BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Da-Com Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Da-Com Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Da-Com Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1958 Business started: 07/01/1948 Business started locally: 07/01/1948 Business incorporated 11/06/1958 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Tipton, Owner Scott Shanafelt, SVP/General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Scott Shanafelt, SVP/General Manager
Principal: Mr. John Tipton, Owner
Business Category

Office Supplies Information Technology Services Computer Printers Sales & Service Computers - Disaster Recovery Business Services - General Copiers & Copier Supplies Fax Equipment & Systems


Additional Locations

  • 1406 Range Line St.

    Columbia, MO 65201

  • 5317 Knights of Columbus Dr

    Saint Louis, MO 63119 (314) 442-2800 (573) 449-2663

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: agreement on lease of duplicator ended in November 2014. We sent a letter in August of 2014 declaring our intent to not renew the lease agreement. Final invoice sent in November stated that the invoiced amount included the "last unconditional scheduled payment under an agreement." We then tried to find out where to return the equipment and Da-Com refuses to send us return information, but continues to bill us at $430/month. My business administrator has tried on several occasions to get this information and get the equipment sent back to Da-Com. I sent an email to Da-Com on 1/14/2015 to get this resolved and was told that they tried to contact our business administrator by email and because she did not respond (no email was received by our business administrator) we still are liable for continuing monthly payments. Now they are basically blackmailing us with two past months (December and January - which we do not feel we owe since the agreement ended in November) for unpaid invoices before they will send us return information. In the meantime, the equipment is still in our office, taking up valuable space. Product_Or_Service: lease agreement on duplicator Account_Number: XXX-XXXXXXX-XXX

Desired Settlement: machine returned and invoices sent since our lease agreement ended be cancelled.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/03/02) */ I handed this to *** ********** our Director of Customer Service. I know *** contacted your office immediately upon receipt. He has had three conversations with the ***** ******* and ******* at ***** ****** in the past week. We are actively working with them to come to a resolution for the outstanding balance of their lease obligation and the disposition of the equipment. ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 18, 2015/03/10) */ ***Document Attached*** this issue has NOT been resolved. Instead of attempting to resolve the issue, Da-Com has decided to send us to a collection agency for the two months PAST our lease agreement which they are billing us for. We chose NOT to renew the contract in August 2014 (see attached), giving them plenty of notice. Our lease agreement with them ended in November. By their own statement (see attached), our last scheduled payment was November. We do not owe for December 2014 and January 2015. Final Business Response /* (1000, 21, 2015/03/12) */ We are trying to work with the customer as I know Ken Tomlinson has expressed to ***** ******* The customer is being unreasonable to honor their contract. We are continuing to resolve. ***** ********* Sr. Vice President & General Manager Da-Com Corporation XXX-XXX-XXXX

10/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The copy machine/printer we have is not working within our office environment.They were consult with before we switched to a virtual office to make sure the printer/copier would work in this environment.For 2 years I have dealt with the machine being down more that it is up during my peek season.ON an average we lost 8 hours a week of productive time due to the machine being broken.They have made superficial "trys" to "make me happy" what I need is a machine that will work.They do not return my phone calls for service; I have tried contacting the local supervisor and have talked with *** their customer service rep out of St Louis no one will fix the machineI would like out of the contract and maint agreement because 1 the machine is not working; 2 I am having to pay someone else to come work on it Product_Or_Service: KYOCERA TASKALFA 420I Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX-XXX

Desired Settlement: I want out of the contract and maint agreement so I can afford to get a machine from a different company

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/08/28) */ We reached out to the consumer and our service manager. Our IT folks in St Louis have also reached out to the consumer. We feel we have this resolved with giving her additional equipment free of charge. We did do an onsite visit on July 20, 2014 to try to get ahold of the issue.. She does deal with a 3rd party offsite provider and the problem appears to be with the print device which does not allow them to print. We again are working very closely with consumer to resolve the issue. ***. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/08/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have not given me any equipment free of charge or otherwise Spoken with them again this week about the machine is still not performing; again was told they would look into it It has been over 2 years and the issue is not respolved Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2014/10/01) */ 10/01/2014: I want the machine out of here. Da-Com did bring a HP Machine that is sitting in the box and needs to be hooked up. I need a resolution before tax season. If they cannot get the machine to function with IRS required forms, then I want them to come get the machine and forgive the maintenance and leasing contracts. 10/02/02014: We have talked to ***** **** to resolve the software but his other customers do not have this issue. I agree to allow Da-Com to make an appointment to have ****** come and install the HP Printer as a backup. Final Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2014/10/01) */ 10/01/2014: Mediator called business and left voice mail. 10/02/2014: Our service man from Columbia delivered an HP Printer free of charge to use as a backup. She runs software in a virtual environment in the cloud offsite and that causes the the print driver to drop. We have attempted to change to a Lanier product but same issue occurred. We have had our; Vice President of Sales, Sales Manager from Columbia, Service Manager, and myself, *** ********** meet with her to resolve the issue. I would like to have our technician return and install the HP 401 Printer we have provided as backup at no cost. 10/02/2014: Mediator called business and left voice mail message for Mr ***********

5/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Da-Com Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)