BBB Accredited Business since

O'Brien Swimming Pool Service

Phone: (314) 521-4151 Fax: (314) 551-0051 View Additional Phone Numbers 6005 N Lindbergh Blvd, Hazelwood, MO 63042 http://www.obrienpool.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that O'Brien Swimming Pool Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for O'Brien Swimming Pool Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on O'Brien Swimming Pool Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 24, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jamie O'Brien, President Jim Moellering, Estimator Larry Scherer, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jamie O'Brien, President
Customer Contact: Larry Scherer, Service Manager
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Service & Repair


Additional Locations

  • 6005 N Lindbergh Blvd

    Hazelwood, MO 63042 (636) 343-6622 (314) 521-4151

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They renovated our pool in 2009 and the first thing they did was a lousy job. We have always have had trouble getting them to come out her, and they always say they come over when we are gone. Our pool became so run down and moldy we had to get a different company. We couldn't get them to come out, and they basically ruined out pool and we are paying, 5 years later, for someone else to rehab it. The company is in the daughters name now, and she will not stand by it and she always says "Well, that was before my time." The new company took the liner up and they notice to wood was mushy with mold and it was just awful.

Desired Settlement: I would like pro-rated money returned. I don't expect 100% but I have to have the job redone. I would like at least $2,000. It was only 5 years, and I paid over $10,000.00 for them to fix it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/05) */ Dr. and Mrs. ******, Thank you for calling O'Brien Swimming Pool Service yesterday (8/4) to notify us that you were going to contact the BBB today (8/5). We just wish you had called us sooner about addressing a solution or allowed us to view the problem for ourselves once the other pool company removed the liner and found damage to the pool floor. Mrs. ****** is correct, I did say that the work was completed before my time and that is why I could not speak to how the work was completed or to why we used the materials that we did. My father owned and ran O'Brien Swimming Pool Service from 1985 until 2010 when he passed away from cancer. I took over in the fall of 2010 after his passing. Since the work was completed in 2009, that is why I do not know more about the work. However, I did not say that we wouldn't stand by our work. We have not been given the opportunity to observe the condition of the pool floor for ourselves. From the records we have on file, it looks like we completed a very large project including: adding in a tiered pool floor, replacing the pool liner, replacing the pool deck and patio, replacing the aluminum pool coping, installing a new pool light and niche, repairing the pool returns, repairing the fiberglass pool walls, installing a commercial grade deck drain, and adding a stamped texture finish to the pool deck. This entire project came to over $30,000. The pool floor renovation (adding in a tiered floor) is listed for $6,000 on the contract. We do not have any record of the customer having issues with the timeliness of our work or the quality of the work until now. Our Sales Manager did come out this year to give the customer a quote on a new liner (as requested by the customer), but there was no way of knowing the issues with the pool floor until the liner was removed (which just occurred recently by a different pool company). We do have a record that we came out to patch a hole in their pool liner in August of 2013. Our concern would be that hole(s) in the liner caused water to puddle on top of the pool floor and would damage the floor. A hole in a liner could occur from a number of different sources from pool use or maintenance. We would like to examine the pool floor for ourselves and determine what we feel is the cause and the best solution for the pool floor before we decide if writing a check is the best possible solution for this situation. Sincerely, ***** ******** President O'Brien Swimming Pool Service

7/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on O'Brien Swimming Pool Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart