BBB Accredited Business since

McGuire Moving Co.

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 241-0600 Fax: (314) 241-4749 View Additional Phone Numbers 8645 S Broadway, Saint Louis, MO 63111 http://www.mcguiremoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McGuire Moving Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McGuire Moving Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on McGuire Moving Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 13, 1988 Business started: 10/09/1979 Business started locally: 10/09/1979
Business Management
Dan McGuire, President Robert McGuire
Contact Information
Principal: Dan McGuire, President
Business Category

Moving / Storage Companies Chairs - Rent Movers

Alternate Business Names
McGuire Moving & Storage Co.

Additional Locations

  • 3800 S Broadway

    Saint Louis, MO 63118 (314) 621-0011 (314) 771-4617 (314) 241-0600

  • 8645 S Broadway

    Saint Louis, MO 63111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We use McGuire Moving to use as a Arpin Agent when we need to be moved. We moved three miles down the road and this was a two part move. They went over there estimate for both moves. They broke 4 pieces of furniture. They lost the screws two my TV's and lost the bolts for shelving for a piece of my furniture. They did fix the furniture they broke and had to terminate an employee. When I ask for a refund for the time and aggravation over these issues they only gave me 5% back of a $3,000 move. I called twice about a larger refund but they never return my call. Finally I was sent a email by the secretary who told me to call the owner. Not for him to call me but I had to call him. When I did he accused me of saying things about his son that I did not say. He also used the F word several times at me and yell at me constantly on the phone. I had to ask him to calm down several times. He then hung up on me. When I call back to the office I was told he was done with the conversation and would not talk to me. I told the secretary I would contact the BBB she the said we thought you would do that and hung up on me. Product_Or_Service: Moving

Desired Settlement: I would like for my chair to be fix, an adjustment to my bill that I agree on, and a personal apology from the owner. I have lodge a complaint with Arpin as well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2016/03/03) */ In his complaint, Mr. ********** outlines some issues with the move, all of which were fixed promptly, but his summary misses the mark. First, we're an agent for Arpin Van Lines, but only on long distance interstate moves. I've tried to explain that to ****, I assume he's reaching out because he's not getting his way with us. It's all McGuire here at **** ***** ********* nobody else. The sofa sleeper was not broken, but is of unique construction and reassembly needed an expert's hand. It's a very nice sofa sleeper with a newfangled mechanism we had no familiarity with, but we found an expert to reassemble it in pretty short order. It was moved safely otherwise, we just didn't know the tricks needed to put it back together. The TV base screws were in one of the TV boxes, not lost, and the packaging including the screws for the other TV was already thrown out by the customer by the time our serviceman made it by - but they were in the box, had they looked closer. Our guy found replacements at the hardware store and replaced them the same day. We ordered the shelf pins on Amazon and delivered them as soon as they arrived; they cost almost nothing but I think they shipped from China so it wasn't quite as fast as anyone hoped. The damage to the chair Mr. ********* mentions briefly in the "Desired Resolution" field was actually discovered quite a while after everything else was handled, and its discovery coincides curiously with our refusal to meet his most recent demand that we refund the entire cost of the move. With regard to the estimate and final cost, the job changed, so the estimate is immaterial. An extra pickup of several items at another stop was added, it was a different job than we estimated, and it's a "time and materials" arrangement anyways, the terms of which were signed for and accepted by the customer beforehand - no surprises. **** wasn't even present for the move and his wife tipped the movers quite nicely, because even in light of the few loose ends to be wrapped up, we did a nice job overall! Communication from our end effectively stopped after Mr. ********** felt it necessary to call our office after hanging up on me and berate ****** and make a number of super-personal insults towards myself, my family, and the company using foul language and blind assumptions about our values, our upbringing, our parenting, and our work ethics. It was quite unnecessary and unwarranted. Despite all of this from him, we have never hung up on him, nor have we cursed him. We have since, and will continue to refuse to take his subsequent calls though, and as a matter of principle, we will not be making any personal apologies to Mr. *********. Further refunds are not forthcoming either. We did vow to help with the repair of the newly discovered damaged chair, as a good-faith gesture, curious timing or not, and that offer still stands. That is the kind of company we have always been, and always will be. ****'s wife has offered to intercept correspondence and be the point of contact, I'd ask her to follow up with ****** here about proceeding with the repair process for the chair, if she so chooses. We appreciate the forum the BBB provides for both parties to be heard. Thank you, **** *******

11/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: McGuire admittedly damaged an antique armoire. Promised to have it repaired and returned to me some weeks ago (they moved the piece on August 20). Have called them once, they promised to have it ready in 2 weeks, haven't been heard from since. Product_Or_Service: Moving service

Desired Settlement: Would like the piece returned to me immediately and any additional repairs needed should be paid for by Mcguire to the restorer I select. If piece is damaged beyond compare, McGuire owes me $1500.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/11/19) */ We delivered this to the consumer the week of November 10. This was an antique and we took our time to ensure the issue was done correctly. She was happy when we delivered it to her. ***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on McGuire Moving Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart