This business is not BBB accredited.

Concrete Masonry & Stone

Phone: (573) 358-3891 1123 Old Cadet Rd, Bonne Terre, MO 63628 http://cms-concrete.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Concrete Masonry & Stone include:

  • 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Concrete Masonry & Stone include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Concrete Masonry & Stone
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 07, 2003 Business started: 06/01/2003 Business started locally: 06/01/2003 Business incorporated 09/10/2010 in MO
Business Management
Mr. Ronald D. Nash Jr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald D. Nash Jr., Owner
Business Category

Mason Contractors Patio Builder Retaining Walls Paving Stones Concrete - Stamped & Decorative Hearth & Patio Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete Contractors - Retaining Wall Concrete Contractors Floors - Garage Foundation Contractors


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1123 Old Cadet Rd

    Bonne Terre, MO 63628

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/13/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
4/13/2016 Delivery Issues
12/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr **** has not finished the work promised on our patio. Bricks need to be scrubbed and concrete needs to be sealed. We still owe Mr. **** $250. Product_Or_Service: concrete/brick patio

Desired Settlement: We would like the job finished THIS MONTH. If that is not possible I want a Lien Release.

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Portion of concrete driveway is cracked and drain is not connected in front yard. Insufficient fill dirt was supplied to area that was flattened In April of 2014 *** **** came out and gave an estimate and then in May he tore out our 3 car driveway, front sidewalk and 2 front porches. The project was not finished until mid August of 2014. In doing this the Bobcat destroyed our front yard but *** assured us he would bring black dirt in to level it out. He spread a minimal amount of dirt over the area but a year later you can see the tracks in the yard and a small lake forms whenever it rains. We pointed out to him the drain that went under the driveway to make sure it wasn't obstructed but we believe he enclosed the wall over the drain pipe exit. The right front section of driveway between the front porch and the garage has cracked and is spreading at this point since we first reported to *** back in March. He said he would come look at it but he never showed up. After numerous phone calls we feel this complaint is the best option to get results. We fear another winter with freezing and thawing will crack it even further. We paid over 13,000 dollars for this project and expected a professional job. He was paid in full at conclusion and has ignored our requests for resolution of these problems.

Desired Settlement: We would like more fill dirt in the front yard, the drain pipe to cleared out so water can run through the drain under the driveway again and replacement of section of concrete that is cracked. We would like this resolved by October 2015 by the latest

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/03) */ To Whom it my concern, This project was completed last summer these issues are not my responsibility.The drain has to be maintained by the home owner after installation due to sediment from lawn area. Concrete will crack it is a poured in place material the is effected by the elements. All we can to is try to control the cracking with expansion material and by tool grooving, if you research concrete you will find out that there is no way to determine when and where it may crack. You will also find there are no concrete companies that guarantee against cracking. As far as the lawn needing fill, the yard was graded, seeded, and strawed, we conducted a walk thru with the client before final payment and they were satisfied with the project. I am sure that all of the rain we have had has caused some erosion and that is a act of God. You can not expect my company to warranty issues such as this after almost a year. Thank you, *** ****/CMS

6/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** **** with Concrete Masonry and Stone (also d/b/a Manchester Concrete)contracted with us to tear out and pour approximately 440 square feet of patio with accompanying walkway. New patio was to be poured with colored concrete. Company's work was sub-par. My yard was destroyed; ran over sprinkler heads with back hoe (even though the heads were clearly marked with flags); company conveniently placed a trash can over holes left in concrete and we did not discover this until after they were paid in full; a finished edge was not put around rear of garage; finish around drain pipe and down spout was not professionally completed; due to inadequate finish around garage - caulking had to be put down and the caulking job was sloppy; pits in concrete; pavers were not straight along edge of patio due to inconsistent concrete job. Contacted Mr. **** and he informed me that "this was outdoor construction and not kitchen cabinets". Mr. ****'s employee by the name of **** came to look at the job after we had complained and he informed us that there was nothing he could do about it and he thought Mr. **** should tear out the entire job and do it again. The only time Mr. **** came to the jobsite, to my knowledge, was to pick up his check for the balance. This whole situation has been a nightmare and has caused us excessive stress. We relied on the company to do a professional job which he claimed they would do and felt like this was a total scam. Also, when it was time to settle the balance, Mr. **** offered me a 15% discount (according to him he offered me a 10% discount); I told him I had the contract which he had signed indicating 15% - so he then conceded and told me that he miscalculated. We did pay him in full and are now requesting a refund due to the fact that we have to have another contractor come in and clean up the job; have irrigation system repaired and reseed lawn. I have pictures of the job to uphold my complaint. Product_Or_Service: March 17, 2015

Desired Settlement: refund of $2500.00 to have an overlay placed over the entire job and to reimburse for sprinkler heads and additional grass seed which had to be bought

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/06/17) */ The job was completed, they paid me in full. I had guys over there doing all of the touch up's she asked me to do and she is still not satisfied. Her husband reached out to me today and we told him we were participating in mediation between you two. He is going to speak to his wife and we are going to try to work between us.

4/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ****/CMS hired for concrete patio/retaining wall/play area project. Work has many issues, never finished. Company has multiple/always changing employees and never comes back when they say. Owner, ***, very nasty attitude, very unprofessional. Often yelled & cursed at us, in-front of crew and neighbors. Advised us his crew is from ********** and the likes and never checks back-round or if employee can do what they claim. Our job very clearly shows this. Never given proper contract. This job started 5/2/13. Company has tricked funds from us by forcing us to pay concrete pour co separate. Concrete patio has pitting, un-level, moving slabs.3 Separate slabs when suppose to be one pour. Never saw-cut, no re-bar to hold slabs together. 4 cracks still getting bigger, 2 major cracks were instant upon pour. One pour didn't have adequate sand, concrete wouldn't "set". Retaining Wall is falling over, no proper footing, stained from glue spots & concrete acid wash,(actually one foot print) tops/blocks not glued down, coming loose in areas, damaged caps. Play area has pee-gravel coming thru wall & spilling into yard as not dug down properly. Also spilling onto patio, blocks put in this area do not fit! Company trashed property during work, leaving trash/tools/concrete chunks, etc. behind. Crew took tool/wood-homeowner's property without asking. Completely tore up yard, damaged our & neighbors property getting concrete on our fences, cutting our electric dog fence, etc. We have been told, for over a year & a half, time and time again, "I'll be there tomorrow". Currently *** keeps saying he will get us on the schedule. There is clearly no intention of completing and fixing this project. This company has been a disaster from the start. All work has been terrible. Communication efforts have went unnoticed. I have detailed dated information written separately I can submit. Product_Or_Service: Concrete work

Desired Settlement: Proper Repair/Replacement or settlement to accommodate a new company taking care of the work. Prefer new company as this one is horrible to work with.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/04) */ To whom it may concern, This client never paid balance, he is the one that started raising he voice to me and my workers. most of the retaining was installed by owner my company only added on. I do not change employees i still have same worker for the past five years.i admit some repairs were n needed i was willing to do so. so at this point this what i offer, 2000.00 for repairs. Thank you for your services, ***/CMS Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/12/11) */ There was existing retaining wall at the home, but he also put in two whole other areas of retaining wall. I have photographs and proof showing he put in retaining wall. They damaged an existing wall that was here and said they would fix it but never did. I ended up fixing it. He took apart existing retaining walls so he could fill in also. There was nothing wrong with the wall until they took it apart and put concrete down. The other wall they built themselves is a major concern because it is leaning over very far and the back fill is coming out. One of his own workers, ***** came here and told me it needed to be redone before it came apart. I am not sure what he means by $2,000 for repairs. If he means that he would refund me $2,000 so I could repair, I do not believe that would be sufficient and would most likely be double. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2015/01/27) */ 2/04/2015: This project began in May 2013 and I have made many attempts to have the business correct the problems. I have attempted to have an estimate done to correct the problems, but they stated the work is not repairable. It simply needs to be torn out and redone. I am seeking a total refund for $7,100. 3/17/2015: I am rejecting the offer for a $2,000 refund. I am considering getting written repair estimates to correct their work. I did pay them and I have the cancelled checks to prove it. Final Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2015/01/27) */ 2/24/2015: Mediator left message for business. 3/03/2015: I made a previous offer of $2,000 and stated that the consumer had not paid me for the work. 3/10/2015: Business left message for consumer. 3/17/2015: Mediator called business to discuss resolution. 3/24/2015: Mediator left message for business.

9/17/2014 Delivery Issues
3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: have contacted *** **** numerous times to take care of crack in steps and un-level grade on patio at sliding door November 2012 side walk steps and patio were poured. After work was done three weeks later the throat of our steps were cracked completely across and when it rained we had water standing in front of our sliding glass door which leaked into our finished basement.we do have pictures of the water in our basement. We contacted *** **** immediately asked him to come and look at the defects. We were told he would come and look. Never showed up called him numerous times before he came by when we were not home and just laid a business card on our porch. He only at that time looked at the step. We contacted him again this time he finally met with my husband who showed him the puddling problem with garden hose in front of our sliding glass door. He assured us he would remove the slab and replace it along with replacing of the step with in two weeks now it has been over a month and still not called or made arrangements to correct the problems even though he was in our subdivision numerous times . Every time we talked to him about the problems he blamed it on his employee that he said had been fired since then. We feel we have given him sufficient time to correct his poorly done work with nothing but promises to correct his work which never were kept. We are not the only costumers in our subdivision that have had problems with this company to complete or correct poor workmanship.

Desired Settlement: To replace slab and steps as he had promised or refund so we can have a reputable contractor correct the problems his company created.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/08/28) */ I talked to the home owner yesterday and we will fix all it by next week. The water in the basement is caused by no seal on door. It is not caused by my work. The employee that did the job no longer works for us. We will take care of it. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 17, 2013/09/10) */ This is to update you on our situation. Mr **** had informed the BBB and us that he would take care of our concerns by the end of last week 9-6-2013 this did not happen he never showed up or did he call to keep in touch. My husband had to call him today the 9th of September to find out why he did not come. His excuse was it was to hot out last week which is not true last week was in the low 80's now he says he will be here by the end of this week 9-13-13 More promises that hopefully wont be broken. We need to know what our options are if he does not show up again or does not contact us? Please advise. Thank you Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 25, 2013/12/17) */ 11/26/2013: I will call back. 12/02/2013: Consumer left message for mediator. 12/03/2013: I called company on 10/07 and was told by owner to get bid to replace and forward to him. We got three bids and forwarded them to owner, $1,900-$2,600. We talked with him yesterday and he only got one bid. We resent the three bids yesterday. 12/03/2013: I am sending and email to BBB with three bids. I was told that the company will pay to have the bad area replaced. Total job cost $4,180 and to repair the bids are $1,900 to $2,600. The reason the steps cracked was they put no steel reinforcement in the concrete. 12/16/2013: I spoke with Mr. **** and he agreed to send me a $1,900 refund, in the form of a cashier's check within the next two weeks. Final Business Response /* (1000, 26, 2013/12/17) */ 12/03/2013: Mediator left message for business. 12/10/2013: Mediator left message for business.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Concrete Masonry & Stone
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart