BBB Accredited Business since

Just Pools, Inc.

Phone: (636) 464-7110 Fax: (636) 464-9265 3987 W Outer Rd, Arnold, MO 63010


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Just Pools, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Just Pools, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Just Pools, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 14, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Business Management
Madonna Livingston, Owner Ron Just, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Madonna Livingston, Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design


Additional Locations

  • 3987 W Outer Rd

    Arnold, MO 63010 (636) 464-7110

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the time of installation of an above ground pool at our address by Just Pools, an existing functioning electrical outlet was damaged by the company. The pool was a gift by the our children's grandfather. The electrical outlet was functioning prior to the company installing the pool which was verified by Jefferson County inspector. I have contacted the company on numerous occasions and Madonna Livingston, the owner, has not been responsive nor when I do speak with her, her company will not accept any ownership of the damaged outlet. She had Even though the pool was paid and given as a gift by my father-in-law, it is now our responsibility since the gift was for the installation only and all maintenance and upkeep is ours going forward. I am also concerned that this is a safety issue since it is an open outlet with live power. I will not be able to drain the pool due to the damaged outlet. Also, the pool due to this issue will not be able to pass inspection by the county.

Desired Settlement: I want Just Pools to accept responsibility and ownership for the damage done by her pool crew to this outlet when installing the pool. The damage was done by them. Also, going forward I want Madonna to deal with me directly and not my father-in-law since the pool is located on our property and a gift to our children by their grandfather. I am also requesting that Just Pools assemble and install the ladder to the pool which they left us to deal with.

Business Response:

  The jefferson cty inspection that was done is called a site inspection.  This inspection is to determine that the pool falls in the area that is allowed to build on.  It is not an electrical inspection.  The electrical inspector will be after the pool is installed.  Yes the customer had a outlet by his old pool and I have pictures showing that the electric was run in a steel pole that was rusted and still standing when we left.  The customer called and complained that we did not put the filter close enough for the cord to plug in and wanted us to move the filter closer to the outlet.  We did this for him.  We did not touch his outlet.  We have pictures showing that the pole rusted through .  We are not licensed electrician and we will not do any electric.  He will have to change that outlet regardless of if it were standing or not.  It does not meet current electrical codes and he will be told so when he does his final inspection.  This is something that he will be made to bring up to code.  It has nothing to do with us.  My guys did not damage his pole and it really doesn't matter because it is not code!! and will not pass inspection!!  We do not put any ladders together and will not.  All pools need to have final inspection before anyone is allowed in the pool.  He has not gotten his inspection obviously!  If I were to give access to pools before inspections I would be responsible if someone was electricuted.  I will not take that chance therefore all my customers install their own ladders!

 

Thank you,

 

******* **********

1/20/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Just Pools sent their son, *****, out to close my pool at the end of 2013 pool season. When ***** took the new cover that I bought from them out of the box and started to put it on, he said that the cover had a defect and was missing holes/grommets. He asked me to go inside and get a sharp knife which I did. He took the knife and made his own holes in it in order to feed the wire through so it would fit tight around the edge. At that time, he told me he did not have an extra cover and that I could just go to the store and exchange it. He said that the cover had a 10 year warranty. He took everything with him and was going to take the box with him but I asked him to leave the box which he did. Now when I called the store to exchange it, they are telling me that I only had one year to do that since ***** passed away last spring, they cannot honor what he said. His mother, ******** said that since I paid him (he told me to write the check out to him), they have no record of me even buying this cover from them. They are running a scam business by sending him out to do their work but not guaranteeing anything he does or said with any of the work he had performed. This is not only a horrible way to treat your customers but a horrible way to treat the memory of their son.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I want my pool cover replaced with a non-defective cover.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/19) */ **** ***** AND ***** ********** ARE TWO MEN THAT WE GIVE THEIR NAMES OUT AS A REFERRAL TO DO THINGS THAT WE DO NOT. WE DON'T CLOSE ABOVE GROUND POOLS AND THEREFORE SHE WOULD HAVE BEEN REFERRED TO THEM. THEY OWN THEIR OWN BUSINESSES. WE HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THEIR BUSINESS. **** DID BUY THE COVER FROM US AND TOLD ME ABOUT THE GROMMETS. SHE WAS TOLD SHE COULD BRING IT IN THAT SPRING AND EXCHANGE IT. SHE DID NOT. I AM ONLY ALLOWED BY THE DISTRIBUTOR TO HANDLE THE COVER WARRANTIES THE FIRST SEASON. AFTER THAT IT MUST BE SENT BACK TO THE MANUFACTURER. THIS IS THE WARRANTY TERMS. I DO NOT CONTROL THAT. I OFFERED TO GIVE HER THE MANUFACTURERS INFO IF SHE DID NOT HAVE IT. SHE PROCEEDED TO TELL ME WHAT A HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE MOTHER I WAS AND TO KISS HER ***. I CAN'T BELIEVE THAT SOMEONE WOULD ACTUALLY BEHAVE THAT WAY TO SOMEONE WHO HAS LOST A LOVED ONE. ALL BECAUSE THEY WEREN'T GETTING THEIR WAY. I AM SENDING THIS TO MY ATTORNEY AS THIS IS SLANDER. SHE HAS NEVER HAD ANY SERVICE WORK DONE BY US. SHE DID NOT BRING THE COVER BACK WHEN SHE WAS SUPPOSE TO IF SHE HAD IT WOULD HAVE BEEN TAKEN CARE OF. BUT 3 YEARS LATER WHEN ICE SPLITS IT SHE WANTS TO COMPLAIN. THE MANUFACTURER WILL NOT COVER ICE DAMAGE BUT SHE CAN TRY.

6/5/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did not receive the correct products and the products I dud receive were installed improperly. My pool was installed in April. I requested a Frog Pool System rather than regular chemicals. The Frog was installed and ****** (I beleieve) said he wasn't sure if he installed it correctly and would go back to the office, check the directions and come back out if it were not installed correctly. I never heard back from him. When I tried to use the Frog system, it did not work properly due to improper installation (I used another company to fix the mistake as I no longer trusted the competency of Just Pools). There was a list of items that were included in my package stapled to my contract. Amongst the items listed was a Polaris 65 Cleaning system. We did not receieve a Polaris, we received an off name brand. When I called ******* (5/19) she stated that the contract only read vaccuum system and she refused to honor the paper attached to the contract. I was also left with a 5 foot high pile of dirt from installation. The installers moved some of the dirt (which I now have to have fixed as they moved to a place which causes water to flow strainght into my pool area) but left a large pile. When I called them to inquire; I was told they do not do landscaping, based on contract verbiage. I completely understood that lanscaping would not be done, but I did expect them to at least leave the yard as close to the way they found it as possible. Their contract is VERY VAGUE and they use that to dupe customers.

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial reimbursement of the installation charge in the amount of $300. I had to call another pool company to fix the frog system install ($65 service fee). Luckily, I know someone who can move the dirt, I just have to rent the bobcat ($245 after the deposit is returned).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* v.p. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@aol.com **** did call me as the distributor did not send me everything she needed for the frog system. I had never installed or sold one of those before and I was not familiar with it. I told her this when the pool was sold. The distributor did not send the cartridges she needed. I asked them to please send them to her and unfortunately they only sent one of them. She called me about it and I called the distributor and got the other one and hand delivered it. If she had a problem with the system she could have let me know and we would have fixed it while we were there. However she never said anything about it until she was mad about not getting a Polaris. Nor did she say anything about the dirt pile. All of our customers are told that we do not haul the dirt away and that they need to be home to show us where to stock pile it. She was home and she did have us put it where she wanted it. I cant help that there was more dirt than she realized. As for as the Polaris she did recieve a flyer that had it listed on there. I have found several in my stack. They have since been removed. If she wants a Polaris I will put one in my office for her to pick up. However I do not recommend them because they only last one season. I gave her one that I know last longer. Her contract did not state a Polaris but I will honor giving her one. I wish she would have said something about the frog system before. We would have fixed it. I can't imagine someone paying to have something fixed that is under warranty and would have been free. I will not give a refund but she may have the Polaris

6/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Just Pools, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart