BBB Accredited Business since

Caldwell Lawn Care Inc

Phone: (636) 337-0606 1914 N Main St, De Soto, MO 63020

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Lawn care

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Caldwell Lawn Care Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Caldwell Lawn Care Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 10, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 03/11/2002 in MO
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Justin Caldwell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Justin Caldwell, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall Lawn Maintenance Snow Removal Service Snow Removal Service - Commercial Snow Melting Systems Snow Removal

Additional Locations

  • 1914 N Main St

    De Soto, MO 63020 (636) 337-0606


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/10/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a ztr lawnmower from them it's still under warranty but I took it to them for service and I was charged $80 for them to look at it. So they looked at it and found some welds that was broke and they refused to cover it, even though it's under warranty. They refused and still charged me $80. At the very least it should have been free to look at. Then they tried to charge me $1200 to fix it.

Desired Settlement: Well I don't trust them to do the work, however I would at least like my $80 returned.

Business Response:

At Caldwell Lawn Care, Inc. we provide mowing services, lawn treatments, snow removal and other property management services.  We do not sell or service lawn mowers.  Mr. ***** has confused Caldwell Lawn Care, Inc. with Caldwell Outdoor Equipment Co., Inc.

Being that I am the owner of both companies, I'll address his concerns here.

Mr. ***** brought his Gravely mower to us for repair.  The mower was very obviously damaged.  It had impact marks and a broken front axle. Before Mr. ***** left the premises, it was explained to him fully that we'd charge a $79 diagnostic fee to take a thorough look at the mower and write up a detailed quote for the necessary extensive repairs.  Mr. ***** agreed and left his mower.  Our technicians then diagnosed the repairs as requested and provided Mr. ***** a detailed quote as promised.  Mr. *****'s mower is not under warranty.  The manufacturer's warranty against defects expired on 5-9-15. Even if this instance had occurred during the warranty time period, the obvious abuse to this mower would not have been considered a manufacturer's defect.

We were open and honest with the customer though out the process.  We detailed the fees up front and provided a valuable service to him. We will not be issuing a refund.

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: First of all, this company advertises as Caldwell Equipent but there is no listing for that in your data base, it comes up Caldwell lawn care but has the same address. I have been trying to buy a lawn mower from these people but keep getting the run around, I called and spoke to a very unknowledgable sales person that told me that they didn't have any used mowers but I drove down there to see anyhow since the person I talked to seemed to be very confused and the knowledge of anything, so when I arrived at there store it was hard to get anyones attention so I left without getting any help at all, when I got home I was looking on for a lawn mower and low and behold, Caldwell equipent had a used lawn mower on there after just being told they didn't have any, I called immediately to claim the lawn mower before it got sold, I talked to the owner ****** ********, and I told him I wanted the lawn mower and that I would be in tomorrow morning to pick it up, I asked if I could leave a credit card # for a deposit, he said no, I will hold it for you, I called again first thing in the morning just to make sure that it didn't get sold and that he knew for sure that I was serious and wanted the mower, again he told me, no problem, I will hold it for you until you get here, (These calls are all documented), I run a business of my own, so after getting my crews started on job sites that morning of 5/15/15 and went to my shop in Illinois and picked up my trailer and headed to Desoto, Mo to pickup my lawn mower I recieved a call from ****** ******** telling me that he sold the lawn mower on me, I let him know that I was very upset and that was not right, and an oral agreement is binding in the state of Mo, he then began to get rude and ignorent, yelling at me calling me names and then hung up on me. This is a very bad way to run a business and everyone should vbe warned from doing business with these kind of people. THESE ARE RUDEST CRUDEST BUSINESS PEOPLE AROUND. Do NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM. Product_Or_Service: troy built lawn mower Account_Number: Oral- recorded

Desired Settlement: I want a $1200 lawn mower that compares to the one I was sold, or court action will be filed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ********, Presiden Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****** Mr. **** has confused two companies. My name is ****** ********. Caldwell Lawn Care was founded in the early 90's by myself. At age 13 I used my parent's push mower to mow lawns for several elderly ladies. When I turned 16 and got my driver's license, I put an ad in the local newspaper and started mowing lawns for others. All through high school and college I worked in the evenings and on weekends mowing lawns and growing my business. I really enjoyed the hard work and the reward of the seeing the manicured look when I finished each job. I was given so many opportunities to grow, that it became clear that I needed to hire employees to get all of the work done. Before I knew it I had multiple employees and was managing 2 mowing crews. In 2002 I incorporated the business into Caldwell Lawn Care, Inc. The business I started as a teen had grown into a company that was supporting my family as well as the families of several employees. We continued to grow as a company, adding large grounds keeping contracts in addition to our commercial and residential lawns. In 2006 we had completely outgrown a home-based business model and needed to find a commercial location to operate out of. We were blessed to find and purchase the property at **** N **** ** and built a 56 x 42 shop/office in 2007. In 2008 we became a BBB accredited business. Since 2008 we have maintained our A+ rating with the BBB by strictly adhering to the code of conduct all accredited businesses agree to. We operate our business with honor and integrity and treat every customer with the respect they deserve. We are grateful to our customers for allowing us to work for them and consider it to be a privilege! Today we have more than 170 properties that we maintain on a weekly basis. We are entrusted with the grounds keeping and snow removal at several cemeteries, parks and city municipality properties, doctor's offices, law offices, shopping centers, large family estates and of course, many, many residential lawns. Our customers are loyal to us and we don't take them for granted. Caldwell Lawn Care, Inc. does not sell mowers to the public and is not the company with whom Mr. **** has a complaint. However, I am also the president of Caldwell Outdoor Equipment Co., Inc. which is the company that Mr. **** intended to file the complaint against, so I will address his complaint here. Caldwell Outdoor Equipment Co., Inc. (a lawn equipment sales and repair center) was founded in 2008 and we have been blessed with the same level of success as Caldwell Lawn Care, Inc. I started this business with myself and one employee. Our growth required many hours of hard work by myself and by our dedicated employees. We ultimately owe our success to the thousands of customers that now purchase their equipment here and who rely on us for expertise in repairing small engines. Today, the dealership employs 11 full time staff members. At any given time we may have a dozen or more customers shopping in our store during business hours (especially during the busy spring months). We now sell hundreds of zero turn mowers each year. We occasionally take in used riding lawn tractors on trade, repair them and sell them on **********. Our mechanics repair hundreds of pieces of equipment for customers each spring. Sometimes our repair department has so much demand that there is a 2 or 3 week wait time for equipment to be looked at by a mechanic and for the repairs to be completed. Any used mower that gets traded in is subject to this same wait schedule. It is thoroughly inspected and repaired by one of our mechanics before it is considered "available" for re-sale. Our inventory changes daily, even hourly. It is quite possible that Mr. **** could have inquired in the morning if any used riding tractors were available for purchase and the answer to him was "No", but then later that same day the availability had changed. With 12 employees (including myself) in the building and with hundreds of mowers currently at our dealership, it is impossible for every employee to know the repair/availability status of each piece of equipment. As soon as the service department alerts the sales department that a used unit is ready to sell, pictures are taken and an ad is posted on **********.org. Outside of business hours on 5/14/15, Mr. **** did indeed call in response to an ad he saw on ********** regarding a used mower. I answered my cell phone even though it was well into the evening. During the brief conversation, Mr. **** communicated to me that he was interested in the used riding lawn tractor and that he would come to the store the next day to purchase it. My response was simply "Sounds good, we'll see you tomorrow". I made no promise to him of any kind that I would hold the mower for him and I certainly did not decline to take a credit card deposit (mower sales is what we are in business for after all). The next morning, Mr. **** called (at approximately 8:25 am) and again I answered my cell phone even though I hadn't arrived at work yet. He proceeded to tell me that he still wanted to purchase the used riding lawn tractor and that he was going to get his trailer and head to our store with an ETA of 11:00 am. I told him "That should be fine." Again, I made no promise to hold the mower. As the conversation was concluding, I was pulling in to work. I walked into the building and sat down to my desk to begin working. At 9:05 am our sales manager sent me a text message (we work on different floors and he has knee problems) letting me know that he had sold the used riding lawn tractor first thing that morning (right after the store opened at 8:00 am) so that I would know to delete the ad from **********. I immediately knew I needed to reach out to Mr. **** to let him know that the mower he was interested in had already been sold to someone else, so I looked back in my call log, found the number I assumed to be his and called him to let him know. I didn't delay as I knew I could save him a trip (being that he announced his ETA would be 11:00 am). At 9:07 am I called to tell him the mower was no longer available. His response was less than cordial. I attempted to explain why I didn't know the mower wasn't available when I had spoken to him 30 minutes prior, but he wouldn't let me speak. Mr. ****'s statement "he then began to get rude and ignorent, yelling at me calling me names and then hung up on me." is an absolute falsehood. It was in fact Mr. **** who was yelling and rudely calling names. When it became clear to me that I wouldn't be given the opportunity to explain, I did indeed hang up the call. Mr. **** claims that the phone calls have been "documented" and "Oral- recorded". I hope that is the case. I welcome the submission of these recordings to the BBB, as I know that I will be exonerated of ALL of the complaints he has brought against me. A few more facts regarding this incident: 1. I have never met Mr. **** in person. 2. I didn't even know his name until this complaint surfaced 3. If Mr. **** was ever physically at our store, he didn't introduce himself to any of our employees. 4. Mr. **** had never even seen the used riding lawn tractor he was interested in purchasing. As for Mr. ****'s desired resolution, the only thing I can offer to him is my apology for the inconvenience this has caused him.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Caldwell Lawn Care Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)