BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Federal Gateway Moving & Storage Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Federal Gateway Moving & Storage Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Federal Gateway Moving & Storage Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Cohen, General Manager Mr. Jeff Bogdan, Co-owner Heather Henderson, Assistant General Manager Mr. Gene Wheeler, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Cohen, General Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Gene Wheeler, General Manager
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Saturday and Sunday by Appointment Only.

Additional Locations

  • 1975 Walton Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63114 (314) 429-3300 (800) 397-8900 (309) 694-4500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Per the Bill of Lading, and the relocation contract between myself and Federal Moving and Storage, our household items were guaranteed to be delivered between 5/31/16 and 6/3/16. I spoke with Gail, the service manager, on 5/31/16, to confirm the delivery date/time and was informed, by Gail, that the shipment would be delayed as Federal Moving and Storage could not find a truck driver to transport our items from St. Louis, MO to our new house in Mechanicsburg, PA. I informed her that the contract guaranteed delivery by 6/3/16 and expected Federal Moving and Storage to adhere to the contract terms. Unfortunately the contract was breeched as our household was delivered on 6/6/16. In addition to the late delivery the following issues also occurred: 1. The moving crew smoked in the trailer, which housed our items, on their breaks. 2. The moving crew did not bring their own tools to dismantle bulky items and asked to use mine. Federal should supply their own tools to the moving crews. 3. During loading in St. Louis, a member of the moving crew broke a glass window in our china hutch. 4. Bunk bed screws were lost to two sets of bunk beds 5. Water damage occurred to our sectional sofa, 1 pillow and 1 pillow case.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of our household items beyond the guaranteed delivery constitutes as a breech of contract and therefore I am requesting a refund and compensation for the damaged furniture.

Business Response:

I am sorry to hear about the claim on the move for customer *******. I am sending email with apology along with claims form, I ask, for customer to fill out claim form and send back to me for prompt processing. as far as billing issues, i will talk with our Management team and discuss the billing part.  Upon receipt of the completed claim form, i will process promptly.

Thank you, 

please see email time stamped 6-8-16 at approximately 9:14 am

sent to: ***************@outlook.com

Good Morning,

I am very sorry to hear about damages and issues with your move. Please fill out attached claim form and send back for prompt processing.

 

Again, our apologies and we will do everything we can to resolve all issues as timely as possible.

 

 

***** ******

Claims and Customer Service

*** ******** ***** **** ******* ** *****

************ * ****

************** * ****

fax ************

************@federalcos.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: at this time Federal Moving and Storage has put a hold on the restoration of my damaged items. 



Sincerely,

******* *******

Business Response:

In response to BBB complaint ******** re: Customer ******* *******

Customer moved with the Federal Companies set for:

delivery spread: 5-31 to 6-3

actual del. date was 6-4-16.

Claim filed for the following items:

Bunk beds- missing hardware

Night table- scratched

Buffet- broken glass

Couch- stained

Claim filed 6-8-16- vendor visit to home 6-9-16  bunk beds were set up and hardware completed, the night stand was repaired. Estimate for repairs to the buffet for$ 125.00 for glass replacement-repair costs will be authorized today for completion along with the repairs to the couch for $60.00 repair costs.

Customer claiming to dispute charges on credit card for $7690.00 refund due to “breech of contract” The policy on claims is:  payment for the move must be secured prior to any claim settlements being made. This is to ensure that the bill is paid for along with the valuation on the move to handle the claim.

With the case of customer *******- he is asking for full costs of the move, we did move his goods from his origin home to the destination as promised. Full services have been rendered to customer as promised. We have honored his claim in full and completed in a timely fashion.

Thank you, 

5/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Consultant *** ********* deceptively baited and switched pricing for a relocation package. He informed my wife that he has worked for various other moving companies and is familiar with the industry. He provided my wife an quote on 3/31, both parties execute the contract with signatures. Two weeks later my wife receives an email from *** indicating that there was an issue with the quote and a specific discount did not apply, all the while knowning we scheduled a moving date with the company and cancelled/let-lapse the other competitive quotes we received. *** understands the industry, he knowns the time tables for a valid quote, he purposely waited the two weeks (or so) to inform us of the error.

Desired Settlement: $715.38 credit should be reapplied as the contract was executed by both parties.

Business Response:

I apologize for our delay in response. Mr. ******* ***** spoke with customer on the billing differences. he has explained in detail how the prices changed and why- the customer account has been adjusted per request. no monies due and all is settled.

Thank you ,

***** ******


4/27/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a brief summary of the issue. If more details are needed, we will provide. Allied is attempting to charge us more than was agreed to. An estimate was given to us by their employee ******* who was fired shortly after giving us the estimate. According to one of the movers, ******* was a notoriously bad employee. Our surveillance cameras were taping the day he was at our house for the estimate. ******* was shown what needed to be moved and according to the driver, ******* estimated the weight incorrectly. This is not our responsibility. I am not a mover. I do not know how much items weigh. ******* estimated a weight total of 5000 pounds. ******* explained that if the weight was less than 5000 pounds, we would get a refund. ******* also said that if the weight turned out to be greater than 5000 pounds, we would not be charged. We were never told that a contractor would be moving our furniture. We were never told that if the contractor did not agree with *******'s weight estimate, that the contractor would contest the weight and inconvenience us by an hour while waiting for a representative from Allied to show up. We were told that all our furniture would be shrink wrapped, it was not. We have dents on most of our furniture. We were told we could leave our clothing and other items in our drawers. The one mover aggressively packed our private clothing and expensive furs by throwing them haphazardly into boxes without our approval. They are claiming they did not know about the wood flooring. Both ******* and **** were told. The wood flooring was part of *******'s initial estimate. ******* estimated a total of 35 boxes for the books and flooring that we showed him. **** was sent an email regarding the wood flooring because we felt the insurance amount of $35000.00 was too low for everything. The movers were told not to take the items that ******* did not list. We have yet to file an insurance claim for the damage done to our furniture and the missing pieces of furniture (wheels are missing, etc.). A March 15th delivery date was set. After hearing nothing, I contacted the driver who informed me he was in Chicago and would be delivering my furniture on March 18th. Rude to say the least. Someone from a 312 number repeatedly calls yet never leaves a message. A google search reveals this to be Allied in Chicago. The phone calls need to stop. The bill was from Federal Gateway. The initial estimate was from Allied (St. Louis Branch of Allied)

Desired Settlement: We do not owe Allied anything. Allied was very aware of the type of employee ******* was and should not have sent him to our home. It is not our responsibility to know the total weight of our move. That was *******'s responsibility. We would like them to stop calling us, and again we have paid them in full. Allied should inform customers that an independent contractor will be moving their furniture. That these independent contractors may contest the weight, causing the customer to be delayed at least an hour.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ********,         

I am very sorry to hear of the disappointments in your move process. I assure you, the employee issues will be handled within our company.  We will address the personnel on the packing issues, we apologize that this happened on your move, but I assure you, we will work on this internally.

I have sent claim form via email to you on 4-26-16, please fill that you and send back to ***** ****** for review and processing.

In the review of the billing on your move, I am seeing you were given “an estimated weight of 5000 lbs. After review of the items on the move, it appears the weight went over 2152 lbs, the weight was based on the following items:

Boxes of wood flooring which were heavier than we anticipated

Exercise equipment

Piano bench

Bookcase

Patio furniture

Chairs

The items listed above are how the costs of the move went above the estimate and to date a balance of $1499.59 is due to Federal Companies.

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience on your move, please fill out your claim form and send over for prompt processing of the claim.

Thank you,

***** *****

***** ******

**** ******

1/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They moved us on November 3, 2014, and I have a reck # XXXXXXX. My initial complaint is the poor quality of service. They totally destroyed a file cabinet and left marks on a hallway wall in the new house. I did not read the fine print and signed off on the work loosing the opportunity to $500 for damaged. I also failed to check for all the damage until after they left and there was damage to the wall. I am still questioning the final bill and feel I have been overcharged. I hired a professional company and feel I got a couple of kids to do the work. The unprofessional behavior has continued with their staff after the move.

Desired Settlement: I want an itemized list of all the charges. I feel I was overcharged and I have asked for this 3 times and get no response from the business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/01/09) */ customer was responded to in regards to the billing issues. she received a credit for $367.56 for the move. the breakdown and email chain is listed out below: Per the Invoice: 3 men and one truck for 5.75 hours. Drive time was for 1.5 hours. This totals 7.25 hours, not the 9 hours you are referencing. Total transportation costs, including your fuel charge comes to $939.60 ($226.80 less than your referenced 8+ hours) Your packing and unpacking was exactly per the estimate. 1 Single matt @ $11.00 for supplying the carton, $6.00 for packing, and $2.00 for unpacking. Also, 2 Queen matts @ $16.00/ea ($32.00 total) for supplying, $7.00/ea ($14.00 total) for packing, and $2.00/ea ($4.00 total) for unpacking. TOTAL supplying equals $43, TOTAL packing equals $20, and TOTAL unpacking comes to $6. This is a TOTAL of 3 boxes, if you are stating that we moved potentially up to 6 boxes, than you were given some free of charge. In TOTAL, your transportation and your packing amounts came to $1134.60, which is under your estimated amount. Your estimate shows for a TOTAL of 9 hours for transportation, but your actual Invoice that I had sent you is for a TOTAL of 7.25hours. We issued a refund to your credit card in the amount of $367.56 on 11/21/14. We made a call today to your credit card company to verify the refund took place and is on your account. Thank you, ******* From: ****** ******* mailto:********@prodigy.net Sent: Tuesday, December 02, 2014 2:59 PM To: ******* ******** ***** ****** Cc: ******* *****; ******* *********; ******* ******** Subject: Re: ALLIED VAN LINES It looks like I was charged for 8 hrs and 1 hr drive time. They arrived at the old house at 9:00am (they asked us what time they arrived and we verified it was 9:00am. They pulled away from the new house at 3:00pm. Again, they asked us what time it was and I said 3:00pm. That is a TOTAL of 6 hours, not 8. Also what is the 1 hr of drive time for? They moved a queen size mattress and a twin size mattress. They took both beds apart and put them back together. As far as containers. They moved MAYBE 6 boxes. We moved almost all of our own boxes. ****** ******* On Tuesday, December 2, 2014 2:32 PM, ******* ******* <***************@FEDERALCOS.COM> wrote: Apologies....it would help if I actually attached the invoice.... From: ******* ******* Sent: Tuesday, December 02, XXXX X:XX PM To: ***** ******* '****** *******' Cc: ******* *****; ******* *********; ******* ******** Subject: RE: ALLIED VAN LINES I have attached a copy of the final invoice, showing the total itemized charges and the credit card payment. As far as billing questions over length of time of the move or individual rates for containers, packing, and unpacking you will need to speak with either ******* or ******* in our St. Louis office as they are the ones with the physical copies of all paperwork and time cards. Thank you, ******* ******* Branch Revenue Accountant Federal Companies Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX x2211 From: ***** ****** Sent: Tuesday, December 02, 2014 2:23 PM To: ****** ******* Cc: ******* *****; ******* *********; ******* ******** Subject: RE: ALLIED VAN LINES I am sorry for any delays in response, I don't handle billing in my department, but I have copied billing on this email for a copy of your invoice. Please allow them time to review and respond. Thank you, ***** ****** Claims and Customer Service *** ******** ***** East Peoria, Il XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX x **** X-XXX-XXX-XXXX x **** fax XXX-XXX-XXXX ************@federalcos.com ~~Please let me know how I make your experience better with the Federal Companies, we strive for excellence~~ From: ****** ******* mailto:********@prodigy.net Sent: Tuesday, December 02, 2014 2:16 PM To: ***** ****** Cc: ******* ***** Subject: Re: ALLIED VAN LINES Tonya, I left a vm for you yesterday, 12/1 and also today 12/2 and asked for a call back regarding an itemized bill. I have not received an itemized bill or a call back. I would appreciate one or the other. Thank-you ****** ******* On Friday, November 21, 2014 9:03 AM, ****** ******* <********@prodigy.net> wrote: Yes - I understand that we signed off on a 500.00 deductible and also signed off that there was no damage to the house. (You all did a good job of covering yourselves). We should have done a better inspection before signing. I sent you a picture of the damage in a separate email. As you can see, it's not extensive, however, it's another disappointment we have with Federal and further evidence that we should have just hired a couple of kids to do the job. You mentioned we will be getting a 367.00 CR, I am expecting more of a credit then that. The move took a total of 6 hours, that includes driving to the new house and cigarette breaks. I will need a detailed invoice of exactly what we are paying for. We used Allied because 13 years ago that's the company that moved us and we were so pleased with our move back then, we just decided to use you again. I don't know what happened to the company, but I sure wish I would have shopped around. We are leasing at our current location and expect to move again in another 1 to 2 years. You have absolutely lost that business. Again, I just want to express how disappointed am I with the service I received. I had high expectations. I certainly will be disputing the 367.00 CR and will be filing a complaint with the BBB. ****** ******* On Friday, November 21, 2014 8:41 AM, ***** ****** <************@FEDERALCOS.COM> wrote: Ms. *******, I am sorry to hear the disappointment in your email, the claim was settled based on the valuation you chose on your move- your claim was totaled at $300.00 claimed and that would fall under the $500.00 deductible, that is why you received the letter. There was no mention at all on your claim form turned in about residential damages on your move, I do apologize sincerely for any inconveniences on your move, we strive for excellence. On the work order you signed off stating that there were no damages at either origin or at destination, see below for the print screen of that paperwork. You will be getting a refund $367.56, this is being initiated now and will be posted to your account by end of business today and will show on your statement in the next 3 business days. Again, we do apologize for any inconveniences, and thank you for your business. ***** ****** Claims and Customer Service *** ******** ***** East Peoria, Il XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX x **** X-XXX-XXX-XXXX x **** fax XXX-XXX-XXXX ************@federalcos.com ~~Please let me know how I make your experience better with the Federal Companies, we strive for excellence~~ From: ****** ******* mailto:********@prodigy.net Sent: Thursday, November 20, XXXX X:XX PM To: ******* ********* Cc: **** ******* ***** ****** Subject: Re: ALLIED VAN LINES I just received the response to the claim we filed with your company as a result of damage done by your movers. We were denied restitution because we signed off on a 500.00 deductible and our claim was for 300.00. I understand because of that, Federal is not obligated to pay for the damages done to our furniture. However, you should know that the crew that we had not only damaged a piece of our furniture, but they damaged your company's reputation. I hired a professional moving company because I didn't want movers that banged into walls or didn't know what they were doing, unfortunately, that's exactly what we got. I can't imagine we are the first to make a complaint. My son and his friends could have done the same job we paid Federal to do. I was just expecting much more. To say we are very disappointed with the overall service and professionalism is an understatement. We plan on filing a complaint with the better business bureau, because we feel other people planning to spend good money should know what they are in for and they might as well hire a couple of guys off the street for a lot less money. We are also going to dispute the charges with our credit card company due to the fact that all I see is from Federal is a 1502.00 charge. We should have been billed along the lines of 1000.00. They arrived at 9:00 and the job was done at 3:00. A total of 6 hours. (I'm not paying for the cigarette breaks or standing around.) I would have first gone to my move coordinator (**** ******** with these issues, but I'm not sure I ever really had a coordinator. She was on vacation the entire time Federal was in our service, so I never really worked with her. I'm not blaming her for being on vacation, but who assigns a move coordinator for a move that will take place while the coordinator is on vacation? Why was I even given her name, I should have taken that as a sign that

1/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
11/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Items were delivered and when we started going thorough our totes there were items missing/damaged items missing from inside our totes three ryobe batteries $100.00 the charger for those batteries $40.00. A $250.00 floor lamp that was damaged and no longer works

Desired Settlement: We would like for allied to reimburse us for these items. We did not know when these were delivered that things were missing out of our totes and the lamp was taken upstairs and put in the guest room by there employee so I had no idea that it was damaged and no longer worked until I went in that room months after the delivery.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/13) */ This is the first time seeing this complaint, we didn't get the first one. when looking into the complaints, this claim was handled at Allied AKA Sirva by ***** ********** ************ ***************@SIRVA.com. we ask that the customer file with SIRVA and write to review board for further follow up on the claim. this move was Packed by owner "PBO" and we didnt pack to know the contents of the belongings. below is settlement letter to customer on initial filling: May 2, 2014 ****** ******** **** **** ***** ***** CA XXXXX RE REG# XXXXXX Claim XXXXX-X Dear Ms. ********: Thank you for your patience while awaiting review of your claim settlement. After reviewing all documents, your settlement totals $1055.00. This amount represents the following: Plastic totes $ 60.00 as claimed Folding chair cover 20.00 as claimed Dishware declined Dining table and chairs 975.00 repair allowance Dishware declined Table lamps declined Clothes iron declined Automobile cover declined Fan declined Picture frame declined China declined Posters declined Candy thermometer declined If you would like the repair firm to do the repairs on the dining room set, please contact him direct at ********* ******* *********** (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Since I have paid the repair cost in the settlement, you will need to pay him direct for any repairs. Unfortunately, the van line must decline responsibility for items not packed by Allied representatives. We had no control over the packing of these items and no notations of carton damage were made at the time of delivery to show mishandling by Allied. (See contract terms on the reverse side of the Bill of Lading limiting liability due to an act of the shipper.) Therefore, the dishware, lamps, clothes iron, picture frames, china posters, and candy thermometer will be declined. Continued XXXXX-X The repair firm has stated when examining the fan he found nothing wrong with no external damage. Normal vibration and handling can cause an item with sensitive internal parts to malfunction. Since nothing can be done to eliminate this during the moving process, resultant problems are excluded from carrier liability. (See contract terms on the reverse side of the Bill of Lading regarding "inherent vice.") Therefore, I must decline responsibility for this and also one of the table lamps since no external damage to show mishandling by the carrier. Ms. ********, I regret the van line must decline a portion of your claim. Our accounting department will be releasing your check shortly. Sincerely, ***** ********* Certified Claims Analyst the next letter sent 6-4-14 June 4, 2014 ****** ******** **** **** ***** ***** CA XXXXX RE REG# XXXXXX Claim XXXXX-X Dear Ms. ********: Thank you again for your patience while awaiting review of your claim settlement. Regretfully, our search for the item reported missing batteries/charger, speaker and accessories, and grill cover has been unsuccessful. Since you indicated you received all items by signing the inventory/check off sheet at destination, we cannot accept responsibility. Ms. ********, I regret the van line must decline your claim. Sincerely, ***** ********* Certified Claims Analyst and the final letter: October 3, 2014 ****** ******** **** **** ***** ***** CA XXXXX RE REG# XXXXXX Claim XXXXX-X Dear Mr. ********: Thank you again for your patience while awaiting review of your claim settlement. After reviewing all your paperwork again, I do not find that you noted any external damage at the time of the delivery to the floor lamp. Normal vibration and handling can cause an item with sensitive internal parts to malfunction. Since nothing can be done to eliminate this during the moving process, resultant problems are excluded from carrier liability. (See contract terms on the reverse side of the Bill of Lading regarding "inherent vice.") Therefore, I must decline your claim on this item. Mr. ********, I regret the van line must decline this item. Sincerely, ***** ********* Certified Claims Analyst we at this time, are not able to offer any further compensation, we ask that the customer send request to SIRVA review board for follow up and if they are willing to do more with the claim. we apologize for any inconveniences.

9/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** Van Lines, in conjunction with Federal Gateway Moving and Storage, failed to provide adequate moving service and their customer service department took NO ownership, nor even acknowledged our issue. We moved my household and my mother's household on June 6th, 2014. We had separate residences and still have separate apartments in the same complex. Despite my repeated instructions that they NOT mix our household goods on the delivery truck, they did. I spent approximately 8 hours outside in a rainstorm - with lightening - unloading and reloading the truck as we sorted through boxes belonging to us and those of my mother's. My partner lost 4 hours of work time, because she had to come home to help. I'm still discovering items of my mother's as we sort through our garage. We literally shoved boxes into the garage to avoid dirtying the carpet in our new apartment,and to get ourselves and our belongings out of the rain. Trying to sort everything in our living room has made our first few months here miserable. The heat this summer in OK, has made it very difficult to complete our unpacking process. It's frustrating to know that I own items that I'd like to use, but often can not find them. I made several calls to Federal Moving and Storage Co. in St. Louis, MO and to ******'s 1-800 number and the situation was never acknowledged. There wasn't even an apology, because they didn't address the situation at all it's like it never happened. I've had no success in obtaining the appropriate channel for the complaint process and through research have discovered that Sirva acquired ****** Van Lines. It is for that reason that I am lodging a complaint here. I'm groping blindly in the dark to obtain an appropriate contact. We received a $350.00 check for compensation for broken items, that I will not cash until this situation is resolved. My complaints to the BBB will be several, to include ****** ****** and Federal Gateway Moving and Storage in St. Louis, MO. Product_Or_Service: Moving Services Order_Number: XXXXXXX Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Paying approximately $5,600.00 for moving services that we did not receive is unacceptable. We did half the work and deserve compensation of half of our expense in the amount of $2800.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/08) */ In response to BBB case #XXXXXXX, we are very sorry regarding your displeasure regarding your relocation to Oklahoma. After reviewing the situation and talking to the crews, we did provide the service that we were contracted to do. As we are not able to control the weather, in this case rain, the unloading did take longer than expected as the movers will not move furniture in a storm for safety reasons and to minimize damage of the customers items. It is our understanding the rain did stop around lunch time. Our crew did put items in your apartment and then were instructed to put the remaining items in the garage which was around the corner in another unit. Unfortunately, the HHG items were mixed together on the truck but when identified, they were separated on the truck before unloading at your residence. These items were then taken to your mothers residence in the same complex but on another street around the corner. We would have been more than happy to bring all your items into the house as planned but were instructed to put it in the garage. As to your time during delivery- we do ask that someone to be at destination to check off items as they come off the truck and to direct where each item is to be placed in the residence. As to the damage, the check was issued in the amount of the claim for all except the cleaning of the chair and mattress as these were cleaned before the inspection of the items. If you have the receipt for this cleaning, please provide to us and we will look into reimbursement for this service. We are not able to offer compensation as claimed except for the cleaning in your complaint. We trust you will understand our position as we did perform the services requested.

8/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Federal Gateway Moving & Storage Co
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart