This business is not BBB accredited.

Kasten Masonry Sales Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (573) 243-3591 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 468, Jackson, MO 63755 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kasten Masonry Sales Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 19, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1964 Business started locally: 01/01/1964 Business incorporated 06/05/1964 in MO
Type of Entity


Business Management
Quent Kasten Mr. Dan Gulley, Manager Mr. Lawrence Kasten, President
Contact Information
Principal: Quent Kasten
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Brick - Clay - Common & Face Brick - Concrete, Pumice Concrete Blocks & Shapes Fireplace Equipment - Retail Fireplaces Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Stoves - Wood, Coal Stone - Crushed Stone - Natural

Alternate Business Names
Carbondale Brick & Block

Additional Locations


    210 W Industrial Park Rd

    Carbondale, IL 62901


    30 N Wood Dr

    Bonne Terre, MO 63628 (573) 358-5410


    713 Kasten Dr

    Jackson, MO 63755 (573) 243-3591 (800) 392-2187 (573) 204-2255


    PO Box 468

    Jackson, MO 63755 (618) 457-7821 (618) 457-8721


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 1,100 lightweight concrete blocks and they sent me heavy weight blocks. When I called to rectify they told me that there is a 25% restocking fee if I wanted to exchange or 50% restocking fee if I wanted to return them. This was not disclosed to me at anytime during the sales process. If I had wanted heavy weight blocks I could have gone to ******* and purchased them for considerably less than what I was charged for at Kasten's. The only reason I ordered from Kasten is for light weight blocks. Product_Or_Service: concrete blocks

Desired Settlement: I would like them to make up the difference for what it cost to lay heavy weight blocks. The blocklayer charges an extra .50 to lay heavyweight blocks (1,100 blocks @ .50 per block = $550).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2015/03/18) */ February 02, 2015 Re: Complaint No. ***************** ***** ****** Dear ***** ******* We are responding to the above complaint number, filed with your office, by Mr. ***** ******. In the attached consumer complaint, Mr. ****** claims he "ordered 1,100 light weight concrete blocks". Mr. ****** did not in fact place his order for "light weight blocks". What Mr. ****** ordered from us was our "regular concrete blocks". Our (as well as all other concrete block manufacturers) "regular concrete block" is a "normal or heavy weight" block. Normal or Heavy Weight blocks are considered an "industry standard". The confusion (or mistake) here was not in what was sold; it is in what was ordered. Once Mr. ****** brought his mistake to our attention, we offered to exchange the block for him, using our standard procedure - which is to load our delivery truck with the material he originally meant to order; deliver it to the jobsite; unload the material; reload the material that was mis-ordered; then return the mis-ordered material to our inventory once we arrive back at our location. For this service, we charge a nominal fee of 25% of the total sale amount for an exchange of material and 50% for a return of material (without exchange). These "re-stocking" fees are clearly posted at all of our "retail" sales counters. Mr. ****** refused our exchange and our re-stock offers. In our opinion, had Mr. ****** consulted with his masonry contractor prior to him making his purchase with us, all the troubles Mr. ****** has explained in his complaint, could have (and would have) been avoided because Mr. ****** would have had all the pertinent information he needed in order to make an informed purchase. It has also been brought to our attention that Mr. ****** has had all of the blocks he purchased from us, installed (laid). Making an exchange or re-stock impossible at this point. We are unclear as to what action (if any) Mr. ****** is expecting our company to take knowing we can no longer exchange or re-stock the material. Please advise us if there is any other action required of our company. Respectfully,

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kasten Masonry Sales Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)