BBB Accredited Business since

Backyard Dreams Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (618) 467-6447 View Additional Phone Numbers 5501 Godfrey Rd, Godfrey, IL 62035 View Additional Email Addresses http://backyarddreamspools.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Backyard Dreams Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Backyard Dreams Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Backyard Dreams Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 23, 2006 Business started: 12/02/2003 Business started locally: 12/02/2003 Business incorporated 12/02/2003 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Gregory A. Sands, President/Owner Greg Sands, President
Contact Information
Principal: Gregory A. Sands, President/Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Saltwater Pools - Equipment & Supplies General Merchandise - Retail Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Alternate Business Names
Backyard Dreams

Additional Locations

  • 317 E Homer Adams Pkwy

    Alton, IL 62002 (618) 467-6447

  • 5501 Godfrey Rd

    Godfrey, IL 62035

  • 5501 Godfrey Rd

    Godfrey, IL 62035

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Backyard Dreams to open my pool on May 28th, 2014.They dumped the leaves and debris into the pool and failed to fix the opening disaster. Backyard Dreams came out to my home and uncovered the pool cover, letting all of the leaves and debris into the pool, that of which the cover had protected the pool from (hence why we had it over the pool). The owner then called me and told me he suggested I empty the pool and start over, which is what I had done the previous year in order to paint it. I told him that was unacceptable and asked how he would proceed to fix his mismanagement of my pool. A little over a week passed with very little progress, which is when I went to ******** pools and received excellent advice on what to do. I then fired ****, the owner of Backyard Dreams. He then had the audacity to request payment from me for ruining my pool. I incurred over $1500 of additional expenses fixing the pool and over 40 hours of labor working on it to make it look like it should have, in the first place. A newly filled pool and Backyard Dreams ruined it without mitigating the damages.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full payment for the labor and additional costs associated with the damage to my pool ($1500.00).

Business Response: We arrived to open the pool May 27th and found that the cover had fallen in by the diving board. The water under the cover was brown, contained tree debris and tadpoles. I called Ms. ******* to recommend that the pool be pumped down to remove debris. She did not want the pool to be pumped down and blamed my employees for the debris and tadpoles in her pool. She then texted me pictures taken the night before the opening that clearly show the cover had fallen in by the diving board. We added shock and algaecide to the pool. I visited the pool to see what was going on and found a pool with dead tadpoles on top and water so dark that you could not see the bottom. The water does not turn that dark in one day from a cover being dumped in the pool as she accused us of doing. We then started skimming the pool to remove tadpoles and debris and vacuumed the pool as best we could. The next day (28th) we added more pool shock and scooped debris from the bottom of the pool and vac'd again and backwashed filter. The pump basket was replaced and pine needles cleaned from the pump's impeller. We were at the pool again on the 29th to add more shock, vac'd, and backwashed filter. I went back on the 30th. Vac'd pool and backwashed. Then I took the filter apart to clean before recharging with de. At this time I found damaged grids that needed to be replaced. Left the home with the understanding that we should order the damaged parts and install Monday when they came in. Later that day I received a text stating that we were not to come back.Balance due for the opening, pump basket, and cl;arifier is $324.60. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/08/05) */ 7/22/14: I used this company because my step dad used them before. I used them last summer to vacuum my pool. I have video, pictures and statements from another pool company and co worker that there was debris on the pool cover and it was dumped in the pool. Also the filter did not need to be replaced as stated and the parts were not needed. If this is not settled, $1,500 reimbursement and no charges from the company, I might pursue in small claims court. 8/05/14: I am not surprised that the business is unwilling to reimburse me the $1,500. I plan to take legal action against the company. Final Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/08/05) */ 7/22/14: Mediator left message for business. 7/24/14: Business left message for mediator. 7/29/14: Mediator left message for business. 8/05/14: My response given on 6/26 is my position on this complaint. Even thought the pool cover did not keep out fall, winter and spring debris I feel I was making progress of getting the pool ready of re-opening when I was fired from the job. I feel we were making progress and a good faith effort to take care of this pool and it was clearly her choice to terminate my employment. I am not interested in reimbursing the customer when I was working to complete the job and then was terminated.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Backyard Dreams Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)