BBB Accredited Business since

Green T Lawncare St Louis

Phone: (636) 477-0707 View Additional Phone Numbers 5957 Highway N, Saint Charles, MO 63304 http://www.greentlawn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Green T Lawncare St Louis meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Green T Lawncare St Louis include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Green T Lawncare St Louis
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 02, 2010 Business started: 11/03/2004 Business started locally: 11/03/2004 Business incorporated 11/03/2004 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jonathan Weber, Manager Mr. Joseph Khouri, President Mr. Robert Underhill, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Underhill, Manager
Principal: Jonathan Weber, Manager
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Weed Control Service Fertilizers


Additional Locations

  • 5957 Highway N

    Saint Charles, MO 63304 (636) 470-0707 (636) 477-0707

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have always done my lawn myself but last year the nuts edge kicked my butt. I decided, after 30 years on my own, to try a lawn service. The sales rep was nice and answered my questions. I asked about nuts edge and crab grass issues. She said they have a pre-emergent for both. I questioned her about nuts edge pre-emergent as there is no such thing on the market. She said yes there is and that if I see any weeds to give them a call and they would come back and spray the weeds. I called them four times in 3 months. Crab grass galore and nuts edge in early June. I was told very begrudgingly by the same male rep that if I wanted, they could sent a rep out but it wouldn't be until next week. He also told me in early June that nuts edge is normally not treated until July. I told him it is too late to treat nuts edge over a month after it starts showing up. Again he begrudgingly said he would send a rep out in a week or so. The rep sprayed one small area by my driveway and killed the grass. There were many more places of nuts edge that were untouched. I called and cancelled the service and requested a refund of our last payment. I was told by the manager that no refunds are allowed but they will come back until they make things right. I told him no just cancel. I will do it again myself. Guess what? I sprayed my nuts edge myself and it's gone- and i didnt kill my grass. Green T is a waste of money and very poor customer service. Out of all the treatments we made, there was not an improvement on our lawn. The last treatment, the employee was out for ten minutes and was supposed to be treating the entire lawn for nuts edge. He only was in one spot. Our neighbor mentioned this and brought it to our attention. From their website: Green T’s comprehensive lawn care program is second to none. THE GREEN GUARANTEE Green T is proud to be a leading lawn care professional in the St. Louis region. We are locally run and operated and therefore understand the needs of our community. Our lawn care technicians are State board qualified and meticulously treat your lawn each time with care, quality, and understanding. We continually assess your lawn and take proactive steps to ensure your lawn stays healthy and looks great. If an issue should arise between applications, GREEN offers unlimited FREE service calls. We will work diligently to resolve any issues with your lawn, because we’re not happy until you’re happy. Customer satisfaction is our guarantee to you! Six-month guarantee on crabgrass Free nutsedge and fungicide treatments as needed ************************************************************************************************* We now have crabgrass and wasn't there at the beginning our their service. There is nothing on their website that the payments for treatments are non-refundable. If they followed their policy per the website, then there would not be a reason for them to have to come back. We paid them for services they perform their website and we didn't receive.

Desired Settlement: Refund two treatments ($54.00)

Business Response:

To Whom it may Concern,

 

We take every customer call very seriously, Green T's Guarantee is second to none in the industry. We do not charge extra for service calls (in between application revisits), and we don't stop until the job is done. 

Lawn conditions are determined by the weather, and the Midwest has extreme conditions of excessive rain, extreme heat, and drought periods. Nutsedge is a water based grassy-weed that flourishes under these conditions, and the effectiveness of our treatment depends on some cooperation from Mother Nature. As we all know, this season has been one of the extremes in one way or another all season long, and these conditions are prime growing times for both nutsedge and crabgrass. We do offer to all of our customers free service calls in between regularly scheduled applications. As mentioned before, the weather has a direct effect on the outcome of our applications, and we will do what needs to be done to get the job done, no matter what. 

The most important part of Green T is that we always answer calls and are always willing to go back and retreat. We do pride ourselves on excellent customer service, and I apologize if you feel that our representative seemed "begrudging", our employees are all trained to handle customer concerns with the utmost respect. 

We would like to offer Mr and Mrs ******* another treatment at no charge, and allow us to finish with the rest of the treatemnts for the year. We do a 7 step application for a reason, lawn care is a process, and sometimes takes a full season to begin to see the true results take place. 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

From this company's lengthy reply about the lawn conditions that are determined by the weather, this incident that lead to this complaint had no impact on the technician only spending 10 minutes treating our nutsedge in ONE spot instead of our entire 1700' lot, and we were billed $54.00. Our neighbor was the one who brought this to our attention as he/she witness the entire time the technician was at our property, in that one spot. The solution seem to work as it killed the grass in that one area.

It is this incident that we want our money back. We paid for a service that was not delivered in a quality manner. This technician was definitely not following the "Second to None" policy of the company and us as the customer were not " ... handle customer concerns with the utmost respect" by not providing us with the $54.00 worth of service. We were not treated fairly. We were deprived of the money.

 

We don't want them back as we don't trust them to deliver what this company promises.



Sincerely,

**** * ***** *******

9/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Green T Lawn Service to provide both fertilizer and weed prevention services for 5 treatments at the rate of a one time payment of $176.40. They stated that they provided for three treatments to date of August 3, 2015. My lawn as well my neighbor had an abundance of weeds even after the treatment, s well as brown spots and dead grass. They attributed the dead grass as animal urine causes, this was not the case. Later they changed the cause as being caused by the abundance of rain that precepitated a lawn fungus that has taken over severl lawns in St. Louis . I cancelled the service when the owner informed me that they were aware of the fungus but relied on the home owner to tell them what to treat. I then cancelled the service on August 3. 2015 and he acknowledged the company would provide a refund of the balance on the account. To date I have not received the refund, and when calling the company on August 31, 2015 I was told it may take some time for the refund to be sent Product_Or_Service: Lawn service

Desired Settlement: Refund of the un used portion of the bill

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/16) */ I have received a check from Green T own service, I was called three days after filing a complaint with the BBB and they were only willing to contact me after filing my complaint. Thnk you so very much for your diligence in this matter. I will consider this case closed. Sincerely ****** **** Lake St Louis Mo

8/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had this lawn service for a couple of years. Last year, they said they needed to reseed and would come back to make sure there was coverage and any would cover any missed areas to make sure I was happy. They missed a few spots and in the fall they came back once or twice and reseeded those spots. I saw spots that were not covered last fall and reseeded the spots myself. This Spring there were spots along the street, and a couple of places in the back yard where grass did not come up. I contacted them they said they had put down a pre-emergent chemical and could not put down seed now because it would kill any grass that tried to grow. They said they would come back in the fall to add seed. I cancelled my service with the company because they did not keep their word.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the company to come back and reseed the bare spots or refund my money as soon as possible. Also, I want them to notify me so that I can be home if they come to do the reseeding.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/04/21) */ As a local business, customer satisfaction is, as it has always been, our number one priority. Mr. ****** has been one of our valued customers since 2012. Throughout his service record, we have strived to provide him with a healthy and cared for lawn. He has renewed his service with us in 2013, as well as 2014, and even started in 2015, before cancelling his service. We have been to his residence repeatedly, at his request to work on weeds, aeration of the soil, as well as regular seeding and fertilization. In nearly every instance, Mr. ****** has not been completely satisfied and in one instance he wanted us to use pitchforks to turn the soil on his property. Mr. ****** repeatedly had us come out and re-treat his lawn, especially for weeds. In every instance, and in every request to do this, we did so. We were aware of his displeasure, and we made great efforts to address the issues that he requested us to do. Customer Service is the cornerstone of our company. If a customer is dissatisfied for any reason, as only ask that they give us an opportunity to resolve that issue. If we are unable to meet their specific request or expectations, and they wish to end service, they can simply let us know with a phone call; which is what Mr. ****** did. Mr. ****** is now requesting that we either come back and re-seed (which we have done repeatedly) his property and the bare spots, or give him a full refund. Before his cancellation, we offered to re-seed the area located along the driveway and sidewalk, but he instead wished to cancel the service.

6/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not received any services from this company in which I have not paid for and continue to receive bills. I have asked to see any signed documentation that states I want any continued service and they can not produce. I am know being told they will take me to court which I feel is strong arming at least.

Desired Settlement: Just be left alone

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/03/11) */ We treated his lawn 3 times for a total $117 due. We are willing to settle for $58.50 in order to close this. I will fax copies to the BBB of the statement which shows the date of each of the lawn treatments provided. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/03/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not receive nor did I approve any services.

5/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the year of 2014 I hired this company to weed and fertilize my yard. The service each time was $54. I was moderately happy with their service. On 04-21-15 I received a bill for $54 for today's service. I did not see this company do anything to my yard. This bill also states they were out on a previous day, but does not give the date. I called them and told them I did not want their service this year. They told me they have auto renew and sent me a letter. I never received a letter. They said they would cancel, but I would need to pay them $54.

Desired Settlement: I would like to cancel and void all these bills and have a zero balance.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/27) */ Green T is a company that cares about its customers. We have a lawn care program that offers 7 applications over the course of a year. In between these rounds we also offer free service calls. Our company does not use contracts with its customers. We state from the beginning that anyone who is not interested in continuing with our service can cancel at anytime with a phone call. This is specifically noted on our billing statements. Furthermore, we also use an auto-renewal policy. This is also mentioned on every piece of literature we send to the customer, as well as informing them of this when they initially sign up for our service. We also include this information on every invoice, and it is stated at the bottom, under the total. Green T is not out to take advantage of our customers. We are out to provide our customers with the best service possible. Green T is a family owned business that has always been about the customer's satisfaction. We are willing to accommodate Mr. **** in hopes that a future relationship may be possible.

4/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used TruGreen for about six years and after several years of calls from Green T, I decided to give them a chance. Our lawn has never looked so bad, even before we had it treated when we moved in nine years ago. During treatments we complained several times due to the large number of weeds popping up that we had never seen before in our yard. The man I spoke to kept talking in circles and now I realize, making things up just to get me off the phone. When I called to cancel I was harassed and not allowed to speak or cancel for that matter. We even have bare spots now. When I bought the package, I went with an exact comparable treatment schedule to TruGreen, for which we were very happy. They treated our lawn this past spring/summer/fall with a package we purchased in full for about $375 - they have the exact amount. Our lawn has never looked so terrible, even before we had paid treatments by anyone. It is now spring and we can see they ruined our yard - years of work paid to TruGreen to make it beautiful and they ruined it in one season. They are lucky I am not requesting damages. They also never treated our side yard - it is very evident. Product_Or_Service: Season of Lawn Treatments and Aeration

Desired Settlement: I expect a full refund. I don't think they came on the required times and if they did, their product was far inferior to TruGreen, of which they promised me theirs was even better and we would get the same or even better results with the same amount of treatments that we had with TruGreen. Once we started to call with complaints, the man there was telling me I didn't have enough treatments set up and that was why. From the sales process to delivery, they did not delivery on promises.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/21) */ As a local business, customer satisfaction is, as it has always been, our number one priority. Mr. ******** has been one of our valued customers since 2012. Throughout his service record, we have strived to provide him with a healthy and cared for lawn. Although he cancelled his service in 2012, he renewed it again in 2014. In both instances we worked diligently to provide him with quality service and product. We would ask his permission, send someone to his home to make a determination. Mr. ******** never once called for a Service Call for us to come out and re-treat his lawn. We have not been to the property since May 23rd, 2014, nor have we spoken with him since July 28th, 2014. We were aware of his displeasure, and we strived to address the issues that he requested us to do. Customer Service is the cornerstone of our company. Anyone who wishes to terminate their service, for any reason or no reason, has only to call. We only ask that if a customer is dissatisfied for any reason, they give us an opportunity to resolve that issue. If we are unable to meet their specific request or expectations, and they wish to end service, they just simply let us know. Mr. ********'s complaint to you is the first time we were aware that he wanted a refund for service since his renewal. We do apologize for the any inconvenience he feels that we have caused him and still hope that a future relationship would be considered.

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August 2014 I called your company to express my dissatisfaction with the condition of our lawn. No one returned my call. Please cancel your lawn services at the above address and refund me the $99 credit I have with you. See ENCL 1. Thanks, **** *******

Desired Settlement: Please cancel your lawn services at the above address and refund me the $99 credit I have with you. See ENCL 1.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/01/16) */ To reply to case # XXXXXXX.I want to state that Green T is a company that really cares about our customers. we offer free service calls in between the applications to all our customers. Mr. ******* has been a customer with Green T Service since 3-5-2012. and has only called one time for a service call on 9/16/2014. We have treated his lawn with Mole issues, fungus along with our Lawn care program he signed up for. Mr. ******* called one time for a service call on 9/16/2014 our techs were out there two days later to address the problem. They spot treated the weeds and the crab grass after the service was done our tech spoke with the Mrs. After receiving a notice of cancellation for service Our manager did call to talk to Mr. ******* Mrs ******* told the manager he would be wasting his time trying to talk to Mr. ******* and hung up on the manager. We wanted to see what else we could do to help the customer and his lawn. We would have worked with the customer but when we were hung up on we did not have any way to resolve the matter.

1/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Green T Lawncare St Louis
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart