BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/19/2009

Metropolitan Forestry Services Inc

Phone: (636) 394-6597Fax: (636) 394-8930502 Old State Rd, BallwinMO 63021-5919 Send email to Metropolitan Forestry Services Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/19/2009

BBB has determined that Metropolitan Forestry Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Metropolitan Forestry Services Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Metropolitan Forestry Services Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In the past we have had Metropolitan do work for us. Last year we asked them to trim a tree that was hanging over our driveway and dropping fruit on the drive as well as cars. They trimmed all sides of the tree, which is the logical thing to do. This year we had a tree that was growing very close to our home in the back. My husband trimmed much of the tree away on his own by hanging out our second-floor window. We decided the tree was too much for him and he had no way to get to the other sides therefore we called Metropolitan. When they came out they only trimmed one side of the tree, unlike our tree in the front. My husband spoke to someone and he was told they did what they were supposed to do and he could not afford to send another crew out. I never heard of trimming 1/4 of a tree. When they sent the bill ($180)they included a form for feedback and how they can do better next time and they appreciate the business we have given them in the past several years.
Product_Or_Service: Tree trimming
Account_Number: Invoice XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Finish trimming the rest of the tree.

Business' Initial Response
The November 16 2010 proposal that was sent and accepted read: As you look at the home from the street, front yard left side of driveway, one aristocrat pear - prune to pull back away from the driveway, reduce weight on the ends and shape. Prune to pull away from the neighbors house and raise up the lower limbs for 6-8 feet of ground clearance: Cost for trimming: $320-400.

The June 26, 2013 proposal that was sent and accepted read: Back yard behind right corner of the deck, one pear tree - raise up lower limbs for 8-10' of clearance of deck and prune limbs back to the next available laterals to pull away from the guttering and to obtain at least 3-5' of clearance of home: Cost for trimming: $180.

*We do have both copies of these proposals if there is any question.

When MRS. sent in the response card saying they were unhappy with the trimming, the arborist who sold the work contacted them immediately. He spoke with MR. , who had initially called in and also authorized the tree work to be done. He explained to MR. , that the crew did exactly what was outlined on the proposal. He also explained that we can be sued for doing work that is not authorized, and our crews are instructed to do the work as outlined on their work orders. MR. acknowledged that this was probably his misunderstanding, and the arborist told Mr. that the next time we happened to be in the area, we would be happy to come by and trim some additional off the tree, but they would be charged for it. The scope of the work that MRS. N is referring to from 2010 was almost double the scope of the work done this year, and the price reflects that. Unfortunately logic doesn't really come into play here. They asked us to give them an estimate to trim the tree away from the house, we sent the estimate, they accepted it, and we did the work exactly as stated on the work order. Actually, it is very common to trim 1/4 of a tree - if that is what the homeowner requests and signs off on. Also the arborist never spoke to MRS. , so he is not sure where she got the information, "that we could not afford to send a crew out." He told MR. that we have a 10 week backlog of work, and the next time we were in the area we would certainly come out and trim additional limbs from the tree, but again, that amount of trimming would incur a larger charge than was outlined on the original proposal.
We have a satisfaction guarantee, and we want all of our customers to be happy with the work we do. We also try to be very specific on our estimates so that we are on the same page with the customer regarding the scope of the work that is done. It sounds like this *** be a miscommunication between MR and MRS. . The arborist made up a work order to trim more off the tree after he spoke to MR. on 7/29/13.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Architects/Designers, Nurseries - Plants, Trees, Tree Service, Landscape Contractors - Commercial, Landscape Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/14/1995Business started: 07/01/1976Business started locally: 01/01/1976
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1984, MO

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Christie (President)
Business Category

Landscape Architects/Designers, Nurseries - Plants, Trees, Tree Service, Landscape Contractors - Commercial, Landscape Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Metropolitan Forestry Services Inc

502 Old State Rd

Ballwin, MO 63021-5919

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 502 Old State Rd 

    Ballwin, MO 63021-5919(636) 394-6597

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Metropolitan Forestry Services Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Landscape Architects/Designers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.