BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

A One Tuckpointing

Fax: (314) 381-4020

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
02/19/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
(NAME) Masonry Company won a bid to do Masonry work to our tornado damaged building (a future homeless shelter for veterans). Mr. (NAME) collected $5,600.00 from us....now 7 months later - still no work has been done to the building and he will not return our calls.
Product_Or_Service: masonry repair

Desired Settlement
Failure to perform the work as agreed in a timely fashion, has cost more damage (weather) to the building. We would like to have our money refunded including additional monies to cover the additional repairs needed due to weather damage and vandelism to the property.

Business' Initial Response
This did not start 7 months ago.. The scaffolding is up there and we are starting next week.. They never gave me any money for this job..

Consumer Response
They have not started the work nor have they called me.


Consumer Response
see attached


Consumer Response
01/29/2013: I will send in the proof that I paid him. This job has still not been completed and I want a refund.


Business Response
1/30/2013: Mediator left message for business.

1/31/2013: Mediator called business but was unable to leave message as phone number was no longer working.

10/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid contractor a down payment on chimney tucking work. He work set up equipment, worked 2 days and did not come back and complete job.

I entered into a contract with ***** ****** to tuckpoint 4 chimneys on my house as well as spot tuckpointing areas around the back of the house and porch. The contract total for the job was $2,ooo. I paid him $1,000.00 by check number **** dated August 14, 2013. This check was cashed. A friend on mine gave him (*****)an additional $800.00 cash not knowing that I had already given him money. ***** came to my house on August 15, 2013 and set up scaffolding for the job. He came back August 16th and started work on the first chimney. He came back on August 17 and performed additional work on first chimney. He came by August 18th and 19th and said he was sick and could not work and he would be back on August 20th. He did not return ever again. I called him repeatedly for several days but he did not answer or return my calls. The number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. He called me two weeks later and said he was in the hospital under going test for colon cancer and said he would give me a partial refund. He never did and never called back. I called him again but he did not answer or return by call. The last call I made to him was September 11, 2013. I hired someone else to complete the job. It was completed within a week.

Desired Settlement
***** was given ******** for the job. I want a refund of $1500.00.

08/22/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They were supposed to be doing plumbing and electricity. He had a card showing all of his work. The guy said that he was supposed to be finished by Friday of LAST week. I gave him more than half of the money down. They worked maybe one full day. I asked about his permits and he said they were going to go on lunch and he left the permits on another site. I asked him to pick them up while he was at lunch. I have not seen him since. He is not answering the phone. I gave him $1,700 out of $2,200. My friend that referred me to him, one of ****** friends also, tried to call him but he did not answer. One of his employees came and smelled of alcohol and said he was there to check the plumbing. He still didn't have the permits. This was 7pm and there was no light for him to work in. He was wanting to hook things up to electric. I wasn't letting him do this at night in the dark. He asked if I didn't want the work done. He didn't even come with a flash light. I dont have insurance on this house right now. He said "Oh so you dont want it done?". I told him no. I called ***** to let him know I couldn't let this man work. He never answered the phone. I sent him texts asking about the permits and he never responds. He called his employee back. I tried to get his employee to call him back but he said he only had one minute on his phone and couldn't talk. I called the police and they told me it was a civil matter.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my money back. The little plumbing they did has left water squirting out of the pipes at the seals.

01/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mr. (NAME) was to repair the dornmer on my roof he removed roof shingles around the dornmer and left rotten wood on the dornmer.
Mr. (NAME) stated that he needed additional money to purchase the wood for the dornmer but he never replaced the rotten wood,

Desired Settlement
Because he did not honor what is on the proposal and was paid I would like my money back. The job that Mr.(NAME)performed on my dornmer has caused squirrels to enter my attic because there are holes on each side of the dornmer.

Consumer's Final Response
the phone numbers that I have for Mr. ****** are XXX-XXX-XXXX and his niece that is a business ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX

12/21/2012Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
He was contacted to do some work on our driveway. What he wanted to do was our tuckpointing but we told him we did not need any. He was writing a proposal down and we were supposed to give him $300 down. When he came back with the info he wanted another $600 for materials. Thats what the $300 was for. He called and asked if we decided. We said no and that we did not want it. He came by and dropped off some cement, which wasn't required for the job because it is asphalt. He sent someone to pick it up. He took the $300 and cashed the check and has not been back. He will not contact us, will not answer us, and will not return calls.

Desired Settlement
We want him to return our money.

03/27/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
05/24/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mason Contractors, Tuck Pointing, Contractors - General

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.