BBB Accredited Business since

Enviro Tech Termite & Pest

Phone: (618) 529-5594 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 2346, Carbondale, IL 62902 http://www.enviro-techtermiteandpest.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Enviro Tech Termite & Pest meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Enviro Tech Termite & Pest include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Enviro Tech Termite & Pest
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 21, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1992 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated 12/23/1997 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gene Neafus, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gene Neafus, President
Business Category

Pest Control Services Termite Control Bed Bug Removal Bed Bug Inspection Service Mosquito Control Termite Inspection Bee Removal Home Inspection Service

Hours of Operation
M: 6:00 AM - 4:30 PM
T: 6:00 AM - 4:30 PM
W: 6:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Th: 6:00 AM - 4:30 PM
F: 6:00 AM - 4:30 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Enviro Tech Termite & Pest Control Inc

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 2346

    Carbondale, IL 62902 (618) 529-5594 (618) 993-3540

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This has got to be the WORST customer service I have ever experienced. I had termites in the home I was purchasing. They were contracted out to remove them. They did a good job that I know of, but they slung oil on my finished walls in the basement. I was certain this was avoidable, but I didn't say anything. My year was up, and I was under the impression that I had a three year service plan. I was contacted by the company to tell me I had service due, but was going to be charged $85 for the inspection. I did not recall that in my contract, so I questioned the girl on the other end of the line when I called. She couldn't answer my question why I was being charged except to say "standard contract". After inquiring as to WHY when their services were paid at the time and should have a standard 3 year warranty WITHOUT having to pay every year, she very quickly transferred me to her supervisor (who I am later told is the VP and manager of the company). I told him I felt deceived and misled by their service technician with the cost of having to pay again. I was not familiar with having to "pay" to keep my warranty up-to-date and was very unhappy with the news. Instead of trying to console and understand their customer, he was quick to say "we'll just end the contract and be done with you. BYE BYE!" I was appalled by the customer service I received and tried to call another number. A lady answered and said all numbers rang the same office. She couldn't help me, but when I tried again to voice my complaint about poor customer service, she too got on the defensive and talked over me. Not one of the three people I spoke to today had any patience, understanding, or any customer service skills of any sort. All they could say is they didn't want to deal me. The company doesn't know how to handle a real I tried to get them to come out and do the work as my paperwork supposedly says, but they refused. The business refused to listen to my complaint. Instead they wanted to simply say how "right" they were. Reading the other BBB review, I can see its validity. They were "too busy" to handle an upset customer. They would rather transfer, hang up, and talk over instead of listen. If the company would stop, listen, empathize, and offer a solution, their customer service would GREATLY increase. After attempting time and time again to have them listen to me without talking over me to listen to the customer, I finally decided I would jump on board with them and agree to their service. Then they were "oh, no. We don't want your business. We are just going to terminate your contract" of which they previously said they didn't have a "contract" with me.

Desired Settlement: Provide a copy of my signature beside the notification that I will be charged $85 each year as a follow-up. Finish the contract as specified under the contract.

Business Response:

Three different employees tried to help Mr. ***** with his concerns, including two secretaries and the supervisor. Mr. ***** would not hear any of us. This matter stems from a termite treatment we performed for a real estate company prior to him taking possession of this property. A initial treatment was completed and came with a optional warranty. These warranties are almost never signed nor is the property owner obligated to keep, it is only a option to the purchaser and transferable to any new owner if they choose to keep it. Mr. ***** argued with each of the employees continually badgering us about our quality of service, when he had never actually had any service provided to him. He continued to threaten that he would file a complaint with the BBB and he was told that was fine, because he could not be reasoned with. Mr. ***** did not understand that after the initial year that there was a 85.00 charge to keep the warranty He stated that he had a three year warranty and was not responsible for any fees during that period. Enviro-Tech tried to explain to Mr. ***** that the three years just meant that the 85.00 was guaranteed for that time period. The warranty plainly stated 85.00 per year. Unfortunately there was very little we could do to satisfy Mr. ***** and he was told we would just not continue the warranty after the first year and part ways. Mr. ***** owes Enviro-Tech nothing and we have fulfilled our obligations to him on the initial year. I have attached a copy of the optional extended warranty which clearly states the terms. Enviro-Tech has a triple A rating and we try to satisfy every customer. We run a professional service company and try to be cordial and assist all out customers the best we can. We are not obligated to accept the behavior the Mr. ***** exhibited with our staff. At this point it is better that we discontinue any future contact with Mr. *****.

 



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Enviro Tech Termite & Pest
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart