BBB Accredited Business since

Allsup

Phone: (618) 234-8434 Fax: (618) 236-5778 View Additional Phone Numbers 300 Allsup Pl, Belleville, IL 62223 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.allsupinc.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Request a Quote

Request a Quote from Allsup


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allsup meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allsup include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Allsup
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 12, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985
Business Management
Dan Allsup, Director of Communication Patrick Condon, Director of Marketing Communications Mr. James F. Allsup Rebecca Ray, Director, Corporate Public Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Dan Allsup, Director of Communication
Customer Contact: Rebecca Ray, Director, Corporate Public Relations
Business Category

Professional Services - General Insurance - Disability Health & Medical - General


Additional Locations

  • 300 Allsup Pl

    Belleville, IL 62223 (800) 854-1418 (800) 560-1410 (618) 234-8434

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Allsup to help me obtain SSDI. I was given an award letter with no backpay from SSDI. My payments start June 15th for May. Allsup was originally to take 25% of my back pay, which I did not receive, even though SSA gave a date of 12/15/2015 of disability onset (even though it should have gone back much further). Allsup, then sent me SSA papers (petition to SSA) for $500. They told me these were their own personal papers (they are SSA papers). When I called them, they gave me a run-a-round. I asked why the papers came to me first. They were supposed to go to SSA first and then I was to receive a letter from SSA. They said by sending to me, it would go faster. I was supposed send these signed papers agreeing to the $500 to Allsup and then they would mail to SSA for me. I asked why i couldn't just bring to my SSA Office. The form also had the questions highlighted in yellow for me to answer. One question said "see attached"; there was no attachment and the money amount before that was left blank. I was threatened by the customer service representative that if I didn't sign the papers, they would bill me for $500. First they said they send their SSA papers to the SSA and then they said they didn't do it yet. Their papers went to a place in Chicago, which I had no idea. I got the phone number for this Chicago Office from Allsup's Billing Department for this Chicago Office. Allsup warned me that no one there would talk to me. They did talk with me and this place told me that Allsup would probably get the okay of the $500 request. The next day, I received their okay. My SSA Office said it usually takes months for a decision. Allsup, also sent me a bill for $500 before a decision was made. Their Billing Department told me it really wasn't a bill. It looks like a bill to me. It says Please pay from this statement balance due - $500. It also tells what credit cards they take. This company started out good in the beginning and in the end they got nasty. I think this is very rude, due to the fact that I am disabled, and because of all of this, my symptoms are getting much worse. I am getting extremely stressed out -I have PTSD, depression, anxiety attacks, migraines, plus more. I even called a lawyer who sent me an SSA site with their rules. Allsup did not follow the rules. I did not have a chance to say I disagreed (they assumed). They went ahead and got approval instantly. I don't even know if this Chicago place is really associated with SSA. When I called the Chicago Office, they answered, "P5" and that is all. This whole thing is very strange to me. I would think they would send their papers to the SS Office in my town, or the one listed on my award letter (which my SSA Office in my town told me). This whole thing is stressing me out so much that I am just going to pay. I don't have the time nor energy to fight this. Allsup did many underhanded things. Especially proceeding not using the SSA protocol. They were not to send me a bill before a decision was made from SSA. They are very crafty and I assumed that if I didn't receive back pay, they received nothing. I had never heard of a petition to obtain a fee for representation. They do not have lawyers working for them. I guess I expected honesty and forthright answers, which I never received. I also wrote an email explaining all of this to the Vice President of Communications and never heard back. I am very disappointed and exacerbated!

Desired Settlement: I feel that because of all the time I had to put in talking to Allsup, a lawyer, going to my SSA, not receiving a response from their Communications Department, no attachment explaining work they did, the lies, threats, and incorrect SSA protocol, I should pay Allsup less. I feel $250 is more reasonable. If I pay the $500 (which I don't have), and if I paid out of my first check, I would end up having $500 less plus $160 less, due to increase in Marketplace, because they consider SSDI income. I would be left with $615. My husband and I are refinancing our home due to my SSDI income causing the Marketplace to increase (he is also on Medicare), which also adds paying a supplement, taking money out of his SS, and another payment for part D. He does work part-time, but can only make the same amount as his SS benefit check. I would feel much better paying $250 and I feel I am being extremely reasonable after what I just went through. I also had to pay a lawyer for advice, which wasn't that much.

Business Response:

May 23, 2016

Better Business Bureau

Serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois

Dispute Resolution Department

211 N. Broadway, Suite 2060

St. Louis MO 63102

Re: BBB Complaint No. ********

Dear Sir or Madam:

Allsup is committed to providing superior customer service, and we take the rare customer complaint very seriously. In 32 years in business, we have helped more than 250,000 people receive their Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) benefits.

As part of Allsup representation, we do not charge a fee unless claimants are awarded their Social Security disability benefits. We are pleased that we were able to assist the claimant to receive her SSDI benefits with her initial claim. The case was awarded within the waiting period for benefits, which means she did not receive a retroactive benefit. The Social Security Administration (SSA) made an onset date change from Nov. 30, 2012, to Dec. 1, 2015, which the federal agency stated was due to the doctor’s notes which indicated her condition met the definition of disability at this time. 

The SSA oversees the fee, which typically is 25 percent of the retroactive benefit amount, with a fee cap of $6,000. When the individual does not receive retroactive benefits, as in this case, Allsup files a fee petition in a timely manner per SSA rules. We inform claimants about the retroactive and the fee petition processes at the time they agree to hire us. As the claimant’s hired representative, Allsup assessed and filed a fee petition with the SSA for $500 based on the time spent to develop and submit the claim, and in light of the expertise applied to get the claim awarded. The fee of $500 is small in comparison to the average estimated annual benefits of $14,000 that SSDI beneficiaries receive.

A copy of the fee petition form was sent to the claimant for her signature as well as to the SSA. Although a claimant’s signature is not necessary to submit with a fee petition, Allsup always forwards this correspondence to both the claimant and Social Security in order to ensure complete transparency.

Further, Allsup contacts the claimant to review the fee petition and inform the claimant of their payment options. In this case, the fee petition was sent to the claimant and Social Security May 3, 2016, and efforts were made May 5, 2016, to reach out to the claimant. An Allsup specialist spoke with the claimant May 9, 2016, regarding the fee petition process. At that time, the specialist explained to the claimant the fee that was requested, gave her the option of a payment plan, and explained that once SSA approves the fee petition, payment in full would be expected.

As a courtesy to claimants, who often appreciate the information, Allsup provides the fee petition and billing notice in advance of Social Security’s approval of the fee. This allows the claimant to begin a payment plan, if they so choose. Customers can make smaller installments on their fee over the course of several months. Once the SSA approves the fee, the balance is due in full. In addition, if the SSA approves a lower fee, then Allsup reimburses the claimant for any possible overpayment of the fee. However, if the claimant indicates they wish to wait until the SSA makes a decision on the fee approval Allsup will refrain from collecting the proposed fee until it is approved.

We apologize for any concerns that resulted from her conversations with Allsup team members. The SSDI program is complex and includes Social Security’s oversight of the fee process and activities handled by their Payment Centers. The claimant requested a copy of the timeline regarding the work performed on her claim, and this was provided. An Allsup specialist also explained the claimant has a right to appeal the fee, once it is approved by the SSA and if she disagrees with the fee they approve.

Allsup is not in a position to negotiate the fee until Social Security has rendered its decision. In the meantime, Allsup remains available to arrange a payment plan, or the claimant may prefer to wait until the SSA’s review is complete.

We are glad that we could help the claimant to receive her SSDI benefits successfully in just a few months. Allsup has developed its business methods after assisting tens of thousands of claimants with the SSDI process, which includes the fee petition process. We have found certain steps can ease the process of concluding the claim. We sorry our process led to additional questions and dissatisfaction for the customer. We hope the information outlined here helps to address her concerns, and we’re available to answer additional questions. 

Respectfully,

**** *****

Assistant Vice President, Claims

Allsup

*******@allsupinc.com

***** ********* **** *****

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I received the time spent on my claim which was 6.75 hours.  I can attach a copy if we need one.  Also, I was sent a bill for $500 before I knew what Social Security agreed on.  I was told it was not a bill, but it certainly looks like one.  I can attach that as well.  Another thing that bothers me is that the Vice President of Communications never communicated with me.  I was also threatened that if I did not sign the Social Security papers (which included the $500 fee) they would send me a bill for $500, which I received 2 days later.  As I said before, there were questions answered to me in a deceptive manner.  The Social Security papers I was sent to sign, which had the $500 fee filled in, I was told by signing the papers it would be faster for them to receive the money.  They also did not fill in the part of the Social Security papers, where it said see attachment, and no amount of money was filled in. 

I am happy that I am about to receive (June 15, 2016) SSDI; I was surprised I did not receive back pay.  I actually started getting worse symptoms of my original diagnoses starting in 2009, which have become considerably worse, changing my quality of living and day-to-day activities.  I was prescribed different medications and higher doses of others.  My medications are still be monitored and changed if I do not respond to them. 

Because of what I am telling you now and in my first letter, I feel an unfairness in how my case was handled after I was approved for SSDI.  I was treated differently and Allsup did not do things in the correct order and fudged what they said. 

I feel that for the 6.75 hours they put into my case, a lower amount is more reasonable or no amount, due the way I was spoken to, not answered, lied to, Allsup changing their stories, and the threat of Allsup sending me a bill for $500, which I received 2 days after I spoke with Allsup demanding me to sign the papers.  Also the papers were missing information. 

I just feel that they know what went on and are trying to sound like a wonderful company.  If they were so wonderful, this would not have happened.  The Communication VP should have e-mailed me back - that is why I decided to complain to the BBB. 

I do not like getting answers that change and told to sign the Social Security papers.  Allsup also said the papers were only there papers.  They are Social Security papers; the form is on the internet. 

If Allsup had been forthright with me, this probably wouldn't be happening.  The need to be straighten out their approach to customers and all be on the same page.  I was happy with Allsup in the beginning, but when the $500 came up, things changed.  They said by me signing the Social Security papers, they would get their money sooner, never saying I could disagree on the Social Security papers (I saw that later on my own).

I do not enjoy getting deep into something like this, but I felt it needed to be reported.  This is making the symptoms of my diagnoses much worse, which is the opposite of how they should treat a person with a disability. 

A friend of mine attended an Allsup Seminar and she is the one who recommended them.  I will have to tell her not to recommend.  I do not want to see anyone else with a disability go through this. 

Thank you,

**** *******




2/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this company can not communicate-they have lost over three months by not filing with disability officethey can not answer my original email-then they said found my information-they didn't get my address rightthen they didn't get my phone number right-they haven/t filled with government after three months.they said i should contact all doctors and hospitals-what do they do?last corespondent i asked to talk to a manager and still nothing. They sent me a form for my doctor to fill outsince it is a new doctor they cant file it outthis is a worthless companyasking for 6903 for lost comensation

Desired Settlement: i have lost three months disability also i can collect my deceased wife when i qualify.i have lost 1701 times three month wife is around 600.00 a monthi want reimbursement since you don't care enough to do any work on my case

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/20) */ Oct. 20, 2015 Better Business Bureau Serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois Dispute Resolution Department 211 N. Broadway, Suite 2060 St. Louis MO XXXXX Re: BBB CASE No. XXXXXXX Dear Sir or Madam: Allsup is committed to providing superior customer service. We have helped more than 250,000 people receive their Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) benefits, and we take the rare customer complaint very seriously. This individual contacted Allsup in July. Our specialists promptly engaged in multiple contacts to coordinate a call with Social Security and were taking steps to ensure that an application was both necessary and appropriate. This process included sending a medical questionnaire to the claimant and beginning the process of retrieving current medical records. Completing an SSDI application is difficult because Social Security's definition of disability is so rigid. The SSDI process requires highly detailed information about the person's work history, medical history, evidence of disability and records from healthcare providers to substantiate the claim. This can be a time-consuming and meticulous process, and it requires involvement from the claimant in order to complete the claim and submit it to Social Security. Allsup's priority is ensuring that an individual is likely to qualify for SSDI benefits, and it is our role to inform them if it appears they are likely or unlikely to receive benefits. We do this with every new customer to ensure we set proper expectations. An Allsup specialist contacted the individual in August and asked if he had received a questionnaire that Allsup sent him, and if he was able to further assist with compiling the evidence for his claim. He stated he was dissatisfied with the assistance he was receiving. We're sorry he is unhappy with the services he has received from Allsup. He may find services that are more to his preference by contacting a representative with the National Organization of Social Security Claimants' Representatives by calling (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Allsup provides services on a contingency basis and does not collect any fees unless the customer is awarded benefits. Due to the stringent nature of the SSDI program, more than two-thirds of applicants are denied benefits, so it is not possible to guarantee that someone who applies for SSDI will be due benefits. Some medical information was obtained, and this material has already been provided to the claimant by mail. We apologize for any confusion about how Allsup would proceed as his representative. We consider our customer relationship with him closed, and we wish him well. We are available to answer additional questions. Respectfully, **** ***** Assistant Vice President, Claims ****** *******@allsupinc.com (XXX) XXX-XXXX, ext. XXXXX

7/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Allsup advertises it represents all SSDI cases. They really only want cases they have been involved with since the inception and no appeals. I was refered to Allsup for representation for my SSDI case. I looked at their website and it showed they handled SSDI cases. After exchanging phone messages for a couple weeks I finally spoke to a representative. They were not interested in my case because I had previous legal reprsentation and because I was entering into an appeal. I was told that if they represented me since the beginning they could only offer me positive results. Since I had prior legal counsel there was nothing they could do for me. This was not stated anywhere on their website and I feel offers false hope to those that really need their help. In addition ******, the agent I spoke with was condensending about my needs for help and my request for their representation. There should be a notation that says they will not take your case if it is not in the beginning stages or if you have had prior legal counsel. I was very disappointed as I really needed their help.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see a notice on their website that cases in the beginning stages are taken or that if you are in an appeal Allsup does not want to handle. Also if you have had prior legal representation Allsup is not interested in picking up the pieces. There should be an honest disclaimer about who and what Allsup is willing to take

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/16) */ July 16, 2015 Better Business Bureau Serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois Dispute Resolution Department 211 N. Broadway, Suite 2060 St. Louis MO XXXXX Re: BBB CASE No. ******* - ***** **** Dear Sir or Madam: Allsup is committed to providing superior customer service, and we take the rare customer complaint very seriously. In 31 years in business, we have helped more than 250,000 people receive their Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) benefits. Individuals contact Allsup daily for assistance with their SSDI claims, and our organization accepts claimants at all levels of the Social Security disability adjudication process, including appeals. In this instance, the individual indicated that she currently has an attorney, but was planning to find another representative. Allsup's policy, like other representatives, requires the existing representative to provide written documentation that they no longer represent the individual and is waiving any claim to a representative's fee. In these situations, Allsup may agree to review the individual's claim and documentation in consideration of providing the individual with appeals representation. This review is done in consideration of Social Security's program and regulatory requirements, and it may or may not lead to representation by Allsup. Representation of SSDI claims grows increasingly complex at higher levels of the appeals process. It is important to the success of the claim to have the historical knowledge, medical records and other evidence with the claim. Allsup disability specialists may determine the individual is not likely to receive benefits based on the information provided. This decision is independent of what a previous representative may have determined, and we inform individuals when we make this assessment. I hope this explanation has clarified the factors involved when Allsup assists callers with determining next steps for their SSDI claims. We recommend this individual file the appeal with the Appeals Council in order to meet the deadline for the claim. She may continue to seek another representative, which she may find is contingent upon the current attorney providing written release from their agreement and the representation fee. We apologize for any confusion resulting from her conversation with an Allsup representative. The SSDI program is complex, especially with subsequent appeals. We are available to answer additional questions. Respectfully, ***** ******** Director ****** **********@allsupinc.com (XXX) XXX-XXXX, ext. XXXXX

1/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had signed a contract with the company to process my SSDI claim approximately in January 2014. There had been numerous problems, but they were getting the claim processed. On September 16th, 2014 I received a phone call from my neurosurgeons office that they had received a mystery phone call from a man in Pasadena CA that received a fax from the company that contained my private information, including my SS#. This was a HIPPA and Privacy Act violation. On Saturday, I received a letter from **** ****** Assistant Vice President, that told me this form occurred on September 17th, 2014, which is wrong. He says it is the result of claims being faxed to another party. They're acknowledging the fact that this happened. I've tried to call Mr. ***** all day since I've woken up this morning. He did give me another name in the letter; ******** ****** same number but with ext. XXXXX. I have tried to contact her and she is not accepting my calls either. I call the main number and get the call center and they say they see where there was a fax on September 16th but it appears my doctor has not returned anything. I asked if there was going to be another fax sent out and she said that they only send one and then contact me to see if I ever got the information. She didn't know what was going on and she seemed shocked because none of this was noted on my account. I explained the letter was offering a ID theft protection for one year. I do not feel this is sufficient for exposing my identity. She said she would see if she could contact Mr. ****** She came back after a while, obviously nervous, and said he was busy. I asked to speak to Ms. ***** and asked her to connect me through to her. I was put on hold again and she came back with the nervousness in her nature with the same response. She could take a message. That was approximately 2.5 hours ago. I have received no contact whatsoever. We have since received notice from the credit our credit union that our security has been breached and we are being issued new debit cards. I do now know for sure if this is tied, but have no reason to doubt that it is not.

Desired Settlement: I'm paying them a significant amount of money for my case and they are not doing what they need to do. I do not feel that paying for services rendered is acceptable because I have gotten very little services at this point and what grief they could cause me in the aftermath is unknown. I do not want to pay for what they are going to charge me as an end result of representing me, however, I am willing to negotiate with them. I do not feel the one year of monitoring is sufficient in lieu of what they have done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/01) */ We are writing to you as a follow up to your conversation with veronica Biver on September 18, 2014, in which you were informed of a recent incident in which a medicat request letter was disclosed to a third part. The form contained your name, SSN, and date of birth. This incident occurred on September 17, 2014. It was the result of claims materials intended for your doctor being faxed to another party. Upon learning of the incident, we conducted an investigation and have determined that the records were released through inadvertence and not as a result of any plan or purpose to appropriate or misuse your personal information. The other party notified the doctor's office and agreed to immediately destroy the information. To the extent required by applicable state or federal law; we will notify the appropriate authorities of the inadvertent disclosure. We have no reason to suspect that your personal information has been, or will be, misused. But, Allsup takes very seriously its obligation to protect customer information, and so, we are informing you of this incident out of an abundance of caution. For you comfort, and as an added precaution, we have also decided to offer you one year of free credit monitoring and identity theft insurance. Details concerning how to receive the credit monitoring and identity theft insurance have been included with this letter. In the event that you are concerned about the possibility of identity theft in relation to this incident, or generally, you should consider the following suggestions: 1. As a precautionary measure, review your financial account statements and credit reports on a regular basis. If you choose not to use the one year of free credit monitoring that we are offering you can still obtain one free copy of your credit report per year from the three national consumer reporting agencies ********************************. To order your free annual report from one or all of the companies, visit http://www*******************.com, or call toll free XXXXXXXXXX. You can also contact the consumer reporting agencies directly as follows. 2. If you suspect your have been, or are about to be, a victim of identity theft, you may ask that the consumer reporting agencies listed above place an initial fraud alert or an extended fraud alert on your credit report. A fraud alert requires that potential creditors verify your identity before issuing credit in your name. 3. Many states have laws that let consumers freeze their credit in other words, allow a consumer to restrict access to his or her credit report. If you place a credit freeze potential creditors, and other third parties will not be able to get access to your credit report unless you temporarily life the freeze. This means that it's unlikely that an identity thief would be able to open a new account in your name. You can contact the credit reporting agencies listed above for more information about a credit freeze. 4. If you determine that an account has been fraudulently established using your identity, you should call the nation consumer reporting agencies above immediately as well as contact the Federal Trade Commission, at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, and your state attorney general's division of consumer protection. Additional information about reporting, and preventing identity theft can be found at www.consumer.gov/idtheft We sincerely regret this incident and are taking steps to ensure that this does not happen in the future. Please acceot our apology and if you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact ******** ***** at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX extension XXXXX. Sincerely, **** ***** Assistant Vice President Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2014/10/07) */ This is the letter the business sent to me: This issue is not resolved. What I am being told is that this man said he would shred it. There was medical information provided also. He writes that it was a mistake but under HIPPA laws, this does not matter. To make this claim is a slight of hand trick on his part. The law states whether it is an accident or not, they are still at fault. When I submitted the claim to the US Civil Protection Agency I ensured I read all of the laws thoroughly to be sure I had a formal complaint, which they have accepted. Oct. 6, 2014 Better Business Bureau Serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois Dispute Resolution Department 211 N. Broadway, Suite 2060 St. Louis MO XXXXX Re: BBB CASE: XXXXXXX, ******** **** Dear Sir or Madam: Allsup is committed to providing superior customer service, and we take the rare customer complaint very seriously. In 30 years in business, we have helped more than 225,000 people receive their Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) benefits. This customer hired Allsup to assist her with SSDI representation, and while we decline to discuss the specifics of her disability claim in this forum to maintain her privacy, we are aware of her concerns about her case. The SSDI claim is currently pending with the Social Security Administration. We have been in touch with this customer and offered her our assurances regarding the services we are providing. When we recently contacted this customer, she did not have a specific request. Allsup specialists will continue to gather information and communicate about any additional progress on her disability claim. Allsup specialists also will continue to monitor activity by the Social Security Administration on this customer's claim. We are available to answer any additional questions she may have. Respectfully, **** ***** Assistant Vice President, Claims ****** *******@allsupinc.com (XXX) XXX-XXXX, ext. XXXXX Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2014/12/30) */ 01/02/15: I am still using the company for my Social Security Disability. I do not believe I should pay the full amount for their service since my medical records were shared. He may be a nice guy but how can I be sure he won't use my personal information. I would pay for their service about $4,500+ and they should give me a discounted rate. 01/05/15: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 01/05/15: I had only 30 days and chose Allsup. They are separate from ******** and they will take any benefits and then Allsup will get $4,500. I made the decision to go through them because of their success rate. My agreement with each company are separate and I believe a reduction would benefit me. *** **** is doing an investigation because they do not want to recommend clients to a company that shares private information. What else can be done? I have not asked for the employee to be fired. What justice can I ask for? Mr. ***** was going to call me back and he never did. I don't see what I can gain by talking to Mr. ***** other than an I'm sorry we sent your information out. As long as they can continue to get away with the way they conduct business will anything change? I want to know what are they going to do to make this right. If he would like to make an offer then I would be willing to listen. I want a show of good faith and to acknowledge the mistake. 01/06/15: I believe this is a good show of faith they are committed to not allowing personal records to be released in the future. Final Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2014/12/30) */ 01/02/15: Mediator called business and spoke to **** *****, VP of Claims. He needs to coordinate who will handle the mediation and he will get back to me next week. 01/02/15: The last time I spoke to her we talked for quite a while. She moved past this and she talked about her case. I extended our ability of help if she has a security breach. When she asks for a discount, I will have to think about it. Let me see what I can do. I will put pencil to paper and get back to you next week. 01/05/15: (**** *****) I have looked into the case. Our services to Ms. **** are on a contingent issue and we are working on her Social Security disability. She has a fee agreement and if she is awarded benefits she will be paid 13 months of past due eligibility by SSS. SSS would withhold up to $4,500 and send her the remainder. ******** referred her to us and if SSS pays her for the same month and she would need to pay them back. The $4,500 is the maximum fee we charge ******** and the SSS maximum is $6,000. 01/05/15: Mediator called business and left voice mail message for **** *****. 01/05/15: If I reduce her fee, it will not benefit her. I am tempted to call her and would like to resolve the complaint. I will call her tomorrow and work on a offer that will bring a resolution. 01/06/15: I talked to her and she understands the reduction will not benefit her but she wants it for punitive reasons, so it won't happen again. She wants us to acknowledge releasing her personal records as a serious issue. We will drop the maximum fee from $4,500 to $4,000 and she has agreed.

12/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid $250 for medicare plan assistance. When obscure results came back in the report I asked to be corrected I was told payment would be another $250. I paid Allsup $250 for their "Allsup ******** Advisor Report". When the report was received, 2 of the medications on my list were over $50K a year! I requested that those items be removed and the report resent to me as being an individual on disability, there is NO WAY I could afford such items. The analyst that called to discuss my results on 12/17/2014 @ 11AM EST, was able to remove them and tell me the information over the phone but told me she could not send me the new report without charging me another $250! This is unreasonable as all I was asking for was 2 items to be removed (which she already did on her system or she wouldn't be able to verbally tell me the differences). My disability is chronic treatment resistant migraines. It is very hard for me to understand all of the information she was verbally telling me that was changed without seeing the report in front of me (which is what I paid $250 for). She then proceeded to tell me that a lot of manual work goes into creating the report they provide, that it was not just a matter of removing a few items in a system program they use. If that is the case, why didn't the person that was doing the manual work see the red flag of a prescription costing 50,000 dollars and call me to clarify! If this was a manual process, what would make that individual doing the manual processing think that someone on disability could pay $50K for a prescription. AND if it was a manual process and not a program they use, why was she able to make the small changes I requested over the phone and verbally give me the new numbers BUT WOULD NOT send them to me in a report without charging me another $250! Deciding on medical coverage is a very complex decision when on ********, which is why I hired Allsup to help in the first place. I do NOT feel that I received the service I paid for. If they are not able to send me the new report BEFORE the ******** deadline to sign up, I think that I should receive a refund as I did not receive a viable report to assist in making an informative decision in my medical care.

Desired Settlement: If Allsup is not able to send me the new report BEFORE the ******** deadline to sign up, I think that I should receive a refund as I did not receive a viable report to assist in making an informative decision in my medical care.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/22) */ Dec. 22, 2014 Better Business Bureau Serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois Dispute Resolution Department 211 N. Broadway, Suite 2060 St. Louis MO XXXXX Re: CASE ID: XXXXXXX, ******** ****** Dear Sir or Madam: Allsup is committed to providing superior customer service, and we take the rare customer complaint very seriously. In over 30 years of business, we have helped about 250,000 people to properly coordinate their benefits, including Medicare and Social Security Disability Insurance benefits. This customer enrolled in our Allsup Medicare Advisor(r) service to assist her with a review of Medicare plans during her Medicare initial enrollment period. She provided one of our Allsup Medicare specialists with information about her personal needs and preferences, which included a list of her current medications. The service included several hours of research based on the customer's stated requirements, and an analysis of the customer's alternatives in a printed report. The report was sent by mail to the customer, allowing her to view her alternatives based on the information she provided, and allowing her to enroll in the Medicare plan of her choice. Upon receiving the printed report, the customer contacted Allsup and stated that, after seeing the review of Medicare plans, she did not want certain costly medications to be included in her service and wanted a new printed report adjusting for these changes. An Allsup Medicare specialist answering the customer's questions over the phone tried to clarify how the service works. The specialist also used the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) website for a brief inquiry to discuss the customer's concerns. Following this discussion, an Allsup supervisor also contacted the customer to clarify the complexity and detailed process involved in the analysis provided by the Allsup Medicare Advisor. The report is based on an analysis of plans available to her based on her stated needs. After some discussion, the supervisor and customer agreed that Allsup Medicare Advisor could provide an online cost comparison that eliminated the three medications. A new report was posted online for the customer to access using the Internet. Upon completion of this service, the customer submitted an email outlining her satisfaction and happiness with the service she received from her Allsup Medicare specialist. I am available to assist with any additional questions on behalf of this customer and the services she received from Allsup. We stand by the quality of our Medicare expertise and Medicare plan selection services that allow our customers to feel confident in their Medicare plan choices and enrollment. Respectfully, ****** ******* Product Manager Allsup Medicare Advisor(r) *********@allsupinc.com (XXX) XXX-XXXX, ext. XXXXX

11/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Excess fees for the services provided I used Allsup to assist me in obtaining SS Disability benefits. Allsup filed 1 document (Application) with ***. I personally provided birth certificates and school records to ***. I was neutrapinic and receiving blood transfusions at the time. Allsup was unaware that I received my disability benefits. When I advised Allsup of the settlement they immediately filed for their fee with *** which appears to me to be a back dated the document. My agreement with Allsup was a maximum of $6,000. They are seeking 25% for from each beneficiaries and me. I called Allsup to discuss the fees but was unable to talk to a representative and left a voice mail. On July 14,2014, I received a letter from *** stating the fee was $5,000. I contact Allsup and they said that they have previously received a letter from *** for $6,000 but could not provide it to me. Allsup told me to deal with ***. On 9/6/14 Allsup sent me a copy a letter from *** date 7/29/14 showing a fee of $6,000. Allsup must have filed an appeal w/ *** for the additional $1,000. For 3 documents filed (application, fee and fee appeal) they received $6,000. Excess billing for the services provided.

Desired Settlement: A reason fee of $2,500 based on the services provided. Services provided was original application no other document were provided to SSA other than Allsup's fee claim,

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/09) */ Sept. 9, 2014 Better Business Bureau Serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois Dispute Resolution Department 211 N. Broadway, Suite 2060 St. Louis MO XXXXX Re: CASE ID: XXXXXXX, ****** ************* Dear Sir or Madam: Allsup is committed to providing superior customer service, and we take the rare customer complaint very seriously. In our 30 years of business, we have helped more than 225,000 people to receive their *************** Disability Insurance (SSDI) benefits. People with disabilities choose to work with Allsup because of our expertise in the SSDI program, including the increased likelihood that they will receive their benefits with their initial application. Our success rate at the initial application is 55 percent, which is significantly higher than the national average of 33 percent. This individual contacted Allsup in April to serve as his representative and was successfully awarded benefits in June. This quick favorable decision was possible because Allsup secured the award at the initial application and he was not required to file any appeals. Allsup provides its services for a fee, which is overseen by the *************** Administration. Federal regulations limit Allsup's fee to 25 percent of retroactive benefits, with a cap of $6,000. *************** approved this fee and the claimant agreed to pay it before he hired Allsup to represent him. Our fee has been paid in full. In this particular situation, *************** made an error in processing the fee and later corrected their records and the fee. We're sorry for the frustration that ***************'s processing error caused to our customer. To clarify further, an ****** representative talked to *************** to determine what was being withheld from the claimant's monthly benefit, and the SSA stated it was voluntary tax withholding. We are available to assist further in communicating with ***************. We stand by the quality of SSDI representation and program expertise that we provided to our customer in order to help him receive his disability benefits as quickly as possible. Respectfully, ****** ***** Manager of Finance Operations Allsup *******@allsupinc.com (XXX) XXX-XXXX, ext. XXXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My complaint with Allsup is the fees collected are unreasonable for the services provided. Allsup filed only the initial claim form with *************** (SSA). They also failed to tell me that my disease was an automatic approval. They didn't even know the I received a settlement until I told them. I was contacted by SSA and they requested additional documentation regarding my children which required me to appear in their office. I was Neutropenia when I sent 3 hours in SSA office. No representative from Allsup appeared. Once again they filed only one form with SSA (initial claim). In August 6, 2014 I spoke with *** (last name not provided) and advised her that I had a letter dated 7/14/14 from SSA stating the fees are $5,000. On 9/2/14, Allsup sent me different letter dated 7/26/14 and addressed to me showing fees of $6,000. I never received this letter from SSA. When I talk to Allsup they tell me to call SSA. When I talk to SSA they tell me to call Allsup. Once again I request a reduction in fees based on the services provided.

7/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/6/2014 Delivery Issues
6/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Allsup has charged me $601.25 for submitting a dependent application to Social Security, but I submitted the application. My Long-Term disability company requested for me to contact Allsup to assist me with filing for Social Security disability. I contacted Allsup in November 2012, and they agreed to gather the information needed to submit my SSDI application. My application was submitted, and I was approved the first go round for disability benefits. I received $4800 Restorative pay, and I immediately contacted Allsup to collect the $1202 that I owed them for their service. On April 1, 2013, I contacted my local Social Security office to inquire about the $4800 deposit in my account, and during that call the representative asked me if I have any children under the age of 18. I informed him that I do have a 13 year old son, and at that time I was told that I can receive additional money to assist with caring for him. During that call I was told that I could start the application process and give the information for my son, and a future appointment will be scheduled to complete that application in the local office. My son was approved for dependent benefits on April 23, 2013 for the application that I submitted. On May 28, 2013, Allsup attempted to draft $601.25 from my checking account for a service that Allsup did not provide. In my condition, I was put in a stressful situation. Allsup assured me they would handle everything with my SSDI, and that did not happen. Allsup want to collect on a job that I had to complete. Allsup has caused me additional stress and deterioration of my condition dealing with this matter, so I am requesting assistance with resolving this matter.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting not to be charged by Allsup for a service they did not perform. I do not owe the money, so I do not want to continue to receive collection calls or have this submitted on my credit report.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/11) */ June 11, 2013 Better Business Bureau Serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois BBB Dispute Resolution Department *** N. ********* Suite **** St. Louis, MO XXXXX Re: CASE ID: Dear Sir or Madam: Allsup is committed to providing superior customer service and we take the rare customer complaint seriously. In nearly 30 years in business, we have helped more than 200,000 people receive their Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) benefits. Our 98 percent customer service approval rating has helped us earn the Better Business Bureau's highest rating of A+. Ms. hired Allsup to assist with her representation. At that time, an Allsup specialist explained that we would file her SSDI claim, as well as the dependent benefit application. The dependent benefit application was sent to her for her signature and it was returned. As is standard practice for claimants with dependents, Allsup filed the initial claim plus the claim to protect dependent benefits should the SSDI claim be awarded. Allsup filed the claim for dependent benefits, form SSA-4, on Dec. 31, 2012, shortly after the initial claim was filed. We pursue this practice in order to speed the processing of dependent benefits upon primary award. We sent the form by certified mail, and we can provide documentation. It is common for the SSA to confirm information following an award, which appears to have happened this time. Allsup specialists always encourage our customers to contact us when they hear from SSA--rather than contacting SSA directly--to avoid unnecessary effort and ensure the details of the claim, payment and additional issues are resolved timely. If Ms. wants a copy of the dependent benefit application filing on Dec. 31, 2012, we can provide this information by mail. Because of ******'s efforts on her behalf, we consider our $601.25 fee is justified. We are pleased that we could help Ms. receive her SSDI benefits and ensure dependent benefits were provided. We hope this information addresses her concerns. Respectfully, ****** ***** Manager, Finance Operations Allsup 300 ****** ***** Belleville IL XXXXX Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 10, 2013/06/12) */ There is a problem with Allsup and their fees. The Social Security Administration has to approve the amount that can be charged for representation. I received a letter from SSA stating that Allsup's fee for submitting my application should have been $899.50 not $1202, so the alledged dependent fee is most likely incorrect. Allsup did not submit the initial dependent application because there was not a record of it with the SSA, and I submitted the application myself. I will submit this information to the SSA, and I will contact my local Attorney General in regards to this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Allsup
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart