BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
St. Louis, MO

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2011

Green RX LLC

Find a Location

(636) 441-1414PO Box 59, CottlevilleMO 63338-0059 Send email to Green RX LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2011

BBB has determined that Green RX LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Green RX LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Green RX LLC's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Green RX LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
12/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Work performed outside the terms of the contract or agreement

Complaint: Billed for service that was not authorized.
In March 2012, we paid in full up front for lawn service to be performed throughout 2012, with which we were very happy. When that ended, and we had not signed/initialed a legally binding contract/agreement, nor had we paid them upfront as we did in 2012, and Green RX chose to suppossedly treat our lawn on March 18, 2013 and send us a bill for $43.65. This service was not authorized at our home in OFallon, MO, which at the time was vacant and was under contract to be sold.

When speaking with the office manager, ****** could not produce evidence that we legally authorized this service, but that "everyone else does it this way," meaning they continue service from year to year without an agreement. A pre-pay letter that was suppossedly sent to us was not received. She would not change our bill to reflect a zero balance.

Having several lawn care companies in the past, this has never been an issue. Whether this is an isolated incident with Green RX or not, this type of business practice needs to be changed so that consumers are not taken advantage of.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@greenrxlawncare.com
Mr. account has been canceled as of April 5, 2013. He was given an original estimate on March 8, 2012 and he signed up for an 7step program on March 16th 2012. At that time, an estimate form was left with the customer that clearly stated: : NOTE: Green RX - Maintenance Programs automatically renew on an annual basis unless cancelled in writing with 30 days notice. Upon signing up he prepaid for services for 2012 season and a confirmation of services was submitted. During that season every statement and invoice clearly listed that our services are continuous and auto renew from season to season.

Industry wide lawn maintenance/management or fertilizing is a continual service.
If you want your trash service, telephone service, cable/satellite canceled you have to call.

Mr. ******'s was also sent a confirmation letter from us dated 1/25/13 with the option to prepay and receive a 5 % discount. On that letter is says "LISTED BELOW, ON THE LEFT, ARE THE SERVICES WE CURRENTLY HAVE YOU SCHEDULED FOR." And a second sentence says, "IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO PREPAY, YOU DON'T HAVE TO DO ANYTHING. WE WILL BE OUT AUTOMATICALLY IN IN THE SPRING TO START PERFORMING YOUR CURRENTLY SCHEUDLED SERVICES."
Also, you may use our automated payment services online. Just click on: ENTER OFFER CODE It then lists the same 7 applications he paid for last year and gives the option to add more applications and still receive an additional discount.

On 3/18/2013 we performed the 1st service of the 2013 season, an place an invoice on the door along w/ an application sign in the yard. The invoice listed in red:
"For your convenience, service continues from season to season. For a change in service, please call our office."

On 4/4/13 we sent **** a statement for the prior service. Which clearly stated:
"For your convenience, service continues from season to season. For a change in service, please call our office."

On 4/5/1 3 the office manager received an email from Mr ****** that stated he wanted to be removed from our email list, He had moved to Springfield MO, which prompted her to call him being that he was an active customer and wanted to confirm that services should be cancelled at that service location.
In that phone conversation he made her aware that he had moved and had forgotten to cancel his services. She told him she would cancel all future services and she requested an updated mailing address and he refused information and he informed her he would be mailing a check for the treatment we had performed on 3/18/13 prior to any notice of cancellation.

On 4/8/2013 a letter confirming his cancellation was sent to the service address and a final bill w/ the intention of it being forwarded to his new address to confirm cancellation.

On 5/7/13 a second statement was sent which included the final balance for services.

On 6/4/13 his account reflected past due and an interest charge of .65 cents was applied and a 3rd statement was submitted reflecting a past due account.

On 6/24/13 The office manager left a message regarding an open balance on his account and being she got no response she sent a third statement was sent with a letter that stated we needed to settle payment before any further collections process would occur.

On 7/1/13 Mrs. ****** called the office and spoke to the office manager. She explained to her that she had already spoken to **** and he told me he had forgotten to cancel and would be mailing in the check. However, Mrs. ****** stated she felt that the service was not authorized because they did not prepay this year in 2013. She explained to her that we sent out a confirmation and prepay letter in January. She said "we did not even open it" because we were not going to renew with us this season. The office manager informed her that our services were continuous from season to season and that it was on the original form they were given when they signed up and that it was printed on each invoice they received after each treatment that we auto renew for their convenience. The office manager told her she would email copies of all documentation. Email listed below.
On 7/1/13 the office manager submitted all documents and info to Mrs. ******
Which indicated:

Subject: Agreement Copy
From:<******@greenrxlawncare.com>
(Add as Preferred Sender)
Date: Mon, Jul 01, XXXX X:XX pm
To: ***********@gmail.com Mrs. ******,
I have attached a copy of the service plan from the start of your services 3/8/12, a copy of the prepay letter that we sent you on 1/25/13 and the email I received from **** on 4/5/13 which prompted me to call him. In that phone conversation he made me aware that you had moved and had forgotten to cancel your services. I told him I would cancel all future services and I did that day. He informed me he would be mailing a check for the treatment we had performed on 3/18/13 prior to any notice of cancellation.
As I mentioned in our conversation, it is also printed on all invoices left at your door. We, like most lawn care services offer the auto renew so that we are able to perform your service on time as promised at the beginning of each season. Feel free to contact me if you have any additional questions.
****** *****
Office Manager
XXX-XXX-XXXX
GREEN RX is an "A" Rated company with the BBB
And a 2012 Super Service award winner recipient w/ Angie's List!
Download
Attachments Size Action(s) Send To
992_PREPAYLETTER_XXXXXXXXXXXXX.pdf
1.3 m Download
****** aggreement.pdf
1.0 m Download
houllecnxemail4513.docx
22 k Download







On 7/3/13 Mrs. ****** did email back the following letter to the office manager:

July 3, 2013

*******

We appreciate the service Green RX has provided. However, the treatment performed on March 18th, 2013, at **** **** Run Dr. in O'Fallon, MO, was not authorized. In March 2012, we paid in full up front for service to be performed in 2012, with which we were very happy. When that ended, and we had not signed a legally binding a contract, Green RX chose to continue service that was not authorized. We did not receive the pre-payment letter attached to the previous e-mail. Therefore, we are not responsible for the $43.65 bill.

Let me assure you that it is not in your best interest to send this to a collection agency. First, you will not receive the full amount. Second, the collection agency will require proof that the service was authorized. Since we did not sign or initial to agree to 2013 or even pay up front as we did in 2012, there is no proof that we authorized this service. Furthermore, complaints will be filed with the BBB and MO State Attorney General for this type of business practice.


Sincerely,

**** and ***** ******

We would be happy to settle the payment dispute with no collection procedures and remove any interest charges that have accrued to date.
However, based on the original terms being accepted to sign up for services and the repeated notification of continuing services year after year. We feel that it was Mr. ******'s responsibility to notify us that he had moved and that he no longer wanted to receive services, prior to the services rendered.
We feel that we honored our agreement to service the lawn at the beginning of a new season to prevent improper timing of the most important treatment of the year and we feel that he did not comply with the original terms and that it was his responsibility to notify us not to come prior to performing the service. Therefore, we expect payment for the work that was performed.

We will be happy to forward the listing of notes & documentation, emails and phone logs from his account. We log pertinent parts or instructions, each time we speak to a customer.

Consumer's Final Response
Note: This was concerning our previous address:
**** **** Run Dr.
OFallon, MO XXXXX

06/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I hired Green RX last year to fertilize and weed my yard. They did an ok job but I have friends who started a new business so we decided to go with them this year. Apparently, when I agreed to the work from 2012 there was fine print that I initialed stating I would automatically renew with them. I had already had a treatment done on my yard when Green RX showed up to fertilize my yard. I caught them no more then half way through my front yard. I told them I did not renew with them and had already had my yard treated for crabgrass, the worker stated, no problem and he would finish the front yard so it wouldnt look odd. Since it was Crabgrass preventer it wouldnt have impacted the look. I then got a call from Green RX stating that I had to call to cancel. I asked why I didnt even get a notice they were coming out or anything, no response. They then said I owed the full first treatment. I called and tried to work something out where I would pay half and that if it didnt work out with my friends I would be back. They would not work with me at all. I sent them an email stating I would now pay the 1/4 of the yard they did before I told them NO. I then had a check sent with a comment stated that this 1/4 amount payment was for services provided and completion of my bill. They cashed it and now 2 months later are billing me for a number that doesnt make any sense and threatening to send to collections. I did not want a difficult situation with them but sneaking in an automatic renewal with no indication or notice the following year and then not stopping when I asked and billing me for more then the services provided is not acceptable.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. account has been canceled as of March 27th 2013.

We did arrive on 3/22/13 to apply the first application which includes a preemergent for crabgrass.

Industry wide lawn maintenance/management or fertilizing is a continual service.
If you want your trash service, telephone service, cable/satellite canceled you have to call. Mr. ******* signed a contract that stated it will automatically renew. We would be happy to include a copy of this contract & every piece of documentation there on after that he recieved includes the statements we need notification for a change in service.

When Mr. ******* signed up his initial contract read: NOTE: Green RX - Maintenance Programs automatically renew on an annual basis unless cancelled in writing with 30 days notice. Mr. ****** signed off on this on 2/25/12. We have this information on file for confirmation of services. He was also sent a confirmation letter from us dated 1/25/13 with the option to prepay and receive a 5 % discount. On that letter is says "LISTED BELOW, ON THE LEFT, ARE THE SERVICES WE CURRENTLY HAVE YOU SCHEDULED FOR." And a second sentence says, "IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO PREPAY, YOU DON'T HAVE TO DO ANYTHING. WE WILL BE OUT AUTOMATICALLY IN IN THE SPRING TO START PERFORMING YOUR CURRENTLY SCHEUDLED SERVICES."
Also, you may use our automated payment services online. Just click on: ENTER OFFER CODE. It then lists the same 9 applications he paid for last year and gives the option to add more applications and still receive an additional discount. Also, every statement and invoice from the prior year 2012 season listed that our services are continuous and auto renew from season to season.

When our technician arrived on March 22, 2013, he began performing services on the lawn and had applied treatment to over half of the front lawn when Mr. ******* discovered the tech treating the lawn he was not happy that our company arrived and without notice hired a new company to perform services. Mr. ******* told the tech he did not want our services and asked him to leave, the tech recommended that he finish the front lawn in order not to have any differences occur between each side of the front lawn. Mr .******* agreed and the tech finished the front lawn.

Our office manager spoke to Mr. ******* on March 27th in regards to the matter. He was unhappy abpit any balance due for coming to service his lawn on 3/22/13 and stated that he did not want to pay for the services that we showed up to perform. At that time she informed him of the original agreement and offered to discount the service from the original fee to service his lawn and reduce the amount of the charge to our minimal size lawn charge, which includes our trip fee for showing up to perform services without a cancellation notice prior to us coming to his house to service his lawn as our original agreement had stated. The office manager offered to return to his home and complete the back yard or to decrease the regular price of servicing his lawn to our minimal lawn charge to service a lawn and his response was that he did not want us to come back to do a service that he did not sign up for. He was very demanding on the phone and stated that he refused to pay. Mr. ******* was informed that he had signed the original contract and that we would cancel services and email him a copy of the initial document that was dated on 2/25/12. But that he was ultimately responsible for the charges based on the fact that he agreed to the terms and that if he refused to pay that we would have no choice but to take collection matters. At that time we reduced his normal fee to the minimum charge and this left a balance of $45. He was emailed a copy of this document also on 3/27/2013.
Emails conversations sent:
-----Original Message-----
From: ****** <******@greenrxlawncare.com>
To: ********** <**********@aol.com>
Sent: Wed, Mar 27, 2013 7:46 pm
Subject: Re: Signed Auto Renewal Original
I have attached a copy of the original agreement in which you had initialed next to the auto renewal statement. I hope that you understand that our ultimate goal is customer satisfaction. This is why we auto renew our programs so that you receive your spring treatment hassle free for you as the customer. We would welcome the opportunity to service your lawn in the future.
Have a good day,
****** *****
Office Manager
XXX-XXX-XXXX
GREEN RX is an "A" Rated company with the BBB
And a 2012 Super Service award winner recipient w/ Angie's List!

-----Original Message-----
From: **** ******* <**********@aol.com>
To: ****** <******@greenrxlawncare.com>
Sent: Wed, Mar 27, XXXX X:XX pm
Subject: Re: Signed Auto Renewal Original
Brandi, I will only pay 1/4 of the bill as I caught your guy half way through my front yard and told him I did not order this, he said he was going to finish the front and I assumed this was because I was not going to be charged. Again, I already had the Pre Emergent done by someone else.

PS, I had several neighbors last year ask me who did our lawn and I will be sure to tell them what happened this year. I seriously had every intention of going back to RX if this Friend of ours didnt do a good job. That will not be the case now.

I will be sending a check for $13.25 which is 1/4 of that $53 bill.

Please Officially CLOSE MY ACCOUNT.


-----Original Message-----
From: **** ******* <**********@aol.com>
To: ****** <******@greenrxlawncare.com>
Sent: Wed, Mar 27, XXXX X:XX pm
Subject: Re: Signed Auto Renewal Original
Brandi, I will only pay 1/4 of the bill as I caught your guy half way through my front yard and told him I did not order this, he said he was going to finish the front and I assumed this was because I was not going to be charged. Again, I already had the Pre Emergent done by someone else.


On 3/29/12 we also sent Mr. ******* a letter confirming his cancellation and letting him know that our ultimate goal is customer satisfaction and that if he would choose to sign back up that we would discount his next service at 50% off to gain back his business.

On 4/2 a payment for $13.25 was made by Mr. ******* which was applied to his account and a statement was send for the remainder $31.75 on 4/4/13, additional statements were sent on 5/7/2013.
On 6/4/13 the office manager called to resolve outstanding bill and spoke to Mr. *******'s wife and she stated that her husband had sent ïïï of the payment and that was all he was willing to pay and that she would let him know that our office called and the office manager informed her that we had discounted the original fee and because he did not comply with the original agreement and give us notice not to come and service the lawn that we would have no choice but to continue with the collection process if we did not receive payment. Also on 6/4/13 an interest charge of .50 cents was applied and a statement was sent for 32.25.
Based on the original agreement and attempting to rectify satisfaction with returning to treat the full lawn, lower the fee to our minimum charge and offering to return to service agreement at a 50% off next service. We feel that we have made every attempt possible to satisfy the customer. We honored our agreement to service the lawn at the beginning of a new season to prevent improper timing of the most important treatment of the year and we feel that he did not comply with the original terms of agreement and that it was his responsibility to notify us not to come and that he had hired a new company. Therefore, we expect payment for the work that was performed.

We will be happy to forward the listing of notes & documentation, emails and phone logs from his account,*** including the contract he signed next to the statement that the contract will automatically renew from season to season***. We log pertinent parts or instructions, each time we speak to a client.

06/25/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance, Mosquito Control, Termite Control, Pest Control Services, Fertilizers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/22/2011Business started: 06/01/2010
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Teresa Hazelwood (President)
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance, Mosquito Control, Termite Control, Pest Control Services, Fertilizers

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • PO Box 59 

    Cottleville, MO 63338-0059(636) 441-1414

  • 106 Serene Meadows Ct 

    Saint Charles, MO 63304-7184

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Green RX LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.