BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/02/2013

A B C Moving & Storage Inc

Phone: (636) 532-1300Fax: (636) 532-1305View Additional Phone Numbers633 Goddard Ave # 2, ChesterfieldMO 63005-1103 Send email to A B C Moving & Storage Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/02/2013

BBB has determined that A B C Moving & Storage Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A B C Moving & Storage Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A B C Moving & Storage Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
10/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Move was to be completed in one day. Belongings were not moved into destination until 3 days later. I have requested compensation for delay.
ABC moving sent a representative to give me a quote on a local move. My belongings were to be picked up on Friday 1/4/13 and delivered on 1/4/13 to a location 21.9 miles away. The movers showed up late, took nearly all of the time alloted for the entire move just to load the furniture, then took almost 3 hours to make the 21.9 mile trip to my new home. When they finally got to my new home they told me they did not have time to unload my belongings and they would bring it back the next day. The next day would have been a Saturday and they did not tell me that they do not work on Saturday until they were in their truck and leaving. They did not deliver my furniture until Monday, and they were late for the appointment on Monday. Their excuse on Monday was that they got lost. That was odd since one of the movers that "got lost" on Monday was just there on Friday. I specifically scheduled the move on a Friday so that I would have the weekend to unpack, and I had extra help lined up for the weekend. Since they did not deliver on Friday, I lost the weekend to unpack and had to take Monday off from work. In addition to not getting my furniture as agreed, the movers tore a hole in the flooring when they were loading my furniture and tracked mud onto my new carpet when they delivered my furniture. They also lost parts to a piece of furniture and just dropped them in the mail instead of contacting me to give me the option to pick them up. When I finally received the parts in the mail, they were not all there. At the end of the move I disputed the charges but I was told they could leave furniture on the truck if payment was not made in full. I decided I would contact the sales rep that quoted the move and request a refund. I sent the sales rep several e-mails regarding the problems with the move and asking for a partial refund but I never heard back from him. I was also told by one of the movers that the company would contact me about repairing the floor and cleaning my carpet. I never heard from anybody with the company. I recently learned that the sales rep no longer works for the company and so I have been communicating with somebody else from the company. I have been trying to get this resolved for over 3 months now and ABC moving has refused to offer me anything more than $50 to compensate for the tear in the flooring and carpet cleaning.

Desired Settlement
I have spent much time trying to get this resolved fairly. At this point I would accept splitting the charges for the second day, plus the compensation for the flooring repair and cleaning. Half of the second day is $135, and the flooring is $50, so the total I am seeking is $185.

Business Response
Good morning. I have investigated this issue thoroughly. I have also reached out to Ms. and had a very civil conversation about this matter. Frankly, she was surprised to hear from ABC. I apologized to Ms. on the local service performed on her January move. I am one to believe there are always two sides to an issue, however this was mediocre service at best. I have attached a letter that was mailed today outlining the compromise and settlement. I also explained to consumer that this letter would be sent out this week to her attention and I would need her signature for the company to proceed going forward. I will keep you updated on this matter.



****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/12/1983Business started: 12/01/1964
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1964, MO

Contact Information
Principal: Rebeckah L. Hoover (President)Customer Contact: Eric Greene (General Manager) Ellen Disch (Accounts Receivable)
Business Category

Movers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A B C Moving & Storage Inc

633 Goddard Ave # 2

Chesterfield, MO 63005-1103

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 633 Goddard Ave # 2 

    Chesterfield, MO 63005-1103(636) 532-1300
    (800) 325-1306

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A B C Moving & Storage Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 325-1306
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.