BBB Accredited Business since

El-Mel Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 741-2117 Fax: (314) 741-3596 View Additional Phone Numbers 6185 N US Highway 67, Florissant, MO 63034 http://elmel.stihldealer.net/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that El-Mel Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for El-Mel Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on El-Mel Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 25, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1961 Business started locally: 01/01/1961 Business incorporated 01/01/1980 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Stella Stellhorn, Co Owner Beth Knobbe Mrs. Melba Wolff, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Beth Knobbe
Principal: Stella Stellhorn, Co Owner
Business Category

Lawn Mowers Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Su: Closed
H: Closed

Additional Locations

  • 2139 1st Capitol Dr

    Saint Charles, MO 63301 (636) 723-4878 (800) 243-5635 (636) 946-9049

  • 6185 N US Highway 67

    Florissant, MO 63034 (314) 741-2117

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 6, 2013 I purchased a **** lawn mower for $310.07 with a two year warranty. I have only used it four times and then it wouldn't start. I had my son take it to them today and they said it would take two weeks for them to look at it. I called and talked to *** ******* and he said he had 50 people in front of me. He then said if I didn't believe him I could come up and look at all the request to be fixed. He was rude to me. I asked for the owner and he said his name was ***** ******** and you must write to him. I just wanted to know when I could get my lawn mower back.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to treat me with respect. I would like them to look at the lawn mower now and not wait two weeks. I want to know what is wrong with the lawn mower.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/22) */ Consumer was contacted directly by the owner. The issue was discussed and explained. The lawnmower had a fuel related problem that is not covered by warranty. The lawnmower has been serviced. The customer has picked up the unit. We believe the issue has been resolved to the customer's satisfaction.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on El-Mel Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart