This business is not BBB accredited.

Edward Jones

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 515-2000 Fax: (314) 515-2622 View Additional Phone Numbers 12555 Manchester Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63131 http://www.edwardjones.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Edward Jones include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 36 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

36 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 20 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 20
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 36

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Edward Jones
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 1981 Business started: 01/01/1922 Business started locally: 01/01/1922
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
James D Weddle, Managing Partner Complaint Department Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Complaint Department
Principal: James D Weddle, Managing Partner
Business Category

Investment Securities Financial Services

Alternate Business Names
Edward D Jones & Co LP Edward Jones Co Jones Edward D & Co L P

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    118 E Jefferson Ave

    Saint Louis, MO 63122

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12555 Manchester Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63131 (314) 515-3269 (636) 639-6700 (636) 327-7000 (618) 283-8763 (573) 756-9002 (573) 756-6711 (618) 443-5313 (314) 849-4900 (636) 978-9665 (636) 926-2797 (636) 397-3330 (636) 970-3708 (314) 966-3856

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened my IRA account on 4/18/13. I closed my IRA account on 2/26/2016. So complete length of time I have had my account with Edward Jones has been < 3 years or about 34-35 months. However they charged me 4 years of annual fees. I was charged $40 in April of 2013, $40 in April of 2014, $40 in April 2015, and then another $40 in February 2016, even though the fee was not due until April of 2016. So I have only had my account < 3 years, but they have charged me 4 years of fees totalling $160. I have contacted the #800 and local office and have only been told, "we don't pro-rate the fees". However I'm not asking them to even pro-rate the fees, I am just aking NOT to be charged for fees I don't owe. In addition I had to pay $95 just to close my account, which I feel was exorbitant and predatory to consumers. I don't understand how they earned $95?? I filled out all the paperwork myself, and at most a wire fee to send money out is only about $15-$30. It apppears Edward Jones motive is to charge excessive and unearned fees, especially the close-out fee which is 3 times in excess of what the industry standard appears to be. Then they tried to tell me it's "for account management/reporting" going forward. The cost of a stamp is 47 cents, and most IRS reporting is done electronically nowadays, at a relatively minimal cost, additionally I'm not retiring anytime soon, so I don't see how Edward Jones can justify $95 other than to say "sorry no one explained these fees to you". I'm also concerned at how easily their business practices can take advantage of the elderly or less educated in regards to investing. Telling people these fees 'are the norm', when they absolutely must be the highest in the industry. I do not understand what fiduciary responsibility they have to consumers, their sole purpose seems to be to charge their clients exploitive fees/charges whether earned or not, for the sake of their own profits.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $40 unearned annual fee that was not even due for another couple months, nor was I keeping my account there for another year so how can you charge me fees for future years?? And in addition, refund of the exorbitant $95 termination fee. As now I have a $135 negative account balance at the new institution I transferred money to.

Business Response:
***** ********** ****
St. Louis, MO 63131-3600
************
www.edwardjones.com


®




April 28, 2016



*** *** *****
**** ********* **
****** ****** ** *****

Re: Account closing fees


Dear Mr. *** *****:

The Complaint Investigations department is responsible for reviewing clients' concerns regarding their
accounts. As such, your letters to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and to the Better Business
Bureau regarding your account closing fees have been forwarded to our department.

A Self-Directed IRA annual fee is charged for the services provided by Edward Jones. Some of these services
are customer statements, IRS reporting and the update of plan documents as required by regulatory agencies.
If the annual fee has not been charged to the account for the current calendar year, it will be charged at the
time of closing the account. Whether the account is open for part of the year or the full year, the same tax
reporting and administration is required. The termination fee is charged for the services by Edward Jones to
process the closing of the account and for maintaining the account on our systems for the required 7 year
record retention period. We research our fees with other firms in our industry and believe our fee structure for
retirement accounts is very competitive.

You acknowledged receipt of the fee schedule by signing the Edward Jones account agreements at the time
you established your accounts. In addition, clients are notified either by firm mailings or announcements in
their account statement of any increase in our fees.

Edward Jones strives to meet the needs of all of our clients. Please accept our apology if your expectations
were not met. On behalf of the firm, we wish you success in reaching your financial goals.



Sincerely,

******* ** ******
Complaint Investigator

cc: U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
Better Business Bureau

4/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened my IRA account on 5/18/2012. I closed my IRA account on 3/8/2016. So complete length of time I have had my account with Edward Jones has been < 4 years or about 46-47 months. However they charged me 5 years of annual fees. I was charged $40 in May of 2012, $40 in May of 2013, $40 in May of 2014, $40 in May 2015, and then another $40 in March 2016, even though the fee was not due until May of 2016. So I have only had my account < 4 years, but they have charged me 5 years of fees totalling $200. I have contacted the #800 and local office and have only been told, "we don't pro-rate the fees". However I'm not asking them to even pro-rate the fees, I am just aking NOT to be charged for fees I don't owe. In addition I had to pay $95 just to close my account, which I feel was exorbitant and predatory to consumers. I don't understand how they earned $95?? I filled out all the paperwork myself, and at most a wire fee to send money out is only about $15-$30. It apppears Edward Jones motive is to charge excessive and unearned fees, especially the close-out fee which is 3 times in excess of what the industry standard appears to be. Then they tried to tell me it's "for account management/reporting" going forward. The cost of stamp is 47 cents, and most IRS reporting is done electronically nowadays, at a relatively minimal cost, additionally I'm not retiring anytime soon, so I don't see how Edward Jones can justify $95 other than to say "sorry no one explained these fees to you". I'm also concerned at how easily their business practices can take advantage of the elderly or less educated in regards to investing. Telling people these fees 'are the norm', when they absolutely must be the highest the industry. I do not understand what fiduciary responsibility they have to consumers, their sole purpose seems to be to charge their clients exploitive fees/charges whether earned or not, for the sake of their own profits.

Desired Settlement: Refund for both my fiancee, *** *** *** ***** and I as both of us were over-charged in this same capacity. He will be filing a separate complaint as well.

4/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** **** ** ******* *** ******** ***** ***** I am filing a claim against ****** B . *****, of Edward Jones, for failure to professionally and ethically perform his duties toward me. There is a much larger claim now residing in the Litigation Office of the Edward Jones Company that as of this date has not been resolved. Our thought was, if we could resolve the former claim that we would allow this smaller claim to become moot. Since that has not occurred we wish to go backward and make this claim. In 2012, after four years of losing my wife (*******) and I concluded that if the market ever improved that we would withdraw our investments from Edward jones and invest in other financial institutions that had our deposits insured (FDIC & NCUA). We made an appointment with Mr. ***** and explained just that. We were approaching senior status (now both over 80) and that we wished to withdraw our account in mutual funds, but maintain a 20-year bond with 6% interest. Mr. ***** became furious and disrespectful and asked, "What are you going to do with these funds?" I have the answer politely about getting our investment insured as noted above. He then threatened (hostile) that if we were no longer going to do business that he would have to forfeit the bond. The next day he called and stated that the Bond (originally $20,000.00) would be worth approximately $19,750.00. And, there would be a "transaction fee of several hundred dollars." For the second time I requested that I did not wish to forfeit the bond that I had called the St. Louis and they confirmed that I did not have to meet Mr. *****'s demand. He then acquiesced. However, he then chose to punish me by not submitting the request to the main office. My wife received her check for mutual funds on 8-30-12. I returned to his office and visited with Ms. Jennifer Nations, his very efficient assistant, and discovered that Mr. ***** had not authorized the request for my funds. (Incidentally, Ms. **** received her check of $13,262.83 as promised) I was told by Mr. ***** that I should have received $56,567.14, however, I did not get the check until 9-10-12 then it was for $56,287.22. This was some two weeks from the original request. I contend that if he had acted promptly that I woild have received the amount quoted to me as Ms. **** did on 8-30-12. The difference is $279.92. This is the amount I am requesting. In addition, I am filing claim number two which coincides with the original issue. The Litigation Office of Edward Jones has failed to rectify the financial loss that has occurred under Mr. *****. Mr. ***** attempted to move my account to another city without my permission (see attached letter). I protested this vigorously and Mr. ***** requested that EDC cancel my bond ($20,000.00 at 6%), the loss of interest was $13,600.00. Therefore I am requesting that Mr. ***** request EDC to reissue the bond since he was the architect of this situation or he reimburse me in the amount of $13,600.00 see Attached document

Desired Settlement: Therefore I am requesting that Mr. ***** request EDC to reissue the bond since he was the architect of this situation or he reimburse me in the amount of $13,600.00

Business Response: See attached

4/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

Below is what was emailed twice to their complaint dept with no response My name is ***** ******* and I am writing a formal complaint in reference to my Roth IRA Account. Below is a chronological bullet list of the account from beginning to now (4 months). I am formally requesting that this get dealt with any my resolution is granted or I will be forced to escalate the matter to Government involvement. Please note that you have till this Friday April 1st, 2016 by 3pm to have this matter settled. This is NOT an April fool’s joke and I am available to speak on the matter any time and day except Wednesday. Start of the account: • I met Financial Advisor ******* J. ***** at a business networking meeting. After hearing him discuss how he does his job I engaged him in a discussion about my retirement money that was at the time with Vangaurd Money Market • My goal was simple, I knew there was money to make in stock and funds. I was not expecting to me generate large financial gain but I did not have the time to research and watch the account so I sought out Mr. ***** • Him and his assistant were extremely helpful in taking my money from Vanguard. It was told to me that I would endure a small initial setup fee from Edward Jones but no other. • My only requirement was that Mr. ***** place a portion of the funds into 2 stocks Omnicom and Facebook, both of which I knew would do well because I read the advertising trade information • Mr. ***** recommended a Mutual Fund in Oil that his “analysts” states has a positive long-term outcome for 5 year plan • Mr. ***** suggested that it would be easier and more money out at the end if I consolidated the money from my Rollover IRA and Roth IRA in Vanguard into 1 Roth IRA. Given that Financial Planning is not career I agreed to his suggestion The Results • 4 Months into the account I randomly logged in one day to look at my accounts • I noticed that the two stocks I told to purchase were in the positive by over $300; however, the Mutual Fund Mr. ***** recommended to purchase was in the red (negative) by over $200 • Further looking into the account noticed that over the 4 months the campaign was running the Mutual Fund Mr. ***** recommended never went up, always lost money • From here I got on the phone with *******, who called me back but was more concerned about his next appointment then to speak with me. He did however state that I have to give it time as the Analyst stated it was a 5 year outcome AND he only reviews accounts like me on a 6 months basis. • Following this call I researched the forecast for oil and found that the 5 and 10 year outcome, while suppose to rise again would never be higher than where we bought it at. I emailed Mr. ***** the following URL’s showing him my research and stated we needed to speak in 2 months. This email with the below links went with no acknowledgement or reply. o https://********************************************* – Gov site stating 2016 and 2017 still down o http://*************************************************************/2015/07/21/oil-stocks-may-have-hit-bottom-heres-what-to-expect-next - States going up o http://******************************************************2016-to-2025-data-and-charts - states going up but not till 2025 and nowhere near where it was in 2014 o http://*******************************************US-Oil-Production-To-Rise-In-2016-Really.html - Crude oil decreasing long-term – Talks about the OPEC 2015 World Oil Outlook study that came out in December (see attached) states “Penetration of alternative fuel vehicles will increase in the next decades but will remain at low levels” • Following this email I met with my Accountant to do my taxes and he asked about the whole situation and told me I would have to pay taxes on the funds in the Rollover IRA account that moved to the Roth IRA • Hearing this I sent an email demanding a meeting with Mr. ***** to discuss my account • This meeting happened today and lasted no longer than 15 minutes; expressing extremely poor customer service. He made me feel like he knew everything and my research was nothing. That my friends and Accountant don’t know what they are talking about because they are not Financial Advisors. o He told me “based on the way you feel then you should submit a complaint to Edward Jones. Would you like the 800 number?” o He even stated “Right now I just want you to leave my office” o When asked you do not want to keep me as a client his answer was “NO”

Location involved

*** **** ** **** ***** ******* *******

Desired Settlement: Resolutions • Based on the fact that everything Mr. ***** recommended and did I want FULL reimbursement of my losses. • Mr. ***** should be investigated by Edward Jones Corporate for: o work ethics (i.e. only reviewing my account on a 6 month basis) – It is my position that regardless of it being a retirement account it should be watched bi-weekly or at the least monthly and if a stock or fund continues to decrease the customer should be advised and possibly move out of the stock/fund o poor customer service (i.e. kicking my out of his office and not wanting to retain me as a customer of Edward Jones) – At the least Mr. ***** should have suggested to forego a fee and agree to monitor the account closer with bi-weekly and/or monthly calls to make back the loss • Should the above 2 bullets be awarded and carried out to my satisfaction I will consider staying with Edward Jones under a new and better Financial Consultant

Business Response: Business Response Attached

3/25/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** * ******* *** ******* ** ***** ***** ******** My complaint is about the ****** Edward Jones office. I had set up my account in late '09 or early '10 A Roth IRA and some other general account, I was depositing money every month to the IRA. After a time, my original acct. mgr quit and a new 1 assigned to me, I was not satisfied with the service I was getting so I opened an IRA with my actual bank so E.J. could roll my money into it and I would close my account at E.J.. I have emails detailing them to transfer the money to my Banks Roth IRA account, they failed to do this and now false information has been given to the IRS and I'm being charged taxes on money that had already been taxed. This ignorant "mistake" was made because I feel they were disgruntled at me closing my account as it had been difficult to get them to respond and I was given different instructions on how to close my account. I want a complete Cost Basis report detailing all transactions that happened in my account. This should never have happened, it was a simple request and their "mistake" has caused unnecessary aggravation and dead ends when I have reached out to get information. I had given pretty clear instruction on what was supposed to happen to the money I had been depositing again from my TAXED paycheck. This needs to be rectified. I regret EVER doing business with this company and will never do so or recommend anyone else does again. Product_Or_Service: Financial investing

Desired Settlement: Honestly I would like an explanation of why they could not do a simple transfer and why my taxed money was reported as a financial gain if anything I lost money. This was money I had already earned an had taxes taken out, they were simply giving me my money back, I did not make 1 DIME off of these people. I want an adjustment to be sent to the proper IRS authorities and any penalties I may have incurred be taken away or rectified by Edward Jones. Ridiculous it has come to this.

2/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I closed my investment accounts in person with the new Edward Jones investment advisor at this location and he told me I would receive a check in the mail by Friday, January 15th or the following Monday, January 18th at the latest. I called him January 18th because I had not received the check. He said the account was still "sitting there in cash" and that a check had not been processed or mailed out. I asked him why and he said he did not know. He told me it would be another 3-5 business days. It is unclear why he did not follow through with the agreed upon processing and delivery schedule for the proceeds of my accounts since he did not provide any explanation for the delay. At this point I have little confidence the check will arrive within 3-5 more business days. Product_Or_Service: Mutual Funds and Stocks

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the check for the proceeds from my accounts no later than Thursday, January 21st.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2016/02/01) Dear Dispute Resolution Department, The complaint Investigations department is responsible for investigating and responding to our clients' concerns. As such, your letters dated January 21, 2016 has been brought to my attention for review and response. A written response was provided to Mr. ****** on January 28, 2016. A copy of the response is attached. Edward Jones has processed account liquidations per the client's instructions and we now consider this matter closed. Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your inquiry. Sincerely, **** ******* Senior Complaint Investigator Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2016/02/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Implementation charges, best practices, organizational inefficiencies In or around Fall 2014, I was approached about moving my 401K (my only account), and all of my spouse's retirement accounts to Edward Jones. After several weeks of weighing the pros and cons, we elected to move our accounts over to them. The implementation costs were roughly 5+% of our overall portfolio, which represented a large amount of fees. After we made the move, within an extremely short period of time, our advisor was let go by the company (was not voluntary). After some time, we received notification that there was a change and we would be notified about how who would be handling our accounts going forward. Once a new advisor was put in place, attempts were made for all of the terminated advisors accounts to be transferred to other advisors. Once we were able to meet our advisor (a long while after the termination), they were tactful, but we were embarrassed by what we perceived as a lack of ownership of our account holdings due to no new contributions to our Edward Jones accounts going forward. We have been down to one income for the past four years and can not contribute to my 401k and to the EJ account. We are thoroughly upset that we changed our accounts over only for our advisor to be terminated and we now have an account with EJ that did not or does not receive the attention we desire. I guess that's what happens with smaller accounts at EJ. We would not have made such a life changing choice had we known of the changes that were going to be taking place and the lack of organizational structure of the Edward Jones organization. EJ should have told us they were that close to terminating the advisor, especially if they were under any kind of disciplinary action plan, so we could have made an informed choice. Once I brought the issue to the attention of EJ, they had their advisor call me. I expressly told the advisor that I did not want to speak to them about the situation because it was a conflict of interest. After they continued to pound me for information, I had to tell them again that I did not want to speak with them about the situation. I had to say it several times. Now I have an advisor who is upset with the situation that has full control over my accounts. That's why I did not want to continue the discussion. What a mess EJ!

Desired Settlement: We are not upset about the rate of return because we realize we can't do anything about that. We only want our original transfer fees reversed, appx 2,000, and to move our accounts to another firm without paying transfer fees to EJ. We are stuck in the middle of a mess started by EJ's poor handling of financial advisors and how they handle terminating employees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2016/01/12) */ The Complaint Investigations department is responsible for investigating and responding to our clients' concerns. As such, your letters dated December 14 and December 29, 2015 have been brought to my attention for review and response. A written response was provided to Mr. ******* on December 2, 2015. A copy of the response is attached. During my telephone conversation that day I advised Mr. ******* that our firm respectfully denies his request to reimburse his commissions. As Mr. ******* has raised no new allegations since his previous complaint and our response thereto, we now consider this matter closed. Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your inquiry. Sincerely, **** T ******* Senior Complaint Investigator

1/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Edward Jones Investments Annville Pa Theft by deception Hidden commission fee's My wife and I switched Edward Jones brokers in August 2015. At this time the new broker ask us what life insurance we had and ask us if we could bring in our policy's for him to look at. He called and informed me that he found a better policy for the exact same yearly premium. I told him that I just paid my yearly premium in July and it was good thru July of 2016. He then informed me that the new policy would just take over the old policy and "eat" it and at no time would I ever be without coverage. He also said that I had $12,500 in cash earning 4.5% interest and he said he would invest that money to earn me 7% interest. So, I agreed to pursue the new policy. After having a visiting nurse come to my home and take blood, urine and all health tests, the Edward a Jones broker called me to say I was healthy and I got the life insurance policy. He then told me I had to come in to sign the final paperwork and had 48 hrs to do do. He then told me not to forget my check! I ask him check he was referring to? He then said I needed to bring the yearly premium check and pay a premium. I told him that I just paid the yearly premium to my old policy and he said I didn't need to pay another premium. He said, oh come on, don't be like that, it was just an oversight! I decided not to take the new policy and I am glad I did because he would have taken a $1,080 commission for selling me the policy. At no time whatsoever did this guy tell me that he was charging me a commission of any kind. My wife had a dormant Fidelity account and he ask her if she wanted to "roll it over" into our Eward Jones portfolio to keep our money in one account instead of having it in different accounts. My wife agreed to the roll over and on our next Eward Jones statement we were charged $7,500 in commission fees for what was suppose to be a "roll over". We were NEVER told of a $7,500 commission charge because we would have NEVER agreed to it. This is THEFT BY DECEPTION! We filed a complaint with Edward Jones and received a letter stating that they spoke to their broker and he said that he never brought up anything to us regarding our life insurance nor the dormant Fidelity account. He said that we ask him to look over our life insurance policy's and we ask him to take over our Fidelity account. So, Edward Jones says they don't find no wrong doing with their broker and they will not refund our $7,500 that they stole from us in hidden commission fees! Imagine that, their broker said the complete opposite of what my wife and I said. Everything we said, he denied. Edward Jones never once called us or tried contacting us to hear our side of the complaint. We just received a letter stating that they found no wrong doing with their broker and deny our request for a full refund of their commission fees. This is not good customer service or business practice. Who treats clients this way and expects to get away with it?

Desired Settlement: My wife and I want a full refund of the over $7,000 Edward Jones stole from us in hidden commission fees that were NEVER told to us upfront. This is theft by deception!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2016/01/12) */

1/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "I would like to express my dissatisfaction in the manner my account has been handled by *********** H. I am 59 years old and have not had the best of luck with the stock market over the years. I sought the assistance of a financial expert to help me in these matters. I always emphasized to him that I was not looking for huge gains. I wanted a conservative approach considering my past history and age. Last year, I trusted him with 40K to invest. I told him to diversify as much as possible. For some reason, he decided to put all the money in Oil Stocks. I didn't even get to review the stocks before he purchased them without my consent. I'm starting to realize the decision was based on his commission. In 12 months, I have lost over 13K. One stock in particular went down 49%. I plan to move to another adviser. I do believe the commission policy gives incentive to such behavior." Product_Or_Service: Investments

Desired Settlement: I think I should get a full refund. My family and I have endured a lot of stress over this issue but I only seek the money lost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2016/01/04) */

12/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I inherited securities from my father who had his accounts with Edward Jones Waxahachie Texas ... His advisor was **** **** Because of the severe issues I had with **** Box I gave the information to the trustees lawyer to give to **** *** to transfer the securities to my brokerage account at .......... No account information was provided to me and no stock basis analysis on any of the securities. There were approximately 25 different securites. They are essential for doing taxes and they are required by law to provide these ... I believe it is 15 days they have from the date of transfer. It has been about a month. Finally my bank said lets do a conference call. So I did a conference call with my bank on the phone. And Edward Jones Corporate said we can not provide you with any information. He did bring up another account that had come into my name and appeared to be attempting to deflect the conversation back to the older account. I asked if he could see everything that **** *** transferred. Is it possible he could not see something that **** *** transferred. He said that would not be possible. Yes we can see everything that he transfers. He said I see no transfers to you I see transfers to your brother but not to you. My bank advisor gave him the dates they came in from Edward Jones and the approximate amount. They still continued to obstruct access to this vital information to me. Claiming they were unable to see the securities that were transferred to my bank. I believe this is obstruction and against FINRA policies.

Desired Settlement: I need cost basis analysis on every security that came into my name from Edward Jones over the past month and a half and information on the accounts it came from.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/12/18) */

11/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/3/15 at 3:30 PM, we received door to door soliciting from **** W. ****** Financial Advisor at Edward Jones. We have NO soliciting well posted, and he continued to knock on our door and ask information to solicit us. Please be reminded that the City of Crestwood requires a CITY, not county permit for door to door soliciting. If this happens again I will file a police report and pursue charges against your company. I would never do business with a company that violates the laws of my community and the privacy of others in their homes. Not only are the violating city ordinances, I would expect them to respect the privacy regarding the no soliciting sign that is posted. **** W ***** Financial Advisor *** ****** ***** Suite **** St. Louis, MO XXXXXXXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: No further contact by the business

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/11/23) */

11/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a former client and depositor of Investment advisor and banker/broker of **** ****** aka: Edward Jones Investments, I had a material legal need for ******* ***** to provide me full copy of my two year old cancelled checks as were drawn on my money market with him and his office for my money market with Edward Jones Investments. I have repeatedly over the past year attempted to secure my full copies that banking regulations state all such records should be made available upon request by the depositor; as likewise the Nevada Uniform Securities Act (NAC and NRS) codes all specifically affirm likewise while deferring to federal regulatory laws and ethical rules of conduct as well best practices act affirm as well. ******* ***** engaged me and my representatives and associates in a hostile and rageful manner in attempt to intimidate while deflecting honest request for production of records as asked for, or explanation as to what happened to them and whom with Edward Jones at the parent corporation I could to turn to to secure my copies of all cancelled checks and statements for account number XXX-XXXXX-X-X. Product_Or_Service: Investment banking and advising Account_Number: XXX-XXXXX-X-X

Desired Settlement: Provide full copy immediately of ALL cancelled checks for the account number as identified as was closed in mid 2013 or early 2014.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/11/13) */

11/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They closed my fidelity account that was $51830.83, and the account is empty 9/30/15. I told ******* B. ******* I did not want her to do anything with the money. She is not being honest with me on what happened to the money. I called them last week, and they are telling me everything is taken care of. She transferred the money but she can not tell me where the money is located.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back, and I want control over my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/11/05) */

10/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a retirement account, they call it a SEP account and I decided to transfer it to a bank that doesn't have an annual fee of $40.00. Additionally another fee of $40.00 was added. When I questioned that fee **** said that it goes to the IRS. So I transferred my account and they charged me $95.00 to transfer/close the account. When I spoke to **** he said this is standard practice but it is not so. I was never made aware of any fee or told that I would be charged the other $40.00 that they claim goes to IRS. He was inconsistent about the amount when I questioned him. First he said it was $135 then $90 then it ended up being $95. Product_Or_Service: Retirement Account Account_Number: XXX-XXXXX-X-X

Desired Settlement: Refund $95.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/10/16) */

9/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Edward Jones trust has delayed and delayed settlement of an estate trust for no apparent reason other than to collect fees and deplete the account as much as possible. It took over a year just to gain access to the house to disburse personal belongs, and then another 6 months to list the condo. After the sale more delays to disburse the funds of the trust. Lack of response to certain e-mails or empty promises when they were, was an obvious delay tactic, to collect more "administrative fees".

Desired Settlement: Disbursement of funds immediately and explanation of delay and itemized list of charges from day one.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/08/31) */

8/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE REPEATEDLY AS THE SECRETARY rose, AND SENT MAIL REQUESTING MY STATEMENTS OF STOCKS SOLD. and HAVE NOT GOTTEN ANY RESPONSE From this office I invested with a money order a large sum over 10,000.00. This not only has been poor customer service but a headache for my accountant. Product_Or_Service: stocks Order_Number: It was tranferred Account_Number: THATS WHAT I WANTED

Desired Settlement: I would like the total amount invested with this office. In a check...by January 1 2015. Reflecting a bad practice for Edward Jones in Grand Rapids Because of this office **** *********** *** ** *** *** ***** ****** ******** XXXXX. The stock blocker used discrimination because I am a progressive stock buy and sell. You can look up records at this office to see how much I bought in stock; to settle the matter...I had put my investments with this office had confidence.Discrimation does apply.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/01/08) */ Dear Ms *******: The Complaint Investigations Department reviews client concerns regarding their accounts. As such, your correspondence to the Better Business Bureau (BBB) related to your account was forwarded to our department and we are writing to provide the results of our investigation. Our records reflect your account was originally opened with Edward Jones Financial Advisor *** ****** in January 2014. In February 2014 you transferred your account to Edward Jones Financial Advisor ****** ******** Our understanding is you have requested copies of account statements from the branch office of Ms. ******** She would not have the ability to print copies of statements for the time period in which your account was in the office of Mr. ******* Enclosed you will find copies of your account statements from January 2014- March 2014 for the time period your account was funded at Edward Jones. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding your request for information. Our understanding is this information satisfies your request provided to the BBB. Edward Jones strives to meet the needs of each individual investor. We appreciate the opportunity to review your concerns and wish you success in your future financial decisions. Sincerely, ***** ******* Complaint Investigator Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/01/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I had *** *******,sell one stock, and he will tell he never reposed to my request in paper DDD of that sell and also **** his secretary..so I will not accept ************** c *******

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ********* *** ** ******** WA XXXXX A financial advisor working at Edwards Jones, located at XXXXX ********* *** ** Seattle, has been endlessly harassing my answering machine on a weekly basis for the last 18 months. His calls are relentless, tiresome and distasteful. His "cold call" overzealous messages do not inspire or motivate me in any way to call him back. I assume there are other people experiencing similar harassing calls. Edward Jones should be ashamed by accepting these tactics to promote or expand their agents/brokers business portfolios.

Desired Settlement: Stop Calling!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/04) */ To Whom It May Concern: Thank you for your correspondences regarding the above case. Enclosed you will find the response sent to prospect **** ******. Please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX if you have any additional questions or concerns. Response: Dear Mr. ******: It is the responsibility of the Complaint Investigations department to review and respond to written communication from prospects/clients which may be deemed a complaint. As such, your Missouri/Illinois Better Business Bureau communication regarding the above-referenced matter has been forwarded to our department for review. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback related to this matter. We have requested that the financial advisor at XXXXX ********* *** add you to their "Do Not Call" list and remove you from any future mailings. The goal of the firm is to consistently deliver professional service to our customers. We appreciate the opportunity to address this matter and apologize for any inconvenience and concern this situation has caused you. We wish you success in reaching your financial goals.

6/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** W **** ** Fairfield, IL XXXXX The rep at this address said something regarding Ferguson, MO on Facebook so they fired him and closed the office down. They did not tell anyone about this and transferred all 10 of my accounts to another rep named ****** ****** and change our accounts. They then charged me $950 to take my accounts over to another office because they closed my office. I had nothing to do with this situation. I had 10 accounts there with over $300,000 and did what they wanted with our money and did not notify us until it was already done. How many people know that this is happening to them, and don't know they are being robbed. No one had a choice.

Desired Settlement: I would like be refunded $950.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/05/04) */ To Whom It May Concern: Thank you for your correspondences regarding the above case. Enclosed you will find the response sent to Mr. ****** ****** regarding his concerns. Please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX if you have any additional questions or concerns. Sincerely, ****** ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/05/20) */ See Attached Final Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2015/05/22) */ To Whom It May Concern: Thank you for your correspondences regarding the above case. Enclosed you will find the third response sent to Mr. ****** ****** regarding his concerns. In addition, we have returned the full $950.00 the client incurred in termination fees. Please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX if you have any additional questions or concerns. Sincerely, ****** ****** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 23, 2015/06/04) */ The Edward Jones had responded to my complaint. They have give me all my money back after I turned it in to FCC. I don't know if they give back to all the ACC holders there were several. But that is there problem. Thank you all for the promp serv.

6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I keep getting mail from Edward Jones. It's addressed to a ***** M. ********** there is no such person at my address. I have repeatedly sent these letters marked "return to sender' "does not live here", etc. But apparently that doesn't work with this company.

Desired Settlement: Quit sending me mail addressed to a ***** M. **********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/05/27) */ To Whom It May Concern: Thank you for your correspondences regarding the above case. Enclosed you will find the response sent to the homeowner of the address in question. It appears that address was used by our client Mr. ***** M. ********** In April of 2013 it appears Mr. ********* took a full distribution leaving behind what appears to be our fees associated with closing the account. A request has been made to close the account. Please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX if you have any additional questions or concerns. Sincerely, ****** ******

3/19/2015 Delivery Issues
2/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
12/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had questions about why my power of attorney was not being honored. The customer service rep could not answer my questions and was extremely rude. I have a power of attorney to handle my father's affairs. He has recently moved to an assisted living center. He is in need of his funds to pay for this center. He gave me and my sister independent power of attorney to handle it. I provided a copy of this legal document to Edward Jones. They asked for detailed private identity information from me which I also provided. Then they asked that I provide the same information for my sister. This is outside of the requirements of the power of attorney since our lawyer set it up for us to act independently to make it easier since we both live far from our father. According to Minnesota state law, I need only provide my information since I am the acting party. But the local office said that I needed to call the central office of Edward Jones to confirm this. So I did. The customer service rep was rude and argumentative and was unable to answer my questions. He said that he was unable to determine why my sister's information was needed. I believe this is a stalling method to keep the money in the account and take out more sales fees. My father fell victim to the strong arm tactics of this company when he opened the account. The salesman continued to pressure him, an 88-year-old man, until he said he finally gave in to get the guy to stop coming to his house. My father was preyed upon. Since he opened the account, he has only lost money in the account. And now we cannot access his money to pay his living expenses. **** **** is the Edward Jones rep. His office told me to call the main office because they said they could not honor my power of attorney although I had provided all of my information and a faxed copy of the legal document.

Desired Settlement: Require the company to honor the law regarding power of attorney and release my father's money to him in a check made payable to him.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/12/17) */ It is the responsibility of the complaint investigations department to review and respond to written communication from a client which may be deemed a complaint. As such, your complaint submission to the Better Business Bureau regarding the above referenced matter was forwarded to our attention. Thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We take matters like this very seriously. It does appear the POA was added to your father's account on December 3, 2014. The POA allows our headquarters associated and the brand team to have the authorization to provide you information about your father's account. It does appear your father's POA named an additional authorized party. Since, the POA has requested the account be liquidated, closed and a check issued to their address of record. If you have any questions regarding this activity we suggest you contact the additional POA immediately. Please accept our apologizes for any inconvenience you have experienced because of this matter. Edward Jones strives to meet the needs of each individual investor please accept our apology your expectations were not met. Sincerely, ****** ******

12/12/2014 Delivery Issues
11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fining us $285 to move 3 accounts out of Ed Jones even though our Financial Advisor left firm!?, I am comfortable managing my own money. ****** ****** came to my door, made a great pitch, struck up a relationship with me and asked for my business. I decided to go for it because I trusted him and he seemed knowledgable. He left the firm abruptly 6 -12 months later without telling us. Since ****** left, we had no interest in staying with Edward Jones, we tried to transfer our accounts out, but were denied b/c they are charging us $95 per account that we want to transfer. This is ridiculous, b/c our advisor left! Why should we be penalized out of our retirement accounts because their employee left? This is a terrible practice and I demand these fees be waived. I never would have joined in the first place if I knew this is how they treat people!

Desired Settlement: Waive the $190 they are trying to get us to pay to transfer our ROTH IRA's, and refund the $95 they took from transferring our joint account over. I'm not going to just trust my money with their "next in line" replacement for ******! It's my money and I should have the right to decide what to do with it, penalty free....especially in this situation!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/04) */ Dear Mr ***********; The Compliance Investigations Department is responsible for reviewing clients' concerns regarding their accounts. As such, your correspondence sent to the Better Business Bureau related to the above referenced accounts has been forwarded to us for review. It is our understanding you are dissatisfied with the termination fee associated with the above referenced accounts. At the time these accounts were opened, the Account Agreement was provided to your disclosing the fees associated with our accounts, which included the $95.00 terminiation fee. As a courtesy gesture I will be reimbursing the $95.00 termination fee incurred on the XXXXX account. The credits will transfer to your new firm based on the instructions on file. I have also requested the XXXXX and XXXXX accounts have the termination fee waived should you decide to move your accounts elsewhere. Edward Jones makes every effort to place financial advisors in our branch offices who intend on enjoying a long-term career with our firm. Unfortunately, there are circumstances in which a financial advisor may leave our firm or relocate. This in no way impacts the firm's schedule of fees and we apologize you felt you were incurring fees due to your financial advisors decision to depart our firm. Edward Jones works very hard to meet the needs of every client. Please accept our apology if you expectations were not met. We thank you for the opportunity to assist you with your investment needs and wish you success in reaching your financial goals. Sincerely, **** ** ******* Complaint Investigations

9/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ***** made several visits to my house, wanting me to invest with his company. He assured me that the stock market was no longer losing value, and investing with him would provide me with some small gains. Currently, I had investments that were giving zero or very small gains, but were not losing money. As I told Mr. Laser many times, small gains were acceptable, but losing money was not. The summary is as follows:$50.000 Initial investment 5/13/13, $2.375 Salesman's commission, $424 May's loss, $680June's loss, $541July's gain,$47,062 July balance. After 45 days of losses,and 15 days of gains, I decided to end this nightmare. A portfolio loss of 6% in two months turns into 36% loss per year. This was during a time when the stock market was skyrocketing, and it seemed everyone else was showing profits.I lost $2938 to a professional who does this for a living. Well, it became clear that his deceptive practices and broken promises were designed to fatten his wallet at the expense of his clients. Location involved Edward Jones **** **** ****** **** *********** CO XXXXX Phone: ************

Desired Settlement: I asked Mr. ***** to refund my entire investment of $50,000 and he declined. I want him to refund the balance of $2938 to me, and to promise that he will refrain from these deceptive practices in the future.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/09/19) */ Dear Mr. ******, The Complaint Investigations Department is responsible for reviewing clients' concerns regarding their account. As such, your correspondence related to the above referenced account has been forwarded to us for review from the Better Business Bureau. Based on our review of account documentation it is our understanding your Financial Advisor, ****** ******* discussed fees, commissions, and market fluctuation at the time he executed your investment with MFS Mutual Funds on July 10, 2013 at your request. Trade Confirmations were sent to the address of record reflecting trade details. Our records reflect you received monthly statements disclosing account activity. While we understand your frustration with the performance of the accounts, the performance is attributed to circumstances beyond our control and market fluctuation, which is a risk associated with investing. Edward Jones works very hard to meet the needs of every client. Please accept our apology if your expectations were not met. We thank you for the opportunity to assist you with your investment needs and wish you success in reaching your financial goals. Sincerely, **** M *******

9/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe that Edward Jones scammed me. I believe that they did this when my advisor left and they did not tell me. They did not send me any information on my new advisor who is handling my life savings. Looking online it looks like she has no financial background and I think her longest work history is at a bar.I was trying to process a trade when they got rid of my advisor. Because of this I believe I lost soo much money on the trade not going through. I lost thousands.STAY AWAY!!!! You might loss your money too. Product_Or_Service: NQ Mobile

Desired Settlement: I want a my stocks sold at the price I requested.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/27) */ Thank you for your correspondences regarding the above case. Enclosed you will find the responses sent to Ms. ******** ****** regarding her concerns. Please contact me if you have any additional questions or concerns. Sincerely, ****** ****** Complaint Investigator

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/24/2014 Delivery Issues
10/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I need to pull money out of my IRA to make ends meet with bills. I gave them all my information and they told me on Monday July 1st that they money would directly go into my account Friday July 5th. Friday came and gone, Monday 8th morning my wife called to see where the money was.. The lady put the deposit in the wrong-old account. she apologized and said she would see what she could do. In the mean time, I had made checks out on Sunday to cover groceries that I needed and bills through money market at **** ******.. well they bounced and I got fee's from my bank and the stores. They money didn't get put into the right account until July 16th. Product_Or_Service: retirement

Desired Settlement: I asked them to pay my $165 dollar fee's and write a letter saying it was not my fault-their error and they won't do it. They admit they were wrong and "sorry" but won't do anything about it.. I will NOT be keeping my retirement plan with them!! Worst company that can't even own up to their mistakes.. Very unprofessional

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/10/16) */ We reimbursed this customer $165. We have responded to this complaint multiple times. A response was faxed to the BBB on 8/20/13 and on 9/03/13. Fax confirmations were received on both occasions.

10/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Inappropriate account setup/management of SIMPLE IRA account with Edward Jones, ******** NC (**** ************* pulled funds, but charged $95. I opened a SIMPLE IRA account with Edward Jones as my employer ***** ****** had a relationship with this firm. Little/no "value add" was given by **** *********** (and staff ******* ********). Because the service was so poor, an account that I opened in 1/13, I transferred to another brokerage company in 8/13; I was charged a $95 fee to close/move these funds although I initiated the transfer through the other company. Here is a summary of the problems along the way. No investment conversation/advice was given - on 4/24/13 I was merely sent a fax telling me to sign and return it for funds to be invested in ******** ***** ******* without disclosure of why or any kickbacks/revenue sharing with this fund group. I refused. We finally found time to talk on 4/24/13 and **** *********** asked that I look at ******** ****** ** ******* ******** ********* and ************ I finally made my decision on 7/24/13 and asked that my funds be invested in ************ ***** **** - at that time ******* ******** insisted that my existing account #s with the other broker be given to her to reduce the front end % - I refused to share this (not wanting to give out information to Edward Jones that was not needed). The broker was able to get this done without this information! At this point I indicated that how they were operating was unacceptable and that I would be moving my accounts. Having online access to accounts but without being able to take actions online was unacceptable; not being able to leave Voice Mail messages for the broker was unacceptable; and, trying to maneuver this relationship via faxes and missed calls wasn't working. I worked with the ********* staff to shift these funds, not Edward Jones. Funds were transferred to ********* via their request on 8/6/13; a subsequent payroll deposit was made to Edward Jones on 8/1/13 and those funds were held until 8/14/13 - at which time Edward Jones pulled $95 from my retirement $ to pay themselves ("termination/distribution fee") before investing these final dollars 2-weeks later (on 8/14/13) minus the $95 fee; then these were transferred to ********* on 8/20/13. On 8/26/13 I emailed **** *********** about my dissatisfaction and requested a waiver of the $95 based on these issues; he never responded to my email. I am requested a waiver (refund!) of the $95; with these $ being transferred (as intended) to the SIMPLE IRA I now hold with **********

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a $95 waiver (now considered a refund) based on these issues. I would like the $95 forwarded to my SIMPLE IRA (or to me, and I can forwarded them on to the SIMPLE IRA) as I terminated this account due to Edward Jones services that I considered inappropriate (if the services provided were acceptable, I would not have moved these $).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/10/14) */ We refunded the consumer their $95.

6/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Edward Jones
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart