BBB Accredited Business since

Simple Moves

Phone: (314) 963-3416 View Additional Phone Numbers 10755 Page Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63132 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Simple Moves meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

18 Customer Reviews on Simple Moves
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 18
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 18

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 2004 Business started: 10/01/2000 Business started locally: 10/01/2000
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Christopher Gianino, President Randy Lough, General Manager John Scognamiglio, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Gianino, President
Business Category

Moving / Storage Companies Movers

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm very unhappy with the movers and the customer service department. The 2 men sent to do my local move didn't follow simple instructions. I scheduled a pick up and then deliver to 2 different locations. My instruction to load the white desk so it could be dropped of at the 1st stop was ignored and the desk was loaded so that it couldn't be unloaded at the 1st stop. When I asked them questions they just seemed to mumble and seemed incompetent. At the final drop off site they dropped a crate and broke glass items. They never even apologized. They stacked the boxes in the storage unit with heavier boxes on top causing the lower to be crushed. The job is paid by the hour and they moved very slowly never even using a 2 wheeler. I've contacted the office 3 times and they haven't returned my calls. They aren't worth $99.00 an hour.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to send someone out to redue the packing in storage unit. An apology would be nice. The dish that was broken belonged to my deceased mother and isn't replaceable.

Business Response: She has been taken care of and we went out and rearranged all of her storage and she was very happy.  I spoke with her and we also refunded an hour of her move. 

Business Response:

This is a phone call from our customer after the move

2/10/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: it was BLACK MOLD AND MILDEW & RODENT DROPPING IN AND ON EVERYTHING ME AND MY BABY BOY OWN. ELECTRONICS,CLOTHES,FURNITURE,BEDS ECT. NO ONES KNOWS WHY. Regrettably, I entrusted my household items to the Simple Moves moving and storage company while I worked to stabilize my living situation for my 3-year-old son and myself. After months of relying on the kindness of friends for shelter, I was able to obtain stable employment and an apartment for my son and me. Things were definitely looking up. That is - until the Simple Move truck arrived at my apartment to deliver the items that had been in storage. Items were missing. And not only did we find a disturbing amount of rodent droppings among our items, we discovered mold and mildew on several of our things. EVERYTHING my son and I had was stored in that storage unit - clothes, furniture, appliances, electronics - EVERYTHING. Of course, I immediately contacted the Simple Moves office about the issue, which was on January 2nd of this year. I was then contacted by the owner of Simple Moves, ***** *******, who told me that an insurance claim was made. While at my apartment investigating the claim, the Insurance claims adjuster had to step out of my apartment to breathe. He stated that it was hazardous to the health of my son and me to even have the contaminated items in our apartment. He contacted Simple Moves and advised them to send a truck to remove the items from our apartment, immediately. While Mr. *******, initially spoke as if he was going to be fair about replacing the missing and damaged items, his actions have indicated otherwise. Although Nationwide Insurance contacted me and informed me that Simple Moves had indeed filed a claim regarding my property loss (exceeding $5,000), Mr. ******* seems to have settled on the decision that cleaning the items will be sufficient enough to remedy this situation. However, this is not the case. I am a single mother and just started a new job. My current income does not allow me to just go out and repurchase the items we lost (which included our beds). I do not have the time off accumulated, nor the energy, to continue to go back and forth with Mr. *******. As my recent attempts to make contact with Mr. ******* to make any significant progress in this matter have been unsuccessful, I am contacting you with the sincerest hope that you may be able to assist me in making progress. Thank you for your time and attention. La'*** *******


Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/09) */ I called ***** on 01/23/2016 and asked her to call me. I called again on 01/27/2016 and again on 01/28/2016. Three separate times I have reached out to her to try to resolve this matter. Finally on 02/02/2016 she called and left me a message saying that she does not want to hear from me. Each time that I called ***** I asked for some sort of documentation that she had paid her storage bill. She has avoided that question each and every time. Due to an inter-office problem she has made no payment to us, therefore, no items can be returned until payment has been made in full. Even thou that is true, I was willing to forgo all payments and send her a check for $1,000. Attached is the letter from our attorney. ****** ******* **** ********* St. *****, MO 63074 Re: Simple Moves Dear Ms. *******: This letter is sent on behalf of Simple Moves in regard to your refusal to accept delivery of your property that you stored with them. We have been advised that during the year that you left your possessions in the storage of Simple Moves you did not make any payments to them as and for the storage charges. Therefore, the bailment of your property by Simple Moves was a gratuitous bailment under well settled Missouri law. In such a situation Simple Moves is only responsible for damage to the property that results from their gross negligence. Simple Moves stored your property using ordinary care and there was no gross negligence involved. Simple Moves does not have a duty to guarantee that no damage **** occur to your property, no matter the source. They are not responsible for unforeseen occurrences that do not rise to the level of gross negligence. Even though Simple Moves is not legally responsible for the damage to your property that was gratuitously stored at their location due to your nonpayment, they would like to resolve this matter if possible. I have been authorized to make an offer to settle any and all claims you maybe asserting against Simple Moves for payment of $1,000.00. We believe this to be a more than reasonable offer made in a good ***** attempt to resolve this situation. Very truly yours, Gregory P. May GPM/ls cc: Simple Moves Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/02/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No he did not i called them several times regarding my things and the claim that was filed. He blew me off and kept having me speak to ***** forcing me to take the damage clothes they ruined. I have the pictures to prove the damage as well as witness his worker's ********* **** ***** *******'s and **** ******** and seveal others. I also have documentation times and dates of each and every phone call that was made to the company. I kept trying to contact ***** ******* on several occasions . I Kept getting the voice mail as well as ***** ***** as well as ******* . I'm not happy at all about this because if I didn't make any payments or pay at all then how was I able to receive our things at my new apartment ??? This man deleted the payments I made as well as take the money from my claim. What did he do with it??? If he had climal done and got 10 thousand for??? Why now all of then sudden ***** ***** and ******* he says my clothes were not covered. He is with nation wide and i know for a fact they were covered and ruined by him being neglecting to protect our belongs so called weather proof storage. He had his workers to do to do his dirty work did not damage then why who they try and offer me only 1000.00??? That's doesn't even cover my bedroom set my baby bed or none of our clothes. I'm not expecting this. I have the your contact the states you are at fault and you are entitled to replace everything in the storage. I have the policy information as well as the information you made about the claim over 5000.00 . I have voice mails with him begging me and trying to make me take back the clothes I told him 5 time's answer well as ***** ***** I didn't want them back. You are a very slick sneaky lawyer man. So why all of the sudden he don't want to pay me and give me dirty clothes that are ruined????? What about our other 2 hampers full of new our clothes??? What about all the new things that were destroyed??? He knows like I know pictures don't lie and documents won't either I know **** ******** won't lie either. He wants me to go off and curse him out so he doesn't have to pay me.SINCE I TOLD HIM I WANTED MY MONEY BACK FROM THE MONTHS VERY OF OCTOBER 2014 ALL THE WAY UP TO DECEMBER 2015. PLUS THE MONEY I PAID TO PLACE MY THINGS IN THERE 469.00. HE IS TRYING AND HAS BEEN BLACK BALLING ME AND TRYING TO FIND REASON'S NOT TO PAY ME WHAT HE KNOW HE OWES ME AND MY BLACK BABY. IAM A SINGLE MOTHER WHO JUST GOT A JOB AND A PLACE FOR US IM TRYING TO GET ON MY FEET AND CANT HE IS MAKING IT VERY HARD FOR US AND A INCONVENIENCE US. WE HAVE NOW PAIN AND SUFFERING RACIST and DECRIMINARING AGINIST ME & MY BABY. WE HAVE NOTHING AND HE REALLY DOESN'T CARE ABOUT YOUR LOSS OR HOW HARD I WORKED FOR ALL OF OUR THINGS GOT THEM ALL BRAND NEW STILL WITH TAGS ON IT 90% OF THEM OR OUR WE were WHITE or I WERE A man he would have took care of THIS WITH NO PROBLEMS and probably CATER to my EVERY NEEDS. HE IS A LIE AND THIEF AND VERY FRAUDULENT.I KNOW HIS BUSINESS OR BUILDING ISN'T UP TO PART AS THEY SHOULD BE. OR ME AND MY SON THING'S WOULDN'T BE RUINED. IT'S BLACK MOLD AND THAT'S VERY DANGEROUS FOR ANYONE TO PLACE THERE THING'S IN THERE. I URGE YOU DO NOT USE HIM FOR STORAGE OR TO MOVE YOUR THINGS. HORRIBLE PERSON AND MAN. HE **** TAKE YOUR MONEY. I CAN ALSO PROVE THAT AS WELL. I HAVE NOTHING TO HIDE HERE OR LIE ABOUT HERE BUT HE SURE MY DOES MY LAWYER **** be in touch with him before the week is over. MAYBE TOMORROW . Final Consumer Response /* (1500, 9, 2016/02/10) */

10/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: essage:I hired Simple Moves at XXX-XXX-XXXX to move my items into 2 Pods on 1/23/15. I was quoted a price of 3.5 hours at $99/hr.They moved 3 rooms into a Pod along with a mattress in the basement. A treadmill, bowflex treadclimber, a 7ft mirror and 2 other mirrors that me as a female could pick up. Nothing was moved into the pod until after 1:30 PM. They arrived at 12 PM. When I went into the house yesterday for the walk through.....My dining room leafs were left all the glass to my breakfront. And the entire queen bed with all the drawers left. They moved only a treadclimber to my apartment in Brentwood. Everything else went into the Pod.The movers explained that they knew how to access the Villas in Brentwood . That was a lie. This entire move should be investigated I have pictures of show how the Pod was loaded. I tried to retrieve my items from the truck when we arrived in Brentwood. Because the movers thought they were done. I broke my foot when I got off the truck Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: Entire refund for misrepensentation of their service and what the quote to consumers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/03/06) */ *****, thank you for talking to me this morning. As I have said (and will continue to say) we try way too hard to please our customers, for us to have someone mar our name. Attached is ****** ********* paper work and the break down that my manager ***** did in regards to her complaint. I have also attached the recording of her scheduling the job. If there is anything else that you need, please let me know. Thank You *********** S. ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 17, 2015/03/11) */ I am asking for the file to be opened again. Simple Moves moved my furniture into a Pod that was delivered this weekend to my residence. My Henradone secretary was not even wrapped in a blanket. This is a priceless piece of furniture of mine and they knew this.Simple moves locked the pod not me. My chrismas wreath, Ralph Lauren overnight bag and table lamps are missing. My end table was not even wrapped and is ruined. My sofa table has black scuffs all over the top. I want my antique henradone picked up by an antique restoration company and refinished from the scratches and brought back the way it left my home I had another company move my furniture into my apartment taking each peice of furniture. And moving over 500 feet down a hill on a dolly into my apartment and moved my entired dining room set, bed room set and patio furniture to storage and charged me $450. With 1 person for the first 1.5 hours then

6/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired SM to load a portable storage unit from a 950sqft house. Everything was already packed, disassembled & labelled as store or not store. SM estimated for 2 people at 2-3 hours. Our crew was scheduled to arrive between 8am & 9am; They called at 8:19am said they would arrive in 25-30 min. Showed up at 9:15, smelled of marijuana & were smoking cigarettes while parking & unloading. We had labelled all the items with blue tape-to be stored & yellow tape-do not store & explained this & our priority to get all the large furniture in the unit first. We told them we would carry small items so they could focus on larger items. It took 1 hr to move 1 disassembled bedroom set. They were slow, stopped often, frequently checked phones & often took trips with 1 small item. Multiple times, they moved items that were not to be stored & I stopped them in time; once was a large custom framed photo that they hadn't wrapped in any way. It worries me what I didn't catch or that the unit was packed without care for how other items were labelled. We were running out of room but hadn't moved the sofa, chair & loveseat: all priority. They were confused when I told them we needed those packed too. After 3.5 hrs they asked to leave although there was more to pack. When signing off they listed their start time at 9am which we questioned, but they said that they worked until 12:38 so it evened out. I contacted the company owner on May 18 & didn't get a follow up call for 3 weeks. I was told they would do "additional training" & was asked how they could resolve my complaint. I asked for refund of half of the total hourly rate (about $150.00) & was told "if they gave back money to everyone who thought they didn't work fast enough they would be out of business." I was finally offered a 30 min($50.00) refund & $50.00 gift card for SM. I didn't want a giftcard because I wasn't using them again; he told me to "sell it on ********** for $40" I received the refund in the mail it was just a $100 SM giftcard, no refund. Product_Or_Service: Moving Services

Desired Settlement: I would like at least a 50% refund of my payment and waive of the $100.00 service charge after all the run around, bad service and attitude from the owner of the company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/17) */ I, ***** ******* (owner of Simple Moves) was absolutely nothing but courteous to Mrs. *******. I explained that the crew arrived at 9:06 that morning, a total of 6 minutes late. We have GPS on all of our trucks. I believe that most customers would not mention a crew being 6 minutes late. Mrs. ******* said that they (the crew) smelled like marijuana. All of our employees are drug tested before hiring, after an incident, on suspicion, or just random. Every month we draw two names out of a hat and tell them that they must take a drug test. These employees were tested and both results came back as negative. I explained to Mrs. ******* that some cigarettes can smell like marijuana. She seemed to understand that. I told her that we would offer her a $50.00 Simple Moves GC, but decided to do one step better and offer her $100.00 GC instead. I gave her double than what she had agreed to. This is something that I try to do to keep our customers happy. Furthermore we refunded her credit card $49.50, which is 30 minutes of work as promised. If she would have looked at her credit card statement and had seen the credit this report to the BBB probably would not have happened. Her credit was issued on June 1st at 13:44 transaction number XXXXXXXXXX. I hope that Mrs. ******* realizes her mistake and contacts you and asks to have her complaint withdrawn.

2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had this company move me on August 9th 2014 when they moved my things they damaged my belongings and broke items. Left marks or holes on the walls. I complained to the company about the damage that the did to my belongings. They claim they are not responsible because they didn't box it up. They rolled the boxes down the ramp causing damage to my belongings, I told them twice not to that and they continued. They even rolled the boxes that said breakable. I called the office and they told me they were supposed to do that. I never witnessed anything like that before using carelessness while moving my belongings. After 9 hours and 45 minutes of waiting for them to finish I told them to stop and and I would I finish it myself. My son and I moved the rest ourselves with our cars. They quoted $630 to $730 minus my 10 % senior discount. After the time they were there damaging my things by carelessly rolling my boxes out of their truck. They gave me a invoice for $1386. I told them that wasn't what I was quoted, they told me it was because it took so much longer. I feel they were taking advantage of me being a senior widow. They had three men and one of them didn't do anything. They only wrapped my antique china cabinet while moving it. They damaged my side by side stainless steel refrigerator scratching and denting the doors. I have been trying to work something out with this company and feel I'm getting nowhere. I am missing 2 valuable rings 1 valued at $2000 and the other $5000, they broke my Waterford crystal which were wrapped in bubble wrap and even put bubble wrap between them. the rolled the boxes down the ramp and broke them. I was very upset about it and they knew this. There are many thing they damaged are irreplaceable. At no time did they tell me the price had changed until I stopped them and they gave me the invoice.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to take responsibility for the damages they caused with carelessness and inconsideration of my valuables. I feel I shouldn't pay more than what I was quoted me. The highest cost was $730 minus the 10% senior discount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/05) */ We have tried everything possible to please this customer, but our efforts are futile. There is nothing that we can do to please this customer. Below is a list of what we have done trying to make a bad situation better. 1. Any and all damages need to be reported to us within 48 business hours or the claim will be denied. She signed our contract saying that she knows and understands that.(our contract is on our web site as well) She called six days after the move, even though the claim should have been denied, we did not, but tried to make her happy. 2. We sent out our claim representative to see what had happened and to fix any and everything that he could. 3. We sent out *** with furniture medic to fix whatever she needed, and she was still not happy. 4. If anything breaks in a box that we have not packed ourselves, we are not responsible. We have no idea how the box was packed, or if the items in boxes are already broken. It is an industry standard to be held responsible only for items that were professionally packed. (This is also stated in our contract). Even thou we hold no responsibility for damaged items in a box, we still sent another claim representative, which offered our customer a cash settlement of $300.00. Even thou we needed to offer her nothing, she still was not happy We have tried very hard to please her by sending out a repair person, two separate claim specialists, and offering her a cash settlement, when the claim was reported to us well after the fact, and nothing should have ever been done from the beginning. As you can see, we have tried very hard, but have realized that there is no way to make this customer happy. Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2014/11/18) */ They agreed to refund $400 but I have not received a refund. I spoke to them about 1 week ago and I was told they had to talk to the agent before they would send a check. Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2015/01/29) */ 01/30/2015: Mediator left message for consumer. 02/06/2015: Mediator left message for consumer. 02/12/2015: Mediator left message for consumer.

9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had them come last Saturday to help us move. They did not use anything to put down on the carpet. When we set it up with them, we weren't told anything about protecting the floors. We called and talked to ******* and all she told us was to mention to the guys when they come in to put something down on the carpet. The company came but didn't cover the carpets. The guy I spoke with told me it's supposed to be in the paperwork because they charge you $25 for carpet roll. I asked why they didn't bring any and was told I was supposed to order it. Another manager, ****** called me and told me I should have had it in the paperwork and if it's not in the paperwork they don't know it. What kind of company does this kind of service without covering the floor? After speaking to both managers on Saturday, I was offered a 10% discount. He said the general manager, ***** would call me on Monday but I have not heard from anyone all week. We refused to pay on Saturday and they said we'd speak to the GM and now we don't know if they've charged our credit card or what. What ended up happening was they rolled the wheels on the carpet, and the carpet has gotten dirty.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to take a bigger discount off the move because they did not disclose the requirements to protect our carpet.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/27) */ I was hoping that our customers had realized that there was a lack of communication between them and that they would do the honorable thing, and let you know that they were informed two separate times that we have carpet protection for sale. I have a voice recording of our office staff letting the gentleman know that we do have carpet protection on our truck and that the carpet protection was for sale, if they would like to purchase some if needed, i will forward that recording on to your office. I have already sent the recording to our customers. Below is the email that I have already sent to our customers. ******* and ******* My name is *****; I am the owner of Simple Moves. I would like to start off by apologizing that you did not receive the service that you were hoping for or expected. I really wish that instead of going right to the BBB, you would have given us a call back. We are human and calls and messages are missed, especially on the weekends when we have fewer people in the office. I have gone back and reviewed all of the phone calls to and from our office, and have realized that you were informed that we do have carpet shields on our trucks and that we sell them for $20.00 each. We cannot just give carpet protection to anyone. It is no difference than if you need boxes to move your items. These items are sold and not given away. We also state on our contract, that we are not responsible for dirty or soiled carpets, and that we have carpet shields available for sale. You may go to our website and read the exact wording. *******************. (Then look under documents) I have attached the phone recording of my office staff letting you know that we carry them and that they are for sale. I hope with this new information, you do realize that we try very hard to take care of our customers, and that we have made you aware two separate times or ways (contract and your phone recording) that we have carpet protection, but it is for sale. I am also hoping that you let the BBB know that there was miscommunication between the two of you and that you are willing to remove your complaint against our company. Thank You *********** S. ******* Owner (XXX) XXX-XXXX ext. *** ****** ******************* After reading the above, I hope that it is noted that we did everything in our power to take care of our customers, and that this report should be completely removed from our record.

7/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/26/2014 Delivery Issues
12/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

18 Customer Reviews on Simple Moves
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart