BBB Accredited Business since

Blue Haven Pools

Additional Locations

Phone: (636) 940-2169 Fax: (636) 940-2472 1411 S 1st Capitol Dr Ste a, Saint Charles, MO 63303 http://www.bluehavenofstlouis.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blue Haven Pools meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blue Haven Pools include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Haven Pools
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 21, 2001 Business started: 03/01/1985 Business started locally: 03/01/1985
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Mark Trudo, President Ms. Rose Walters, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Trudo, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Rose Walters, Office Manager
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service

Alternate Business Names
Trumac Fiber Glass Trumac Fiberglass Co

Additional Locations

  • 1411 S 1st Capitol Dr Ste a

    Saint Charles, MO 63303 (636) 940-2169

  • 5827 Black Walnut Rd

    Saint Charles, MO 63301

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Multiple issues with service and product. Multiple dates broken. Contracted to complete work in 4 - 6 weeks with 6 being the latest if weather related. Starting week 11 and much more work to complete. Blue Haven Pools misrepresented themselves as the pool builders when reality is Blue Haven Pools is merely a General Contractor who bid out the jobs to out of state / in state contractors who provided Blue Haven Pools with the lowest bid I am sure. As of now provided no lien waivers once this was discovered though this was just brought to their attention and another promise made. Shotty work with multiple issues with workmanship including spotter tiles not positioned as agreed to. Over budget as I had to spent an additional $1000.00 to correct the concrete finishing job that was extremely sub standard. Water leaking from under concrete decking. Two plumbing leaks at pump. No cover for one of the return pipes located in the deep end after my wife asked several times over the past 4-5 weeks. Several times were told so and so will be there Monday, then Wednesday, then Friday with no shows each and every time. Foreman Bill only present two days during whole project with a lot of miscommunication between he and the out of state contractors he hired to do the work. Foreman made several promises and NEVER delivers. Felt I was lied to on more than one occasion as Foreman's story and workers stories never matched. Ridiculous and very unprofessional service and product.

Desired Settlement: I want to speak to the owner personally at my home and discuss this matter ASAP.

Business Response: We met with the customer and have a scheduled meeting with them on October 13, 2015 and will file a complete response to everything.

7/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am completely disgusted with the lack of service, professionalism and poor communication with Blue Haven Pools & Spas - USA. I have invested over $100,000 in my backyard oasis so that I can enjoy it and this company is nothing less than a scam that overpromises and underdelivers. This entire process has been a nighmare since they broke ground and now that they have my money it is nearly impossible to get any service. I would NOT recommend this company to anyone. The only reason my pool 'looks' beautiful is because I designed it. Don't judge a book by it's cover... there are still pending issues with my pool over a year after they 'completed' my pool. My pool has been paid off since June 2012 and I still have outstanding issues.Through the entire process, of course after they 'sold' me and had a third of my money, there was a huge lack of communication, unprofessionalism and an array of ignored issues through the whole process. I had to go above and beyond to ensure things were being done properly and correctly throughout the project. They make their customers pay the last third of the entire amount due several weeks BEFORE the project is complete. I had issues with my umbrella anchors on my tanning ledge not being the correct size, color and the surface was not even. Because I already was alarmed by their service and empty promises, I had the owner send me an email in writing that the umbrella hooks would be completed to perfection. They most recently, a month ago after hundreds of calls and texts, came out to resurface the uneven areas. I came home that afternoon to a pool full of acid and debris from the chemicals they used to try to fix an outstanding issue that created an even bigger monster. Now my pool is discolored, scaling and the umbrella anchors are still not fixed to satisfaction. When I most recently reached out to the owner he responded, "Done!!" I am completely unsatisfied with everything about Blue Haven Pools and will make sure to share my experience with the world Product_Or_Service: Pool and Spa

Desired Settlement: All of the outstanding issues completed at their cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/20) */ We have gone above and beyond to address any and all issues with Ms. pool and Spa with much communication. See signed a contract and agreed to the terms of when payments where to be made and then didn't want to pay. When the pool was complete and she was pool schooled, we continued to come out and watch her pool and check chemicals, especially the PH levels the firth month and the PH was always high. When PH levels go high and stay high it will cause scaling. With Ms working out of town and being gone all week there was no way she could take care of her pool properly. With getting text messages all the time and on weekends when she got home I would have to walk her through some of the issues she was having, because she didn't fully understand everything which was fine to walk her through everything again, which we do with all of our customers. But with her being gone all the time I recommended a service guy to take care of her pool and balance chemicals so that when she came home on the weekend she wouldn't have to worry about the cleaning and chemicals as much. So she took my advice and did just that. She said she made final payment in June 2012 but final payment was not made until December 11, 2012. This was the plaster payment that was due at install of quartz finish. Approximately 6 months past due. But we continued our service throughout all this time trying to deal with her every issue. The pool was opened this spring and we acid washed the tanning ledge to remove white scaling but pool had to be drained off ledge to do and water needed to be added back into pool before it could be vacuumed and cleaned. We turned the water on to fill and asked Ms. to turn it off or have someone to turn off when full. Then the pool could be vacuumed and cleaned. After going out again this summer to look at determined the best and fastest way to remove scaling and large rust spot in the floor from something metal falling in pool was to drain and acid wash which we where going to do on the 28th. I texted Ms. but this was cancelled when she asked if we where paying for her water to refill pool. We where willing to drain and acid wash her pool interior to remove the scaling and rust spot on floor from her lack of care at no charge, normally we charge $750.00 to do this and she wouldn't have it. There are may false statements in her letter to the BBB. We have dates, copies of checks and many texts in my phone of the continued replies back and forth to her complaints, concerns, issues since I started dealing directly with her. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 17, 2015/05/04) */ I hired BHP in Spring 2012 to build my pool. I still have pending issues after years of documented conversations that these would be resolved. I hired Blue Haven Pools in the Spring of 2012 to build my pool. To date it is the worst consumer decision I have ever made. I signed my contract on 04/16/12. They collect total sale amount of $75,196.25 in a deposit and 3 payments throughout the process (the last payment is due before completed project - at the plaster stage). When they did the gunite and plaster layer the coloring looked faded and uneven. I mentioned it to the crew several times and they assured me it was because there was no water in the pool and once the water was in the pool everything would even out and settle. I had many special features and upgrades added to my pool project, one being umbrella anchors on my tanning ledge area. When they created these (towards the end since it was a surface project) the holes were entirely too big to securely hold an umbrella. They agreed to redo the umbrella anchors since it was their mistake so the umbrella anchors could do what they were intended to do, hold umbrellas. When they 'fixed' this issue the circle around both umbrella hooks are uneven and discolored. They promised me all above referenced issues would be repaired to my satisfaction and unfortunately that is not the case. I have had several documented and undocumented conversations with this company, particularly the owner, **** ***** whom only replies and corresponds when it is convenient to him and most of the time in a very unprofessional manner. Fast-forward a little more than three years since I signed a contract with this company, nearly three years since they collected all my money and after years and months of phone calls, texts and emails - **** finally agreed to power wash my entire pool promising it would take care of these pending issues in April 2015. I mentioned that I didn't feel power washing was going to take care of these deeper issues with my pool finish because it is not a surface issue, yet it is in the finish of the pool - a much deeper issue and mistake on their part. Against my better judgement I agreed to drain my pool so they could finally fix this unfinished business because of his 'expert' advice. The power washing was done on Friday April 3, 2015. When the laborer was power washing I told him it didn't look like it was working, he then said the same thing the guy said the first time - it needs water in the pool to show the finish since some areas are wet and other areas are dry. After letting it sit for a few weeks the issue is still at hand. Needless to say, not only is the problem not fixed but my pool has even more discoloration due to the power washing pressure. I have reached out to the **** ***** again with nothing but unprofessional and rude replies. The last reply was 'There will be no other work done or reimbursement!!' I invested over $75,000 with this company and I deserve to have my outstanding issues resolved. I also want to be reimbursed the hundreds of dollars I had to spend to refill my pool and rebalance the chemicals due to their lack of success repairing my pool on April 3, 2015. DR: I want these issues to be resolved and repaired 100% correct with no further delay. I also want to be reimbursed the hundreds of dollars I had to spend to refill my pool and rebalance the chemicals due to their lack of success repairing my pool on April 3, 2015. I can submit exact amounts via invoices.

5/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Haven Pools
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)