BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/05/2010

Blue Haven Pools

Find a Location

Phone: (636) 940-2169Fax: (636) 940-24721411 S 1st Capitol Dr Ste a, Saint CharlesMO 63303-3710 Send email to Blue Haven Pools

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/05/2010

BBB has determined that Blue Haven Pools meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Blue Haven Pools' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Blue Haven Pools

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
10/29/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to complete a warrenty service call, including phone calls back.
. First, I contacted Blue Haven pool, and talked with (NAME) , customer service manger. I explained to her, that I have a crack in my in ground fiberglass liner, and would like it fixed under pool warrantee. This was way back in early June 2012. (NAME) asked some questions like, how old pool was, how long crack was, and if water was coming in. I explained the crack was about 8" long and about .25" wide at the top. She did ask me to measure where water line was in relation, to where water was entering the crack. I completed this task, using food coloring and water, gently spraying water near crack to see if going in. I found the ****** and taped it, as a reference ******. I called (NAME) back after I found the ******, to keep water line below this ******. Name removed at this time told me, that a technician should be out in about 3 weeks. I understand warrantee work, as I'm a field service engineer myself. I know with the hot summer, I'm sure work got piled up, but 2 months later, is well be on, the scope of reasonable time frame of dispatching some one to look at it, to boot, not even a phone call. In early Aug 2012, I called again, and spoke to your pool designer, I told him the crack has gotten bigger, a second crack has been formed from original, at an appeared puncture from, under the concrete, but outside of liner, as if something was pushing from the outside inward. A portion of crack is noted by the **** style bulge. I also explained that the crack has gotten larger, an wider at the top. He told me that (NAME) was on the phone with someone else an he would pass this info over to (NAME), and she would call me back. It's currently Wednesday, August 29, 2012, and still no call back. My pool is sinking, at the front end, now concrete is separating from each other (movement in concrete pads). Your company installed this pool in late Nov, 2000. I should not be having these issues, and horrible customer service, call back issues.

Desired Settlement
I'am seeking a full pool replacement, including new correctly supported concrete, around pool, and piping. At this point, even if crack was fixed, pool is still sinking in front end, crack will just reappear. There are lumps all over the bottom of pool. This indicates there are water issues under the pool that needs to be addressed.

Business' Initial Response
Our superintendent and ****** met with this consumer. The items are out of warranty, but it was agreed upon by all that we would return to do repairs and Mr. ****** will be paying for some of those repairs. There is an agreement signed by both parties agreeing to these terms.
****** ******.

Business' Final Response
We have been extremely busy this season and explained to Mr. ****** that we would come and assess what was going on with his pool as soon as time permitted. We sent out our service team on Sept. 11 and then the general manager. Mr. ****** was given a proposal for the repair of his fiberglass pool. We have received the signed agreement and will coordinate with the customer to do the repair. We feel this concern should be removed from our BBb file.

07/19/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am completely disgusted with the lack of service, professionalism and poor communication with Blue Haven Pools & Spas - USA. I have invested over $100,000 in my backyard oasis so that I can enjoy it and this company is nothing less than a scam that overpromises and underdelivers. This entire process has been a nighmare since they broke ground and now that they have my money it is nearly impossible to get any service. I would NOT recommend this company to anyone. The only reason my pool 'looks' beautiful is because I designed it. Don't judge a book by it's cover... there are still pending issues with my pool over a year after they 'completed' my pool. My pool has been paid off since June 2012 and I still have outstanding issues.Through the entire process, of course after they 'sold' me and had a third of my money, there was a huge lack of communication, unprofessionalism and an array of ignored issues through the whole process. I had to go above and beyond to ensure things were being done properly and correctly throughout the project. They make their customers pay the last third of the entire amount due several weeks BEFORE the project is complete. I had issues with my umbrella anchors on my tanning ledge not being the correct size, color and the surface was not even. Because I already was alarmed by their service and empty promises, I had the owner send me an email in writing that the umbrella hooks would be completed to perfection. They most recently, a month ago after hundreds of calls and texts, came out to resurface the uneven areas. I came home that afternoon to a pool full of acid and debris from the chemicals they used to try to fix an outstanding issue that created an even bigger monster. Now my pool is discolored, scaling and the umbrella anchors are still not fixed to satisfaction. When I most recently reached out to the owner he responded, "Done!!" I am completely unsatisfied with everything about Blue Haven Pools and will make sure to share my experience with the world
Product_Or_Service: Pool and Spa

Desired Settlement
All of the outstanding issues completed at their cost.

Business' Initial Response
We have gone above and beyond to address any and all issues with Ms. pool and Spa with much communication. See signed a contract and agreed to the terms of when payments where to be made and then didn't want to pay. When the pool was complete and she was pool schooled, we continued to come out and watch her pool and check chemicals, especially the PH levels the firth month and the PH was always high. When PH levels go high and stay high it will cause scaling. With Ms working out of town and being gone all week there was no way she could take care of her pool properly. With getting text messages all the time and on weekends when she got home I would have to walk her through some of the issues she was having, because she didn't fully understand everything which was fine to walk her through everything again, which we do with all of our customers. But with her being gone all the time I recommended a service guy to take care of her pool and balance chemicals so that when she came home on the weekend she wouldn't have to worry about the cleaning and chemicals as much. So she took my advice and did just that.

She said she made final payment in June 2012 but final payment was not made until December 11, 2012. This was the plaster payment that was due at install of quartz finish. Approximately 6 months past due. But we continued our service throughout all this time trying to deal with her every issue.

The pool was opened this spring and we acid washed the tanning ledge to remove white scaling but pool had to be drained off ledge to do and water needed to be added back into pool before it could be vacuumed and cleaned. We turned the water on to fill and asked Ms. to turn it off or have someone to turn off when full. Then the pool could be vacuumed and cleaned.

After going out again this summer to look at determined the best and fastest way to remove scaling and large rust spot in the floor from something metal falling in pool was to drain and acid wash which we where going to do on the 28th. I texted Ms. but this was cancelled when she asked if we where paying for her water to refill pool. We where willing to drain and acid wash her pool interior to remove the scaling and rust spot on floor from her lack of care at no charge, normally we charge $750.00 to do this and she wouldn't have it.

There are may false statements in her letter to the BBB. We have dates, copies of checks and many texts in my phone of the continued replies back and forth to her complaints, concerns, issues since I started dealing directly with her.

06/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cracks still in pool deck; after acid wash 6/2012 black dust is still coming off the entire surface of pool
Sept '11 signed contract for pool and deck installation. Gunite done on 11/16/11; concrete deck poured 12/6/11 - cracks started 5/20/11. 6/26/11 Acid wash to get rid of white and yellow discolorations. Gunite color stated after acid wash and continues to come off all surfaces of pool

Desired Settlement
Pool drained and resurface black gunite. It would be nice to have babies swim this summer in a clean pool without gunite dust swirling around.
Would like a coating on deck to cover all cracks.

Business' Initial Response
Customer did call us and said that her concrete had cracked in a few places. We did respond not only during the project but also after the project was finished. We explained to the customer that concrete is never guaranteed. This was explained several times.

Each home owner is given a Walk Thru Book before excavation begins. In the Swimming Pool Start-up Procedure Step 5 it states: Brush the entire pool surface thoroughly at least twice daily to remove all plaster dust (sending copy of procedure). We sent our men out numerous times not only to brush the pool walls but also to clean out the pool filters that were clogged with dog hair. This was all done as a courtesy for the customer who had recently undergone surgery. The pool was not properly taken care of so yes an acid bath was performed to get rid of the staining, at our expense. It is the homeowner's responsibility to properly take care of their pool which is explained in detail in the Start-up Procedures. The customer was told that we would take a look at the plaster at the time of opening to determine if any additional steps needed to be taken. The customer was on our list to open the pool the week of 4/22/13 at the customer's request. Not Monday, but the week of (see attached copy of the letter sent to the homeowner).
We feel that we have responded to the customer's concerns and nothing more will be done at this time.

Consumer Response
They sent back my check and said they would not open it


Consumer Response
5/20/12 **** (President) came by to see cracks and agreed to replace two sections with most damage. Now the cracks have traveled and have pebbling holes. 7/12/12 Blue Haven came and wire brushed pool; this was the only time. It was the tremendous amount of acid added 6/26/12 (by *****)that lead to the color come off and it continues to this date.
The filters have to be cleaned very often because the black collection. The pool is well maintained.


Consumer Response
6/03/2013: Mediator left message for consumer.

6/04/2013: I still have stuff coming off bottom, cracks, pebbling and caulking problems. I Have an estimate that it will cost $7,000 to fix.

6/04/2013: I do not want to send fax because I do not want new company to get in trouble with old company.

6/10/2013: Mediator provided consumer with update.

6/26/2013: I do not accept response. I have an estimate and pictures but I do not want to send them to BBB at this time.


Business Response
6/04/2013: **** will be the person to speak to about this matter, he is the owner. We feel strongly that we have gone above and beyond and that the damage was caused by the consumer. I will have owner call when he gets a chance.

6/07/2013: Mediator left message for business.

6/10/2013: Mediator left message for business.

6/11/2013: Our owner has been in the field all the time lately, but as soon as he gets a chance he will call. We really want to get this resolved.

6/21/2013: Mediator left message for business.

6/21/2013: Business left message for mediator.

6/21/2013: The reason the check was sent back was because it was payment for us to open her pool, which we decline to do in light of all her complaints. I believe that ******** pools went out there. I am going to call them to see if they found anything wrong with the pool.

6/26/2013: I tried to speak with other company but I have not heard back. I will call again and let BBB know how it goes.

6/26/2013: I spoke with ******. The last time the other company went out there was June 7th. They saw nothing unusual. I asked specifically if plaster was coming off and he said no just dusting, which is normal for concrete. Concrete pools have dusting, you just have to brush the walls daily, which all customers are instructed. If the concrete around the pool is cracking, that is never guaranteed. We did replace one panel as goodwill gesture but no more. We stick by our position that there is nothing wrong with our work, no fault on our end.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service, Swimming Pool Enclosures

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/21/2001Business started: 03/01/1985
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Trudo (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Rose Walters (Office Manager)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service, Swimming Pool Enclosures

Alternate Business Names
Trumac Fiber Glass, Trumac Fiberglass Co

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Blue Haven Pools

1411 S 1st Capitol Dr Ste a

Saint Charles, MO 63303-3710

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1411 S 1st Capitol Dr Ste a 

    Saint Charles, MO 63303-3710(636) 940-2169

  • 5827 Black Walnut Rd 

    Saint Charles, MO 63301

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Blue Haven Pools is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.