BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In St. Louis, MO

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/03/2011

A & S Hardscape LLC

Find a Location

(636) 262-513120 Wood Path Ln, Saint PetersMO 63376-3082 Send email to A & S Hardscape LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/03/2011

BBB has determined that A & S Hardscape LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A & S Hardscape LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A & S Hardscape LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
10/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: He put in a new driveway, walkway, and porch for me in August 2012. I paid him cash $3,000. I have a receipt for this. He made me a porch and a step to get into my house. I told him my storm door, in order to lock it, I need a hole in the step so it will lock in. He said after it dried he would come back. He did come back to get the money and put up a little ribbon so no one would drive on the driveway. He didn't do the porch though. I have called and called but have not received anything back. I called him in May of this year and he said he was out of town and would contact me, just give him a week or two. I have given him time and am still not hearing from him.

12/16/2011Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of repair

Complaint: On 6/15/2011 we had a third driveway poured and paid $1,950.00 (cash) for the service. We were told to seal the driveway immediately and we did. In less that two weeks we had a major crack across the concrete. We notified (_______), he came out and looked at the drive, used a concrete saw to cut a stress relief point in the driveway and said they would be back to remove the section of drive and repour that area. Since then I have made numberous calls and left messages on XXXXX with no return calls from him to date.

Business' Initial Response
We're going out there today to take care of it...

06/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: I signed an agreement on 4/19/11 for the removal my deck and the pouring of a 322 square feet (12x14)concrete patio with two radius steps for $2932. Four months later the patio became totally uneven and it was detaching from my house. We notified A & S Hardscape LLC,the person in charge was very sorry and he promised me to fix the problem yet every time I called, he didn't answer. After one year I contacted a A Mud Jacking company which fixed the problem and they said the original problem was the patio wasn't pour correctly. I had to pay $875 for this mud jacking repair.

Business' Initial Response
The customer was notified before the project took place that a retaining wall would be required to prevent the patio settling. She said that she and her husband would take care of that. We installed the patio. Everything required to prevent settling of the patio on our part including rebar and a 4" compacted rock base was done by our company and done to code. Due to the grade of the customer's property a retaining wall was required to prevent the settling of the patio which was to be done by the consumers. We stressed to the consumer that a retaining was required. We offered to do the retaining wall and the consumer said they would take care of that themselves.

Consumer's Final Response
A@S told me this destruction never happen to their company before .The Mudjacker said the basic way of building patio was wrong. Mudjacker was shock . They raise patio by drilling four holes, filled them with non-shrinking concrete mixture , also just put metal bar at the edges .

I just don't want what happen to me happen to some one else.

04/16/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Snow Removal Service - Commercial, Concrete Contractors, Patio Design, Patio Builder, Retaining Walls, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Contractors - Retaining Wall

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2011Business started: 03/01/2003
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Skyles (Co-owner)Mr. Chuck Austin (Co-owner)
Business Category

Snow Removal Service - Commercial, Concrete Contractors, Patio Design, Patio Builder, Retaining Walls, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Contractors - Retaining Wall

Alternate Business Names
A and S Hardscape LLC
Industry Tips
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A & S Hardscape LLC

20 Wood Path Ln

Saint Peters, MO 63376-3082

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 44 Homefield Commons Ct 

    O Fallon, MO 63366-4659(636) 262-5131
    (636) 262-2023

  • 20 Wood Path Ln 

    Saint Peters, MO 63376-3082

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A & S Hardscape LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Snow Removal Service - Commercial

BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.