BBB Accredited Business since

Eaton Properties

Phone: (636) 939-3808 View Additional Phone Numbers 3828 S Old Highway 94, Saint Charles, MO 63304 http://eatonproperties.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eaton Properties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Eaton Properties include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Eaton Properties
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 24, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2004 in MO Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated 04/15/2004 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Cindy Eaton, Owner Don Eaton, Co Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Cindy Eaton, Owner
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate-Rental Companies

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Don Eaton Real Estate Inc. Eaton Properties Inc

Additional Locations

  • 3828 S Old Highway 94

    Saint Charles, MO 63304 (314) 799-1950

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved in this house on November 1st, and from day one there were multiple of problems that I was faced with. Some were resolved and some are remaining. I am dealing with a serious roof and leaking ceiling that is exposing mole. There is plaster falling and a big hole is showing and noticeable cracks appearing also. I reported this situation in the early stages in December 2015. Someone came out and put a tarp on the roof and that was the last time anyone came out. No one has entered the house to see the inside damage or how bad the situation has gotten. I have been putting up plastic myself and have buckets to control the water from destroying everything.I have taken pictures form day 1 of the problem . There is only a matter of time before this ceiling will fall. I called the office and maintenance just about every month about this problem and since the last call last month the tarp has also came off and reported that it was hanging off and no one didn't even show up to remove it. I had to have my son to get up there to remove it. My calls are seem to be ignored, and very frustrated with this company. In my contract the house suppose to came with central air. When summer approached I discovered that there wasn't a unit here and was presented with a window unit which I am dealing with and also getting multiple letters from Missouri American Water about improper plumbing and needed some adjustments done or the water could be shut off. Nothing been done about it . Since day 1 in this house it has been a nightmare and just need some direction on what to do about it. I was told many times from the office that they will report it to my agent ******** ****** which only talk to maybe once or twice since being here. I even left a message through a local media station, but have not heard anything yet. I know my situation is very common, but Thank You for hearing me out. Karen Turpin

Desired Settlement: Just want the problem repaired and to be resolved are at least act like you care so no one else has to go through this again !!!

Business Response:

We understand the Tenant's frustration.  The Property Manager believed that all roofing repairs had been complete.  She drove by the property recently while driving to another property she manages and immediately noticed the tarp on the roof at the subject property.  She immediately contacted the subcontractor we use for roofing repairs and inquired as to why there was still tarp on the roof. She believes it simply slipped through the cracks and the contractors is now making the necessary repairs.  Materials have been ordered and delivered today.  Roofing repairs are estimated to be complete by end 8/26/2016.

We do acknowledge the calls the Tenant made over the past several months; as a Property Management company, we are unable to contract with others to make repairs if there is insufficient funds in the owners account.  Now that funds are available, we are able to make the roofing repairs.  As for the issue with the window air conditioner - there has not been central air in the property for over five years and our leases do not guarantee central air conditioning.  The owner will not be making funds available to provide central air conditioning.  If the Tenant has received communications from Missouri American Water, she needs to forward documentation to us and we will be happy to respond to the issues raised.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

7/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a resident since February 28, 2015. Since August, when my upstairs neighbors use their bathroom water runs down to my bathroom. Maintenance came out for repairs, but it is still leaking. I have continued to submit work orders and was told work could not be done until the upstairs tenants leave. Because of this I let management know I will move the end of August.

Desired Settlement: I would like the leak repaired.

Business Response: We have tried to make repairs to address the issue.  There were some repairs made, which unfortunately, did not correct the entire problem; we have addresses the issue several times and contractors have tried to rectify the problem.  We replaced a portion of the ceiling and also provided a new shower curtain to retain the water.  The air conditioner is situated so that, when hot air meets cold air, condensation was occurring; this is the problem not an upstairs tenant using their bathroom.  The upstairs neighbors did just move out and we did advise the Tenant that we would release her from her lease at end of August, however, this will not allow the Tenant to receive any monies she might otherwise be due back in the form of deposits.  

Business Response:

Regarding the above complaint #, I wanted to provide some clarification and add some supplemental information.

 

In response to the tenant’s complaint, we have tried for some time to identify and resolve the issue.  We have sent numerous contractors out; it was difficult to determine the cause, but have concluded the issue is due to condensation from the condensing units.  We believe the unit may need to have the AC duct work wrapped to alleviate excessive moisture due to hot water (from showering) meeting cooler air when the air conditioner is running.  We are also looking at additional remedies in an effort to resolve the problem.  This has not been an easy task; our contractors have met with both the tenant and neighbors in the building who have been very uncooperative and intimidating, cursing and yelling at the contractors.  We are attempting to reach the tenant, once again, to ask that she contact us when the water is coming down the wall so we can physically see what she is seeing. There is currently an open work order assigned out to, once again, try and resolve the issue raised by the Tenant.

 

***** *******

HR Coordinator

Eaton Properties

************

6/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have lived in our rented property since 6/2013 and it was under a different property company. When Eaton Properties took over we have had nothing but problems and they have not corrected them. We had a mold issue that still hasn't been resolved, sink and drainage problems still not resolved, and now on the hottest day of the year so far it is 100 degrees in our house and the air conditioning isn't working. It has been a week now and they are trying to say that it is our fault that it is broken and wont fix it unless we pay an extra 50 dollars added to our rent each month. We don't own this property, we RENT. Any maintenance issues is supposed to be handled by Eaton and how do you purposely break an air conditioner? We are still fighting with them about this. We also have 3 children and one of them is asthmatic and we should not have to live in a house that is 100 degrees. If they don't resolve this issue we are going to have to pursue legal, media, and social media activity. Contact 2 has been notified and will be following up with us.

Business Response:

This is a situation whereby we took over management from another Management Company (****s Management) that is currently under investigation by the MO Real Estate Commission.  When we took over management (2014), we determined thatt he air conditioning unit at the subject property was in need of replacement; we contacted the owner who agreed to install a new unit. 

We have available an independent 24 hour/7 day a week/365 day a year maintenance line our Tenants may call in to report maintenance issues.  We did receive a call complaining about mold in the bathroom; we sent a contractor to the property to assess the "mold" situation.  The contractor determined the fungi in the bathroom was from a buildup of soap scum which was tenant-caused from failing to properly clean.  The tenant received instructions from our staff on how to clean the fungi in the bathroom.  The contractor also reported to our office the home was so dirty that he had trouble performing his work.  He reported to us that there was a sewer backup in the basement for which the tenant had never submitted a maintenance request to our maintenance line.  In addition, the contractor stated there were numerous large black garbage bags all over the kitchen and basement which contained garbage.  Our office advised the Tenant (3/22/16) that he must immediately clean the home to an acceptable standard or we would be forced to report them to Child Services.  We worked with the tenant for several weeks until the situation was resolved and have not heard back from him until the air conditioner issue arose.  As previously mentioned, this unit was a newly installed unit in 2014.  Again, after receiving the request regarding the issue with the unit, we sent our contractor over who reported the condensing unit was burned up because the tenant failed to contact us right away and it ran repeatedly for over five days.  In addition, he also noted the unit was running without a filter.  We reported the circumstances to the owner to replace the unit and, because the damage to the air conditioner was tenant-caused, we determined we would assess the tenant an additional $50 per month (spread over 11 months) to cover the cost of repair.  We have further agreed to take the old unit back to the Supplier and, if there was a warranty, we would not assess the tenant any charges.  Regarding the sewer back (again not initially reported by the Tenant), we did snake out the drain and have never heard back from the Tenant that there are any issues related to any type of back up of water.  

 

 

 

2/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have made over 15 request to have my basement leak repaired. Every time it rains my basement leakes and flood. It has been over 30 days. I have made over 15 complaints since April of this year about my basement leaking. I have called the maintenance line, contacted eaton properties directly, as well as a written request that was ignored. Section 8 has also came out twice because of this issue, as well as sent written request to have this issue fixed. It has been over 30 days and still no response or remedy of the problem. Standing water in the basement is very dangerous. Also the smell from the basement is now coming into my home

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that these repairs be fixed immediately, or allow me to terminate my lease early.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2016/02/12) */ First let me start by saying the Eaton Properties is a management company. We do not own the propery and when large issues like this arrise we consult the owner and are limited to what the owner is willing to do. The issues that the tenant faced regarding her basement issue was a complicated one and we sent out multipul contractors to try to remedy the problem. The tenants first complaint did occur on april 23rd when she had a sewer back up, this did not have anything to do with the basement leaking, and sometimes occurs due to roots that get into the water pipes. A plumber was was sent out to fix the problem immediately. No mention of the basement shows up in our system until 7/10. On 7/16 A basement waterproofing company was sent out to assess the situation. The owner was contacted regarding how to precede with the work, there was some time that passed as the owner contemplated his options. On 8/19 the process of attending to the wet basement began. A worker was sent out he repaired the downspouts and guttering and added a dranage system to send the water from the gutters away from the house. At that time a permanent dehumidifer was installed in the basement. The problem aparently persisted, Section 8 did an inspection, and as per their predication list, workers were sent out to fill in cracks in basement walls, repaired a drain pipe, painted the basement walls with drylock. On 11/17 tenant called and basement was leaking again. Basement waterproofing company was sent out to give another bid. Finally, the owner gave the go ahead to waterproof the basement at at a cost of 2,800.00 The basement problem is now resolved. We regret that the Tenant had to put up with the basement problem for so long, and hopefully this will be the end of all future wet basement issues.

9/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our landlord will not work on our apartment to fix our problems. I have been calling since we first moved in June 11. I have been calling and complaining about these issues since we moved in, and they promise to get the issues resolved, but no one ever comes. There are rat feces on our kitchen counter. Our plumbing is backed up in the whole apartment. It is so hot because we only have one AC unit for the whole apt. It gets up to about 85 degrees. This place hasn't been livable since we have been in there. I called and requested to get my money back so we could go somewhere else and they said no. We lived there for a week with no AC when we first moved in. They completely fixed the apartment up downstairs where no one was even living. We have been paying for something we haven't been receiving.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for what I have already paid so we can find somewhere else to live.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/09/03) */ All tenants are informed and required to call our maintenance line if they have maintenance items to be addressed. This tenant called and continued to call our office and the property manager's cell # of which each time had been instructed to call this in to the maintenance line. Once the tenant finally did call the maintenance line work orders were assigned to contractors. The plumbing issues were addressed several times but the tenant continued to complain about the toilet not working. Eaton Properties does not own these properties, they are owned by individual investors. We cannot do repairs on behalf of the owner if the owner does not have appropriate funds in their escrow account to be able to pay the contractors invoices. The owner delayed funding his escrow account but finally did and the plumbing repairs were resolved. The unit was inspected for occupancy by tenant's payee Places for People and passed inspection so tenant was given occupancy to move in. Per our lease the tenant signs, any pest control is the responsibility of the tenants. The tenant called and stated the a/c wouldn't work. We assigned to our HVAC tech and he informed us that it's not working because the a/c unit had been stolen. Owner purchased and paid contractor to install window a/c unit. The tenant wanted an additional a/c window unit which we allowed him to purchase with his own money and would reimburse him the cost when he submits a paid receipt. To date, tenant has not submitted that paid receipt. The tenant has no confirmed knowledge of the status of the unit below him. Tenant is wanting to be released from his lease and we are denying his request.

9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Air went out in home and was left with no air for 5 days after landlord said someone would be out to fix FRIDAY or SATURDAY! My air went out 7/30/15. I called Eaton Properties maintenance line to submit a request. I also called the office first thing Friday morning at 9:00am when they opened and spoke with my landlord who assured me that someone would be out that day or at least the following. I was left a message to call the contractor and set up a time. The contractor company did not answer either of the 2 times that I called, and I could not leave a message. I then tried to call my landlord back but the office closes at 5pm and they don't have an emergency number to get in touch with anyone. I am 8 months pregnant and I have a 2 year old son who also lives with me. We had to go Thursday-Mon with No air, in a home of 100*. I called the maintenance line Friday and the woman said she cant guarantee that this will be given notice to the office until Monday. We could not cook, forcing me to have to spend money on food. I had to send my son away for the weekend AGAIN, in addition to when I had to do it for the spiders.. which speaking of I have been bit by one on my stomach now! Eaton is such an inconvenience to me and my family and its obvious they do not care about their tenants. On Monday morning the contractor contacted me and let me know he was sorry they were backed up and I was supposed to call him. I advised that I did call twice and no one answered and the vm was full. He was very apologetic. I called the landlords partner to let him know at this point I was very dissatisfied with Eaton and ready to leave their property. This man told me that as a child he didn't have ac they raised the windows up...that was very unprofessional and a piece of info he could have kept ! I pay rent to have working services and the fact that I break my neck to make sure I can pay my rent bothers me that they would let us go that long with no air in such a life threatening situation. The landlord apologized on his partners behalf and was able to get the contractor out to the house that day and said they would compensate me for the days with no air. He does not know how though. I really would like to leave this property because I am fed up and they knew this house was not tenant ready with all the things I have had to get fixed, and all the things that they have not yet ! I soudlnt have to keep sending my son to stay with other people because his home is not safe for him !

Desired Settlement: I would like to be let out of my lease so that I can find a safe place for my family, because staying here has not been a good experience!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/09/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@eatonproperties.com Our maintenance dept received a request for a/c repair on or around Thurs 7/30/15 approx 9pm. The call was dispatched to our HVAC tech on Fri 7/31/15 approx 10:30am. The tenant called our office on Fri 7/31 and we gave her the HVAC tech's cell # to call and schedule repair appt. At that point it is between the tech and the tenant to schedule an appt together. Tenant called maintenance again on Fri 7/31 at 7:30pm instead of calling the HVAC tech's cell # that we provdided to her. Maintenance dept notified our office Mon 8/2 a.m. that the tenant called again. The property manager got in touch with the HVAC tech. He stated he tried setting an appt with tenant but she said she was not available. The appt was then set on 8/4 and repair was complete. Our lease that the tenant signs and receives a copy of before move in states that bugs, spiders, etc treatment is the responsibility of the tenant. The tenant requested to leave the property. Her lease ends on 9/30/15. After inspection of the unit it was found that the tenant has vacated the unit on or around 8/21/15, breaking her lease and leaving an unppaid balance of $675 which is her August 2015 rent.

8/3/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Basement floods when it rains. Can see outside through the foundation. Bugs/snakes come in. Sump pump sprays out water randomly. Damaged items. Mold The basement floods everytime it rains. The foundation is not attached to the house you can see right outside and that causes an infestation of bugs and snakes when it rains. I have lost a lot of my child and my belongings like nursing books, printer, shoes, and clothes which I have video of in the flood. There is a homemade pole in the middle of the basement that the landlord calls a sump pump that shoots out water at any given time which I just happen to catch on video while filming the flood. I am not able to wash because of all the water causing me to have to go to the laundry mat and spend more money. Not to mention that the drain is backed up because of the food water. Our clothes and all our belingings smell like mold and mildew all the time. My daughter and I have been sick for the last three to four weeks with headache, diarrhea, and sore throat. The basement has always had leaky pipes that they did finally repair. Ive been complaining about water in the basement when I first noticed all the water issues which was shortly after i moved in. I don't know if they are really even concerned because he has made appointments with me that he did not keep. I just want to be treated fairly and I know that this is not right.

Desired Settlement: I want the repairs made. But considering that there are permits and other details involved I realistically don't know how long all these major repairs will take to be made. If the job is too big please move me to another property of equal standards and also giving me one month rent free that will cover my cost of moving including the utility deposits that they charge now for transferring service, the uhaul, and some of the things that were lost in the flood. Not to mention the money I will have to pay people to move us. Yes I am a single woman that receives no government assistance and I don't have any extra money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/08/03) */ Since she has moved in this tenant has had more than the normal number of water issues. When the tenant has called in, we have in each case sent out plumbers to take care of the problem. We make every effort to stay on top of the contractors to make sure they are communicating with the tenant if there will be a delay, and we re-assign a job if the contractor does not attend to it in a timely manner. We received a maintenance call that a pipe was leaking in the basement. Our maintenance request did not state that it was water shooting everywhere. The tenant was smart to take a video of the problem, when we were able to see what was going on, we found that a back flow valve on the sump pump had broken and every time the sump pump kicked on water shot everywhere. We sent out a plumber to fix the sump pump. When the sump pump is working correctly it will usually help with if not completely solve the basement wetness issues. This sump pump was obviously not working correctly, now that it is, there should be little or no water in the basement from now on. We also sent out a contractor to look at the foundation, and he could find no significant cracks or anyplace that bugs or snakes could come in. I really don't know how the tenant can think that we don't care when we have sent out contractors every time they have called in a problem. With the massive amount of water the entire area has experienced this summer, the plumber are overwhelmed with calls, and it is taking a little longer to get the jobs scheduled. Regarding the loss of personal items. I understand the frustration that this tenant has with the situation, however when the tenant signs their lease they are informed that we cannot guarantee that the basement will not leak, and if they store items in the basement they should store them off the ground or in plastic tubs. Also, they are highly encouraged to get renters insurance to cover their personal belongings. Our property manager reports that he has had conversations with the tenant and the matter seems to have been resolved to her satisfaction.

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I moved in the blinds were yellow, floor boards slide, holes in every door, sewer system is horrible,mice, spider nest has to exist in the hom I moved in 9/14. Upon me moving in the house was not move in ready. It looked as if they cme and just painted. The blinds were filthy and still are, the floor boards slide, each door came with a hole or more in it, sewer is terrible < plumber has been out 3x already for toilet and kitchen sink> The maintenance line is very unfriendly and rude. Also, we live next door to a vacant home and bc of so many holes in the foundation of the home around each side < which has been reported to maint. line 3 x in a month 1/2 spand, and nothings been ) mice have entered my home, which I have seen. They came and left traps and said they see no point of entry..did I let them in the front door? there is also a spider nest within the home. I kill on avg 20-30 spiders a week all over my home and I have a small child and a new baby coming. the front door does not go all the way down to the floor, and they put tape up there, which crickets, spiders, roley poley, water bugs, and any outside bug come from under daily and nightly. I also believe the living room may have termites now. Their system was screwed in the beginning and they use to always say I was late on rent, which I was not, they corrected that, but I'm fed up because the things that need to be done always are put on hold or taken lightly. I should not have to share my living space w critters and rodents. I pay rent and my living environment should be safe for my kids. I honestly don't know how this home passed inspection.

Desired Settlement: I am either seeking for them to come out and fill the holes in foundation and seal cracks that I know mice are getting through or if that cant happen in a timely matter before someone ends up bitten by a spider or my house is infested w mice I need my lease to be terminated. I cannot continue to live like this. I never have and I never will.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/08/03) */ Eaton properties is a management company and does not own any of the properties it manages. This tenant moved in on or about Sept. 29th 2014. When she moved in there were some mini blinds that the cleaning people should have replaced, and some other minor issues that were addressed at the time with new mini blinds and other minor repairs. There was a sewer back up which was called in and addressed back at the end of september. It did take two trips from the plumber, however sewer back ups happen and they are beyond our control all we can do is to send out a plumber. On April 27th the tenant called in a maintenance request stating that there were cracks in the foundation Since this building has no basement, if there are cracks in the slab, they would be normal and would not lead to problems, no mice were mentioned at this time. No maintenance person was dispatched. The tenant does not call back in again until June 19th and states that there are cracks in the foundation and they are causing mice to get in. This is the first time that mice were mentioned to us. We sent out a contractor who looked at the foundation cracks and addressed anything that needed to be addressed. We sent out a pest control company that placed traps and looked over the unit and said the could not see any entry point for the mice. However they got in, the traps are the only solution. I don't know what holes the tenant is refering to that the contractor we sent our could not find, and the pest control person could not find. Our lease states that mice are the responsibility of the tenant, and if she had set traps when she saw the first mouse, she could have prevented them herself. The owner in this case went ahead and paid for the pest control person to come and set traps. Regarding the spiders, the first time she sent a request about spiders was July 13th. The tenant had lived in the property for 9 months and in her complaint it sounds like we are forcing her to live in a spider infested home. we sent out a pest control person on July 17th. What more does she want. Again her lease clearly states that pest control is the tenants responsability. When you live in a home things happen, stuff breaks and all we can do is to attend to the issues as they arise. We cannot stop them from happening. I regret that this tenant has had numerous issues, however we have attended to each incedent as it has been brought to our attention. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (1500, 9, 2015/08/03) */

7/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ******* ***** and my husband ****** ***** signed lease and paid deposit to move in **** ********* ave XXXXX with ***** Properties Management agent **** June X XXXX when I viewed the home kitchen wall needed repair .blinds.a few things which was to be done before me n my husband moved in....today the wall among other repairs was not done . Incident in Oct my husband informed **** the agent of ***** properties and maintenance that the basement ceiling was fall a little at a time they never came to fix it ..Oct XX XXXX I went to wash my clothes and the ceiling fell down on me a concussion with bruises and back injuries I was unconscious my husband found me after heard loud noise recorded damage i was rushed hospital Mr is kat scan mess and follow ups.informed I was hurt and ceiling fell in they sent maintenance who just tore the ceiling down no top at all damaged all my furniture and dryer and left door open ..dust and things never cleaned up and never contacted owner or gave me home insurance info to pay my bills it's April 17.2015 no one has contact me to resolve issues want to report and file suit for injury or repair the slum lords and want this complaint filed and a resolution will file civil suit neglect of property none should be treated like noting but expect rent ...will take issue higher if issues not resolved and bills,my property damaged,repairs and injury not compensated please help me I have pictures and video and statement of no damage of this property was cases by us but neglect from owners I have no medicare to cover my bills or meds and still seeing theropist and chiropractor for injuries to my back and neck.

Desired Settlement: cover medical bills

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/07/10) */ In response to the tenant complaint let me first say that we are a property management company and we do not own the properties that we manage. We are limited to what we can do by what our owners will authorize. In this particular case, the tenants viewed the property and noticed a wall that needed to be repaired and some other minor issues, however the inspector did not feel that these items posed a health or safety problem and the unit passed inspection. **** notified the owner about the wall and the other items, and the owner decided that since it passed inspection they were not going to make the repair. The tenant was made aware of the owner's decision. We do not always agree with the decision of our owners. The tenant next states that several months later they notified maintenance and **** that the ceiling in the basement was starting to fall. One of the services we provide for our tenants is an independent 24 hour answering service where a tenant can call in a maintenance request. Their request is dated, logged and either sent to a contractor, or the owner is notified if the owner wishes to handle his own repairs. We have audited our maintenance call line and have found no maintenance call from the tenant about a ceiling starting to fall. **** also does not remember any conversations with the tenants regarding this issue prior to the reported incident. The first we were notified of the problem was when the tenant called the office to tell us that the ceiling had fallen. This call was noted in our office software system. Immediately after getting off the phone with the tenant **** called the owner to apprise them of the situation. The owner wanted to use his own contractor to make the repair, and that contractor dealt directly with the owner and the tenant. Apparently the contractor did not clean up after making the repair and we received a maintenance call to send someone to clean up. We contacted the owner and he would not authorize us to send anyone. **** contacted the owner to request his insurance information, they did not provide it to us. This owner's management agreement ended in April and was not renewed. So we no longer manage for this owner and the tenant should be contacting the owner directly at this point with payment and maintenance requests and for the insurance information. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (1500, 9, 2015/07/10) */

7/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently rented a house, and since, I have numerous repairs to be made. Such as window issues, central air unit, etc. They said they took my central air unit out while the building was vacant so it wouldn't get stolen. I've been calling them and they said the one I had was stolen, and they can't get a new one. They told me the third party property owner is MIA and is not funding the account to buy a new unit. It hasn't been under 88 degrees in my building in the past 2 weeks. My property manager ******** ******* has not been helpful and has given attitude every time I talk to her. Due to this situation, I might have to move.

Desired Settlement: I want a new unit ASAP, or else I'll have to move.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/06/30) */ First let me start by saying that we are only the management company. We do not own the property and do our best to keep both the tenants and owners happy. In this case The tenant moved into the property in March knowing that the central air conditioning system had been stolen prior to her moving in. The owner agreed to replace the system, in the spring. When spring came, the owner did not have money to replace the system. We did install a portable window unit to help until the system could be replaced. We also offered to let the tenant out of her lease,to which she responded, she did not want to move. The system as since been replaced, and the tenant is happy, and the house passed the Section 8 Complaint inspection. We did everything we could do to get a new system put in as quickly as possible.

5/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved in to my home April 10, 2015. The same night I heard an animal scratching inside the walls. I called maintenance and someone came out when I was not at home. Now it smells like a dead animal in the wall. When I flush the toilet everything goes into the bath tub and sink. Someone came out for repairs, but 3 days later the same problem. I called again and was told they would have to contract the work out. There are ants, bees and waterbugs in the home and the windows in the bedroom and kitchen will not open. April 29th, my daughter and I were standing in the kitchen and the cabinet fell from the wall.

Desired Settlement: I don't think this home is livable would like another home or cancel the lease for a refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/05/18) */ We are a property management company. We do not own any of the properties we manage and do not always know the history of a property if the owner just acquired it. We are always concerned when a tenant has an unpleasant experience in a home that we manage, however sometimes issues will only be discovered after a property is occupied. Regarding the animal in the wall issue and the water bugs: A maintenance request was called in and a Pest control company was sent out to trap the animal, and they removed a raccoon. They also did a complete spraying of the interior and exterior of the home. The tenant states that there was still a problem, however she never called us to let us know, and we believed we had taken care of the entire problem. Had we been notified that there was still a problem, we would have addressed it. Regarding the sewer back up. First it should be known that a sewer clean out was done prior to the tenant moving in, just to make sure the lines were clear of roots and other materials. We cannot fully check how well the sewer line is functioning until a tenant moves in and lots of water is being run through the lines, multiple showers, laundry etc. When the tenant called on 4/19 and we discovered that there was a problem we sent out a plumber the next morning, 4/20, he cleared out the lines in the front yard and from the roof vent. The plumber encountered an unknown blockage and he went out again, I believe it was the next day, this time with a camera to find out what was causing the problem. It was determined that the blockage was in the lines under the house. (under the concrete) We sent out a plumber to give us an estimate as to the time and cost for repairing the lines. While waiting to discover the extent of the work and the cost, we received a call that it was backing up again 4/27, we again sent someone out to clear the lines (these were stop-gap measures to keep the water flowing until we could get the repair done). We finally pinpointed the problem and had a time frame for the work to be done. One of our people tried multiple times to contact the tenant by phone prior to 5/5, to give her her options, but was unable to reach her by phone, so he went to the property to try to reach her. The owner was offering to put her up in a hotel until the work could be completed or we would move her to a new unit that the same owner had available. She was scheduled to look at the new unit on 5/6, but the tenant did not show. She was given our leasing agents name to see if there were any other homes in our inventory that she would like to move into, and she did not find one. On 5/11 the tenant was refunded her full security deposit, she had not yet paid for May so there was nothing to pro- rate and she got 11 free days of rent. We did everything we could to try to resolve the situation as quickly and professionally as possible. This was a complicated issue and took some time to resolve.

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Eaton properties are scam artists. They do not return calls and never stand on their word, they take your money and don't care about you after that. Me and my fiance applied for a house with Eaton properties in the beginning of February the house needed plenty of work before anyone moved in...mind you we saw the house in January... we had to call them in order to find out if we'd even gotten approved no one even once tried to call us. After we found out we'd gotten approved. We gave them 200 to hold the house and the house failed inspection... this was a few weeks after we'd given the holding fee... and we had to call to find out the house failed inspection because NOBODY EVER knew anything.. you asked a question and it was ALWAYS "I don't know".... after the house failed they got another inspection and it so called passed inspection but the lady *** didn't want to give us a walk thru of the house.... she wanted us to give them the rest of the money and move in and file any complaints with the contractor... and now they do not want to return our holding fee which they NEVER said was non refundable!!!! this is the worst company I've ever dealt with and if you can help it do NOT RENT from these people

Desired Settlement: We simply want our 200 dollar holding fee back.... because we were never once told it was non refundable

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/06) */ I regret that Ms ******** had an unpleasant experience with our company and felt that they were not communicated with in a timely fashion. However we are not scam artists that just want to take your money. The municipal inspection process is frustrating both for us and for the applicant. Especially when the unit is ready to go. The comment regarding "SO CALLED PASSED INSPECTION" bothers me, because it had to pass inspection to get occupancy. The items that the inspector made us fix were, replace one window sill, clean gutters, paint front porch, and trim up front and back yard. If we had not done this they would not have given us a clearance for occupancy. The applicants viewed the property and put an application on it even before this work was done, so it was acceptable to them even before the work was done, it was now in better condition. We do not routeinly give a walk through before move in. We instead give the tenant a a sheet where they can write down any items that they find in the house that may need repair that the inspectors may not have seen. Regarding them never being told that the deposit was not refundable, less than one inch above their signature on the application in bold letters it is stated: "Holding money is non-refundable once the application has been approved, and will be applied to the first month's rent or security deposit, and will hold the unit for _____days. (14 if not specified). If I, the undersigned, for any reason, fail to enter into a lease for the above unit, the holding money will be forfeited to the owner, and the unit will be put back on the market. Eaton Properties does not receive any part of the holding money, it is given to the owner as compensation for taking the house off of the market. For whatever reason Ms ******** and her fiance chose not to move into the unit. They had actually already signed a lease and could be held responsible to the full term of the lease payments under that lease. I think we and the owner were more than fair to only keep their $200. holding money

12/8/2014 Delivery Issues
11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a lease for **** ****** ** ********* MO XXXXX August 22, 2014 with a September 1st move in date and paid $650 down payment. It needed to pass inspection before my family and I could move in. However, it failed inspection 4 times. Because of that, we had to get an extension on our current lease. After multiple failed inspections I asked for a refund 2 weeks ago.

Desired Settlement: refund 650.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/11/11) */ There seems to be a misunderstanding as to when the property would be ready for the tenant. Due to municipality inspections, we cannot promise a tenant a move in date that is less than 45 days from the time of application. We state this in our literature and on our application. We do however strive to move the process along more quickly. In the case of the property at **** ******* It was inspected and a few deficencies were found. Workers were sent out to make the repairs and the inspectors came back to check on the work. A different inspector came,out for the re-inspection and he found something else that he wanted corrected that was not on the original list and so we are forced to hold up the move in, send out workers again, and schedule another inspection. This perticular home went through 3 not 4 inspections. At any rate when additional repairs were needed we resolved the situation with the tenant by offering to move her to a property that had already passed all of it's inspections and she was happy with that resolution.

10/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the end of May 2013 I moved in the home I currently rent from this company. I gave them a $900 security deposit plus $320 for another deposit to hold the home. When I moved in we discussed and negotiated for a handicap ramp to the home as I am in a wheelchair. The ramp cost $300 and they said they would pay $150. As of 08-20-14 they have not given me the money to build the ramp. I call and leave messages, but they do not return my calls. Since moving in the home I have found rats and mold in the home. The sink is stopped up and cannot be used. I call them and they tell me to call a main line. When I call the main line they tell me all they do is take messages and give to Eaton Properties.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to pay me the $150 for the ramp and make the repairs to the home. If this cannot be done I would like to move out and receive my security deposit back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/09/24) */ Regarding the complaint filed by Ms. ****. She stated that we discussed and negotiated a wheelchair ramp for her when she move into the unit. Putting in a wheelchair ramp was not a problem, (even though we were not notified prior to her move in that she needed one), but it would have to be at her expense. Ms. **** stated that she had someone who would do the ramp for 300.00. The owner did agree to apply a $114.00 credit toward the cost of the ramp (not 150). We were never informed that the ramp had been built. We have since had conversations with the tenant where she informed us that she obtained a portable ramp and the owner has authorized payment of the $114.00 credit. The owner would not pay out the credit until we were notified that the ramp was actually in place. Ms. **** also stated in her complaint that we were not responding to her maintenance requests. Ms. **** is no stranger to the maintenance call line since May 15th she has called in 14 requests including pest control and clogged sinks, and we have responded to each and every one of them. We do not create the maintenance issues we can only respond to them. The reason Ms. **** and all of our tenants are instructed to call in to the answering service is so we have a record of when the call was made, it is then turned into a work order and a contractor is dispatched to deal with the problem. Calling a maintenance issue to the office will not get it resolved, and the request will more than likely get lost in the shuffle. We believe that Ms. ****'s complaint has been resolved.

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: February 2014 I had placed a work order for them to fix the kitchen sink and the bathroom floor (vinyl rip). The work order never got completed. I cleaned the house up and moved out May 5, 2014 leaving the apartment the same way when I moved in. I have been calling ****** wanting my security deposit back of $700.00.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to give me my security deposit of $700.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/07/30) */ Regarding the work order that was never compleated, the contractor who was assigned to that job did a partial job and was suposed to be sending back someone to finish the job. He did not. When we found out it had not been compleated we sent another contractor. The original contractor had numerous problems in this regard and is no longer being used by our company. Regarding security Deposit. A partial return of security deposit was given shortly after this complaint was filed.

8/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my compliant invovles my holden money for property that didnt pass inspection. the whole process began on May 14,2014 when i submitted an application stating i wanted to move in to property by June 1,2014. Along with my application i gave the agent $400 dollar money order for a holden fee as stated on my receipt.After that i heard no response from anyone at Eaton Property. On May 23,2014. I called out to the office to speak with someone regarding the status of my application.I spoke a guy who said he was the property manager. He said that everything looked ok execepted he was concerned about a old ****** UE bill. He never did tell me i was approved for the houseSo I told him i had called ****** and spoke with a manager who agreed to work out an arrangement .I also stated i have a copy of the agreement that i can fax him the documentation.He said ok so I faxed over they letter and i called back to make he received it. After that I still didnt received confirmation of an approval. On May 26, 2014 I called to check status on my application and the inspection of the house. I spoke to the property manager assistant who said I was approved. I was kinda feeling skeptical about the hold situation because i never reived a phone or a letter in the mail stating i was approved plus i had to keep contacting them to get updated info. I asked about the inspection he stated a check had to be processed then taking to city hall .the very next day i called back to see of the process was done he said yea i asked him so when willl the inspection be done .he stated we are waiting on city hall to call is to give is a date. He stuck with the same story for about a week . so i called city hall myself on June 4,2014 .I spoke to the inspector himself that stated he did the inspection on May 30,2014 and the house didnt pass i asked was the property manager noticfied he said yes and that he would re fax over the repairs. Im pregnant and it has now been past 30 days and they. altered my app to a move in date on to july 14

Desired Settlement: I decided not to renew my lease at my old address and i moved out on may 31,2014 . I had high hopes that i was moving into a house soon. Im pregnant and its kinda hard to keep moving. My due date is july 27 and i know i didnt write on my application a move in date of july 14,2014. Im currently stating with my mother in a cramped 2bedroom home. I just want to be refunded my full $400. While i still have a little time to find me somewhere else to move before my daugther is born. I am only 24 year.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/07/30) */ ****** said 1) that the business cannot control the schedule by which inspections are conducted, which is up to public inspectors; 2) that the business' policy, as stated on the consumer's receipt, is that the holding fee is nonrefundable; 3) that to satisfy the consumer, the business agreed to refund half of the $400 holding fee anyway; 4) that when the business tried to communicate this to the consumer, neither of the phone numbers she had provided were functional, and; 5) that the business' offer was still open and that the check was available at their office

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/19/2014 Delivery Issues
4/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Eaton Properties
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart