BBB Accredited Business since

Salem Tire Center Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (618) 548-2746 Fax: (618) 548-3372 View Additional Phone Numbers 1100 E Main St, Salem, IL 62881 http://www.salemtirecenter.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Salem Tire Center Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Salem Tire Center Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Salem Tire Center Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated 05/10/1984 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Glen Henderson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Glen Henderson, President
Business Category

Tire Dealers


Additional Locations

  • 1100 E Main St

    Salem, IL 62881 (618) 548-5045 (618) 548-5680

  • 89 Village Square Mall

    Effingham, IL 62401 (217) 342-9297

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Came into Salem Tire Center with a car problem and asked for it to be looked at and fixed. Business instead put other parts on and charged over $900. Went into the Salem Tire Center on August 20, 2015 because of a noise coming from the vehicle while in use. Noise was more pronounced and consistent while applying the breaks. Mentioned at the counter that it feels like it may be the back breaks and asked for the issue to be looked at. Was told breaks were fine and that it was the front sway bar link that was the cause of the issue. The business put the sway bar link on the car, charging $163.35. I paid in cash. The invoice number is XXXXXXXX. Salesman number is XXXXX. Workstation number is ******* I left the facility thinking the problem was addressed only to have the same thing occur the moment I began to drive away. Returned to Salem Tire Center on August 24, 2015 letting them know the noise continued to happen. They took my car back in the garage and insisted it was the front struts and vehicles alignment that was the issue. The struts and alignment cost $750.91. I again paid in cash. The invoice number is XXXXXXXX. The salesman number is XXXXX. Workstation number is ******* Leaving the business, after getting the vehicle checked out for a second time, the same noise was still prevalent. Upon my third time back I let them know they hadn't fixed the problem after charging $914.26 in total. Salem Tire Center took my vehicle in for a third time. They told me it was the breaks that were the problem after having insisted the prior two visits that they weren't. I reiterated that I had believed it to be the breaks the first time I came in and a lady got irate with me. She said I didn't have it in writing. I do have a witness, my brother, that was there during the first visit that can confirm I told them about the breaks. They again wanted to charge for correcting the problem they neglected to address the on the first two visits. Being taken advantage of twice by the same company, I elected to visit a different garage to seek a resolution to my vehicles problem. When I entered the other business, I explained the problem with the car and asked for it to be looked at. The mechanics explained it was two of the break pads and rotors being worn. After changing these parts the issue was finally resolved. Salem Tire Center took advantage of my lack in knowledge pertaining to vehicles by charging for parts that had nothing directly related to the reason I brought my vehicle into their shop for. I had trusted this establishments mechanical expertise and professionalism due to prior experience with their service.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a full refund totaling $914.26 for the parts that were unnecessarily installed onto my vehicle to which didn't address the problem I brought it in for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/10) */ When the customer brought the vehicle in for a noise, we looked the vehicle over and noticed that the sway bar bushings were worn and looked to be original. They are a very common problem, and since they were worn, we tried that route first, knowing that those parts are a common cause of noise in vehicles. We thought that this repair would fix the issue, but also provided the customer with an estimate on new struts, as they looked to be original as well, and are another common source of noises. When the vehicle came in to our shop, the brake pads had 70% left, so we did not price new brake pads to the customer. On the final trip, we reinspected everything again. The customer was notified that there was a small lip on the brake rotors, and that may cause a small amount of noise. Since the brake pads had 70% remaining, and were very useable, we did not price new brake pads to the customer. The parts replaced on the customer's vehicle were original parts, and on a vehicle that has 175,360 miles on it, those parts are very common sources of noises or other problems. Our mechanics saw parts on the vehicle that were in disrepair, and we presented an estimate to the customer for approval. Only after the customer approved the work, we completed the work as the estimate stated.

3/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We Bought Brand New Tires From Salem Tire Center Of Salem Il.I Feel Personally We Over Payed For The Tires But Hey They Are Frauds.When This Company Installed the New Tires They Didn't Tighten The Rear Drivers Side Lugs All The Way Causing Damage To The Car. Resulting In 3-4 Busted Wheel Studs The Tire Sets On.Not To Mention There Could Be Possiable Rear Drivers Side Bearing Problems As Well.When We Where On Our Way To Salem Tire Center In Salem To See What The Problem WasSince We Bought Brand New Tires From This Company The Tire About Fell Off The Car.The Car Is A 04' Ford Explorer Eddie Baur 4x4.Very Nice Car Fully Loaded The Works.When We Arrived At The Buisness They Did A Walk Around So They Stated They Where Going To Drive It To See What Was Going On. They Got In The Car Put It In Reverse The Damage Tire Started Wobbeling Like The Tire Was Broke.They Said Hey To There Boss He Stopped The Car.While They Where Doing There Walk Around Of The CarThere Was A Busted Lug Nut That Wasn't Present On The Damaged wheel.I Said He Guys There's Suppose To Be 5 Lug Nuts Not 4.One Of The Tire Guys Rudely Replied It's Ok Just As Long As There's 4.I Stated That's Not The Point Come To Find Out They Broke The Stud During installation Of The Tires That's My Guess The Point Is They Didn't Tightn The Lug Nuts On That WheelResulting In Damage.We Asked If They Had A Car They Could Loan Us Over Night They Said Yes They Had A TruckThey Where Working On It For Us So We Proceeded To The Waiting Room They Made Us Wait An Hour Then Came Out And Asked Us If We Had SomeOne Coming To Get Us.......Really Are U Serious......Really ??? Now I'm Fully Disabled No Use Of My Left Arm Not To Mention I Had My Wife And My 75 Year Old Disabled Uncle With Me And The Wind Chill Was In The Teens.How Dare U I Said. If You Guys Would Have Tightned The Lug Nuts All The Way When You Guys Intalled The Tires We Wouldn't Have This Problem.Very Rude They Remained. So We Finally Found A Ride From My Wifes Father. Product_Or_Service: New Tires (4) Balanced 245/65R17 Order_Number: Invoice XXXXXXXX Account_Number: Invoice XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Refund Price We Spent For Price On The Tires And Installation.Apoligize For The Extremely Foul Language Used In Front Of A Woman And For Telling Us They Had A Car For Us To Use While Being Repaired,And For Making Us Wait After Telling Us They Had A Truck For Us To Use. They Are Liable For Any Damages They Caused Under Ill.Law.Repair Of Whole Assembly If Any To The Whole Axl Or Rear End That It May Have Caused.This Isn't Good Buisness. This Could Have Caused A Fatal Accident.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/03) */ On 02/02/15, the customer brought the vehicle in to have four tires installed. The tires were sold to the customer at a price that was well below retail value. About one week later, the customer happened to run into our store manager at ********, and she informed him that her vehicle was making some noise. The manager told her to bring the vehicle in to the shop, that what she was describing sounded like a wheel bearing problem, which is very common. Several days later, the customer brought the vehicle in to the shop. While removing the wheel and tire, the wheel studs did break, as is a common issue when dealing with older vehicles. If a wheel had been left loose when the tires were installed (a whole two weeks before the vehicle was brought back to the shop), then the wheel would have fallen off of the vehicle long before. At no cost to the customer, we replaced the wheel studs and nuts. This repair process took a little longer than we had anticipated due to the fact that none of our parts stores in town had the parts in stock. The customer was asked if they had a ride, so that if they did not, we could arrange for other transportation for them, since our shop doesn't have any loaner vehicles. The following day, we finally received the parts for the vehicle, and the repairs were completed (at NO cost to the customer). The wheel bearing was, in fact, the source of the sound the customer was hearing, but on the opposite side of the car. The wheel bearing issue arose from normal wear and tear. The customer was made aware of this issue, and decided not to repair it at the time. We assume no responsibility for further repairs or reimbursements.

10/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: He came out took my tire ,rim,and wheel off my tractor to take it in for repair.*** said it would take 2 or 3 days to fix.I called back in 2 days *** said he didn't have the wheel, tire,and rim not sure where it was.I have called back numerous times *** just laughes at me and says doesn't know where it is. I called back October 2 asked where my tire and wheel were he laughed at me and said,"On your Tractor". I said i only have 3 wheels on my tractor.*** said he would ask **** where it was.He put Me on Hold after 25 minutes i hung up and called back. The person who answered said *** left as soon as he put me on hold.Said they would find out and call back never have .I have tried to call the owner and he won't return my call.I have never cussed or got nasty with them on the phone.This process has been going on for 1.5 monthes.

Desired Settlement: I would like my wheel,rim,and tire fixed and put back on my tractor.The same wheel and rim that came off it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/28) */ The customer's tire and wheel were brought in for a repair on the tire, which needed a section repair. This type of repair needs to be sent to a different location, and took 2 weeks to be finished and returned to our location. The tire was never lost, but at our other location needing to be repaired and delivered back to us. On the first attempt our service tech made to return and remount the tire, the ground was too wet to access where the customer had left the tractor. Our salesman (***) was not made aware that the service had not been completed. When the customer called to let him know that, we sent the service tech out again, but the ground was still too wet for our truck to access the tractor. On the third attempt, even though the ground was still wet, our service tech rolled the tire through the mud by hand to the tractor to remount it, so that our service truck would not get stuck or damage the ground. Unfortunately, this customer had to wait longer than we would have liked to get his wheel and tire back. As of 10/28/14, there is still an outstanding bill on this service, even though the service is complete, which the customer is aware of.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Salem Tire Center Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)