This business is not BBB accredited.

Art -Tec Construction & Sunrooms Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (330) 468-0700 Fax: (314) 291-6449 View Additional Phone Numbers 8670 Orf Rd, Lake Saint Louis, MO 63367 http://www.art-tec-construction.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Art -Tec Construction & Sunrooms Inc. include:

  • 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Art -Tec Construction & Sunrooms Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Art -Tec Construction & Sunrooms Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 14, 1990 Business started: 02/01/1966 Business started locally: 02/01/1966 Business incorporated 01/01/1966 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Justin C. Bollier, President Bill Goddard, Director of Operations Barbara Hults, Operations Assistant Ms. Liz Kolbe, Office Manager Laura Ralich, Operations Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Justin C. Bollier, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction Awnings & Canopies Furniture - Outdoor Screen Enclosures Basement - Contractors Greenhouse Builders Gutters & Downspouts Patio & Deck Builders Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    750 East Highland Rd.

    Macedonia, OH 44056 (330) 468-0700

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8670 Orf Rd

    Lake Saint Louis, MO 63367

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/9/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a new roof put on by Art-Tec in 5/2011. No complaints about the roof, nor billing. However, we have a small leak on our front porch due to a downspout. We called them several, several, several times after they were finished to come back out and fix the porch/downspout and they did not. Our warranty was 5 years.... . so we were hoping they could come back out, however, it appears their number is disconnected.

Desired Settlement: Would like Art-Tec to contact us and fix our front porch leak. Very small, minor thing but I feel they are responsible.

3/27/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not complete work as specified on contract. Discovered by secondary roofing company. Our roof was placed by Art-Tec in July, 2011. The first week of this year the roof began leaking into the front room. We had a prior leak into our family room 6 months prior and tried numerous times to call the company to come check their work and check the roof. We called multiple times trying to get them to answer us and our questions regarding the leak and the warranty on our roof. We left several messages on their answering machine and the messages were never answered, or returned. When the secondary leak happened in our living room, we again tried to call the company but all of the numbers were no longer in service. We even went to the address on their website to find out they had moved to another location. We had ******** another roofing company come out and they had to remove the 2 1/2 year old roof to find out what the problem was to resolve the leak. When they removed the shingles they found out several areas of defect that had never been fixed, areas that should have been fixed with proper materials and substandard materials were used, parts of the roof that were supposed to be removed and fixed and were not, roof fixtures that were supposed to be removed or repaired and were not, ice protection that was improperly placed. The ******** roofer took pictures and told us it was one of the worst roofing jobs he had ever seen and upon review of our contract told us our contract had not been fulfilled per Art-tecs' agreement. ******** had to repair all of the areas that Art-tec should have repaired in 2011 and we had a defective roof and decking that they did not repair. In order to have everything repaired properly we had to hire ******** to tear off the shingles that Art-tec had placed and affect all repairs that Art-tec should have done. We had to pay ******** to put on another roof.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of the $5287 we had to pay to Art-tec for the first roof in 2011 and the contract that was breached and also $4930 we paid **** *** in December of this year to have the new roof installed.

7/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Art Tec to build our screened in porch in May 2013. We signed the contract March 1. Our salesperson, was very nice and polite and knew his product. We were VERY specific about timing with our porch, primarily because of the reviews we read and some major concerns with that. We saw all the issues had been resolved and were in good standing with the BBB. Our salesman assured us of the date-2months later-for the start of construction. I was reluctant to give a third down to start the process, but was told they needed it to start the building at the warehouse.What a mess from there on out. No calls returned-more excuses than you could shake a stick at-trucks broke down, salesperson "fired" -although I highly doubt that-employees sick-employee stole truck-employees had to go to impound to get truck....when they worked, it was for 4 hours or less sometimes. They shorted our decking and made us feel bad because they had to go outstate to get it. After pushing and calling and calling, our porch finally got "completed" around July 4th. Our completion date was June 1...Then we had product issues..mainly our plans (drawn by them) shows our porch to be 2 1/2 feet taller than what they built. We wanted the height because we wanted a full view of the trees out our windows. I told them about it and they said because of our fireplace we needed clearance. We had an inspector for the city look at it and said 2 1/2 more was fine..(the plans actually showed 3 ft) By that time, my husband was so done with this that we settled with them for the height difference. I was livid and the main reason we built was for the view.Then we had issues with caulking around the fp. When they first did it, we had a roof inspector look and he said it was done wrong, they had to flash it. When I told Art Tec this, they had someone come out and they RE CAULKED it. We had a roofer come in and do the job correctly because we did not want any water damage. He charged us 400.00 and we would like a refund. Product_Or_Service: screened in porch

Desired Settlement: We would like the 400 refunded to us. We gave them 2 chances to fix and they did not. We had a licensed roofer do the work. Travis said he would call me back on this and we have left numerous calls with no reply..Again, when he accidentally picked up, he had more excuses and frankly, after all the lies and excuses its hard to believe him anymore. At one time they were down to 1 employee. We were just praying that they finished what they started as they had 2/3 of our money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/24) */ This must be a joke of a complaint I gave a refund to these people of $2500 and gave the room "as is" now they want me to warranty and there's no way that I'm refunding a dollar they have $2500 to work with room was built and the refund was given it's clearly stated in the contracts that when contract is not paid in full there are no warranties. This was agree when they refused to pay contract in full. No one has called to authorize any repairs because they know there's no warranties. They deducted $2500 because of roof issues that they would fix their self or live with was the wording. Would not pay me another penny until I agreed to it Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2013/12/03) */ 1.Check says "paid in full" and cashed 2.Contacted ****** 3xs regarding roof. Done incorrectly 2x's. Had independent contractor inspect and do work correctly for 400.00 3. Never agreed to "As is" warranty. Deduction taken for 3 ft less in height. Imagine wanting a 10ft ceiling in home and getting 7 ft..that's what the 2500 was for. 4. Had ****** provide lein waivers before we gave him the check because we were not convinced of his ability to pay suppliers. 5 Room was to be started May 1 and finished in 2 weeks-clearly stated in contract. Room almost finished middle of July-exception of roof. Only finished in July because of our constant phone calls to finish work. 6.Have all supporting documentation as far as paid in full check, contract stating timeframe, drawing of deck by their engineer showing height of porch, etc. Will provide for anyone needing reasons why they should not use this company. 7. Most of the employees that were at our home are no longer employed by Art Tec. Our salesperson was to have been "fired". I questioned an employee about this and he said that he quit-which I believe because he was good at his job and I feel had the interest of the homeowner at heart. I am never going to see my 400.00 again and my porch will never be as high as it should be. We were quite honestly beat down by them and just accepted the height of the porch-which is still 10 feet tall. We look out over a lake and trees and wanted the openness of the porch and the view of the trees captured by the height of the porch. I did not want to accept the 2500 off-my husband was so frustrated with them that we paid them just to have them gone. Never would we have accepted an "as is". I would not have paid them the remainder of what was owed to them. ****** had so many sob stories that it was hard to believe him. I just hope others do not get taken in by him. The product is good-just not the installers (******) Have another company install the porch and you may do better than we did. I also used this company because of the BBB rating and will do much more in depth research. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2014/02/26) */ 2/20/14: Mediator left message for consumer. 2/24/14: Mediator left message for consumer. 2/26/14: I only want the roof fixed, business only caulked, and I want $400 refunded. The contract was not an as-is contract and we have architecture plans from the business' architect, with proper height specifications that business did not follow. I do not know what I could have done differently since business was an accredited business back then. I wonder if company is out of business. I do not expect the refund but I want people warned about this business. Final Business Response /* (1000, 21, 2014/02/26) */ 2/20/14: Mediator attempted to reach business by phone but there is no voice mail option. 2/24/14: Mediator attempted to reach business by phone but there is no voice mail option. 2/26/14: Mediator attempted to reach business by phone but there is no voice mail option.

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2014 Delivery Issues
1/8/2014 Delivery Issues
10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company installed a new roof on my home. This past April we had a bad rain & thunder storm which caused a leak in my roof and in my bedroom ceiling. Mr. ****** ******* (owner) promised to repair both. He did repair the roof but did not complete the repair on the bedroom ceiling. I have tried to contact him but will not answer my phone calls. Thank You!

Desired Settlement: Would like the bedroom ceiling painted as promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/14) */ We had resolve this matter as far as I know she had a leak on interior of her house and we have got it taken care of. Please let me know if this is not her response or understanding on the matter and I will investigate it more


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Art -Tec Construction & Sunrooms Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)