BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/26/1999

Allen Roofing & Siding Co.

Phone: (636) 391-1117Fax: (636) 391-5999

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service13
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)BBB Closure Definitions
11/11/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor quality of roof installation approx 2 years ago has resulted in multiple problems and leaks since then, including significant interior damage.
A little over 2 years ago, due to hail damage (but no leaks) I contracted Allen Roofing to replace my roof (and they were later paid promptly by my insurance company). The job manager assured me of the crew's competence to handle my mansard-style roof. Just months after installation, problems started: shingles fell off the house. Later, last August, a valley-leak saturated an interior wall, and a dormer-recess-leak saturated the dormer and ruined newly-installed hardwood flooring. The current problem is a repeat of heavy-storm-leaking above a 1st floor window, with water running down the wall. Allen did not respond to an Emergency call (on a Friday) so I got an emergency service to address the leak, which they tried to do with geo-seal application. In a phone call on Monday with *****, the manager agreed to pay for the emergency call and handle a patch. One month later, in another heavy storm, the leak re-appeared, along with a second leak at a 2nd floor dormer that dripped to cause a hole in the LR ceiling. Now Allen refuses to pay for the emergency call ($175), even though their phone contacts did not work to get them to respond to the problem. Now I have ceiling and wall repairs that they are obliged to resolve, but I do not trust them to be in charge of the interior work in my house.

Desired Settlement
Per their own customer-satisfaction advertising statements, Allen Roofing should reimburse me for the emergency-leak-service-call. I want a written agreement, with specifics, that they will pay for the ceiling and wall damages to my living room and upstairs bedroom (ceiling plaster, ceiling paint, wallboard, LR wall painting, and custom wall painting in BR) using the contractor(s) of my choice, and that they will pay such providers immediately upon completion of the work.

Business Response
On Monday August 11, 2014 Ms. ******* brought in an invoice for $175 from another contractor for an emergency repair they performed on Saturday, June 21, 2014. A check will be mailed to Ms. ******* for reimbursement of this payment.

Allen Roofing & Siding is aware of the leak and we are in the process of correcting it. Ms. ******* is free to choose a contractor of her choice to repair the inside for an agreeable amount. The contractor will be paid upon us receiving the final invoice in the amount agreed upon.

Allen Roofing & Siding prides itself in the quality and performance of our company and strongly believes that customer satisfaction is the key to our success. I apologize to Ms. ******* for the inconvenience and appreciate the patience she has extended us.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
For the record the cost for emergency response was mailed to Allen Roofing the last week of June, prior to my leaving the country for the whole month of July. Upon my return and new leaks, I inquired about the promised reimbursement and it was refused. I then filed the BBB complaint, left a message explaining my action to Allen's answering machine, and hand-delivered the bill to their office on August 11.
For the record the subsequent 'process of correcting' the leakage was replacement of shingles around the affected window area which disclosed that the previous roof installation was done over what was unmistakeable old (not recent) rotted wood and Allen did replace the wood sections.
However, the new shingles do not match the rest of the roof.
In addition the day following the new shingle work, one of the shingles fell off. Two days later, there was a new leak in the same area, which caused more interior wall damage.
I have insisted as of today that Allen provide me written contractual assurance that they will remove and replace the front sections of my roof completely to the ridge of the roof, including the street side of the garage to the ridge, and including inspection and replacement of the curved surfaces of the 4 window dormers, which have not even be inspected for leaks or previously old rotted underlying wood (covered up by the first roofing job) at this point. I have been told work would begin this week but I have nothing in writing to ensure this.
For the record I have not yet received a reimbursement check for the emergency service call.


Final Consumer Response
11/10/2014: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message.

11/11/2014: We are in a good place and this action is no longer necessary. They finally did an adequate inspection of my roof and found multiple problems. They allowed a second independent contractor to be present during the inspection at their cost. They were in agreement and the entire roof was replaced. They paid for restoration of the interior damage. All contractors have been paid in full. They were extremely apologetic and I am satisfied with the completed repairs.

07/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In April 2012 our area was struck with an extensive storm producing large hail. We selected Allen Roofing in May 2012 to replace our entire roof, damaged siding pieces, and gutters. Our roof was replaced first at the end of May (Week of May 21st, 2012). We left for vacation for three weeks and the siding and gutters were going to be scheduled when we returned. When we returned it had rained and we noticed a small wet spot in our living room ceiling near the fireplace chimney. We contact our sales represntative from Allen Roofing, they came out immediately and reviewed the spot. It was determined and we agreed that the rain had come in behind a hole in the siding on the fireplace chimney. The siding work was scheduled and completed a couple weeks later. The summer was very dry and drought conditions. In the fall we started having multiple rainy days. After a couple days of steady rain we noticed new browning and water spots on our living room ceiling - not the original one spot. We contacted a new representative of Allen roofing as the original contract rep was no longer in the area. We were advised that someone came out and looked at the roof and there were spots on the chimney that needed to be caulked. The caulking was indicated to be completed. This was done while we were not home and no one came inside. With continued rain, the spots got worse to the point that water built up behind the paint and caused a rippling effect in the wallpaper. We contacted Allen Roofing again. The GM ******* ***** came out in January 2013 and indicated that the flashing needed to be replaced on the fireplace, despite during the estimate it was indicated as not needed. My husband replaced the flashing but the leaks continue. We are at the the point now that when it rains we have an active and steady drip of rain inside the house. We contacted the main office again on Monday 6/24 and was told that someone would be out that week to look again and inside. We are still waiting .....

Desired Settlement
We would like for someone to come out and look at the issue again. Both indoor, attic, and outside on the roof. The leak did not occur until the roof was replaced. Our living room drywall in the northwest corner is now at a point of being ruined. The water damage has gone down the inside of the wall all the way to the basement ceiling tiles and wall. Would like to come to an agreement on fixing the roof and repair the inside damage.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Customer Service
Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@aroofing.net
In response to this customer's complaint, Allen Roofing & Siding would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the delay in rectifying this situation. It is our intention to make any repairs necessary to resolve not only the original issue, but also any damage caused by the leaks which occurred after the roof was replaced. Our Illinois Division Manager is meeting this afternoon with the homeowners to inspect the damage and make arrangements to resolve these issues to the customer's satisfaction.

Allen Roofing & Siding strongly believes that customer satisfaction is the key to our success. It is our intention to ensure that every customer is satisfied with the service we provide.

03/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Siding repair never done despite signed contract.
We signed a contract with ****** roofing on June 7, 2012 to replace our roof and repair siding that was damaged by a storm. The roof was replaced quickly with no issues. However, our siding work was never done. First, we were told that they couldn't match the siding. Our insurance company found a match. Despite several phone calls and several promises to get the job done, no one has come out to do the work on the siding.

Desired Settlement
We want the work done that they agreed to do.

Business' Initial Response
In response to Mr. complaint, ****** Roofing & Siding has made arrangements with the customer to put in a piece of siding where damaged and have the homeowner's insurance company view it for the match. If the patch does not match, we will attempt to get the insurance company to replace the siding in whole. We have provided the customer with an estimate to replace all of the siding and we will meet with his insurance adjuster to review the entire situation. The customer's insurance company has since complied and Mr. siding is scheduled to be installed this week, weather permitting.
****** Roofing & Siding prides itself in the quality and performance of our Company and strongly believes that customer satisfaction is the key to our success. I apologize to Mr. for the inconvenience and delay in correcting this issue and appreciate the patience he has extended us.

11/19/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired them June 5, 2012 for hail damage after the storm. The lady took a look at my roof and said there would be no out of pocket expense and they would start next week, but showed up the next day. The same day they were working she told me there would be an out of pocket expense for siding and gutter guards that would cost around $500 and I could schedule payments. They eventually charged the gutter guards to my insurance company. A month later a friend checked my gutters and said the guards were my old broken ones and some sections were not installed.

Desired Settlement
I don't want them back or place a lien on my home. I do not feel they deserve the rest of the money.

Business' Initial Response
In response to Ms. complaint, ****** Roofing & Siding first wants to apologize for any oversights or inconvenience issues and we will do our best to make sure this does not happen again in the future.
Mr. ****** ******, President, has had conversations with Ms. to work out her issues. Ms. claims she was billed for work not done, specifically the gutter screens. We made a standard inspection of her house, which is Company policy, and upon inspection we found a few minor issues, which will be completed. The inspector also found that the 85 feet of gutter screen had not been replaced, as she stated in her complaint.
In an effort to resolve these issues, Mr. ****** has offered to clean all of the gutters and install new gutter screens to her entire house at no charge. We will remove the $219.30 charge from her invoice. Mr. ****** also gave Ms. the option to pay off her adjusted remaining balance of $769.83 in installments, to be paid in full by 6/1/2013. Ms.has verbally agreed to all of this and is satisfied with our resolution. Please see the attached letter we are sending to Ms.explaining our actions and resolution.
An adjusted invoice is being sent to her with the letter and will be followed up with a call to explain it to her or answer any other questions she may have.
Respectfully,
****** ******
Customer Relations

Business' Final Response
Dear Ms. :
I wanted to express to you our sincerest apologies for the confusion and issues you have experienced while we were repairing your home from the hail storm. I understand why you feel you were being charged for work we did not do. Upon our standard inspection of your home, per Company policy, we did discover a few minor issues, which we intend to correct immediately. We also found that the sections of gutter screen your insurance had paid to replace were not, in fact, replaced. This was clearly an oversight and should not have been on your bill since the work was not done.
Ms. , as an effort of resolving these issues, as well as maintaining customer satisfaction, we are offering to clean all of your gutters and install new gutter screens to the entire house. All at no cost to you. The $219.30 charge on your invoice for the gutter screens has been removed, leaving your remaining balance due at $769.83. I understand you may be unable to remit this balance in full at this time, so as a courtesy we are allowing you to make monthly payments toward that balance, with the deadline of June 1, 2013 to have it paid in full.
My assistant, and Customer Relations Manager, ****** ****** will follow up with a phone call to review this arrangement and answer any questions or concerns you may have. She is also going to review the line items on your insurance paperwork so you understand exactly what work we did or did not do and how that matches up to your adjusted invoice.
If I can be of further assistance to you, feel free to contact me personally at 636.391.1117 or speak with ****** and together we promise to resolve any other issues you may be concerned about. Again, please accept my apologies. In the 40 years I have been in business, my goal has always been customer satisfaction. I hope we can count on you to remain a satisfied customer of ours and will consider us in the future for any other exterior home needs.

Sincerely,
****** ******
President

11/19/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband, (name), enter into a contract with Allen Roofing for a roof and gutters replacement at our home (address, Saint Louis 63136) on 07/02/2012. The roof was to be replaced by Allen Roofing and the gutters was subcontracted out. The total amount for the work was $6900 which included a 5 year workmanship warranty. The work was completed and a full payment was made to Allen Roofing. Approximately a month later the roof was observed to appear to be wavy with shingles hanging over into the gutters. (name) contacted Allen Roofing and someone came out to evaluate the work. This person told my husband that there was different size plywood used as well as missing plywood. Also there was torn shingles and gutters that were not secured. He told my husband that someone would be sent out to correct the defective work. Several weeks went by and my husband contacted Allen Roofing when they would be out to finish the work and he was told that someone would be out before the winter and Allen Roofing would contact us when the would return. We have not received any notification from Allen Roofing to date. To complicate matters my husband passed away on 10/15/2012. I am in a wheelchair and I have a hard enough time getting around my house. I afraid that Allen Roofing will not come back and correct the problems with the roof and guttering. I am on a fixed income now and cannot afford the expense of having someone come out to make the fixes.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Allen Roofing to come out and correct my roof correctly as soon as possible. I don't want to go another month worrying about if my roof will leak.

Business' Initial Response
In response to consumer's complaint, ****** Roofing & Siding's Production Manager, ********** has returned to her home and corrected all the issues with her roof and gutters. Mr. has signed a certification that all necessary repairs were made to their satisfaction. This was 10/31/2012.
****** Roofing & Siding prides itself in the quality and performance of our Company and strongly believes that customer satisfaction is the key to our success. I apologize to Ms. for the inconvenience and delay in correcting her issues and appreciate the patience she has extended us. If Mrs. has any further issues, concerns or questions, I would like for her to contact me directly and resolution will be immediate. ************. Ext.10
Respectfully,
****** ******
Customer Relations

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractors Equipment & Supplies - Rent & Lease, Siding Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.