BBB Accredited Business since

Bi-State Termite & Pest Control Inc.

Phone: (618) 346-2688 Fax: (618) 539-4886 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 N Monroe St, Freeburg, IL 62243

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bi-State Termite & Pest Control Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bi-State Termite & Pest Control Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 28, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 07/11/2002 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Roy McCain, President
Contact Information
Principal: Roy McCain, President
Business Category

Pest Control Services Termite Control Bed Bug Removal Bed Bug Inspection Service Termite Inspection

Alternate Business Names
Bi State Termite and Pest Control Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1 N Monroe St

    Freeburg, IL 62243 (618) 235-5281 (866) 646-7378 (800) 277-1206 (618) 452-3144 (618) 222-7443 (618) 277-7679 (618) 539-4801 (618) 346-2688


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good afternoon,I would like to file a complaint on the above stated company. We have been stationed here for 20 months. Since moving in, we have had Bi State spray every quarter, per home owners recommendations. My complaint is, not one time, until the last gentleman sprayed, has anyone mentioned the hazard of spraying with not only toddlers present (my son was 18 months when we moved in). Nobody mentioned that pregnant ladies should not be present for at least three hours after application. My wife was present every time there was an application applied, as well as my son, minus the last application as the applicator was pretty frustrated that he was sent out and we had not been informed of the hazards. That application was re-scheduled. Now a different company will be spraying at our residence. Not only has my son has different health issues since being here, my wife was present through her full term of pregnancy. The issues may or may not arise with our now, 9 month old daughter. I need someone to contact me in regards to this issue. Thank you in advance. ******** ******

Desired Settlement: I'm very upset with the amount of times the applications were applied with my family present. Spraying by toys and my son playing in the areas when spraying took place, and toys never moved. If this was their family, I really feel they would be just as upset.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/02/20) */ Product information including the product label and MSDS sheet for Fenvastar Plus, the product used at the residence, were sent to the customer per customer request on 02/11/2015.

10/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was having a flea issue in my house and on my pets and arranged for Bi State to come spray my house the first of Oct. Guy came out to spray my house, was told if I still had any issues to let them know they would come back and spray once more for free within 30 days. The following day I called Bi State to ask what i needed to do to help the process. I was told the spray could take up to 15 days to kill everything and to vacuum regularly to pick up anything dead and alive, but if I still seen anything on day 16 to call back and they would come right back out and spray again for free. I made sure of the for free part. I have been vacuuming. This morning I killed a flea on me as I was walking out the door. I called Bi State and was informed I would be charged for another spray. I informed her of everything I had been told in the past. She then told me with an attitude they did not know what the resident (me)was or was not doing to assist in the removal so they would not do it for free. She blamed me for still having the flea issue. I was lied to twice. Product_Or_Service: Sprayed for fleas

Desired Settlement: I either want my money back so I can pay someone to get the job done right the first time or I want rid of my flea issue for no additional money. I can not afford to keep dishing out that much money with no results.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/20) */ It is normal to see some adult fleas for up to 3 weeks after treatment. Flea pupae are protected from insecticides by their cocoons. They continue to emerge as adults over a period of 1-3 weeks. Once exposed to the pesticides residual, they are eliminated. Vacuuming should be done for 2-3 weeks after treatment at intervals of every 3-4 days. The vacuum's mechanical pressure will improve the effectiveness of the pesticide by stimulation of un-hatched fleas to emerge from their protective pupae cases. Our warranty for flea treatments is that 30 days after the initial treatment is done, we can return for a second treatment at half price. The 30 day limit is to give the pesticide time to properly dispatch of the fleas. However, depending on the severity of the initial infestation or possible recontamination, a second treatment is sometimes required. We use our training and experience to identify the cause of either continued infestation or re-infestation and work with the homeowner to correct the issue. We are more than happy to return and assist the homeowner with their flea issue under our 30 day half price flea treatment warranty.

10/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before I moved into my house in 2000, the seller did a termite treatment. I have kept up the inspection annually and paid the $75 fee. They've never found any problems. I started some exterior painting and repairs this year and the worker found what he believed to be termite damage. Bi State came and said they found active areas but other areas were old and they retreated the house at no charge. They do not want to take responsibility for damages not detected. After the treatment I asked for a letter or confirmation that there had been a retreatment done on such date. I have only been able to talk to the girls that answer the phone and tell me they have it on file. I told them I would like it for my files. They have been very reluctant to give me such a letter. It peaks my curiosity why they would be so reluctant to give a simple confirmation unless they are concerned about their liability. The third time I called, Aug 22 I was told the letter was sent on the 18th. On the 29th I had still not received it so I called and asked to talk to a supervisor and was told I could not. I told them if I did not have a letter by Tuesday I would call the BBB. I have never received the letter and they have made no offer of any kind. I have also experienced a spike in my water and sewer bill, as they used my water to fill up their tanks.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to substantiate that a re-treatment was done. I would also like reimbursement to cover water usage. I also want reimbursement for the lumbar I had to purchase to replace the damaged wood.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/10/01) */ We have resolved everything with this customer. We went back and found a broken pipe, We told her that was the problem, this complaint is resolved.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Bi-State Termite & Pest Control Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart