BBB Accredited Business since

Efthim Company Realtors

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 781-0010 Fax: (314) 781-8339 View Additional Phone Numbers 3605 Watson Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63109 View Additional Email Addresses http://efthimcompany.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Efthim Company Realtors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Efthim Company Realtors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Efthim Company Realtors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 07, 1991 Business started: 01/07/1991 in MO Business started locally: 01/07/1991 Business incorporated 01/07/1991 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Efthim, Co-owner Mr. Frank Efthim, Co-owner Mr. Rick Efthim, Co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Efthim, Co-owner
Business Category

Real Estate Rental Service Condominiums Property Management


Additional Locations

  • 3605 Watson Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63109 (314) 781-0010

  • 4177 Crescent Dr Ste A

    Saint Louis, MO 63129 (314) 845-0377

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved in this apartment about 3 months ago. When I moved in the apartment had not been cleaned, there was mold in the cabinets and fridge. I had to end up cleaning the entire house on my own. I cannot use the stove, the starters don't work. The dishwasher has had multiple issues. A window fell out and hit me in the head. I contacted them about this. It took them a while to come in and fix it, and they didn't do it correctly. All they did was bolt it to the wall and it is not sealed correctly. On Friday 8/5 I had a bed bug infestation and I let them know 8/5. The complaint has fallen on deaf ears. They have no plan of action.

Desired Settlement: I would like the issues to be resolved, the repairs to be made. I also feel it's fair for me to have a month without rent.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

We have scheduled a follow up appointment with the tenant to address the window and stove issue.  The pest control issue has been assigned to ******* Pest Control Co.  They will be doing a chemical and heat treatment with every other month follow up inspections and chemical treatments.  The delay on starting the pest control treatment was due to asking two different companies for bids and discussing the different recommended treatments. 

We have every intention of addressing and resolving these issues for our tenant.

We have notified our tenant of our plan and he has agreed.

Sincerely,

**** ******


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ****

2/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I lived in an apartment I rented from this company November 2014 until August 2015. In August 2015 my bedroom was infested with bird mites which came from the air conditioner unit in the window. They called an exterminator who sprayed the apartment. The bird mites where still there. They said the exterminator would return to bomb the apartment. This was delayed as the exterminator would go to a wrong apartment address. I removed all of my belongings for this to happen. They never treated the apartment the correct way. I took all my information to them and asked them to remove the carpet to help this infestation to be terminated. They refused to remove the carpet. Since they would not work with me I told them I wanted to move and cancel my lease. They told me I could move at the end of August 2015. I requested my security deposit be refunded. They refused. I had to move due to this bird mite infestation, not because I wanted to move. I had to throw out my furniture because I did not want the bird mite infestation to follow me to my new address. I have recently discovered that they removed the carpet for the new tenant. They refused to do this for me.

Desired Settlement: I would my security deposit of $425 refunded to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/02) */ On 7/20/15 ******** came to our office to discuss breaking her lease. Our office manager told her the owner had agreed to let her out of her lease and the only penalty would be forfeiting her security deposit. She said that was fine and she would be out of the apartment on 7/31/15 and would bring the keys to our office. We followed through and forfeited her security deposit as agreed. On 1/15/16 we received a call from ******** insisting that her security deposit be refunded. Our company maintains that we properly withheld the security deposit and that ******** had agreed to this. However in the interest of customer relations we decided to refund the full security deposit of $395.00. ******** had incorrectly indicated in her complaint that the deposit was $425.00. It was actually $395.00. ******** came to our office on 1/22/16 and picked up the full refund. **** ******

6/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a tenant of **** ******** St., a property under Efthim Company Realtors, my safety has been threatened. Both I and my roommate had been in contact with Efthim to address 14 maintenance requests and Efthim failed to address this issues. Efthim allowed the Landlord, *****, to hire maintenance men that sexually harassed us, stole possessions from the property, were left in our home with no supervision, and verbally threatened my roommate to the point that a neighbor had to intervene to protect her. The lack of Efthim Company Realtors to intervene created a hostile and extremely dangerous living situation for us as the tenants. Because the maintenance requests went unfulfilled, there is lead paint in the home, and two windows that do not lock, which is highly dangerous. A legal notice was filled to both Efthim and *****, the landlord, with slow response. An incident occurred where I was left with no electricity for 48 hours. Another instance happened where $300 worth of my clothes were damaged because of an unfulfilled maintenance request, and $200 worth of our food was ruined when the refrigerator broke and we were without a refrigerator for 3 days. An incident occurred where I came home from work, 6 outlets in my room were broken(after already going 48hr without electricity) and 6 men were in my home. I had texted our landlord, ***** once a 9 am, called her 3 times and spoke on the phone with her requesting she have my electricity fixed by the time I got home. When I got home, I had no electricity. I became upset and got into a verbal altercation with my landlord until she wrote on paper maintenance authorization over to Efthim. Because of this traumatic event I suffered a panic attack and had to go to Barnes Hospital Emergency Room. Efthim failed to intervene on multiple occasions, threatening our safety and health as tenants Efthim is required to compensate me for all my damaged belongings, my medical bills, and all rent that has already been paid.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $300 for ruined clothes Refund of $200 for ruined food Refund of all rent/safety deposit paid up until this point-$1,800(Rent) safety deposit of $650 for tenant ***** ***** Payment of all medical bills that were incurred on 05/21/15 after the traumatizing event Termination of lease for tenant ***** ***** Removal of all lead paint on premises

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/10) */ Efthim Company Realtors does not own the property at XXXX - XX ********* We manage the property for the owner, Ms. *****. At the time of this complaint the property owner, Ms. ***** took care of all of her own maintenance for this property. The problems that Ms. ***** claims occurred were with maintenance workers that were not under our control. We had no authority or responsibility for performing any work on this property. The damage that is claimed to have occurred to Ms. *****'s clothing occurred before we were given authority to address any of the maintenance concerns. The food that is claimed to have been lost as a result of the refrigerator not working occurred before we were given authority to address any maintenance concerns. On May 26, 2015 Ms. ***** sent a notice to us and Ms. ***** outlining her disappointment with the way the property owner had handled her maintenance. At that time Ms. ***** granted our company authority to address and complete the list of unfinished maintenance items. Our maintenance supervisor, Ed Turner contacted the tenants on 5/27/15 and met at the property that same day. Since that time our maintenance staff has worked tirelessly to complete the unfinished maintenance issues in a workmanlike manner. It is my understanding that our tenants are satisfied with the work that has been done and only a few exterior items remain to be completed. The BBB complaint that Ms. ***** made should not have been directed at Efthim Company Realtors as we were not responsible for performing the duties that Ms. ***** has complained about. Ms. ***** had not previously made any requests or demands for reimbursement of any kind. Typically the property owner is not responsible for the personal property of the tenant. And Ms. ***** has not explained why a request to refund the security deposit and all rent paid to date is justified. If Ms. ***** would like an early termination of her lease we would be glad to speak to Ms. ***** and expect that she would agree to this.

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** company illegally withhold my Security Deposit. On August 1, 2013, I vacated the apartment rental unit at *** ******** *** ******** MO XXXXX due to my relocation to ********** and as of today (September 5, 2013), ****** ******* ******** still hasn't refunded my security deposit. Over the past 36 days, I contacted the company via the telephone many times asking for my deposit refund to no avail and the company employee constantly informed me that they had 30 days to mail me the refund by law. *** ****, the lady who answered all my calls, always said she is not the person in charge but never once let me talk to the person in charge of deposit refund **** **** ******, the president) and repeatedly asked for my updated address so they can mail the check which although annoying, I politely gave her the address every single time. During the whole month of August, I have never received any check or any calls back from the company. On September 3, 2013, I called ****** again and *** **** who answered the phone, not only refused to let me talk to *** ****** but also all of a sudden couldn't find my file and put me on hold for a very long time that I had to hang up and call them back. Now that she found my information, she unapologetically gave me choices of 3 different addresses and asked if they were right but they were all wrong and for the fourth time, asked me again for the same mailing address that I previous gave her and asked me to slowly and repeated spell the address due to a "suddenly-occurred" air-conditioner's noise. Yesterday, I finally received a call back from Mr. **** ****** telling me that he would arrange to mail the deposit for me soon but after the whole ordeal, I am having a hard time believing that I would get it back. I find it is quite inconceivable for a company to be so confused over a simple mailing address and to hire such an extremely unprofessional and incompetent employee who couldn't get an address right for 4 times in a row or simply keep my address on file so I have no choice but to think that they are in probably in serious financial trouble or perhaps the employee or the company has an unknown personal agenda towards me. I have been a very good tenant at this property up until the very end, never once missed a payment or paid late or had any major issues. It is unfortunate that I had to leave all my wonderful neighbors in such a great city of ******* but the misery that I had to go through to get my deposit money back from ****** ******* makes it all the more reason to leave the property with such a terrible landlord.

Desired Settlement: $500 security deposit refund mailed to my following address *** *** XXXXX E ****** ** **** ******* ******** ** XXXXX

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/17) */ We have refunded the Security Deposit to consumer. It was an oversight on our part. This should satisfy the complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Efthim Company Realtors
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart