BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1957

Cord Moving & Storage

Phone: (314) 291-7440Fax: (314) 291-6127

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
12/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am being over billed.
It took 4 hours for the movers to pick up my belongings and 4 hours to deliver them. I was told I would be charged 2 hours of travel time (one hour for each way). That is a total of 10 hours.

I was given an estimate for 11 hours total time and came in under that figure, yet I am being charged 12.5 hours!

I have a signed paper from the driver with shows 8 total hours, 2 hours drive time and $125 to store my items overnight. That total was $ $1705.00 and I paid it to the driver by check *****

I am being invoiced (invoice # EC-XXXX-XX/1) for 12.5 hours $2,205.49.

I have friends who where there on both days that will attest to the fact that it took 4 hours to pick up and 4 hours to delivery my belongings.
I am being over charged.

Desired Settlement
I want to be sent a corrected invoice.

Business Response
Cord Moving and Storage Company adjusted Ms. *****'s invoice by $131.74, noting the information below:

1st day 5.75 hours @ $158 = $908.50 plus $40 fuel surcharge = $948.50
2nd day 6 hours @ $158 = $948.00 plus $40 fuel surcharge = $988.00
Hold on truck at customers request $125.00
Valuation at customers request $12.25
Less paid $1705.00
Invoiced $368.75

09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Monday August 4, 2014 AM a Cord MVG & Storage Big Rig was parked in front of **** ******* **** *** Well, at least the Cab was as the rear of the truck was parked in the middle of the street. I live across the street. This caused cars to go around the back end of truck and onto my property. by the time I got dressed and out the door numerous cars had traversed this route. I asked the driver if he would move truck and he did so. This driver and crew were very courteous. When my sprinkler system came on, I noticed one was broken and just pooling water. This particular sprinkler head is right where cars were driving onto my yard, (at the street)
On Tues, morning (Aug 14) at 8:47 I called their office and talked to ******. ****** said "Let me transfer you to a cord agent. Now I have ****** on the line and explained my dilemma. ****** says we weren't in your zip code yesterday, let me transfer you to earth city office "Wait a minute, Earth City just transferred me to you! Is there anyone there that can help?" She tells me to hold for supervisor...now ***** ****** comes on line and says not our truck from Belleville, Illinois! He says he will check with Earth City and call me back. At 9:11 AM, same day, **** ***** safety manager Earth City gives me a call I explain to **** my problem. **** feels it is the driver's of passing cars fault not theirs. "Well, if your truck wasn't blocking the street which in turn forced drivers to go around your company vehicle, we wouldn't be having this conversation. your company is capable for damage to sprinkler head. I am asking for restitution of cost of replacement of head. $23.00 it will cost me to have lawn irrigation people replace. **** says he will check with his people and call me later.

**** does not call back that day.
Wed, 7 Aug 14L At 2:26PM I call ****. He still hems and haws about responsibility of damage. I tell **** I don't want a whole new system. i only want the one damaged head replaced which was caused by your company vehicles road blockage. **** then says his company will pay, but first will mail out release form with sase and once this is received they will issue a check.

Thurs 21 Aug 14: Two weeks to the day that I spoke w. **** ***** I have yet to receive anything from this company. I called yet once again, only to leave a message either answering machine or voicemail. No return call.

It is now Thurs 28 Aug 14, and I am writing to you the BBB. I feel this company can well afford to replace this head as they said they would! A lot more than we can as we are retired and on a budget by ignoring me. It says a lot about this company's character or lack thereof.

Desired Settlement
For Cord Moving & Storage to do what they said they would per **** *****

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****,Safety Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@cordmoving.com
At Cord Moving and Storage Company we take all damage claims very seriously. Incidents are investigated, work crews questioned and all evidence looked at closely. During our review we found that neither our crews nor equipment entered Mr. **********'s yard while delivering to our client across from him.

Moving to or from a new area creates much stress for families and also for their friends and neighbors. In the interest of maintaining the good relations of our client with their neighborhood and friends we paid Mr. ********** for his damage, although we could not determine exactly when his sprinkler head was damaged or who had driven through his yard.

A check was issued on 9/5/14 and cleared our bank account on 9/11/14, the date we received this notice from the BBB.

09/30/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cord Moving and Storage moved us out of our old home on 6/27/13, working 8:30 am- 4 pm, 8 hrs. They stored our furnishings, then moved us into our new home on 6/28, working 2:30-7 pm, 4 hrs. We subtracted .5 hrs/d for lunch, making the total job 12 hrs. We were told to add 1 hr/d for drive time, which brings the two-day total to 14 hrs.Cord has charged us a total of 20.75 hrs. This is 6.75 hrs more than the work we received. Their explanation is that the work crew started the morning of 6/28, not 2:30 pm. Since Cord did not pro-actively tell us when to expect them, we called on 6/25 to ask for the arrival time. ******* ****** told us the movers would arrive between 8:30 and 9 on 6/27. We were not given a time for 6/28. At day end on 6/27, we told the crew we did not know when they could start the following day, since we were closing at 9 am. We told them we would call ******* once we received a call from our realtor telling us everything was funded and that the new home was now in our possession. We explained that our closing began at 9 am and we knew we would not be able to start before noon. *****, the driver, said it was not uncommon for this to happen. Our realtor also told us this is standard operating procedure and that we were not to enter the home until she called us and gave us the go ahead. She told us that it may be as late as 2 pm before the $ cleared, which had to occur before access to the new home would be given. ***** gave us his cell # and told us to call him at least 30 min before we needed the team so they had time to get to us. At 1:30, we were told by our realtor that we could enter the home. We called both ***** & ******* at 1:35 and told them we were on our way to let them in the house. The work began at 2:30. Weve already paid $2404. Weve received a $913.09 bill to pay for an additional 6.75 hrs plus a late fee. We have nothing from Cord that states when they would arrive on either day nor that they would charge us for hours of waiting.
Product_Or_Service: moving for home furnishings
Order_Number: customer #XXXXXX
Account_Number: invoice #XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
We have paid Cord $2404 for the 14 hrs of move & travel time, fuel charges and insurance. We would like to receive an invoice showing our payment and that it is paid in full. (we also need resolution to a damage issue we have submitted and never received a response on)

Business Response
We've resolved this claim with Mr. and Mrs. .
We've issued a refund and an invoice showing the move is paid in full along with a personal letter from our Sr. VP of Sales, ***** *******.

08/08/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cord Moving was responsible for packing, loading, and delivering our household goods from St. Louis to Salt Lake City. We were given a delivery window of July 13-16. I drove to Salt Lake after our things were loaded in St. Louis, and had my husband and 2 small children fly to Salt Lake on the 16th, presumably to a furnished house (they were staying in Maryland with family until the 16th). Late on July 15, Cord notified us that our things did not yet "have a driver assigned." It was too late to change their airfare. Cord failed to comply with 49 U.S.C. XXXXX, in that they did not at this time provide us with dates for delivery, and absolutely did not consider our needs in its advisement. Regarding their failure to notify us that our things would be late, we were told that they'be been too busy for that. Today, July 21, we still do not have our things are are receiving conflicting information from *** ***** at Cord and North American corporate about dates for loading and dates for delivery. They are providing us with reimbursement for necessary costs, but nailing down details for that has been difficult, and no one has told us what documentation to retain or how to submit it. North American corporate told us that Cord knew for a week that the original driver of our things had to cancel and they did not replace the driver. After a week, it was reassigned to corporate, who found a driver. That week's delay is unacceptable, and *** ******** interaction with me has reflected a total lack of concern for my family's well-being or their responsibility to deliver our things in a timely manner.
Product_Or_Service: Full service move

Desired Settlement
I would like for 2 things to happen:1. I would like for their BBB rating to be downgraded and other potential customers to be warned.2. I believe they should refund part of the payment for the move.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@cordmoving.com
Cord Moving and Storage Company and our employees deeply regret the inconvenience Ms. and her family experienced as a result of her delayed delivery.
Cord and North American Van Lines is known and recognized for providing top quality service yet in Ms. case, our corporate offices failed to provide a driver within the delivery deadlines.
Ms. can file a delay claim within 30 days from the date of delivery at:
****************@navl.com
The request for a downgraded BBB score is not Cord's decision to make.
Again, Cord Moving and Storage apologizes for the late delivery and the lack of respect Ms. believes she received.

05/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 04/13/2013 During the delivery process my two walls were scratched and my 100 year old hardwood floors were scratched
during my delivery on 04/13/13 the delivery men could not figure out how to get the dresser i order up my stairs. the walls were scratched and when the item because too heavy they sat it down on my landing and began to drag it which resulted in my 100 year old original hardwood floors being scratched. I left a message with the company on 04/13 advising what was happened the call was not returned. i called back on 04/19 advising i did not receive a call back they advised me at this time someone would call back, but still no callback. I called again on 04/26 at 1:44 p.m. at that time i was advised **** w/Goody services would be calling me back and i am still waiting on a callback.

Desired Settlement
i would like my floors and wall repaired.

Business' Initial Response
Ms. is definitely correct in her timeline and our lack of response. St. Louis Furniture Transfer did assign a 3rd party repair company to make contact with Ms. on 4/19/13 but somewhere, somehow the line of communication was broken and Ms. was not contacted.
Ms. has been called and apologized to by the General Manager, ***** ***** and an appointment has been made for May 18th 2013 to repair the damage.
Again, St. Louis Furniture Transfer apologizes for the broken communication.

Business' Final Response
St. Louis Furniture Transfer repaired the damage sustained by Ms. on Saturday May 18th, 2013. Ms. signed off as repairs complete and satisfied.
We again apologize that Ms. had any issues with her delivery and trust in the future, should she choose to use us, we will show her how excellent STLFT is...

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving / Storage Companies, Movers – International, Movers - Office, House & Building Movers, Paper & Document Shredding, Furniture - Retail, Movers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.