BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Abel Pool & Spa Inc

(636) 673-21015541 Highway N, Saint CharlesMO 63304-7646

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Abel Pool & Spa Inc is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Abel Pool & Spa Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Abel Pool & Spa Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

April 24, 2013 I called the company and asked them if they could come and check on my Polaris pump that they installed. The pump was leaking. They came out April 25, 2013 and reconnected the pump. I had asked how to add salt and how to vacuum. They said that I needed one or two bags of salt. They gave me a review of how to use the vacuum. April 26, 2013 I called and asked about a code reading on my pool heater. The women didn't know and said she would have someone call me back. I received no call back. April 30, 2013 I got a bill for $80.00. I was charged $32.00 for a wall fitting. They said that since I didn't have them open the pool they had to charge me for it. It wasn't broken. I never got a phone call about the heater but I then got a bill for another $80.00. They came without notifying me and said they had to backwash the pool. I don't know if they really came or not and charged me.

Desired Settlement
I paid the $80.00 for them to come out and reconnect the hose. The part should have been covered under warranty for the $32.00. Don't wish to pay the $80.00 or the $32.00 for the part.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********
In March of 2013 the customer called us several times trying to figure out what it would cost her to open the pool after receiving the open letter we sent out. The customer stated that she could not afford to have us open the pool due to financial issues. The customer decided to open her own pool. On April 24, 2013 the customer called requesting we come out to check the Polaris, check the salt, and check the heating element on the spa. We came to check all the above on April 25, 2013. We arrived at 7:40 and left at 8:07. While checking the Polaris, the Polaris wall fitting was broken. It was not broken during the closing so we replaced it. The customer was aware of this at the time we were out and we also informed customer of how much salt to use and how to vacuum. When checking the heating element on the spa, we determined it was damaged due to chemical misuse by customer. On April 26, 2013 the customer called again with a problem with the heater. We called back shortly after to let customer know someone would be out that day, but the mailbox on the answering machine was full. We were there on April 26, 2013 from 7:35 to 8:45 to check the code on the heater and backwash the pool. We also called after we had been there to let customer know that the heater was now working properly. After receiving the bill for $194.38 on April 30,2013 the customer called the office and felt she did not have to pay because we were not there for 30 minutes. At our company, there is a trip charge of $80.00 for the first half hour and $80.00 for every hour after, which is also stated on the opening letter we sent out in February. We were there for 27 minutes on April 25 and 10 minutes on April 26. In June 2013, the customer contacted us about her liner being out of track. We came out and put the liner back in track at no charge to the customer because it was under warranty. As of June 17, 2013 there is still an outstanding balance of $114.38. $80.00 for the trip on April 26, $32.00 for the Polaris wall fitting that was replaced on April 25, and $2.38 in tax.

Consumer's Final Response
I never authorized the second trip that they made. I called to ask about a code on the heater and the woman told me she would call me back. She said that she would ask the man in charge. What happened was I got an invoice for this and didn't even know it took place. Apparently this man came out and back washed the system and they had said they tried calling me to leave messages but my mailbox was full. They never repeated the phone call or got authorization before coming out and proceeded to do the work unauthorized. I have a cell phone and home phone. They never tried to contact my cell phone or tried to contact my home phone again. I could have done the work myself had I known what the code meant which is what I called to inquire about, not to authorize service. This issue is not resolved and I would appreciate my complaint being reopened.

Business' Final Response
We are going to get rid of her remaining balance of $114.38 but we want her to know that any time we come out in the future, someone will have to be there and she will be a COD case, she will have to be there to pay for services at the time rendered.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Contractors-Swimming Pool/Service & Supplies, Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/22/2003Business started: 01/01/1995
Type of Entity


Incorporated: March 1995, MO

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Victor Abel (President)Ms. Kelly Abel (Vice President)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Contractors-Swimming Pool/Service & Supplies, Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Abel Pool & Spa Inc

5541 Highway N

Saint Charles, MO 63304-7646

To | From


1 Locations

  • 5541 Highway N 

    Saint Charles, MO 63304-7646(636) 673-2101
    Fax: (636) 498-2103

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Abel Pool & Spa Inc is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.