BBB Accredited Business since

Frames By Mail

Phone: (314) 344-3400 Fax: (314) 344-8801 View Additional Phone Numbers 11440 Schenk Dr, Maryland Heights, MO 63043 http://www.framesbymail.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Frames By Mail meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Frames By Mail include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Frames By Mail
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 10, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated 09/25/1987 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Carl Ettlinger, President Delores Ettlinger, Owner Nancy Neiman, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Carl Ettlinger, President
Business Category

Picture Frames - Dealers Photo Finishing - Retail Photo Imaging Service Mail Order & Catalog Shopping

Alternate Business Names
A G F Inc Antique Galleries & Frames

Additional Locations

  • 11440 Schenk Dr

    Maryland Heights, MO 63043 (314) 344-2800 (800) 332-2467 (800) 891-8801 (314) 344-3400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product not as advertised on the website. Customer service was horrific and showed no desire to fix the situation. The frames they had provided were nice, however the prints themselves come out much darker than what is shown on their site when you load your images. The person at their company I had been in contact with to try and fix this situation, *******, was not helpful at all and could not care less about the quality of the order. He then forwarded me to his boss **** at AGF Tech, who ignored multiple attempts to contact him. This company apparently is not concerned that what they advertise on their website is very different from what you end up receiving as a customer

Desired Settlement: Prints that meet the expectations as shown on the website, delivered to my address. Or a refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/28) */ The product in question from this customer are Print and Framed photographs. The customer did call and said the images where printed too dark. We reprinted the images from the original uploaded jpgs. We resent the prints without charging for printing or shipping. The customer received the images and once again said the images where printed too dark. Before we shipped the images we look at each one. Each and every image matched the uploaded images. The customer wanted us to reprint another set of images from jpg's which he was going to color correct and lighten. We offered to reprint the new images and asked him to only pay for shipping. He refused to pay for the shipping and never sent the new images. The offer is still open for the customer to email new images and we will reprint them for free and the customer pays for the shipping. This will be the third printing which two sets are reprinted for free. We cannot control the lightness or darkness of the images sent to us. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/11/09) */ ***Document Attached*** In response to Frame by Mail's rebuttal, no such offer to re-print the photos at no charge was ever made. I've included my last correspondence with the salesperson *******, where he was very clear that they would not be paid for.

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bad Product, Worse Service. On 08/15/13 I ordered a $47 custom shadow box and received confirmation by e-mail where was assured that my product "... will be shipped ... in 4 to 5 business days." Wed, 09/04 I e-mailed the company to ask about my order. I called them and ******* a supervisor, apologized that my order had not been processed and assured me it would be on its way within 48 hours. On Friday, 09/06 I received an e-mail the package had shipped. On Wed 09/11 I received the order and it was totally wrong. The backing was white not black and cut so small it fell into the box effectively leaving the box with no back. The plexiglass was cut too small, rattled around and leaned against the artwork instead of standing up in the opening. PLUS the box itself was BARELY big enough for my art item. I called and was assured by ****** that she would process replacements by overnight mail. I finally got it on the 16th and the backing was STILL white and both it and the plexiglass were too small. I had to pay someone else to MAKE me a box that cost me nearly twice the cost of this and the company's idea of an apology is a credit of $4.36!!! Product_Or_Service: Shadow Box Frame Order_Number: XXXXXX Account_Number: N/A

Desired Settlement: Their attitude and complete lack of performance on this contract from day one has been atrocious! At this point I think a FULL refund is in order. The $4.26 they offered is just an insult! I was able to use only a portion of the wood, NONE of the plexiglass or foam backing, but that only saved me the cost of the rush fee to have the custom box built locally. I have all the emails and an invoice from the person who RE-built the box for me so that I could deliver it to its final destination.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/10/31) */ The order that was made cost $42.55 and we gave the consumer a $4.36 coupon off her cost. On 09-11 we shipped 2nd day air, free of charge to the consumer, her replacement product. As far as we know it was correct as she did not call us back to tell us it was incorrect. She paid through pay-pal and has not filed a dispute. ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Frames By Mail
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart