BBB Accredited Business since

Bergfeld Recreation Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (636) 394-4445 View Additional Phone Numbers 14100 Manchester Rd, Ballwin, MO 63011 View Additional Email Addresses http://bergfeldrecreation.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bergfeld Recreation Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Bergfeld Recreation Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bergfeld Recreation Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 06, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1966 Business started locally: 01/01/1966 Business incorporated 10/23/1969 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Charles "Charley" Bergfeld, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Charles "Charley" Bergfeld, Owner
Business Category

Playground Equipment Exercise Equipment Fence Contractors Mulches Trampolines Recreation Centers Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Fences - Vinyl Fences - Wood Racquetball Court Construction Tennis Court Construction Tennis Court Resurfacing Tennis Court Enclosures


Additional Locations

  • 14100 Manchester Rd

    Ballwin, MO 63011 (636) 394-4445 (636) 397-7529

  • 5655 Suemandy Rd

    Saint Peters, MO 63376

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried multiple times and through various methods to contact Bergfeld Recreation, and all of my attempts at communication have been unsuccessful. Bergfeld installed a fence for me in August 2014, and I have since discovered that the fence was not installed as per the agreed upon contract. Please see below for a timeline of events:Late May 2014: I signed a contract for installation of a fence with a different company, CFD.Early July 2014: No fence had been installed. I contacted CFD, and they told me they had been having personnel issues and misplaced my contract. I cancelled the contract. 7/11/14: I contacted a Bergfeld sales representative, G, to discuss installation of a fence. I explained the situation to him and that I could send him a drawing with the exact specifications of the fence, since it had already been prepared by CFD.7/15/14: I sent the drawing for the fence that CFD had prepared to G. G said he wanted to come to my house to confirm the drawing. 7/22/14: G visited my house (I was not present) and did not notify me of any discrepancies between his measurements and CFD's. He prepared and e-mailed me a contract that did not contain a drawing/measurements for the fence.7/23/14: I signed and returned the contract. There was no additional or revised drawing included. Early August 2014: Fence installation was completed.Early November 2014: My neighbor had a fence installed. He notified me that the company installing his fence had determined my fence was not installed along the property line. I referred to the drawing I provided Bergfeld and noted the fence should extend from the side of the house six feet. I measured and noted the fence only extends from the side of the house approximately four feet and eleven inches. Therefore, the fence is not installed as per the agreed upon contract/drawing, since it is not installed per the drawing I provided nor was an alternate drawing communicated to me. Product_Or_Service: Fence

Desired Settlement: I would like Bergfeld to provide documentation showing I was given written notice, and agreed to, revisions to the original drawing I provided from CFD. This should consist of written notification along with my acknowledgement of its receipt. If this cannot be provided, I would like Bergfeld to correct the portion of the fence that is not installed as per the drawing I provided. I would like Bergfeld to correct the fence installation at their own labor and material cost (i.e. no cost to me).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/10/16) */ ***** the salesperson is no longer an employee and we are going the paperwork which was submitted. She met with the salesperson and the fence installer, went over all the plans and measurements, signed a contract and paid us in full. Once the fence was installed the installer met with her to make sure it met her satisfaction and she said yes. Since we have been notified she is not satisfied, the fence installer has contacted her several times. They are attempting to make a schedule when the installer can come back and move the fence. She is sometimes not available when the installer is and she wants to make sure her dogs are not in the yard. ***** ********.

8/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a trampoline via email. Card was charged full $2000 (yes, $2000). 5 days later Mr.******** showed up at my place of employment and threatened me, cursed at me and made racist remarks. Then he stated he didnt want my business. I am the Customer and the victim. What gives a Business Owner or Rep the right to stalk customers and verbally assault them and threaten them!? Product_Or_Service: trampoline

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund and I want no one from Bergfeld Rec nor anyone associated with them to ever contact myself or anyone in my immediate family.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/24) */ What **** failed to tell you was how he treated me. He emailed me twice on a sunday when we were closed wanting someone to meet him up there. I then emailed him on monday morning. His tone was very hi strung and he was wanting a discount for not being able to take his order on sunday, saying it was his only day off. That happens to be my only day off also. It really sounded like he was just being difficult so I would give me a discount. I knew this was going to be a problem customer right off the bat. I reluctantly gave him $100 discount. I told him i would email him a copy of his order in the am. I had an email from him early that morning asking where his order was for his trampoline. It was clear he was trying to irritate me for some reason. I sent him his order and charged his card $2000. He then sends me another email saying " I hope this was all worth your time". He was clearly just trying to get a rise out of me. I let it all pass, then oddly, a little later that day he sends me another email. "do you all have social media or an online survey, I would be happy to comply." it was obviously a jab at me. I then really got a bad feeling about this deal. This guy has been hard timing me since sunday and threatening me to leave a bad review before we even installed his trampoline. This is all because we are not open on Sundays in August. All of this could have been handled with 1 phone call or email during business hours. At this point, I really didnt want **** as a customer. I decided to go to his work and see him in person. I did let him know that I did not appreciate the emails along with why he had to make this so difficult when it could be so easy. I have the right to refuse any order and do a refund. I refunded his credit card that same day so Im not sure what hes talking about.

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bergfeld Recreation Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)