BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gamma's Shield Shade Tree Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gamma's Shield Shade Tree Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gamma's Shield Shade Tree Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2005 Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated 01/23/2006 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Gamma, President Thomas Gamma Frank Gamma Sr, Owner Angie Hoehn, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Gamma, President
Customer Contact: Angie Hoehn, Office Manager
Business Category

Services - General Tree Service

Alternate Business Names
Gamma Tree Service

Additional Locations

  • 10210 Bellefontaine Rd.

    Saint Louis, MO 63137

  • 1564 N and South Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63130 (314) 725-6159 (314) 867-2363

  • PO Box 16103

    Saint Louis, MO 63105 (314) 226-1439

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gamma personnel placed an extension ladder against a tree they were trimming from my neighbor's property on Friday, December 18, 2015 and failed to properly tie off a limb which they cut, causing it to swing wildly knocking their ladder against the electrical wiring extending between my house and garage, pulling the wiring off the brick wall of the house. The wiring is now hanging loosely from vines on the side of the house. I explained the situation to Gamma supervisor ***** ******** on Friday, December 18 who took pictures and said he would have to check with the boss. I received no response so I called and spoke with "*****" on Monday, December 20, at about 2pm and explained the situation again, leaving my phone number, which has an answering machine. She said that she would need to check with the owner/boss. I called back on Wednesday, December 23, spoke with *****, and then with ***** to whom I explained the situation again giving her my phone number. She asked if *** Gamma had called me back and I said no. We are now over two weeks past when the Gamma personnel damaged my electrical wiring leaving it dangling from the side of the house; and I have not received any response.

Desired Settlement: An electrician needs to safely reattach the electrical wiring to the brick wall of the house. Gamma needs to pay for this work to correct the damage the company caused.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2016/02/16) */ ***Document Attached*** We received the above complaint from this adjacent property owner Where we were pruning 2 trees. We have visually inspected the wires in question on 3 occasions and can not find anything out of order. (See attached pictures) We are contacting an electrician or the utility company to do a professional inspection. We will contact you with their assessment. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2016/02/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Two pictures furnished to the BBB (furnished separately because they cannot be attached to this box) clearly show that the anchor bolt holding the electric line from my house to my garage has been pulled out from the brick wall of the house and that this electric wire is hanging on by the vines; note the hole in the brick wall where it was mounted immediately above this electric wiring, which is located above the telephone mount and the ******** electric feed, which are not damaged in Gamma's pictures taken from underneath. This information was provided to Gama employee, ***** ********* in person when I was standing on the ladder looking at the damage that Gamma caused on December 18, 2015, and in subsequent telecons with Gama employees as noted in the original complaint. This problem is not ********'s, nor the telephone company's as Gamma tries "to pass the buck;" Gamma needs to remount this electric wiring that Gamma workers dislodged. Please advise how I can best submit the two additional pictures documenting the damage that Gamma caused.

4/28/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Gamma to remove a tree and stump from my back yard. They really did a great job in removing the tree. They then came back couple of days later and removed the stump. Which also was done well. Unfortunately, in the process of either removing the tree or the stump they used machinery that caused damage to my and my neighbor's yards. They removed the tree and/or stump using machinery and did so during or shortly following a heavy rain. The machinery tore up the yards. I pointed this out in my cover letter when I paid the bill. They did not respond.

Desired Settlement: Fix the yards.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/01/30) */ We checked our records regarding this job. The job was completed on 10-17-14 for $825.00. The customer never contacted our office to voice any concern and paid the bill in full. Recently we surveyed the customers and neighbors property and could not find any damages to the property. See attached pictures. I will reach out to Mr. ***** to determine if there is anything we can do to mitigate this complaint. We strive for customers satisfaction. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 19, 2015/02/02) */ I did contact the company about the damage to my and my neighbor's yards. It was in the transmittal letter with the check. Given that they acknowledge receiving payment, they received the letter. I'll submit a copy of the letter on Monday. To my knowledge, nobody from Gamma has been to my house. They never contacted me for permission to be on my property, so I have to assume they did not come to my house. I can't believe they would trespass and certainly wouldn't admit committing a crime. And they have not contacted me as they said they would in their response. I am very disappointed that the BBB closed this case without contacting me first. This greatly undermines my confidence in the organization. Perhaps it's just a tool for businesses and doesn't really take its role very seriously. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 24, 2015/04/21) */ 3/20/2015: Mediator left message for consumer. 3/27/2015: Damages were reported when business stumped the yard because it was a very wet day and they also damaged the neighbor's yard. They did come twice and would call first. I am asking that the yard be fixed. 4/06/2015: Mediator left message for consumer. 4/10/2015: Mediator left message for consumer. 4/17/2015: Mediator left message for consumer. 04/23/15: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 04/24/15: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. An email was also sent to the consumer. 04/28/15: Thanks for following up. Just drop this. I don't have time right now to deal with it. I was in the middle of tax season and settling a large audit for a client. Then traveling. And will be out of town again. There will be no good resolution to this. All of which could have been avoided had Gamma simply read my letter when I sent payment. And this would not have been exacerbated had they not said they came out and looked at my property which I highly doubt. And if they did they were trespassing as they had no authorization to go on to my property. I will not use their services again, will describe my experience to the friend who recommended them, and will not refer them to anyone in the future. I will sod the area between my house and my neighbor's house and seed the area in my backyard. ***** ***** Final Business Response /* (1000, 25, 2015/04/21) */ 3/27/2015: Mediator left message for owner. 3/30/2015: Business returned mediator's call. 3/31/2015: Business returned mediator's call. 4/06/2015: We are willing to work with the consumer but I need to know the nature of the damages. 04/23/15: Mediator called business and left message with office for *** *****. 04/24/15: I need to understand what the issue is that needs to be repaired. I asked for the consumer to call me to explain what the issue is. We are only a few blocks from the residence and we would be happy to go back and fix the issue.

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gamma's Shield Shade Tree Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)