BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
St. Louis, MO

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/29/2008

Simple Moves

Phone: (314) 963-3416

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
03/26/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/12/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had them come last Saturday to help us move. They did not use anything to put down on the carpet. When we set it up with them, we weren't told anything about protecting the floors. We called and talked to ******* and all she told us was to mention to the guys when they come in to put something down on the carpet. The company came but didn't cover the carpets. The guy I spoke with told me it's supposed to be in the paperwork because they charge you $25 for carpet roll. I asked why they didn't bring any and was told I was supposed to order it. Another manager, ****** called me and told me I should have had it in the paperwork and if it's not in the paperwork they don't know it. What kind of company does this kind of service without covering the floor? After speaking to both managers on Saturday, I was offered a 10% discount. He said the general manager, ***** would call me on Monday but I have not heard from anyone all week. We refused to pay on Saturday and they said we'd speak to the GM and now we don't know if they've charged our credit card or what. What ended up happening was they rolled the wheels on the carpet, and the carpet has gotten dirty.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to take a bigger discount off the move because they did not disclose the requirements to protect our carpet.

Business Response
I was hoping that our customers had realized that there was a lack of communication between them and that they would do the honorable thing, and let you know that they were informed two separate times that we have carpet protection for sale.
I have a voice recording of our office staff letting the gentleman know that we do have carpet protection on our truck and that the carpet protection was for sale, if they would like to purchase some if needed, i will forward that recording on to your office. I have already sent the recording to our customers.
Below is the email that I have already sent to our customers.


******* and *******

My name is *****; I am the owner of Simple Moves. I would like to start off by apologizing that you did not receive the service that you were hoping for or expected. I really wish that instead of going right to the BBB, you would have given us a call back. We are human and calls and messages are missed, especially on the weekends when we have fewer people in the office.
I have gone back and reviewed all of the phone calls to and from our office, and have realized that you were informed that we do have carpet shields on our trucks and that we sell them for $20.00 each. We cannot just give carpet protection to anyone. It is no difference than if you need boxes to move your items. These items are sold and not given away.
We also state on our contract, that we are not responsible for dirty or soiled carpets, and that we have carpet shields available for sale. You may go to our website and read the exact wording. *******************. (Then look under documents)
I have attached the phone recording of my office staff letting you know that we carry them and that they are for sale.
I hope with this new information, you do realize that we try very hard to take care of our customers, and that we have made you aware two separate times or ways (contract and your phone recording) that we have carpet protection, but it is for sale. I am also hoping that you let the BBB know that there was miscommunication between the two of you and that you are willing to remove your complaint against our company.




Thank You

*********** S. *******
Owner
(XXX) XXX-XXXX ext. ***
******@simplemoves.com
*******************

After reading the above, I hope that it is noted that we did everything in our power to take care of our customers, and that this report should be completely removed from our record.

12/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I'm terribly disappointed in my experience with Simple Moves. My move was scheduled for July 26, 2013. I was told a window of 1-4; and was notified at 3:25 that they were running late; they said they'd be there around 5. I called the main office and was told that they were going to try to send someone else out. No one really apologized to me for the inconvenience and made it seem like it wasnt a big deal. The movers didnt get there until 6:15. When they were there they did a great job moving things quickly, and were polite and professional, but my entire afternoon was a waste. If I had known that they were running that far behind, I couldve moved or unpacked some things, but I was waiting at my old house, as I was instructed to do. I called that evening and left a message for a manager to call me. No one called. On Monday, July 29, I sent an email to the person I had corresponded with. No reply. I re-sent the email on Friday August 2, with no reply. I also sent the email chain to another person I corresponded with who was initial responder to my move request. No reply. (thats four attempts on my part to get this resolved, with no replies from the company)I understand things happen, but being over 2 hours late of a 3 hour window is not acceptable, and was made worse by the fact I wasn't even given enough notice to do something with my time, and then made even worse by no apology or response from my management. I dont expect the move for free, but I expected an apology and, frankly, an adjustment, just as I wouldve been charged if I moved or cancelled my time during the estimated move window. Im disappointed to see this from a BBB accredited company.
Product_Or_Service: Move

Desired Settlement
I would like a partial refund of my moving expenses. (25- 50%) I believe I should still have to pay for some of the move, as it was (eventually) performed, but I feel an adjustment should be made for my time and lack of notification I received.

Business' Initial Response
To Whom It May Concern:
We are deeply bothered by the complaint lodged by consumer. We believe that this complaint should be completely stricken from our record. We do acknowledge the fact that we were running behind that day, something that happens from time to time. We kept our customer well informed throughout the day. The reasons that we believe that this report should be completely stricken are as follows:
1) Our customer claimed that she would be on the clock as of her arrival window. That is a completely false allegation. We only start charging when we arrive at the origin address.
2) All customers are given an estimated time of arrival. There is absolutely no way to tell for sure what time we will be at a job. We do our very best to stay within our window, but from time to time, we are both early and late.
3) The purpose of calling 30 to 45 minutes ahead of time is so that the customer does not need to sit around and wait for us. Most of our customers will give us a number where we can reach them, meet them, and do the move, so the customer can go on her way. There is no reason for a customer to sit and wait for us.
4) I, ***** *******, have personally checked my email and any junk email and have not seen any attempted communication with the customer. This letter from the Better Business Bureau is the very first that I have heard of this problem and complaint.
5) If the customer had a serious and legitimate complaint against us, she should have picked up the telephone after not receiving any answer from email and called us. Instead of doing that and affording us the opportunity to rectify this problem, she filed a complaint.
6) When I looked into this customer file, there were notes from our general manager, **** *******, where he deeply apologized that we were running behind, and that we would get the very first crew available to her.
We cannot and will not give discounts or money off of a bill simply because we are running behind time. I believe that this customer simply wants money returned. Though we are very sorry that we have an upset customer, I believe that I have shown that her complaint is not warranted and should not be marked against the good name of Simple Moves.

Sincerely,
***** *******
Owner
Simple Moves

Consumer's Final Response
I would like to attatch the following emails I sent to my complaint, and believe it should be reopened with the following response, because his response says I made false allegation is not true. I have proof of my emails and want to respond to the points. My claim is 100% true-and fair, I even said when they showed up they did a good job. Even if the matter is considered closed by BBB since he said he won't resolve my complaint the way I desire, I feel I should be able to respond to being called a "liar" and attach my proof.


Response to points:
1)I did not claim that I was on the clock or implied I was charged for the time I sat around and waited. I stated that I was notified of the fact you were running late at the end of the window. I was not given enough notice to do anything with my day -if you had notified me at 1 that you were running 2 hours behind, I could've done something with those 5 hours. I wasn't and I feel that's poor customer service.
5)The manager I spoke to didn't "deeply apologize". The conversation was more "that's the way it goes".
6)As I stated in my email, I did call Friday, July 26 around 5:30 and left a message with the after-hours service person stating that I was unhappy and a manager should call me. I even asked if I could have a manager's number and was told no.



09/24/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 3/27/13 Simple Moves conducted a residential move for my personal belongings. I am seeking to dispute the final invoice. The items were to be moved from **** ********** **** ***** ***** ** to **** ****** **** ***** *****, *** a distance of only 3.9 miles). When I scheduled the move, I was offered a special promotional rate if I booked the move while I was on the call (without hanging up, I assume to avoid the customer shopping for other quotes) 3 men at the 2 men rate of $92. I accepted and scheduled the move. I specifically requested that certain items be covered with protective wrapping. The items I requested to be moved were: a 2-cushion sofa, two armoires, one king bed (included 1 mattress and 2 twin box springs as used for king beds), one chest (for clothing, with drawers), one dresser with mirror attached, one elliptical machine, one refrigerator, one dining room table with six chairs, one clothes washer, one clothes dryer, two stoves and two dishwashers. The first stove was to be moved from , and the second stove was to be moved from the first floor of 4 to the second floor of the same address. The first dishwasher was to be moved from , and the second dishwasher was to be moved from the first floor of to the basement of the same address. On the day of the move, of the dishwashers and stoves, only one stove was moved (from ). The stove at had been previously disposed of by other means prior to the move date. The dishwasher atremained intact and I opted to leave behind the dishwasher at Shenandoah, so none were moved. I added two medium sized cardboard boxes on the day of the move since the moving employees offered to take them instead of me putting them in my car. There was extra room in the truck and it only took a few minutes for them to load the boxes. During the move only 2 employees were present instead of three. After showing the employees what needed to be taken, I had to correct the employees multiple times to leave behind certain items (boxes, small tables, etc. that I planned to take in my car later that night). I also had to remind them to utilize the protective covering as I initially requested and about half way through the move they ran out of the protective coverings. When the employees tried to dismantle the fridge doors, it took approximately 2 hours and another hour to load the fridge on to the truck. I own a standard French door Samsung fridge. It is not an extremely oversized item. I expressed my concern when thirty minutes had passed ***** they began dismantling the fridge and they stated they called their supervisor for assistance but no one got back to them. They said they were hoping someone could come assist them with the fridge since they weren't sure how to take it apart. I offered them the manual but they declined my offer. They continued to waste time on the fridge and no other employees came to help them. When they reassembled the fridge upon arrival at , pieces were missing, it took over an hour and I found ices the following day in my backyard (it was brought through the backdoor).Overall the final **** was double what I was originally quoted. The employees suggested I contact the manager the following day to discuss any billing issues. They demanded payment up front when I asked to withhold payment until I resolved the issues with the manager. The workers were unprepared and not trained for the job. Had they accepted my offer to view the fridge manual, it may have saved some time. Also, if their supervisor (or anyone) were available to assist the workers in disassembling the fridge (as they requested), it may have saved some time. Furthermore, the fact that three large items were removed from the moving item list (1 stove and 2 dishwashers), I find it quite hard to understand why the **** was double. I feel a great deal of time was wasted. I have documentation indicating 3 men were supposed to conduct my move, but only 2 were present. If 3 were present it would not have taken so long. There was extensive damage done to the property located at (freshly finished wood floors scratched, freshly professionally painted walls scuffed and marked, paint chipped on doorway trim.) I am currently working with the insurance company to resolve these issues. When I contacted Simple Moves to express my concerns about the final ****, they blamed the extended move time (and subsequent larger ****) on the complicated fridge. I explained the circumstances and questioned their rebuttals, even indicating there had been 3 less large items moved than originally planned so logically the time/**** should have been less. Eventually their response was that they could not make any adjustments to the **** until after the insurance claim had been finalized. After I spoke with the insurance company, I was informed the **** is not a factor in the insurance claim and Simple Moves could resolve any billing disputes with me if they chose to do so.
Product_Or_Service: moving service
Order_Number: XXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the final bill adjusted to a reasonable, agreeable amount, calculated based upon the original estimate, logic based on day-of-move events, and industry expectations (maybe obtain some quotes from other moving companies for the same item list and compare those to my bill).

Business Response
As I have stated in the past, we cannot take care of every customer, unfortunately consumer seems to be one of them. I would like to break down some of complaint. Consumer says: When I scheduled the move, I was offered a special promotional rate if I booked the move while I was on the call (without hanging up, I assume to avoid the customer shopping for other quotes) 3 men at the 2 men rate of $92. That is simply not true, that is a practice that we do not do or have ever done in the history of the company. If anything, we let people call around, because most of the time they call us back letting us know that we have the best rates.
Consumer says: I specifically requested that certain items be covered with protective wrapping. Very simple, we carry wrap on all of our trucks, if our customers want to have something wrapped; we do it for them for at no additional charge. Many other companies charge you for that service. All we ask is that you let the movers know what it is that you want wrapped.
Consumer Says: The items I requested to be moved were: a 2-cushion sofa, two armoires, one king bed (included 1 mattress and 2 twin box springs as used for king beds), one chest (for clothing, with drawers), one dresser with mirror attached, one elliptical machine, one refrigerator, one dining room table with six chairs, one clothes washer, one clothes dryer, two stoves and two dishwashers. The first stove was to be moved from address to address, and the second stove was to be moved from the first floor of address to the second floor of the same address. The first dishwasher was to be moved from address to address, and the second dishwasher was to be moved from the first floor of address to the basement of the same address. On the day of the move, of the dishwashers and stoves, only one stove was moved (from address to address). The stove at address had been previously disposed of by other means prior to the move date. The dishwasher at address remained intact and I opted to leave behind the dishwasher at address, so none were moved. I added two medium sized cardboard boxes on the day of the move since the moving employees offered to take them instead of me putting them in my car. There was extra room in the truck and it only took a few minutes for them to load the boxes. When we schedule a move, we ask our customers what they are moving; this gives us an idea as to how long the move will take. There is never anyway to know for sure how long a move will take, which is why we cannot give our customers flat rates. From her own words many things were changed with her move, which is very common, and we do the best we can to accommodate every customer whether they add items on to their list, take items off, or add or delete pick-ups and drop-offs. We can only give an estimate.
Consumer Says: When the employees tried to dismantle the fridge doors, it took approximately 2 hours and another hour to load the fridge on to the truck. I own a standard French door Samsung fridge. There is no such thing as a standard French door fridge. Every new frig these days are different and all come apart differently. It is impossible to train every employee how to assemble and disassemble every piece that they move, and we do not have people that just sit around the office waiting for a call.
Consumer Says: I have documentation indicating 3 men were supposed to conduct my move, but only 2 were present. If 3 were present it would not have taken so long. If we had sent there men it would have cost more per hour, so the bill would not have changed by much at all. She was give only two men and charged for only two men.
Consumer Says: When I contacted Simple Moves to express my concerns about the final bill, they blamed the extended move time (and subsequent larger bill) on the complicated fridge. I explained the circumstances and questioned their rebuttals, even indicating there had been 3 less large items moved than originally planned so logically the time/bill should have been less. Eventually their response was that they could not make any adjustments to the bill until after the insurance claim had been finalized. Yes, the fridge added time on to her bill, along with assembling and disassembling beds and having a customer hover over the crew never helps. As with the insurance company, that is a whole different story.
We did have some damages on consumer's move. We went out very shortly after the move and took care of everything that she wanted us to, except the scratch in her floor. In regards to her floor, she received an estimate to have her floor fixed, I also sent out our flooring company to give her a estimate. The company that I sent out was less expensive, but I told her that she could choose which company she wants to use and we would pay. She then asked if we could put this all on hold until fall. I again said, yes we can, we will work with you the best that we can. She then said that if the prices went up by fall would we pay for them, I again told her yes we would. We have done everything possible to accommodate this customer. She then asked that if we waited until fall, and had the company of her choice come out, and if she was still not happy, what would we do? At that point, I said that I give up, and turned this over to our insurance company to handle.
Speaking with my insurance company after the claim was filed, I was told that customers like consumer were very predictable, and was trying to get every last red cent that they could. When the insurance company told her no, that is when she filed the suit against us.
I have tried very hard to work with consumer and give her everything that we could, but I have given up and have put it into the hands of our insurance company. It is not up to them, to try to please someone that cannot be pleased.

I apologize if this was hard to read, I had written my response in Microsoft Word, where all of her responses were in BOLD, but that did not transfer over.

09/12/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Moving company took advantage of us.
We received a flyer in the mail with a 10% discount for Simple Moves. I filled out the form online and spoke with the representive. He assured me they could do our move with the information I provided.
On moving day the mover's showed up on time, but in a very small truck. They worked at a turtle's pace and did not use protective covers on the doors, carpets or even wrap the furniture as they were loading it. Frantic, I called the number and a gentleman assured me that was not right. He would send a supervisor out. About an hour later the supervisor did show up and they started using plastic wrap on the wood furniture, but my beautiful wood carved sofas were already loaded, unprotected.
I ****** spare you the long days events, but 7 hours later and two trips our house was still not moved. We had wanted all our boxes in the basement but opted to have them put in the garage to get the move over faster (plus we had just had the carpets at the new house professionally cleaned and I didn't want a dirt path from the garage across the house to the basement steps in the family room.
We finally let them go and hired someone else to finish our move the next day. We had the same household moved about 2 years ago and that move had taken 5 hours, so I'm not really sure what the difference was this time.... wait! It was probably because the company I hired in 2010 charged by the job, and these guys are by the hour.
We called to express our unhappiness and were told we would hear back from the owner on Monday. That was nearly two weeks ago.

Desired Settlement
I don't really know what they can do to make this better. We hired our daughter's friend to finish the move. He wouldn't let us pay him so we took him to dinner.
We have spent the last 2 weeks moving boxes to the basement and finding little knicks and digs in the furniture. I'm just so unhappy and feel like they took advantage of us. I don't want this to happen to other people. Moving is stressful enough without this happening.
They could give us some type of a refund. We paid for 7 hours. Our last movers only took 5 hours because they worked at a much faster and brought a bigger truck. These guys came unprepared, they were unprofessional and took advantage of the situation.

Business' Initial Response
I am not exactly sure how we took advantage of you, or anyone for that matter. You said that we showed up in a small truck? Yes we did. This is the only size truck that we use now or have ever used. You were told this at the time of scheduling your move.
We also emailed you a summary sheet letting you know that this would take two trips. In your summary sheet it said,
"We'll be going out to move items from Chesterfield to St Charles. Her load may exceed the limit of out truck so we may have to make more than one trip. Please do a great job for this nice lady".
A lot of our customers do not want things padded and wrapped, they just want to hurry up and get the items moved. All you had to do was to ask the movers to pad your items and they would have.
You called the office with a problem, so we then dispatched a manager to try to help.
You were complaining that the move took too long, but how much longer would it have taken if we were to have wrapped and padded every piece, and then moved all of the items to exactly where you wanted them to go. We would have been more than happy to do that, but it takes time. Our crew had a job scheduled right after yours, so they are not going to take their time while doing your move, they have plenty of work to keep them busy.
Moving is hard and it takes time, not to mention that the move was done in June. People seem to think that since we are movers, we are invincible to the heat, but we (and anyone else that works outside) do move slower and drink more water in the middle of the summer. Hopefully you can understand that.
If you were waiting form a call from me and did not receive it, why did you not pick up the phone and call me? Instead you sent a letter to the BBB. We have already completed almost 1500 moves this year alone. That is why I have a management staff to try to take care of all of our customers and any problems that may arise. I as the owner, I cannot personally oversee every customer and every move. If you get a bad loaf of bread from , do you ask to speak with Mr. or do you ask for a manager?
There are hundreds of reasons that moves go faster and slower. How long of a walk was it, were their stairs involved, was everything boxed and ready to go, was it hot, did you have items taken apart, did we need to remove doors from refrigerators, was there a lot of miscellaneous items that needed to be moved, and so on and so on.
I am sorry that things did not go well for you, that is the bottom line. But we ****** not give a discount just because someone says that the moves should have gone faster, if we gave discounts to every person that asked us to, we would be out of business. And by writing to the BBB, that is not much difference than blackmail. You would have gotten a lot farther with me and my company if you had just called us back.

Consumer's Final Response
8/15/2012: Mediator left message for consumer.

8/22/2012: Mediator left message for consumer.

8/29/2012: Company continues to be deceptive listing that they are on Angie's List when they are not.

Business' Final Response
8/22/2012: We never pad doorway or put plastic on floor. I do not want to give refund or provide counter offer. I am willing to go to arbitration if necessary.

09/17/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving / Storage Companies, Movers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.