BBB Accredited Business since

Royal Prestige of Missouri

Phone: (314) 481-9888 Fax: (314) 481-9889 View Additional Phone Numbers 3460 Hampton Ave Ste 201, Saint Louis, MO 63139 http://www.royalprestige.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Royal Prestige of Missouri meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Royal Prestige of Missouri include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Royal Prestige of Missouri
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 27, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989
Business Management
Mr. John Willenbrock, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Willenbrock, Owner
Business Category

Party Plans - In-Home


Additional Locations

  • 3460 Hampton Ave Ste 201

    Saint Louis, MO 63139 (314) 481-9888 (800) 586-1123 (314) 481-0339

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/27/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are dissatisfied with the products that we purchased from Royal Prestige and feel that we deserve out of our contract or a reasonable compromise. My fiancee and I went to the presentation, while getting ready to decide if we were going to purchase the pots and pans, I made the comment, "What the ****, if we don't like them we can always return them." To which, the presenter nodded along with what I said. This was the only reason that I relented. We got our pots and pans later only to keep burning food. Not every meal, some turned out great, but more meals than we were willing to have to keep paying for. After all, their main point is that this will save us money and it was costing us a lot in chicken alone. We called to tell them we were not satisfied and that was when we found out that they only allow for three days to return your pots and pans. That is long before we even got the pots and pans let alone got to try them out. After that we were directed to their St. Louis office. We were basically told that unless we wanted them to come out and show us how to work them, or call them at any hour of the day, we were out of luck as the return policy only catered to those who no longer felt comfortable with the cost. I called them and spoke with ****. He offered to pay for the S/H, taxes and full price of a $220 griddle to make us happy. I said it wouldn't. From there on we had deals flying back and forth trying to compromise on something that would satisfy both us and Royal Prestige. Finally we decided that he would take the pots and pans back, I said we would order dishes and flatware (one set of each), and the difference could be returned on the loan. The dishes and flatware would run us $960. The next day, **** called me back to say that since we weren't going to buy $2500 in dishes, flatware, glasses, and random accessories, we didn't have a deal, but then he told me we could keep the pots and pans and he would pay for the dishes and flatware to be shipped to us. He said he would cover the price of everything. At this point he had offered to give us a $220 griddle, $680 in dishes, $280 in flatware, pay for the shipping and handling as well as the taxes. This totals to around $1451 dollars. When I asked him to just apply that amount back to our loan (bringing the loan down to $1049), take the pots and pans back, and give us the dishes and flatware valued at $960 dollars I was told that they Royal Prestige "just don't do that". I was told they would be losing money. However, I was also told they would give those pots and pans to a church "as they have before". Ultimately, they are willing to give us nearly $1500 in free stuff, most of it that we do not want, as long as we keep the pots and pans we do not want, but they are unwilling to return the money directly to the loan. If their argument is that they are losing money, the tax write off that would be allowable for the pots and pans donation would cover that without issue. If their argument is that they "just don't do that", we do not feel that is acceptable enough of an answer. We also had issues with responses from their office. Two Friday's ago, **** said that I would hear back from him on Monday. ****** finally heard back from him on Tuesday after leaving **** a message. When he called and spoke with ******* he told her that he would be calling me the next day. It took six days to hear back from anyone at their office, and it was not ****. We have also noted that there was a case with a different Missouri office where a dissatisfied couple was able to get a full refund and out of their contract due to similar complaints as ours. We feel that over the last few weeks we have been reasonable and have tried to work on a solution. One that would work for both sides.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting that we either: Are out of the contract fully or The loan be lowered by $1451 (The amount of the free items offered), that they take the pots and pans, and send us the flatware and dishes.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/17) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@sbcglobal.net While we have gone above & beyond trying to make ****** ****** & ***** ***** happy customers it has been a very challenging task. By their own admission were "successfully making many of the meals"....so we were at our wits end as how to please. All of our products are sold on a contract basis and could have definitely held them to the loan for which they applied, were accepted & then verified. We have however agreed to ship them the dinnerware & flatware upon receipt (at our local office) of the cookware set. At that time we will also lower their balance to $1049.00 Per Mr. *****'s request. As of this writing we have yet to receive the cookware...

3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Royal Prestige of Missouri
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)