BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/1987

Just Pools, Inc.

Phone: (636) 464-7110Fax: (636) 464-9265

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
07/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a pool pump and paid for pump installation August 1, 2012, which included a 1 year warranty from Just Pools. On July 8, 2013 I reported that the pump was shutting off & was over heating. On July 10 a technician came to inspect the pump. He advised it was running too hot. He said he had to talk to the manufacturers rep. & would return later that day. The technician did not return. On July 12 I called Just Pools to inquire about why the technician did not return. I was told that the technician reported that landscaping pebbles may have contributed to the pump overheating. I advised that we paid just pools to install the pump, & that they installed it in the existing landscape. They told me that they would send out their service supervisor the next day. The supervisor did not show up as promised. After several more phone calls to Just Pools the supervisor came out on July 15. The supervisor said he would call the manufacturer and get back to me by the end of day July 17. I did not hear back from him. I called Just Pools again on July 24, and on July 25 & was referred to call the supervisors cell phone. He once again promised to call me back, but never called back. On July 29 I called Just Pools & requested the owner *** to call me. He did not call me back either. My request is simply to have the defective pool pump replaced.
Product_Or_Service: Pentair pool pump
Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want the defective pool pump replaced.

Consumer's Final Response
I have spoken with the company and my complaint has been resolved.

07/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Three times my credit card has been charged for services that were not completed or pool chemicals were not added to pool- main office would charge my card without doing the service- the employees told me that they didn't add chemicals (two times)but main office charged me- so I then called Just Pools Inc. to have them take me off pool maintemance service-two weeks later they still came out and installed a $ 15 part on pool and charged me $ 75 for it without contacting me about it- So I called them and asked why they were on my property working on my pool after I terminated services with them and that the missing part they replaced was in my pool box that I myself could and was going to install it- ****** is who I spoke with was very rude to me saying that I treated all her employees badly....rambling/ screaming at me on about her being a good christian woman and deverting the converstion /problems on me(how badly I treat her employees which I have never meet face to face ever) and not taking responsbility for the mistakes that her company were making-I spoke with her to try to get my $ 150.00 credited back to my card but was getting nowhere- so I told her that I would be contacting BBB This pool company has no business ethics what so ever!! I would just like to get my $ 150.00 credited to my card and them never step foot on my property ever again-Thank You -**** *******
Product_Or_Service: Pool services

Desired Settlement
$150 credited to my credit card that they have on record -

Business' Initial Response
The complaint states he did not meet the employee, but he said the employee told him they did not put the chemicals in. So obviously he did meet the employee. We did all the work that we were paid to do. We called two days prior to confirm service. However, I will refund $75 for the last service provided.

Consumer's Final Response
7/02/2013: Mediator left message for consumer.

7/12/2013: Mediator left message for consumer.

7/20/2013: Mediator left message for consumer.

Business' Final Response
7/02/2013: Mediator left message for business.

7/12/2013: We have refunded $75 but do not see a reason to refund $150 amount. We put five bags of salt in his pool.

12/31/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pool liner put in with wrinkles that never went out, 2011. Was told it was a manufacturer issue and I would be taken care of. Owner hung up on me.
At the advice of my attorney, I sent the following demand letter to the owner in August 2012. It describes the basis of my issue. Owner called me and claimed I have always had water issues and that is what caused the wrinkles. I told him we have had no rain, and this is not a water issue. He hung up on me.

Demand letter:

24 August 2012

Just Pools
Attention: (NAME)
************************
Arnold, Missouri 63010

RE: 2011 Pool Liner

(NAME)

The purpose of this letter is to demand the installation of a replacement for the liner installed by your company in 2011 at no additional cost, or in the alternative, for a full refund of $2,108.49, the amount paid for the liner and installation.

On the day that my liner was installed during the summer of 2011, there were several large and small wrinkles that were immediately apparent in both the shallow and deep end. I was told by your employees that they would disappear with the weight of the water and warmth of the sun. An employee came out on July 18, 2011 to look but did not remove the wrinkles. At the end of the summer, the wrinkles were still present and unchanged. Upon re-opening my pool this year, the wrinkles were again present and larger. I notified your company regarding this issue, and employees were sent to my house to address the problem. The liner was reset, and the wrinkles did not disappear. I was told by (NAME), one of your employees that the wrinkles appeared to be a manufacturer problem, and that (NAME) would "take care of me." As it stands, the wrinkles are still present, unchanged, and nothing has been fixed.

I am unsure at this time whether the wrinkles are a result of a manufacturer error, an installation error or measurement error, but they have not only affected the way my pool looks, but have also inhibited the enjoyment and use of my pool. I am very disappointed with the lack of attention to this issue after I have addressed it with (NAME). At this time I am asking that you remedy the situation by ordering and installing a new liner at no cost to me, or in the alternative for a full refund.

I have been in contact with my attorney regarding this issue; however I am hopeful that we can come to an amicable agreement.

If you do not comply with my demand immediately, my attorney has advised me to file a claim with the Better Business Bureau, and additionally I will be forced to consider initiating a legal proceeding against you.

If you have any questions or comments on this or any other matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,



(NAME)

Desired Settlement
Full refund or replacement liner.

Business' Initial Response
I wrote the consumer back letting her know this pool was built by another contractor. and there has been a water issue ever since we have been dealing with it starting back in 2002. We have put new liners in 2002 and in 2011 and she has been made aware that she has a water problem. that is ground water getting behind the liner. we put in a sump pit to draw the ground water away from her pool it is her responsibility to keep it running.
there is nothing wrong with the liner this is clearly the ground water problem, I will fix it for a fee, but not for free as this has nothing to do with our workmanship or quality of product.

Consumer Response
: I can't believe you closed this case based on the business. They are lying. This wasn't about a water problem. It was about them putting a liner in with wrinkles telling me the weight of the water and sun would take care of them. That didn't happen and I have been trying to get a resolution. I have had other liners put in and never had wrinkles to start out. I also had them put in a sump pump with the liner and had an electrician they recommended to connect it. It works, I put water in it with the hose yesterday and it pumped it out. We haven't had any rain at all this summer and a dry winter. The pump was dry over the winter as well.
This is about putting in a liner that was not measured correctly or something else because I have people that can say I have had wrinkles since day one. When I talked to the owner and told him I had people that can vouch for the wrinkles, he hung up on me. This is not a water issue and he is lying when he says that the lin er was put in without wrinkles. I have been doing business with the company for 10 years and always did what they told me and trusted them completely which is my mistake. I should not have believed last year that they would rectify the problem. I have told people about you closing this case by just listening to lies by the owner. The A+ rating by you means nothing and friends now believe the BBB is a joke. My daughter is an attorney that worked for the BBB during law school as a mediator. She is the one who told me to contact you. She can't believe that this happened and the case was closed. I am really upset because I am out a lot of money because of the work Just Pools did and will not take responsibility.
The BBB is a big disappointment and I will never use your ratings to choose a business.
Thank you for your time,
*** ********
Submit: Send


Business Response
when i put the liner in there was only one wrinkle in the shallow end and we kicked it out, there were no wrinkles in it when we closed it last winter. the wrinkles in the pool we have no control over we took them out before and they came back, we will remove the wrinkles for her for the reset fee of $500 we do not work for free.


Consumer Response
12/19/2012: Mediator left message for consumer.

12/20/2012: Mediator left message for consumer.

12/20/2012: This is the second liner from the company. They told me the wrinkles would come out but never have. My last liner hardly had any issues if at all and I believe they used too much liner. I believe they are putting me off.

12/27/2012: Mediator left message for consumer.

12/27/2012: I will have a third party come out to inspect when I open the pool this coming season. I will contact the BBB when I do and have documentation.

06/13/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.