BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Art -Tec Construction & Sunrooms Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (330) 468-0700Fax: (314) 291-6449View Additional Phone Numbers8670 Orf Rd, Lake Saint LouisMO 63367-4286http://www.art-tec-construction.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Art -Tec Construction & Sunrooms Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Art -Tec Construction & Sunrooms Inc.'s rating include:

  • 17 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 8 complaints filed against business.
  • 2 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service16
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Art -Tec Construction & Sunrooms Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)
07/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
inproper installment of siding on garage. did not give warrenty on roof or siding. and metal awing still leaks in several spots.
the company refuse to call homeowner last call or when the company came over to address the situation was on 9/13/12 they receive a final check on that date 2,886.71. have not heard from them since.

Desired Settlement
we the homeowners want it fixed right. no leaks, no problems and full waranty on the roof, siding.

Business' Initial Response
on 10/8 we met with customers all issues were addressed. Mr. also got on roof and was pleased with results. On 10/16 customer called and we went right over and addressed his issues again he was pleased. During these two meeting customer did not mention any displeasure with the siding. We went out again on 10/23 found no leaks. We have left messages to discuss the final invoice and Mr. has not called us back to date.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of today 10/29/12 we haven't heard, talked or seen anyone since the end of September. was to be here on October 1st to address the leak problem. I even took a vacation day to be on hand. Not even a phone call. Is this how CONTRACTORS opperate? I hope this is not the norm.
Perhaps this ****** get thier attention.

Consumer Response
This morning is the forth time trying to get problem fixed. A portion of vynal siding has fallen off twice now. The first time it was put back by a employee that was termanated by Art-Tec prior to this problem. This is the second time and since we are having bad weather the original wood is being rained on. Maybe a BBB complaint will speed up their response and some action will happen. If this is how ART-TEC takes care of problems I don't understand how this company is STILL in business.

DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation)
FIX THE SIDING SO THIS DOESN'T HAPPEN AGAIN AND RESPONE TO COMPLAINTS IN A TIMELY MANNER

10/17/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Car Awning Is " 1 Inch " From My Home. I Would Like This Done Right.
After Calling the Company, From Aug 3rd,12, When They took My Deposit, After That The Communication Was Slim To None, Except My Self Trying. After Calling 2 Mondays in a Roll, The Receptionist, Never Returned My Call , As She Said. Then Finally On Aug,30th, 2012 Before Labor Day Weekend,I Sent An Email 6:45am, Asking The Company if They Were Still Interested ? Replyed Back 7:30am Saying, Its on the 4th FYI . Then I Tryed to Reply and Ask What Time, But No More Responce From The Company. Then On Labor Day, There is a Dually Truck With a Large Trailer Holding Many Jobs on it, He Asked me If this Was The Place, Then He Ask me Where is a Motel, They Travel to the Jobs, Which The Company Must Had it Sub-Contracted, When I Thought i was Working with a Construction Co. They Wanted to Start at 7am, Was Done With Job at 8:45, Was In Hurry the Whole Time, I tryed to Point Out to The Leader of the 3 Man Crew How Close That Looks Like it Will be to my Home, He said Its Ok, No Worries. Well I Have Photo's I Took Today to Show It IS Less Than " 1 Inch " From My Home, That is Unsafe if a Vehicle Hits My Awning Pole/s I Will Have Instant Damage to my Home from Being so Close.

Desired Settlement
I Would Like my Car Awning to be Done Right , Not So Close to My Home, I Would Think 3 Inches Would at Least Be a Normal Distance. Thats All i Want is to Be Not so Close to My Home. Done Right. Sincerely,

Consumer's Final Response
Are-Tec Has Moved my Car Awning Back, I Am Very Happy With it, Would You Please Drop the Complaint for Mr, Sincerely, **********

02/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted Art Tec to build our screened in porch in May 2013. We signed the contract March 1. Our salesperson, was very nice and polite and knew his product. We were VERY specific about timing with our porch, primarily because of the reviews we read and some major concerns with that. We saw all the issues had been resolved and were in good standing with the BBB. Our salesman assured us of the date-2months later-for the start of construction. I was reluctant to give a third down to start the process, but was told they needed it to start the building at the warehouse.What a mess from there on out. No calls returned-more excuses than you could shake a stick at-trucks broke down, salesperson "fired" -although I highly doubt that-employees sick-employee stole truck-employees had to go to impound to get truck....when they worked, it was for 4 hours or less sometimes. They shorted our decking and made us feel bad because they had to go outstate to get it. After pushing and calling and calling, our porch finally got "completed" around July 4th. Our completion date was June 1...Then we had product issues..mainly our plans (drawn by them) shows our porch to be 2 1/2 feet taller than what they built. We wanted the height because we wanted a full view of the trees out our windows. I told them about it and they said because of our fireplace we needed clearance. We had an inspector for the city look at it and said 2 1/2 more was fine..(the plans actually showed 3 ft) By that time, my husband was so done with this that we settled with them for the height difference. I was livid and the main reason we built was for the view.Then we had issues with caulking around the fp. When they first did it, we had a roof inspector look and he said it was done wrong, they had to flash it. When I told Art Tec this, they had someone come out and they RE CAULKED it. We had a roofer come in and do the job correctly because we did not want any water damage. He charged us 400.00 and we would like a refund.
Product_Or_Service: screened in porch

Desired Settlement
We would like the 400 refunded to us. We gave them 2 chances to fix and they did not. We had a licensed roofer do the work. Travis said he would call me back on this and we have left numerous calls with no reply..Again, when he accidentally picked up, he had more excuses and frankly, after all the lies and excuses its hard to believe him anymore. At one time they were down to 1 employee. We were just praying that they finished what they started as they had 2/3 of our money.

Business Response
This must be a joke of a complaint I gave a refund to these people of $2500 and gave the room "as is" now they want me to warranty and there's no way that I'm refunding a dollar they have $2500 to work with room was built and the refund was given it's clearly stated in the contracts that when contract is not paid in full there are no warranties. This was agree when they refused to pay contract in full. No one has called to authorize any repairs because they know there's no warranties. They deducted $2500 because of roof issues that they would fix their self or live with was the wording. Would not pay me another penny until I agreed to it

Consumer Response
1.Check says "paid in full" and cashed
2.Contacted ****** 3xs regarding roof. Done incorrectly 2x's. Had independent contractor inspect and do work correctly for 400.00
3. Never agreed to "As is" warranty. Deduction taken for 3 ft less in height. Imagine wanting a 10ft ceiling in home and getting 7 ft..that's what the 2500 was for.
4. Had ****** provide lein waivers before we gave him the check because we were not convinced of his ability to pay suppliers.
5 Room was to be started May 1 and finished in 2 weeks-clearly stated in contract. Room almost finished middle of July-exception of roof. Only finished in July because of our constant phone calls to finish work.
6.Have all supporting documentation as far as paid in full check, contract stating timeframe, drawing of deck by their engineer showing height of porch, etc. Will provide for anyone needing reasons why they should not use this company.
7. Most of the employees that were at our home are no longer employed by Art Tec. Our salesperson was to have been "fired". I questioned an employee about this and he said that he quit-which I believe because he was good at his job and I feel had the interest of the homeowner at heart.

I am never going to see my 400.00 again and my porch will never be as high as it should be. We were quite honestly beat down by them and just accepted the height of the porch-which is still 10 feet tall. We look out over a lake and trees and wanted the openness of the porch and the view of the trees captured by the height of the porch. I did not want to accept the 2500 off-my husband was so frustrated with them that we paid them just to have them gone. Never would we have accepted an "as is". I would not have paid them the remainder of what was owed to them. ****** had so many sob stories that it was hard to believe him. I just hope others do not get taken in by him. The product is good-just not the installers (******) Have another company install the porch and you may do better than we did.

I also used this company because of the BBB rating and will do much more in depth research.

Final Consumer Response
2/20/14: Mediator left message for consumer.

2/24/14: Mediator left message for consumer.

2/26/14: I only want the roof fixed, business only caulked, and I want $400 refunded. The contract was not an as-is contract and we have architecture plans from the business' architect, with proper height specifications that business did not follow. I do not know what I could have done differently since business was an accredited business back then. I wonder if company is out of business. I do not expect the refund but I want people warned about this business.

Final Business Response
2/20/14: Mediator attempted to reach business by phone but there is no voice mail option.

2/24/14: Mediator attempted to reach business by phone but there is no voice mail option.

2/26/14: Mediator attempted to reach business by phone but there is no voice mail option.

01/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We contracted with Art-Tec to remove existing 3 season room, manufacture and install comfort view year round room on 5/1/13 and were told that it would take 6 to 8 weeks. We made a down payment of $7,750.00. We had not heard from anyone for 6 weeks so I made a call to see where we were. I was told that our sales person, *** ******* had left the company and had not gotten the drawings approved. After a few more contacts by me to the owner, ****** ******* he kept giving excuses why things were delayed and I then stopped getting call backs from him. They have their number sent to an answering service so I never can talk to a live person, I do have the branch managers cell, XXX-XXX-XXXX but he does not answer and has only called me back twice after I leave a voice mail. The last time that I left ****** a message on 8/5/13 and threatened that I was going to file a complaint he called me back and said he would give me a refund but had to see if he owed anything for materials, I had told him that I wanted my money that day, 8/5/13, he said that that was not going to happen, hung up and has not called me back.

Desired Settlement
I want out of the contract with a full refund of the $7,750.00, half of the contract price. Our check number 3209 on 5/1/2013 given to ******* L ******* was cashed on 5/3/13.

Business Response
Not sure if this is how I need to respond Im use to responding through the complaint so let me know if this is correct or not.
Mr. did sign a contract with us on 5/1/2013 and it was for the full season room to replace his 3 season room. He signed with *** ******* which no longer works for me so he is correct about that part. I know they were in contact after *** was removed from my company and things were said to the effect of, "I was a scam artist, and cheater, and I liar, ect." This all came from *** ******* leaving in an unpleasant way with Art-Tec. So there are three customers I had to smooth things out with them including Mr. . I personally went out with *** before he was fired and measured job and sent it to Patio Enclosures, Inc. for order. That date was approx. 3-4 weeks after signing. Mr. knows from previous room installation with Patio Enclosures, Inc. that rooms are anywhere from 12-16 weeks depending on permits, drawing approvals, changes, ect. which are out of Art-Tec's control sometimes. He was in contact with my office an a few occasions about time frames and was responded to. Then about 8-3-13 he called my cell and said he was told I was a scam artist and a cheat and a liar and wanted out of his contract and wanted a check that day and was very rude to me and I responded that he would not get a check from me that day and room was ordered and the contract clearly states that after 5 days all deposits are non-refundable. These are custom manufactured rooms and are build specific for his situation and can not be reused. Therefore that is why the deposits are non-refundable. He said he drove to my shop and it was closed up at the time which is normal and that I had a bunch of broke down trucks in the back and trailers part and looked like I was out of business. Which is another one of *** ******* threats to the other customers. He had told people that were going out of business, which is not true. Im willing to finish his job or cancel contract and move on with no refund. If we agree to go forward with room it will be 3-4 more weeks before I can start it. But thats my stand on it. I will have obvious concerns about final payments since he has these thoughts of Art-Tec in his head. Also *** ******* never did approve final drawings I had to step in to do that. I can not speak on if *** told him 6-8 weeks but I never have been able to get a sunroom manufactured , shipped, scheduled, and installed in that short of a time period. The rooms come out of Ohio location.

Thanks,
****** *******
Branch Manager


Art-Tec Construction & Sunrooms, Inc.
**** **** **
Lake St. Louis Mo. XXXXX

Consumer Response
If Mr.******* claims the window enclosure had been ordered then where is my window enclosure? Why has he not notified us to discuss resolution to this problem? I ordered the windows on 5/1 and it is now 22 weeks out and we have no enclosure. We are obviously very suspicious that he never ordered the enclosure and has just taken our money. If he actually ordered them and they are sitting in a warehouse somewhere where they can't be used anywhere else due to it being a special order then why would he not want to honor his agreement with us and complete installation. His recent response states that it takes 12 to 16 weeks to manufacture and install then why didn't he tell us that when we initially called him to find out status. Towards the end of July I contacted him and he told us they would be in by the end of the month when we did not hear from him that is when we contacted him on 8/2. We spoke to him Friday 8/2 inquiring about status and he said at that time our order was to be in that day with some other orders and he was on his way home and would check his e-mail and would contact us over the week-end to set up an installation date. That never took place so that is when I made a trip to his place of business on Monday 8/5. We do not consider this closed and are pursuing it in other manners but we would also appreciate your persistence towards finding resolution applicable to both the company and us.

Final Business Response
12/11/2013: I will give your message to owner.

12/12/2013: I will give the BBB a call back once I have made a few calls to familiarize myself with complaint.

12/16/2013: Mediator was sent to voice mail box but could not leave message because voice mail box was full.

12/17/2013: Business voice mail still full.

12/18/2013: Business voice mail still full.

Final Consumer Response

10/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company installed a new roof on my home. This past April we had a bad rain & thunder storm which caused a leak in my roof and in my bedroom ceiling. Mr. ****** ******* (owner) promised to repair both. He did repair the roof but did not complete the repair on the bedroom ceiling. I have tried to contact him but will not answer my phone calls. Thank You!

Desired Settlement
Would like the bedroom ceiling painted as promised.

Business Response
We had resolve this matter as far as I know she had a leak on interior of her house and we have got it taken care of. Please let me know if this is not her response or understanding on the matter and I will investigate it more

10/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Art-Tec lack of appropriate response to issues with repairs from April 2012 hail damage.
Art-tec was contracted on or about 8/15/2012, to repair hail damage sustained on 4/28/2012 for $6,016.64.

Repairs completed late October 2012, with final payment mailed on 1/12/2013.

Payment was covered via three installments using personal checks and drafts issued by mortgage company.

Water damage appear shortly after final payment was sent to Art-Tec. Art-Tec was contacted via email. I have sent several emails and photos documenting issues, as well as what was repaired to stop the leaking into the garage and patio enclosure. I have received one call from a manager prior to sending photos, but have received no call back to address resolution or to schedule a visit for Art-Tec to do their own investigation.

Desired Settlement
Ownership to explain why the original hanger was not replaced and to address why installation team failed to properly inspect to determine no damage was done existing patio enclosure structure caused by the removal of the hail damaged roof.

A full inspection of the installation to provide confirmation all seams are properly sealed.

If ownership agrees water damage in garage was caused by Art-Tec's failure to address issues caused by their removal of the old roof, to repair the water damage drywall in the garage.

Business' Initial Response
We came out to install our PEI product which includes the sunroom roof replacement. Hangers are never replaced unless previous leak issues are addressed which there where no prior leaks at the time of replacement. Another roofing company was to install the metal roof on the resident which ties into our roof system and they were responsible for flashing to our patio roof product. They took the responsibility of the leak after we installed our PEI superfoam roof system and they installed there metal roof system and came out and reflashed their roof to our system the proper way. Then customer said the other company was not going to do inside repairs caused by the improper flashing. We do not inspect other companies metal or composite roofs after our system was install before hand. We expect the other company to be a professional company and do proper work. We cant control who a customer hires to do that said work therefore cant be responsible for improper flashing. We have spoke with customer on many occasions but we were not willing to accept the responsibility of the other company. He is going after the wrong company.

Consumer's Final Response
I would just like them to come out and inspect the second leak.

Consumer Response
I appreciate Art-Tec explaining that the hanger is never replaced unless leak issues are addressed when there were no prior leaks at the time of replacement. We did experience leaking shortly after the PEI Product was originally installed back in 2006. Details of the leaking issues were provided to the Art-Tec sales rep that quoted the replacement and the installation team. The previous leaking was identified as an issue with the connection of the hanger to the PEI super foam panels. But, I am not asking why the hanger was not replaced as part of previous issues. I am asking because the hanger appears to be damaged from the removal of the hail damaged PEI super foam panels and I-beams. Art-Tec was to make the new PEI product water tight, which the attached photos not only show the damaged hanger but the poor sealing of the hanger to to the PEI super foam panels. I also shared with Art-Tec my concern with the sealing of the super foam panels to the I-beams. I have provided photos to Art-Tec of the damaged hanger, which Art-Tec has not responded as to why the hanger was not replaced. Art-Tec also has not visited my home to inspect my findings and work with me to ensure that the PEI product is water tight.

The second issue is the leaking into my garage. My investigation indicates that the seam of the PEI walls were broken/damaged during the removal of the PEI roofing system. Removing the hail damaged PEI roofing system required Art-Tec to apply a lot of pressure and pry bars to break the seams of the PEI roofing system, thus adding stress/press to the PEI walls. When the leaking appeared, I informed Art-Tec with no response. I investigated and provided photos (see attached) to Art-Tec of what I felt was the cause of the leaking into the garage. Again, no response from Art-Tec to schedule a visit to investigate my findings and to assure me that the PEI product is water tight.

I understand that Art-Tec does not inspect other companies work, nor do I expect Art-Tec to inspect other companies work. I do expect Art-Tec to inspect their work and control who Art-Tec sends on-site to perform the contracted work. As of this moment, Art-Tec has not shown any willingness to inspect their work and PEI product, which with the recent rain in the STL area there is a new leak under one of the PEI windows. This new leak is causing damage to the inside of the PEI product and room finishes.


I hope with the additional details and photos, the BBB will re-open my compliant and assist me with getting Art-Tec to perform a full inspection of the PEI product. If the BBB requires any further information or has additional questions, please give me a call or email.


Consumer Response
Dear BBB,

I had submitted additional information back on May 29th and the information was confirmed received on May 30th. I check the online status today, and notice the case is still closed with no update if the BBB has reviewed the additional information. When does the BBB anticipate completing the review of the data? If the additional information was reviewed, why is the case still closed?

Thank you,
***** ***


Consumer Response
7/19/2013: It is still leaking. I last spoke with business on May 5th and they asked for pictures and said they would call me back but I did not ever hear back. The leaking has moved outside of the realm of business but want an inspection done by business of wall, ceiling and roof and full enclosure to ensure that it is up to business standard and it will last a lifetime of the warranty.

7/19/2013: I am satisfied with business calling in next ten days to set up a time to inspect house. Will call back if this is not done.


Business Response
7/19/2013: Metal roofers not associated with business, also did work on house. Will inspect the sunroom but only will come out once and will fix any problems we caused but not problems caused by metal roofers. I will call consumer in next ten days to set up time to come and do inspection.


Consumer Response
7/19/2013: Still leaking. I last spoke with business on May 5th and they asked for pictures and said they would call me back but I did not ever hear back. The leaking has moved outside of the realm of business but I want an inspection done by business of wall, ceiling, roof and the full enclosure to ensure that it is up to business standard and it will last lifetime of the warranty.

7/19/2013: I am satisfied with business calling in next ten days to set up a time to inspect house. I will call back if this is not done.

8/14/2013: Business scheduled appointment for Friday.

9/04/2013: There has been no change.


Business Response
7/19/2013: Mediator left message for business.

7/19/2013: Metal roofers not associated with business. Also did work on house. Will inspect the sunroom but we only want to go out once. We will fix any problems we caused but not problems caused by metal roofers. We will call consumer in next ten days to set up time to come and do inspection.

8/07/2013: Mediator left message for business.

8/21/2013: Mediator left message for business.

8/23/2013: Mediator left message for business.

9/04/2013: Mediator left message for business.

9/06/2013: Mediator left message for business.


Consumer Response
Over the last four (4) years, my wife and I have tackled many home projects (new roof, new sunroom, kitchen remodel, master bath remodel, replacement of roof due to hail damage, new gutters, and new home siding) working with several very good contractors. Like all homeowners, we wished all projects would go smoothly and not have issues but my wife and I have had a few challenges with these projects. Thankfully, the contractors we selected knew what customer service is supposed to be and how to communicate to a customer to set the proper expectation on a resolution. Our only blemish has been with Art-Tec Construction (Art-Tec).

Art-Tec was the contractor selected to handle the replacement of the sunroom roof due to hail damage. Art-Tec was selected because they sold and supported the Patio Enclosure, Inc. (PEI) product and assured us that Art-Tec was experienced in dealing with insurance claims, replacing the 6" foam panels, and committed to confirming the entire sunroom was weather tight upon completion of the project. As soon as the ink dried on the paperwork and the date to cancel passed without penalty, Art-Tec began to demonstrate that was promised was not reality.

The sunroom roof replacement was completed in November 2012, and the first leak was noticed in January 2013. I reach out to Art-Tec immediately via email. During the following five (5) months, I tired to get Art-Tec to inspect the two (2) areas that we were having issues with leaking (1. Leaking through the damaged hanger into the sunroom, and 2. leaking under the windows and into the garage as well as into the sunroom). My efforts did achieve a single call from an Art-Tec construction manager (Jim) and a few email replies that my issue was escalated to Art-Tec management. Even though I provided the additional photos requested by Jim, no one from Art-tec followed up with a call or visit. Given the lack of response from Art-Tec, I decided my best next step would be to contact the BBB to get assistance with getting Art-Tec to address the outstanding issues.

Since I submitted the my complaint to BBB in May 2013, Art-Tec has continued to show sporadic support in addressing my issues but never making a visit to my home. I did receive a single call from Art-Tec (Mr. *******) around the beginning of August, stating a willingness to inspect the sunroom to provide assurance that the room was weather tight. During my chat with Mr. *******, he openly shared recent business challenges with PEI and the pending birth of a child, as to why he and his company have not actively worked with me. Mr. ******* and I agreed to him visiting on August 19th. Mr. ******* never called to cancel, did not show up on the 19th, and is now back to stating he will not perform any inspections.

Given that I have resolved all leaking issues to the best of my ability, without Art-Tec's assistance and Art-Tec's unwillingness to perform an inspection to assure a customer that there are no other issues or that what a customer has done will not cause future issues, I see no reason to continue to pursue a dead end. Given our experience with Art-Tec, we strongly recommend all customers perform a diligent research when looking to hire Art-Tec. I know we will never contract Art-Tec for any future projects.

Sincerely,
***** ***=


Business Response
9/11/2013: The leaks were caused by the metal roof installation. That company came out and reflashed it and he wants us to take care of it. We told him about the old flashing issue and he called the roofers. Those roofers accepted responsibility and reflashed it. They fixed it. If our work leaks we will take care of it but we will not inspect someone else's work.


Consumer Response
9/18/2013: I solved the problem myself, not them. There has been no leak since I made the repair about two months ago. The roofing company said is should have been flashed sic more inches. The roofing company took care of it but said it should be up to Art-Tec. Art-Tec is not willing to support their labor. I am not satisfied.

09/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired Art Tec last year due to storm damage. They seemed great at first. Then I hired them and were extremely hard to work with. Now I need some rework done and they are not returning phone calls or giving me any kind of time line as to when the work will start or finish. I have called the owner ****** on 2 occasions because his staff is ignoring my calls. It's been over a month since I first contacted them. They had stained my deck last year and it's now peeling and still have exterior issues on the front of my house that need to be re-repaired. Crappy work. Please help.
Product_Or_Service: roof, gutters, deck stained repairs on house

Desired Settlement
I just want the work done. If they can't/won't do it, they can reimburse me and I will hire someone else to do it right.

Business' Initial Response
The work that she needs is warranty work performed by subcontractor and the subcontractor has been slow on getting back to her in a timely manner so we are going to take care of it and get it done it will be resolved within two weeks

Consumer's Final Response
This case is not resolved yet. Why is this case closed?
I'm not even sure if ****** is going to come to my home. I haven't even heard from him yet. He is supppose to call me and set up a time. Please let me know what needs to happen to keep this case open. Thanks.

Consumer Response
I am still trying to get this work done, and I am still having a problem in getting this resolved. I have left ****** a voice mail message this morning July 9th stating I have been trying to get this work done since May and it is now the middle of July. I want to be reimbursed at this point for the deck and and front of my house in the amount of $1558.22. I don't want to be put off any longer and I will hire someone I can rely on to do the work. Please help. Thanks.


Consumer Response
Please explain the mediation process phase.
Thank you.


Consumer Response
If they would just reimburse the $475, I would consider this resolved..


Consumer Response
8/22/2013: I told them I needed the deck done. It was suggested that they refund me for work to be done. I have no faith in the company and want a refund of $1,558.82

8/26/2013: My insurance company did look at it but not since. My deck was not rotted until they came out. They dropped something on my deck and it split it. If it is rotted then it is their fault for not staining it properly.


Business Response
8/22/2013: Mediator left message for business.

8/23/2013: BBB received message from business, been in and out of hospital for last few weeks.

8/23/2013: Mediator left message for business.

8/25/2013: Business left message for mediator.

8/26/2013: We agreed to re stain it but no warranty on it. We won't be rebuilding her deck. This was an insurance job and we were paid to power wash, anti bacterial chemical and re-stain. The job was completed and we were paid in full. her deck is 18-20 years old. We went out there a couple of times and realized that her deck was just rotted. The wood was eaten half way through in spots and is difficult for the stain to stick to it. We will re-stain.


Consumer Response
Why is this case closed? told me someone would get back to me on my last question to Art-Tec. I would like a superior to please call me to discuss this case. I feel this matter was not handled well, and it surley was not handled in my best interest. Thank you.


Consumer Response
I do have a response about Art-tec's last rebuttal.

FIRST: My deck is not rotted. That is not at all a correct statement. I am not asking anyone to rebuild my deck that is totally out of line. I have one board that is not rotted, but needs to be replaced due to art-tec dropping something heavy on it like a power-washer.

Second: I do not trust Art-tec will do a good job, especially now with this complaint against them. I am not asking for anything more than what I paid them for my deck originally. I want my money back for my deck, so I can hire someone I trust and I know will do a good job. I am already willing to forego the full amount I was originally asking for of $1558.82. The least Art-tec can do is reimburse for my deck. If this cannot be resolved, and taking Art-Tec to court is my only recourse, I will be asking for the full amount for all of the work Art-tec needs to complete per the contract warranty. After all the deck is not the only issue.

Third: In the very beginning of this ordeal, I gave them ample time to come out and do this work, and it never happened. That is why I made this complaint to begin with. I am not settling for them to re-stain my deck, I want my money back.

I want this case reopened, and for someone to call me back. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you for your prompt response.
**** *******


Consumer Response
Any new information on my last comments? I need to know if Art tec is willing to reimburse me for my deck. If they are not, I need to take this complaint through the court system, as indicated to you earlier, but need the BBB to verify.
Thank you.

07/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Art Tec installed a roof on my house in August of 2012 within 3 days of completion I discovered that the ridge vent was loose, and not properly installed ( vent was installed all the way to the edge of roof should be stopped within 2 feet of edge) Both upstairs bathroom vents were knocked loose in the attic, the vent from the kitchen sink that extends through the attic was completely broken in two pieces . It took three weeks and 2 to 3 calls a week before I got a response and finally someone came out and addressed all of the issues except the ridge vent. I gave up on that .In May I happened to see water trickling from the edge of the siding . I called a plumber and was assured it was not a plumbing leak . I Finally had a retired roofer verify it was the flashing not being caulked on the garage roof , I have been promised for the last three weeks that someone would be out but have yet to see anyone . I have made at least 10 calls in the last 3 weeks , now they will not return calls at all . The siding is saturated with water and most likely damaged .
Product_Or_Service: New Roof on house
Account_Number: 2864

Desired Settlement
I would simply like Art Tec to honor their warranty and properly repair the leak before it gets worse and ruins my siding completely . This has been leaking since it was installed last August but just recently discovered.

Business' Initial Response
We roofed this house over a year ago and did not respond to his leak in his time frame because he was leaving messages for a salesman that is no longer with us instead of calling us direct from the start but he is scheduled for repairs to be done on 6-26-13 and he is aware and ok with this. At first he thought leak was from is faucet but a plumber verified it was the roof so we are going to investigate it and if so repair it.

10/16/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
While installing a new roof , aluminum on chimney was damaged and vent pipe from plumbing broken .
Ridge vent installed wrong and not secured .

While new roof was being installed aluminum on chimney was damaged . Vent ridge not installed properly and not secured . Vent stack piping in attic was broken , exhaust fan vent not reconnected to roof vent . I can't get any response from company . All I get is promises and no follow up .This has been going on for two weeks . If it rains hard enough water ****** come in where the vent pipe was broken .

Desired Settlement
Replace the aluminum on the chimney both sides .
properly nail down the ridge vent . Replace the broken pipe fittings on the plumbing vent line by a licensed plumber .Reconnect the exhaust fan vent to the roof vent .
Last : Install new gutters and downspouts as per contract.

Business' Initial Response
As of last week we have taken care of all of Mr. issues. When we left he was happy.

03/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not complete work as specified on contract. Discovered by secondary roofing company.

Our roof was placed by Art-Tec in July, 2011. The first week of this year the roof began leaking into the front room. We had a prior leak into our family room 6 months prior and tried numerous times to call the company to come check their work and check the roof. We called multiple times trying to get them to answer us and our questions regarding the leak and the warranty on our roof. We left several messages on their answering machine and the messages were never answered, or returned. When the secondary leak happened in our living room, we again tried to call the company but all of the numbers were no longer in service. We even went to the address on their website to find out they had moved to another location. We had ******** another roofing company come out and they had to remove the 2 1/2 year old roof to find out what the problem was to resolve the leak. When they removed the shingles they found out several areas of defect that had never been fixed, areas that should have been fixed with proper materials and substandard materials were used, parts of the roof that were supposed to be removed and fixed and were not, roof fixtures that were supposed to be removed or repaired and were not, ice protection that was improperly placed. The ******** roofer took pictures and told us it was one of the worst roofing jobs he had ever seen and upon review of our contract told us our contract had not been fulfilled per Art-tecs' agreement. ******** had to repair all of the areas that Art-tec should have repaired in 2011 and we had a defective roof and decking that they did not repair. In order to have everything repaired properly we had to hire ******** to tear off the shingles that Art-tec had placed and affect all repairs that Art-tec should have done. We had to pay ******** to put on another roof.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund of the $5287 we had to pay to Art-tec for the first roof in 2011 and the contract that was breached and also $4930 we paid **** *** in December of this year to have the new roof installed.

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/06/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/16/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/16/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Screen Enclosures, Windows - Installation & Service, Basement - Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/14/1990Business started: 02/01/1966Business started locally: 01/01/1988
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1966, OH

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Justin C. Bollier (President)Bill Goddard (Director of Operations)
Contact Information
Barbara Hults (Operations Assistant)Ms. Liz Kolbe (Office Manager) Laura Ralich (Operations Assistant)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Screen Enclosures, Windows - Installation & Service, Basement - Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Art -Tec Construction & Sunrooms Inc.

8670 Orf Rd

Lake Saint Louis, MO 63367-4286

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 8670 Orf Rd 

    Lake Saint Louis, MO 63367-4286Fax: (314) 291-6449

  • 750 East Highland Rd. 

    Macedonia, OH 44056(330) 468-0700

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Art -Tec Construction & Sunrooms Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 292-7341
  • (618) 462-3600
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.patioenclosuresinc.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.