BBB Accredited Business since

Safeway Tire Center

Phone: (636) 723-2600 Fax: (636) 723-0402 View Additional Phone Numbers 2539 W Clay St, Saint Charles, MO 63301 http://www.safewaytire.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Safeway Tire Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Safeway Tire Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Safeway Tire Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1964 Business started: 01/01/1964 Business started locally: 01/01/1964
Business Management
Mr. Jay J. Moore, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jay J. Moore, President
Business Category

Tire Dealers


Additional Locations

  • 2539 W Clay St

    Saint Charles, MO 63301 (636) 946-6212 (636) 723-2600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My father passed away and left me his truck. I was on my way to help a friend move and a bunch of oil came out of the truck and smoked. I took the Chevrolet S10 to Safeway Tire, I asked them to "Do all the work necessary to get the vehicle inspection ready and to figure out why the oil leaked out". They fixed everything from the struts, serpentine belt, tensioner, new battery...etc totaling $1200. The truck only has 85000 miles on it. When I came to pick up the truck, the first thing they did before I drove it off was **** told me to hold on, we should add a quart of oil to it, "its low", he said. I thought it was strange I drove the truck off the lot and noticed the Service Engine Soon light was still on. I assumed that they didn't reset it after they did the work. I drove the truck for about a week and a half, I called up there and said I needed to get the vehicle in and they said I had to wait 3 days. I told them something wasn't right and it was making the same noise it made before I took the truck into Safeway. **** and his team from Safeway looked at the truck and called me back saying that the tensioner broke and caused the oil to spew out. My response was "isn't that one of the items you replaced". He said "oh let me call you back". Its funny when they get stumped up there its always "let me call you back". So he called back and said "Oh I meant a different tensioner the chain tensioner broke". I asked, "I thought the oil leak issue was fixed". ****s response, "it was a little wet back there and it was hard to tell". They tell me I may need to replace the entire engine because the chain tensioner cover cracked and may have gotten into the oil pan. I feel that Safeway was negligent on getting the vehicle ready and didn't fix the initial problem that I took the vehicle up there. I feel Safeway needs to fix the mistakes they made. To top it off one of the owners ****** dodges my calls and will not call me back.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix the initial problem of the oil leaking out and want a working vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/09) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@safewaytire.com Earlier this year, Mr. ****** brought his vehicle into Safeway Tire because he had noticed a noise and white smoke from under the hood while driving and stated that he had lost a good amount of oil. When the vehicle was dropped off, Mr. ****** stated that he had just inherited the 2003 Chevrolet s10 and would like us to look it over. Mr. ****** was then offered our comprehensive vehicle inspection. While performing our inspection, we found that the oil cap/dip stick had come loose and caused the oil to leak externally all over the hot engine and exhaust. This resulted in the white smoke that Mr. ****** had noticed while driving. Mr. ****** was advised that that the oil cap should be replaced because it would not properly secure to the engine oil filler neck. Mr. ****** was also advised that due to the amount of oil that leaked all over the engine that when we replaced the oil cap, we should clean the engine and the try to verify if there are any other major oil leaks. After replacing the oil cap and cleaning the engine, we were unable to identify any other major oil leaks. After performing the comprehensive vehicle inspection, we notified Mr. ****** of the results and discussed several other items in need of attention. Items including: 1) Battery was weak and failed a load test 2) Drive belt cracked. 3) drive belt tensioner loose and making noise (this was the noise the customer was hearing) 4) fuel filter rusty and appeared to be original 5) rear shocks are leaking 6) three of the four tires were needed 7) suspension idler arm loose (caused both front tires to have severe edge wear) 8) 3rd brake lamp bulb inoperative 9) Check engine light is on After discussion, Mr. ****** authorized almost all repairs except for the replacement of the rear shocks and performing the check engine light testing. Since the vehicle seemed to be running good at that time, Mr. ****** said he would bring the vehicle back at a later date to have that testing performed. Once the authorized work was complete, Mr. ****** was notified. Mr. ****** stated "it might be next week before I can pay and pick up the vehicle." Several weeks passed *** Mr. ****** did not pick up his vehicle. Several attempted phone calls and voice mails from Safeway Tire went unanswered. A few months later, Mr. ****** finally stopped by and made a partial payment on his invoice. Several more months passed *** Mr. ****** did not make any other contact with us. Finally, Mr. ****** called and said he had wrecked his most recent vehicle and that he would be coming up in approximately two hours to pick up his vehicle. Our service advisor, ****, explained to Mr. ****** that the battery was now probably weak from sitting for such a long period of time, and that before he could pick up the vehicle, we should put the battery on a charger to make sure it was ready to go. The charger was still charging the battery when Mr. ****** arrived. Our service advisor, **** ***** told Mr. ****** that he wanted to check the oil and other fluids. As stated earlier, when the vehicle was originally completed, we had only confirmed that there were no other major oil leaks and we could not confirm if there was any minor seepage from any other engine gasket as a result of the engine being cleaned off. **** determined that the fluids were at proper levels, removed the battery charger and released the vehicle to Mr. ******. Since he had declined to pursue the Check Engine Light testing, the CEL was still illuminated when the vehicle left with Mr. ****** fully aware that it was and why. Mr. ****** drove the vehicle for about two weeks before he called back to Safeway Tire and stated that as he was driving that day, he heard a loud noise and the vehicle was now leaking oil again. He also stated that the check engine light was still on and was also on when he picked up the vehicle. He stated that he had been busy and didn't have time to call **** back earlier. **** asked Mr. ****** to get the vehicle back into us and when Mr. ****** dropped off the vehicle, he said "don't worry about the check engine light; focus on the oil leak because that's what I originally brought it in for." Since Mr. ****** had previously declined to pursue the diagnostic testing for the Check Engine Light and said specifically not to worry about it again, we again understood not to spend time on that. Once the vehicle was back at our shop, we were able to take a look at the vehicle and found what appeared to be a catastrophic failure of the timing chain tensioner behind the timing cover. When **** called Mr. ****** back to tell him about the cracked timing cover and tensioner, **** initially misunderstood which tensioner our technician had stated failed. **** told Mr. ****** that the drive belt tensioner had failed when it actually was the timing chain tensioner that we suspected had failed. After both **** and Mr. ****** recognized that one of the items we had replaced was the belt tensioner, **** had asked for permission to call Mr. ****** back so he could consult with the technician. After consulting with the technician, **** realized that he misunderstood which tensioner the technician had suspected failed. He called back Mr. ****** and apologized for the situation and misunderstanding. Now with the proper information, **** then discussed more fully what had been found. The timing cover has a large crack in it and is leaking a large amount of oil. Because of this large leak and the noise coming from the engine itself, we suspect that the engine is damaged internally. While unfortunate and untimely, this failure is not a result of the work performed earlier. During this time, we had a number of issues at the shop that complicated the situation. We terminated a General Service Technician for failing to show up for work. For quite a while, **** has been performing double duty by working in the shop and keeping up with as much of his normal service advisor duties as possible. **** was doing everything he could to keep abreast of Mr. ******'s vehicle but we were running him pretty thin and I'm sure this contributed to his misunderstanding. The father of my business partner, ******, became very sick around the same time and ultimately passed ***** Because of this, ****** was in the office very irregularly over a six week period. He had nearly no knowledge of Mr. ******'s situation and frankly, wasn't in the best frame of mind to try to solve the issue when presented with it. With **** working in the shop more often than not, another Service Advisor, *****, stepped in to help **** out with Mr. ******. He talked to Mr. ****** about options for the truck over the course of several phone calls. We were very willing to work with Mr. ****** and discussed some discounted options with him as a matter of good customer relations even though we do not feel that the situation is our responsibility. It was shortly after these calls that we received the notice from the BBB. We have not been in contact with Mr. ****** since receiving that notice. My staff is authorized and empowered to solve virtually any customer service situation that is presented to them, regardless of cost to the company, if they feel that we were in error or our service fell short of our standards. This is an unfortunate situation and we do sympathize, however, in this situation, neither my staff nor I feel that we are in error. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/12/11) */ The statement below made by *** ***** is false and incorrect, "The charger was still charging the battery when Mr. ****** arrived. Our service advisor, **** ***** told Mr. ****** that he wanted to check the oil and other fluids. As stated earlier, when the vehicle was originally completed, we had only confirmed that there were no other major oil leaks and we could not confirm if there was any minor seepage from any other engine gasket as a result of the engine being cleaned off. **** determined that the fluids were at proper levels, removed the battery charger and released the vehicle to Mr. ******. Since he had declined to pursue the Check Engine Light testing, the CEL was still illuminated when the vehicle left with Mr. ****** fully aware that it was and why." I never declined any testing regarding the Check Engine Light. I almost left with the vehicle and **** ran inside and added 1 quart of oil, the fluids were not at proper levels. When you pay a company to fix a vehicle to the fullest, under no circumstances should the vehicle come back with the Check Engine Light still on. Final Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2015/03/13) */ 3/20/15: We have been waiting to discuss this matter with the BBB before beginning any work on the consumer's vehicle. The engine needs to be replaced due to a catastrophic failure. There was no way for us or for him to know that this would happen. The timing unit for the truck is in a sealed case that is not normally opened and inspected. It would have cost $400 - $500 to open and inspect. The CEL would also not have indicated this type of problem. The CEL only identifies system control or ignition problems. We have not yet pulled the engine apart to determine if other problems are present, but we have estimated the engine replacement at $2,970.19. The engine we found three months ago was $1,150. We may not be able to find another one at that price. The remaining costs are labor and parts. It will take a technician 2 to 3 days to replace the engine.The parts are approximately $300. We do not believe that we were negligent causing the engine to fail. As a result, we do not believe that we should cover labor and parts. We are willing to cut the labor cost in more than half offering a $750 discount on the condition that the consumer makes full payment and picks up the truck within two days of us calling to advise him that the repairs are complete. 4/17/15: Mediator left message advising that consumer has accepted offer to resolve this matter. 4/24/15: Mediator left message following up regarding resolution. 4/27/15: Consumer's condition is acceptable to us. We are working on obtaining an engine and will contact the consumer as soon as we have done that to proceed. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 20, 2015/05/04) */

12/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Safeway Tire Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)