BBB Accredited Business since

Dugger Swimming Pool & Supply

Phone: (618) 377-8236 Fax: (618) 377-2106 332 W Bethalto Dr, Bethalto, IL 62010 http://www.duggerpools.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dugger Swimming Pool & Supply meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Dugger Swimming Pool & Supply include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dugger Swimming Pool & Supply
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962
Business Management
Vernon Hamel, Office Manager Mr. Leo E. Dugger, President
Contact Information
Principal: Vernon Hamel, Office Manager
Business Category

Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Maintenance Gas Grills Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Swimming Pools - Private Sauna Equipment & Supplies Contractors-Swimming Pool/Service & Supplies Spa, Hot Tub, Sauna Sales And Service Outdoor Kitchens Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Alternate Business Names
Dugger Swimming Pools Inc

Additional Locations

  • 332 W Bethalto Dr

    Bethalto, IL 62010 (618) 377-8236

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid half down to have our pool trim repainted last year. They did a horrendous job, which we have pictures to prove, They admitted the work was substandard and promised numerous times to do it over correctly. That never happened and the weather turned cold so we had to close our pool. At that time, we demanded, and received from them, a letter stating they would finish their job as soon as Spring came. We contacted them in April and we were told they would be out to take care of it within a week, so we took the cover off the pool. We are now at June 4, and our pool is sitting half empty, growing algae and unusable because they still have not completed the job. It has been sanded and primed, but they refuse to just get it done. We have been beyond patient, allowing for weather, but they have missed numerous warm and sunny days to get it done and made more promises than we can count. This is costing us a ton of money in chemicals because we cannot fill the pool, therefore, we cannot circulate the stagnant water...not to mention, we cannot enjoy our pool! We will be pursuing legal action.

Desired Settlement: The awful job done last year must be done correctly and immediately and we do not expect to be charged for the remaining balance due since we have paid much more than that already for undue chemicals.

Business Response:

This job was completed today (6/6/2016) by our paint supervisor.  Due to the extremely wet and cool weather this spring we were very behind schedule on paint projects.  

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:We have attached 4 pictures, and we have more, of our now algae laden, stagnated pool. The job was "completed", but as you see in the pictures, we cannot say it is professional by any means. We were beyond fair by allowing for Springtime weather, however, since our job was ongoing since 2015, we should have been first on the list this year. We watched several sunny and warm days pass by; told we were not on the schedule. This is not Seattle, Washington, and it does not rain daily. At this point, we are requesting a refund of our initial payment of $400, which was half of the total for the job. The job is still horrible, our Summer is slipping by, we will spend a lot of money to kill the algae and get the pool water back in good condition, and we just don't want to do business with Dugger ever again. We are beyond disappointed.



Sincerely,

**** ********

8/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cool Deck is chipping and cracking. Bottom paint is fading. Dugger offered a product called Cool Deck which is applied to the top of concrete. It makes for a cool surface even in full sun. Our cool deck started cracking and chipping up. I made somewhere between 20 & 30 phone calls to Dugger to call me about it or send someone to come out and take a look at it. No return calls. They always tell me the owner, **** ******* will call back and he never does. In addition, when we built the pool, we were told the paint on the concrete inside the pool would last approximately 10 years. Similar to a liner. It needed new paint after 5 years. Lastly, we have two friends/neighbors that have had the same issues.

Desired Settlement: I would like the courtesy of a return phone call or personal visit. This part is very insulting. I would like the Cool Deck repaired/replaced. I would also like the bottom of the pool repainted.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/01/05) */ I will contact the consumer and set up a time when we can meet and I can look at some of these issues. My work comes with a 1 yr workmanship warranty. I am not sure I will be able to resolve all the issues as there may be an additional charge due to the warranty expiring. ** ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 19, 2015/06/01) */ Dugger came out to review my complaint. They did acknowledge that there was a problem. They said they would get back to me with a solution and an estimate for fixing the cool deck that was chipping up. I have not heard from them since the day they came out. That was on Jan 21, 2015. I have made repeated phone calls with no call backs and never received an estimate for repairs. consider this very problematic. I am also concerned that this work was never guaranteed along with the paint fading from the bottom of pool. Both issues have not been resolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Dugger Swimming Pool & Supply
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)