This business is not BBB accredited.

Meineke Car Care Center

Phone: (618) 667-7202 320 E Center St, Troy, IL 62294


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Meineke Car Care Center include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Meineke Car Care Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Meineke Car Care Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 28, 2005 Business started: 03/01/1968 Business started locally: 03/01/1968
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Matt Hudson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Hudson, President
Business Category

Tire Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Primo Novus Auto Services LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    320 E Center St

    Troy, IL 62294 (618) 667-7202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Removed old engine and installed used engine. Invoice indicates 82000 miles on used engine. NMVTIS indicates engine had 104666 miles. On February 18, 2014, the serpentine belt on my engine broke and the engine overheated. I chose to replace the engine with a used one. An engine was located with "around" 80000 miles. I considered that acceptable. I took delivery of the vehicle on Saturday, February 22, 2014. Invoice Number XXXXX indicated that the engine had 82000 mile on it. I ran the engine VIN (*****************) through the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System. The Multi-State Vehicle History Report indicated that the salvage title was issued at 104666 miles. Management claims that some "clerk" chose a mileage number at random. While that may have been true in the past, the salvage title is now a statutory requirement and the correct mileage is provided by the insurance company. Had I known the actual mileage on the engine, I would not have accepted it. Clearly, an engine with "around 80000 miles" is worth more than an engine with nearly 105000. I managed to drive 9468 miles, when, on May 27, 2014, I noticed a cloud of smoke behind me. I immediately pulled over and shut off the engine. A pool of oil developed under the vehicle. It was towed to a repair facility in Effingham, IL. They indicated that the oil was coming from the bellhousing. This most likely means that the main seal had blown. It would be necessary to remove the engine to make a definitive diagnosis, at a labor cost of around $1200. I discussed the engine failure and the odometer discrepancy with the Manager and the Owner. They would not provide me the name of the vendor that provided the engine. The mileage did not concern them, with an attitude that an engine is an engine. They have offered to inspect the vehicle. "Therefore, as a courtesy to you, if you bring the vehicle to Meineke Car Care Center 2176, their technicians would be happy to inspect the vehicle and diagnose the problem free of charge." I have already spent $100 for hookup and towing 13 miles. I am not willing to spend more to have the vehicle towed 89 miles so that they can confirm what I already know. They have never offered to absorb the cost of the towing. They will not go to the vehicle, claiming liability issues. I have contacted Meineke Customer Relations with no satisfaction.

Desired Settlement: Remove engine, repair main engine oil seal, and replace engine. If Meineke wants to do the work, they need to pay to have it towed to their facility. In the alternative, reimbursement for repair at the Effingham repair shop.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/06) */ Mr. ****** purchased a used engine from us that was supposed to have about 82,000 miles, taking delivery on Feb. 22. Originally we had located an engine that was supposed to have approximately 150,000 miles on it, which Mr. ****** approved. Later that day, we also located one that was supposed to have 80,000 miles for $150 more, which he decided he would prefer. We also offered him a 6 month and a 12 month warranty on the engine, which he declined. Other than a problem with the transmission not wanting to shift into Drive on Feb. 26th, we have not seen this car again. We spoke with Mr. ****** on May 17th, before the 90 day warranty expired, when he called us to let us know he had pulled the title history report, and the accident report for the vehicle stated it had 104,666 miles not the 82,000. We asked if he was having any problems with the engine, which he was not. We stated that the engine was a used engine and we did not offer any guarantee on the mileage, only discussed it as a means to determine remaining useful life. We asked again if he were having any problems, as the warranty was about to expire and if he was, we needed to get it in before the warranty expired. He again said he had no problems occurring with the engine. He then called back on May 28th, stating the vehicle had started dumping oil on the highway and it was towed to **** Advanced Auto in Effingham, IL. Apparently the oil was coming from inside the bell housing (a part connecting the engine to the transmission) and that **** had said he thought it was the rear main seal, but would need to remove the engine to confirm. We offered at that time to try and diagnose the problem for Mr. ****** if he would bring the car back to us, but we couldn't promise anything under warranty since the warranty had expired and we hadn't seen the car yet. Mr. ****** declined to bring the car in. We called and spoke with ****, and confirmed he was taking an educated guess at what was wrong, as Mr. ****** hadn't approved him to remove the engine to determine the source of the oil leak. Even **** wasn't sure why the rear main would suddenly leak like that, because it's a low pressure seal. However, he didn't think there was anything else engine related in the bell housing to leak, without something breaching the engine block. Since the engine seemed to run okay otherwise, suggesting nothing internal to breach the engine, he thought the seal had come out. Even with that, he could not explain what could have caused the seal to just come out without something causing a lot of internal pressure. We did some research ourselves, and our people also believe the rear main is the only thing that could have leaked and it would have to have completely come out to create such a massive leak. We also couldn't think of anything that would cause such an increase in oil pressure as to cause the seal to blow out without other internal damage, except possibly the engine being overloaded with too much oil. After that, we again offered to properly diagnose the car, if Mr. ****** would return it to our store, because to this point everything had been speculation. Mr. ****** then contacted Meineke Car Care Centers Inc., our franchisor regarding the engine on 5/29. They also stated the warranty requires any repairs under warranty must be done at Meineke. They also acknowledged that the warranty had technically expired, but that we would check the vehicle for him if he would return it. Mr. ****** then sent them correspondence threatening legal action on 7/10, which they forwarded to us and our attorneys responded to on 7/18. In that response, our attorneys have offered to Mr. ****** that, if he would bring the car to us, we could determine what is wrong and try to see if we could help him even though the car was out of warranty. That was the last correspondence we have had with Mr. ****** until we received this notice from the BBB. Also, to the comment about our manager stating the mileage may have been a guess. We pulled a CarFax report on the original vehicle after the call on May 28th. According to that report, the 104,666 miles was reported on an Accident Report, which also states the vehicle hit a parked car causing it to be a total loss. Our manager speculated that they got the two cars mixed up, as a vehicle hitting a parked car hard enough to total the vehicle, would typically cause front end damage not rear end damage. Since the salvage title information provided on the CarFax does not show a registered mileage, describes rear end damage (suggesting it was the parked car) and the last reported service before the accident showed 66,194 miles, it seemed feasible that a paperwork error may have happened. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/10/08) */ In what manner could this possibly be resolved? The vendor that Meineke chose knew that the vehicle had nearly 105000 miles on it. I was told that it had 80000 miles on it. "Originally we had located an engine that was supposed to have approximately 150,000 miles on it, which Mr. ****** approved." False, only one engine was ever located so clearly I did not approve one with 150000 miles. It was indicated that they usually preferred a different vendor, however that vendor did not have the engine available. "Later that day, we also located one that was supposed to have 80,000 miles for $150 more, which he decided he would prefer." There was no later that day. I waited onsite while the serpentine belt was replaced. When it was determined that the head gasket was blown, the search for an engine began. The decision was made and my ride arrived within 30 minutes. "We also offered him a 6 month and a 12 month warranty on the engine, which he declined." No warranty was offered. This is irrelevant because they have already indicated that the rear main oil seal would not be covered under any warranty. "We offered at that time to try and diagnose the problem for Mr. ****** if he would bring the car back to us, but we couldn't promise anything under warranty since the warranty had expired and we hadn't seen the car yet. Mr. ****** declined to bring the car in." Since the car is not drivable, it would have to be towed at great expense, again, only to confirm what is already known, especially since they had already indicated that the oil seal would not be covered under warranty and it was already beyond the warranty period. "We did some research ourselves, and our people also believe the rear main is the only thing that could have leaked and it would have to have completely come out to create such a massive leak." Hello! ***, they confirm the diagnosis. "After that, we again offered to properly diagnose the car, if Mr. ****** would return it to our store, because to this point everything had been speculation." Hey, here's a thought, jump on interstate 70 and go look at the car. Oh right, liability, even though the shop owner indicated that it would be okay. "They also acknowledged that the warranty had technically expired, but that we would check the vehicle for him if he would return it." ***, there is that 83 mile tow thing, when they know what is wrong and they won't cover it. "In that response, our attorneys have offered to Mr. ****** that, if he would bring the car to us, we could determine what is wrong and try to see if we could help him even though the car was out of warranty." I am not willing to absorb the towing cost, are you? We pulled a CarFax report on the original vehicle after the call on May 28th. According to that report, the 104,666 miles was reported on an Accident Report, which also states the vehicle hit a parked car causing it to be a total loss." According to the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System, the SALVAGE TITLE indicated XXXXXX miles. The warranty is not the question, the XXXXX mile difference is. Tell you what, I will get the vehicle to them if they absorb the labor cost to remove the engine, repair the seal, and replace the engine. I will even pay for the seal. Final Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2014/12/17) */ 1/14/2015: (****) BBB should not forward the documentation of the engine issue to me at Meineke. This has been turned over to our attorney and correspondence should go to them. Lawyer name is ***** ****** with *********** ******* ********* and ******* phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX. If lawyer is not there ask for her assistant. Final Consumer Response /* (5200, 26, 2015/01/23) */

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: September 2013 I took my car in for a flex pipe to be fixed. The next day my check engine light went on. I took it back and they explained to me that it was an electric sensor error and it would cost $30.00 to fix it. He said it is not necessary to fix it. I took my car there again today because the check engine light is still on and now they are telling me its a different sensor or a converter costing $1,500.00. I then took it to another Meineke and they told me that they broke my converter while putting in the flex pipe. They also said that it would cost $800.00 to fix what they had broke. I'm sending in the estimate showing what damage was done.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to fix the converter that they broke.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/26) */ On 8/26 this customer brought her **** ****** ****** with 134,200 miles in for a broken flex pipe. We welded in a universal flex as she states. If I remember correctly, she returned a few days later with a check engine light showing an oxygen sensor code. She was concerned because she was preparing to leave on vacation. We told her that we would need time to diagnose which sensor was bad to determine a cost. She asked if it had to be repaired before their trip. We told her that if the vehicle was running okay, it should be okay for her trip but she may see a change in her fuel mileage. She asked again for a cost and we told her it would mostly be the cost of the part, as the labor would be about $30-$40 regardless which was bad. We assumed the code had cleared during the trip, and everything was okay until 10/22 when she returned at 140,362 miles with a failed emissions test showing a P0420 -Catalyst Efficiency Below Normal (Bank 1) code. Because we knew about the prior oxygen sensor codes, we checked the behavior of the sensors and found the upstream Air Fuel Ratio sensor was not reading as it should, and its readings could cause this code even if the catalytic converter was working correctly. So we recommended replacing the sensor at approximately $300, before replacing the converter which could be as much as $1,200. After that she went to another Meineke to have them check and confirm our findings. I spoke with that technician, who stated he did no diagnostics, only pulled the code. I have spoken to both the customer and the technician, and they each confirmed there were no visible signs of damage to the converter. This vehicle uses a converter mounted in the exhaust manifold, which sits at about 90 degrees to and is approximately 18-24" from the flex pipe we installed downstream. A catalytic converter is a non-mechanical ceramic block with small holes in it. The only way they become damaged is to introduce something upstream which clogs or coats them, or to physically do something that damages them. Based on the fact the customer and the other technician both stated they didn't see any signs of physical damage, the codes immediately after the repairs were not for the converter and the car has driven an additional 6,000 miles since the repair to the flex pipe, I am inclined to believe this is an unrelated issue. Even so, I did offer to have the customer come back in so we could check the vehicle together, which she refused to do. I then offered to come to the other store and do it there, as she intended to have them complete the repair. When I called to confirm the time, the other store told me they didn't have her scheduled. I called the customer to make sure I had the right time and place, but have never had my call returned.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Meineke Car Care Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)