This business is not BBB accredited.

Legacy Lighting

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 10814 Galt Industrial Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63132 http://www.mitchell-lighting.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Legacy Lighting include:

  • 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Legacy Lighting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 15

Additional Complaint Information

BBB is urging consumers to use caution when considering business with Legacy Lighting. BBB has received numerous complaints alleging delays in installing holiday lighting, failure to remove holiday lighting, failure to issue refunds and overall poor customer service.

BBB has tried to contact the company, but the company has not returned our phone calls. BBB's investigator went the address on file for the business and it was not open. An owner of a nearby business stated they had not seen any employees for the past two weeks.

Legacy Lighting appears to go by other names, such as Mitchell Lighting and Kathy Arnold Lighting. All companies have the same phone number and same address.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Legacy Lighting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 12, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997
Business Management
Ryan Jacques, President Mr. Jeff Mitchell, President Jessica Nickels, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ryan Jacques, President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Lighting Installation & Repair Christmas Lights & Decorations

Alternate Business Names
J Mitchell Lightscapes Kathy Arnold Lighting Legacy Lighting & Irrigation Legacy Outdoor Lighting & Irrigation Mitchell Lighting
Additional Information

On February 16, 2016, BBB issued a Press Release for Legacy Lighting.  A link to this release is below:

http://www.bbb.org/stlouis/news-events/bbb-warnings/2016/02/bbb-warning-on-legacy-outdoor-lighting-irrigation



Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10814 Galt Industrial Blvd

    Saint Louis, MO 63132

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10840 Galt Industrial Blvd

    Saint Louis, MO 63132

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11469 Olive St Rd

    Creve Coeur, MO 63141 (314) 474-6124

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been using your service for the past 6 years to install and remove holiday lighting. I paid $1800. I have been out of town and a neighbor told me the lights have not been removed. I called and some one came out and removed them. I received my bank statement and saw an April 12th charge for $916. I do not know what this charge represents. The service for the lights have been paid.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund - $916.

5/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted this company to install Christmas/Holiday/Winter/Kwanzaa lights. They came two weeks late and never finished and did a very poor job. **** (The owner) stated he would take $250 off of my bill for the situation. (They still to date have not taken the lights down) This past month, they took the checking info and routing info from my check and illegally took $250 from my bank account. I contacted **** and he stated he would refund the $250. This has not occurred yet and he has ceased communications with me.

Desired Settlement: I need $250 refunded to me.

4/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It is now March 8th and I am still looking at my outdoor Christmas decorations and lights. I have repeatedly called Legacy and have sent emails to try and contact them. Their voicemail is filled and therefore will not take any messages and I have received no response to my email. When the lights were initially installed they were supposed to be up before Thanksgiving. They were not installed until 2 weeks before Christmas. Product_Or_Service: Christmas Lights and decorations Account_Number: 3 year contract endi

Desired Settlement: I want to void my contract with this company and want no further dealings with them in the future.

3/18/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid Legacy Lighting $1149.00 in September, 2015 to have Christmas lights installed before Halloween, 2015. This was a advertised as a reduced price to have early service...a special discount from the normal $1500.00 price. They did not show up until the first week in December. When they showed up, they claimed that they had checked the lights, but approximately 11 bulbs on the front of our house were burned out. Their paperwork indicated that they were to put lights on the back of our house (as had been done in the years prior). They said that they did not have enough lights and would be back within the week to complete the work. They never came back. I called and left a message on their answering machine which indicated that I wanted a refund of the money paid as the work was not completed or a credit toward future work and to call me to discuss. I have not heard from anyone to resolve the issue. Now---I have called to have them remove the lights from our home, but no one ever answers their phone lines. I called this evening (2/21/2016) and the message indicates a full mailbox. I want these lights removed from my home now!!! This company is not cooperative nor dependable.

Desired Settlement: I would like the lights removed from my home immediately. It is very unsightly to see the lights still on the house and all of the associated wiring. I would also like a refund of some of the installation fees that represents their failure to install lights on the back of our home.

3/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a verbal agreement to have Christmas lights hung on my home mid-November 2015. After calling several times this company finally put up the lights the second week in December 2015. Part of the agreement was to put garland upon my porch. This was never done even after being told several times it was going to be. Now it is February 3rd, 2016 and the lights are still on my house. We have been calling since the second week of January to see when they will be taken down. We can not get anyone to call us back. As of today when I call it says their mailbox is full and can not take anymore messages. Now I'm stuck with lights on my house and a big wreath on my chimney. My house is very tall and we do not own a ladder tall enough to take them down. I now have to hire someone else to take them down after I already paid to have the job done. I can not believe the unprofessional way this company has handled this situation, Product_Or_Service: Christmas Light Service

Desired Settlement: At this point all I want is for the decorations to be taken down as what was agreed upon.

3/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted with Legacy in Aug 15 to install Christmas lights between Halloween and Thanksgiving. Cost of $225. After repeated calls and social media contacts, Legacy finally came out the second week of December allowing just two weeks to enjoy the lights prior to Christmas. Failed to provide the actual lights, which was part of the installation agreement. Additional cost of $150 as they hung lights I went out and purchased just to get the job done. They ran out of time for the installation stating they'd be back the next day, never came back, leaving a portion of the house unlit. Second week of February now and they will not come remove the lights. I must now hire someone else as I'm unable to climb to the heights required. Additional cost to be determined. They fail to answer their phones, fail to return voice messages and failed to provide the agreed upon services. Owner offered cell phone number early on in case I experienced further issues, has never answered a single call or returned a single voice message.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for their failure to provide the agreed upon services.

3/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $1,700 in Sept 2015 for holiday lighting. They never installed it and said they would give me a refund, but didn't. I paid $1,700 via check for holiday lighting to be installed on my house. They told me multiple times they would be here "tomorrow." After multiple calls and reaching the middle of December, I told them I wanted a refund. They told me to two separate phone calls one wth ****** and one with the owner ****, in December that they would send me check. I have left multiple messages over the past month and no call back. I have copies of the canceled check and e-mail correspondence telling me that the lights will be installed "today" as well as phone records of all the calls I have made to them over the past two months.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $1,700 that I paid them to install holiday lighting which was never installed

3/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Legacy Lighting for installing Christmas lights on my house. I paid "early" per a program they have, to get my lights installed early, from Halloween to mid November. I opted in for LED lighting as the literature said this would decrease the chance for bulbs going out throughout the holiday season. My credit card was charged. I only had my lights installed after 4 phone calls to Legacy Lighting, not until the first week in December. Upon calling the business, it always goes to voicemail and is not returned. Lights were finally installed first week in December. Upon lighting them the first night 3 bulbs were out the first time. Finally got that fixed after 2 calls. The next week 3 bulbs were out, and a wire was hanging off of my house. With multiple calls to the business, nothing was done. It is not January 29th and they have not taken my lights down yet. When you call the business, the call goes to voicemail and says they are working through getting lights taken down and "apologize for any inconvenience this causes" This has been a horrible customer experience at every turn of the road with this company. Even if you call to complain calls go straight to voicemail, and are never returned. I will never do business with this company again. Product_Or_Service: Christmas Lighting Installation

Desired Settlement: I would like my lights taken down and the wire that is hanging down from my house since Christmas removed. I would also like an explanation of all the issues from the company, in particular why I paid early and the company did not comply with the installation schedule they promised.

2/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $300. They put up my Christmas lights in November. I turned them on the day after Thanksgiving. Half of the lights on the back did not turn on. I called and left a message and heard nothing. All of the lights in the front were out for 5 straight nights. The lady who I finally spoke to said she would send someone out. They finally showed up and did turn them back on. On December 27, again, they went off again, and they haven't been on since. They have not responded to any voice mails or emails.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund and just a response from them.

2/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested Christmas outdoor lighting in August 2015 and requested the early service, specifically before Thanksgiving since I was having a large party. I signed the agreement in August and sent 1/2 down payment. The lighting was still not completed late October so I called the company and spoke to an employee (don't remember who) and I was assured that the job would be completed prior to Thanksgiving. The first week of November the job was still not completed and I called and did not get an answer but left a message. ****** returned my call and left me a message on November 5th assuring me that they don't have an actual date but the job would be done before Thanksgiving. Again, when it wasn't finished the next week, I called and reiterated that it needed to be done prior to Thanksgiving and I was assured once again. The day before Thanksgiving, it was pouring rain and they told me it was unsafe to have anyone on a ladder, which I agreed with however it should not have been postponed until the day before Thanksgiving, especially since they received my check in August! I was disappointed, however they said I had no choice. Still NO lights the following week even though there were several nice days. The afternoon of Dec 4th was the end of the next week and I called and said it was too late for Christmas lights, especially since it was going to cost around $800 and that it wasn't enough time to enjoy so I would like a refund. Once again, I spoke to ****** who assured me the check would be sent back. 2 weeks later, Legacy Lighting still did not return my money. I called again and left a message and still have not had a return call or my money returned.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund ASAP since they have had my money since August. I would like others to hear about this company.

2/19/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I went on vacation for 1 week. When we arrived home (October 30), we noticed 3 of our landscape lights were out. They are LED so they should last a long time. We had the lights for about a year. I called on November 2 and was told that somebody would come out and check them. No one came out. Called back and again was told someone would be out. **** (the owner) called and said the bulbs were burned out. He would replace them. No one has ever come out to replace them. I have been calling at once a week since then, sometimes more. I have left messages and nothing. 4 to be exact. Two other times I was promised that **** would be out to replace the bulbs and he never shows up. Now I am calling as of January 4 and the message says that the mailbox is full and to call back later. I need help. I've given them every opportunity to correct this. Two months is too long. I was also told that I am now dealing with Legacy Lighting, not Mitchell Legacy Lighting, which is the company I bought the landscape lighting from. When you look online, Mitchell Lighting and Legacy Lighting have the same phone number (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Product_Or_Service: 11/2014

Desired Settlement: I would like someone to come out and repair my lights. Now. I think I have waited long enough. I don't care if it is Mitchell Lighting or Legacy Lighting.

2/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid Legacy Lighting and Irrigation in March 2015 for a maintenance contract that included maintaining landscape lighting and replacing burned out light bulbs. The first week of December we noticed we had two of the five lights lining our walkway burned out along with a spotlight on a tree. I called and spoke to a female who said she would try to get someone out to fix them even though they were very busy with installing Christmas lights. I reminded her that we had a maintenance contract and expected that they be replaced. Nothing happened so both my husband and I called weekly only to leave messages since no one answered the phone nor returned our calls. We called several times a week after Christmas thinking they could certainly complete the work since all Christmas lights should have been installed. At one point their mailbox was filled up when my husband called but obviously cleared by the next day as I was able to leave another message. It is now January 9, 2016 and the work has not been done nor has anyone contacted us from the company. Product_Or_Service: Maintenance agreement

Desired Settlement: Since it appears the company will not honor the maintenance agreement, we would like a refund of one-half of the amount paid or $115.

2/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year, we used this company to do our Christmas decorations for our home. Last August, we received a letter from the company that if we hired them to put up on Christmas decorations before Halloween, they would give us a discount and we signed up. In August, we sent them a check for $297.50 and we had a signed contract. The lights were not installed by Halloween so I started to contact them but did not receive a response. Thanksgiving came and went and the decorations had not been installed. I got hold of the owner on December 9, 2015 and he said that he would send a refund check but we have not received it. I tried to contact him today but did not receive a response. We hired a new company to install the lights and they told us the work that was done by this company last year was not done correctly. The wrong wattage was used.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the company to refund $297.50 immediately.

1/25/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our exterior lighting was installed by Mitchell Lighting (**** ******** - no longer his company), which evolved into ****** Lighting, which is now apparently apparently this company (address has not changed, phone still answered as ****** Lighting and Irrigation). We purchased and maintain a service contract with them, although we had a major disagreement with them a year ago about a transformer under that program. Synopsis of current problem:- early November: lighting did not work. Called ******, believe Monday, 11/9, talked to ******(?), who said they were busy doing Christmas lighting, but would be out Tuesday.- no one showed, lights inoperative, follow-up phone calls finally resulted in service person telling my wife (11/20) that it was a fuse that needed to be replaced. (don't know if he did anything). However, lights still do not work.- Repeated calls to ********/******/***** ****** since then have onty resulted in leaving messages on an answering machine (which promises a prompt response), but unable to talk to anyone - never a "real person" or a call-back/message return. Product_Or_Service: service contract - see complaint

Desired Settlement: Simply, live up to the terms of the original service contract. As a note: with the frequent changes in business title (although no obvious changes in address/phone number), is this now the sort of business that goes out of business/restarts in order to avoid fulfilling commitments for services paid for in advance?.

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 07, 2013 I purchased service to install Christmas lighting on our home for the holiday season of 2014, paid in full. That holiday season came and never heard from them, so we called right before Thanksgiving and was told by the office clerk that they would be out after thanksgiving. They never showed up or called to reschedule. So on Dec. 1st we called again and were told they would be coming that Sunday to do the installation, once again they never showed up. Finally two weeks before Christmas two technicians showed up looked at the house and knocked on the door. They wanted to ask how they installed lights on our house the prior year, we never had them the prior year. So they left and the Office clerk calls us back and says they cannot do the installation without a lift to reach the gutters and that it would cost an additional $500.00. So we gave them the option of not installing lights on the gutters and just areas they can reach, she replied she would check and get back to me. Three days before Christmas she calls and says they cannot do the job and will issue a full refund in 7 Business Days. Never saw the refund check so yesterday January 12, 2015 I called to follow up on the refund and she apologized saying she does not write the refund checks and will check with the owner who does and get back with me. They have been very bad at communicating with their clients, they would schedule appointments and not keep them, say they will do something and not follow through. All I want is my money back and am afraid I will get it next year.

Desired Settlement: Full Refund


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Legacy Lighting
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)