This business is not BBB accredited.

Switzer Construction LLC

Phone: (573) 529-7635 Fax: (573) 228-9214 3209 Elm Grove Dr, Columbia, MO 65202


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Switzer Construction LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Switzer Construction LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Switzer Construction LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 27, 2012 Business started: 04/24/2012 Business started locally: 04/24/2012 Business incorporated 06/18/2012 in MO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Cory Smith, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cory Smith, President/Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Windows - Replacement Contractors - Flooring Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Gutters & Downspouts Deck Builder

Government Action

On July 15, 2014, Missouri Attorney General, Chris Koster, filed a lawsuit against Switzer Construction and its owner Cory Smith. The lawsuit alleges that Mr. Smith received at least $21,000 from eight consumers and did not perform the roof and deck replacements or other repairs as promised. The lawsuit is pending.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3209 Elm Grove Dr

    Columbia, MO 65202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired Switzer Construction on 7/24/2013 to replace deck and repair gutters. Was told work would be done in a few days, then a few weeks,... Signed proposal with Switzer Construction to replace deck and do gutter repairs. Met with owner, ***** *****, on two occasions to get estimates. He prepared proposal and took half money ($1550) down for supplies. He cashed check almost immediately. Said work would be done in a few days - cancelled due to slight rain. Then said maximum time would be a few weeks. Then he said a couple of more weeks. Doesn't return phone calls. E-mails simply state they are behind and they will get to it when they can. It has now been over six weeks and we have not received any proposed schedule for when work will be done, if ever. He has cashed our check however.

Desired Settlement: I want immediate refund of deposit ($1550).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/09) */ I under stand and that is fine with me I will issue a refund for the half down Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2013/09/23) */ No refund provided. No response to requests from Switzer Construction. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2014/01/28) */ 1/20/2014: Mediator left message for consumer. 1/24/2014: I went through small claims court but local sheriff could not find owner so that was unsuccessful. 1/28/2014: I have filed complaint with Missouri Attorney General. Final Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2014/01/28) */ 1/20/2014: Mediator attempted to reach business however phone numbers are disconnected.

11/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One year ago, I paid **** ***** from Switzer Construction $11,000 to install a new roof and bathroom at my friend's home in Fulton, MO. The roof was completed. The bathroom was never finished due to my friend's health issues. We have been trying to contact **** for the past four weeks via emails, text messages and phone calls, with no success, as it is time to either complete the bathroom project or refund the $4000. Product_Or_Service: Roofing/remodeling Account_Number: Proposal w/o number

Desired Settlement: Refund. I want the bathroom project completed as discussed or an immediate refund of the $4000.

11/5/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid approximately 50% of the total proposal amount by check for deck refurbishment and repairs to rear of our house. Work was expected to be started within 2 weeks. Some weather delays were experienced, but little response was provided by ***** to repeated requests for schedule updates. ***** finally provided a start date of Thursday, 9/5/13. No one from Switzer arrived or communicated on 9/5/13. On the evening of 9/5/13, we learned through the local news broadcast that Switzer had lost the Better Business Bureau accreditation. We attempted to contact ***** both by phone and in-person without success. On Friday afternoon, 9/6/13, ***** arrived, delivered a small amount of materials and worked for approximately 1.5 hours. At that time, I told ***** we needed assurance that the project would be done completely and without further delay. He assured me that we would be satisfied with the result. He indicated that he would return during the weekend to pour new footings. On Saturday morning, we read on the front page of the ******** Tribune the account of another Switzer customer with a very similar problem. After ***** did not return during the weekend as communicated, I sent him an email on Sunday evening, 9/8/13, with direction to not pursue any further work or procurement of materials and to contact us immediately to discuss a settlement. I further communicated to ***** that if we did not hear from him by Tuesday, 9/10/13, that we would pursue a complaint to the Missouri Attorney General. ***** called back on Monday morning, 9/9/13. I gave him the conditions under which we would authorize him to complete the project. He indicated that he would call back in 1 hour. He did not call back and I have been unable to contact him since despite repeated efforts to call and email. Product_Or_Service: Deck refurbishment / siding repair Account_Number: $4177.74

Desired Settlement: We want a refund of the down payment minus the small amount for materials procured and labor completed. We are willing to allow Switzer to complete the project at the original price after refund of the down payment.

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put 50 percent down on a new roof for my home on 6/26/13. I was told that it would be started around the first of August. I had a hard time communicating with Mr. **** *****, but when I did get a hold of him he assured me that I was the next on the list. This went on for over a month and still no roof. After multiple phone calls, voicemails, and text messages I came across an article in the ******** Tribune. The article was about the reliability issues with Switzer construction. I was in the process of selling my house and needed my roof done ASAP, so I told Mr. ***** I wanted my deposit back and no longer needed his services. He said that he understood and was working on it. After multiple attempts to contact him (a week later) I have heard nothing from him. Product_Or_Service: Roof

Desired Settlement: Refund the 50 percent down payment that I paid for a new roof.

11/5/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 17, 2013 I signed a contract to have the roof replaced on our home for $3,335.30. I gave them $1,667.65. Two months nothing happened. We had a rain storm and the lights in the ceiling started shorting out. They came over and put a tarp on the roof and we have never heard back from them.

Desired Settlement: It has been more than a month since they have been here. I have been calling ***** ***** (owner) and leaving numerous messages. He has never returned my calls. I want my $1,667.65 back and the contract voided.

11/5/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed contract in June, haven't seen any work yet. Called several times, said would be out, never came. Haven't seen any sign of a new roof and can no longer get in contact with the contractor.

Desired Settlement: Want my deposit back so I can get a contractor that will install a new roof.

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Job not started after almost a year.They were fired.Refund agreed in writing (email).Several months later still can't collect. Switzer Construction was originally hired Aug. 27, 2012. After several months job not started they were fired. They sent our deposit back to us quickly. In December of 2012 **** ***** of Switzer Construction recontacted us with promises to start the project by February 2013. We agreed and resent the same deposit with the agreement in writing and we gave him an extra month (MARCH) to start this project. Then we gave them another month and another and still not started. May 3, 2013 they were fired again. We hired a different contractor,Signed the papers and sent a deposit. After all this Switzer shows up at our house ready to start. I reminded them they were fired. They are not trusted. **** and I talked for a while in the driveway. It seemed to me he understood where we were coming from and told me he would get our deposit back as soon as he could. Since then I contacted him by phone twice. He told me he was working on it. The third time I attempted to contact him I got a recording that "This number is temporally out of service". I then filed a complaint with the office of the Attorney General's Office. Now I am writing this...

Desired Settlement: We request our deposit of $3500.00 back as agreed. We had to come up with another $3500.00 to pay the contractors that actually showed up and did the job. Forced into early retirement in January 2013 due to health reasons, my income was cut in half.Also in January 2013 we moved my 84 year old handy capped father-in-law in with us when his wife died. We became his primary care givers. **** knows all this. We also had to have our bathroom remodeled so he could shower, all out of pocket. No financial aid from anyone. $3500.00 is allot to us.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/06) */ We will be refunding there deposit for the material as soon as we can resale it we can not return the material after it is made we had started the job and showed up to install it and the owner told us we were fired and he was going to have someone esle do the job


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Switzer Construction LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)