and THEIR parents, too!!   ATTN. MS *****  The payment dates on your student/parent info flyer are 3 days prior to invoice dates-hope this helps and does not cause you any confusion.”

Then in attached Aug 14th  Letter  ******* Writes in Center of 1st Page      ATTN:    Parent/Student/Sponsor Travel Committees It is important that all sponsors and student leaders read entire content of this letter regarding group movement of students

 

Oct 7  from ****   TPA’s (at Bottom of Parent/Student Info Flyer) listed in two different places  that this deposit is “Non-Refund able” in 2xBold and also Underlined to call attention to these It States: All Payments Are Non-Refundable, events happen rain or shine,  name changes allowed for substitutions up until 7 days before trip departure on non-air or non-cruise programs only. Prices for all transportation methods used  then   Paying deposit signifies that you and all parties concerned have read & understand these rules, regulations &  payment policies thoroughly.

Feb 1     from **** TPA TPA’s (at Bottom of Parent/Student Info Flyer) listed in two different places that this deposit is “Non-Refund able” in 2xBold and also Underlined to call attention to these It States:  All Payments Are Non-Refundable, events happen rain or shine, name changes allowed for substitutions up until 7 days before trip departure on non-air or non-cruise programs only. Prices for all transportation methods used  then  Paying deposit signifies that you and all parties concerned have read & understand these rules, regulations &  payment policies thoroughly.

 

PLUS!!! Each of us that do sales /verbal communication with our teachers, principals and PTA Directors are required to do a check list, which covers

1. Describing non-re fundable trip deposits, 

2. Describing Empty Seat Costs on the coach (Prices broke down by 52 paid passengers per coach)

3. Describing Empty Pillow Costs (Pricing typically at Quad Occupancy)

4. Rooming List Requirements and FREE Name Change Deadlines

5. Special Need Requests – Mobility – Diet – etc.  & Deadline of Notification

6. Development of Traffic Flows and Emergency Contact Numbers

 

So Teachers, Principles, Administrators, PTA Board Members etc.  are explained in great detail both in writing and verbally.    This list was checked completely and gone thru with Ms ***** on Thursday July 28th 2016

 

  For Example let’s describe  an empty seat on a group motor coach!  (Above #2) >>>>  A shipping container , an airline seat, a sea container , a motor coach seat,  a guest room , a guest spot on a package; ARE  all units to be sold, >>> a hard way of looking at something, but a fact of doing business.           Sooooo…….   SAT charter’s  a motor-coach from        City A               to     Resort B     and 3 days later returns, + plus the  salary of driver and rental of equipment while at resort for passenger transfers and that costs an even $10,000 for all --- rental, drivers costs food lodging, tolls, parking, insurance,  diesel fuel,  etc.    Now – divide that $10,000 by 52 paying student passengers = $193 per seat.   Now let’s say a teacher only sells 50 paying students and   has two left unsold.     They take the $193 empty seat cost times 2 empty seats= $386 divided by 50 paying students and each student has a $7.72 empty seat surcharge. 

 

Our non-refundable deposit of $35 is well below industry standards!!!

Plus she did not pay $1,800 but only $1,300 !!!!!

Here are some examples from other travel industry companies I pulled this evening:

**A non-refundable, non-transferable land deposit of $250 per person per vacation is required for Globus to reserve space for you,

**A $100 non-refundable deposit is required at time of booking to secure your reservation -*** *********®, *** ****** ******* ********** ** *****  Attn: Accounts Receivable

**All reservations require a non-refundable $100 per person deposit. **** *********

**Any deposits from you are non-refundable. Payment of a deposit enables us to hold a reservation for you but does not guarantee the price. The price can only be guaranteed once we receive full payment and other travel documents have been issued, subject to any terms and conditions of the Supplier. Student Travel Associates

**Your NON-REFUNDABLE per person deposit amount described in brochure/flier/invoice/website/confirmation is required by due date in order to secure reservation. **************** ***., also d/b/a ************, ************************, ****** ***** ******, *** ***** *********, and ******* *****, * ***** ****** ****** ******** ** *****,

**Deposit A deposit of $150 is non-refundable.  After October 15th, the deposit required is $250. ****** **** ****** Band – Spring Trip 2016  Golden Ears Travel

** Group Name: ******** **** ****** Band, Choir, and Orchestra Trip ID: ********* Travel Dates: April 6 – 13, 2017 Destination: Florida PAYMENT SCHEDULE Payment Due Date Amount Due Registration and Nonrefundable Deposit  June 1, 2016 $100.00

In Wrapping up;   This group had successfully traveled with two teachers previously and I am very very sorry, it did not this year. Our feedback from these two previous years has always been very very positive for this school with both group leaders and students.  I hope this negativity turned on SAT stops here and now and needs not be explained further within your school to administrators or in a barrage of social media. . 

We have on-going relationships with many suppliers and venues in each travel region across the USA. We share deposits to assure lower rates or in some cases the lowest rates, we have expenses as well as any company. Our deposits are clearly marked and tagged “Non-Refundable”   I will end this communication now on a positive spot for EHS and will offer $1,300 out of our pocket for next year’s trip!! I do hope this negative portrayal comes to a complete halt!

 

Thank You **** *****

COO – SAT

****@BeachBreaks.com l

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Student Adventure Travel, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)