BBB Accredited Business since

Wisper I S P

Phone: (618) 206-4190 Fax: (866) 282-3580 View Additional Phone Numbers 3680 Lebanon Ave STE 101, Belleville, IL 62221 http://www.wisperisp.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wisper I S P meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wisper I S P include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wisper I S P
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 18, 2006 Business started: 10/01/2003 in IL Business started locally: 10/01/2003 Business incorporated 09/18/2003 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nathan Stooke, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nathan Stooke, President
Business Category

Internet Services Internet Access Provider Telephone Communications Telephone Companies Internet-Based Telephone Service Telephone & Television Cable Contractors Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Su: Closed
H: Closed

Additional Locations

  • 3680 Lebanon Ave STE 101

    Belleville, IL 62221 (800) 765-7772

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wisper has been my internet provider from 2.5 months. They charged us a large fee to come out and install the service, which worked for two weeks. After two weeks the service became spotty, then quit all together. We called tech support numerous times and eventually were told that there was an issue with their telrad system that had been ongoing for quite awhile and that the problem was not with our system, but a mainframe issue. They continued to bill us, even after the CEO of the company sent out a mass email stating they knew there was a problem and were working on it, but did not know when the service would come back up. The CEO advised that Wisper customers who were having issues should individually email request bill credits if they felt they were due. I emailed for a bill credit on 12/16/15 and requested our service be disconnected. Never heard anything from them. I called today (12/29/15) and was treated rudely by a billing specialist who gave me a list of fees we would acquire for terminating service. She gave me the run around about a bill credit even after I referenced the CEO's original mass email. Terrible company, pretty sure they are some outfit from the backwoods who got to large to fast and have no resources to do anything but suck money out of people.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my internet to be disconnected without fees. I would like my bill to be adjusted and I would like the money back that I paid for service installation. I felt the company knew of the issues it was having prior to my installation and that they should hav not gone on with its the installation knowing they could not provide a service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2016/01/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, CEO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@wisperisp.com Wisper issued a complete service refund to Ms. ****** for the installation fee and the first month of service. Her service had been installed with equipment that was considered new technology. The equipment had been tested and was working fine prior to her installation. Soon after Ms. ****** was installed, the particular type of equipment that was installed on her home started having network-wide issues. It took Wisper's engineers several weeks of troubleshooting and working with the network manufacturer to find a fix for the equipment. We apologize for not delivering a great experience for Ms. ******.

12/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is a internet provider service, I pay around $50 dollars for this service a month. At first this service worked great, then for the last 3-4 months it does not work they way they advertise. I come home and it constantly disconnects , slow most times I use it. Under 1 meg and most times its .3-4. Now I have contacted the tech support multiple times , getting no results and run around. I have a voice mail that was left on my phone by a tech support person, he could not even finish his sentence or telle what was going on. His last words he left was "I don't know what to say" and then hung up. He sounded like he was hung over. Now this company advertises 6 meg+ and I cannot even get one out of it when I come home to use it. To make matters worse I have a 2 year contract on a service I cannot use. I feel like they just bille for nothing , I cannot get anywhere with these people at this company. Product_Or_Service: Internet service provider

Desired Settlement: I would like hem to repair what is broken, give me what speeds I am paying for or I want my money back for all the months it did not function and break contract

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/31) */ We received your complaint from the Better Business Bureau and want you to be happy with the internet connection that we provide you. Our support manager *****, called and also sent voice mails on 7/21 and 7/23 to see how he could help and didn't get a response. Thinking that perhaps we didn't have a correct e-mail address on file, I sent an e-mail message to the one listed on the complaint on 7/30 and haven't gotten a response. Our records indicate that you were connected to our service in September of 2014 and that you then contacted us in June of this year complaining of slow speeds. We see that we mailed a new router to you and that one of our customer support techs were able to get you connected with it. We see that your equipment has a connection to our tower and that data is moving at a rate up to 5.0 mbps. Please let us know if are still having connection issues because we want all of our customers to be happy with the connection/service that we provide them. We look forward to your response and any information that can help us to keep you as a Wisper ISP customer.

9/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They assured me before entering the contract that I would have no issues with my internet. I emphasized numerous times that I did not want the service if it was not going to work properly. I've been paying 54.99 each month as agreed upon. I am suppose to be getting 10 mbps download speed and 2 mbps upload. I can set my time to when the speed of my connection slows down to a crawling 2 or 3 mbps download, making it nearly impossible to stream and use for gaming and I am only one person in the household. Im not sure how a family would be able to use all of their Wi-Fi devices when the Wisper ISP can't even supply 10 mbps for just one person. I actually had one tell me that it would never be at 10 mbps when I test for the connection speed. In fact, the only thing that all Wispers' employees seemed to be honest about was that statement alone, "That my Speed Would Never Be as Fast As It Is Advertised."I have contacted customer support several times regarding the issue and their best solution is to send me a 10.00 gift certificate for *********. I am sorry but I am not that cheap and my Major in college was quality assurance and you people fail miserably. I am requesting that Wisper ISP completely refund the amount paid to them by me, as they have not even come close to meeting their obligation of the contract.

Desired Settlement: I request that Wisper pays me back all the money I have paid them to provide me with an adequate internet connection, which they have failed to do so. This is not a game and I prefer USD over ******** Gift Certificates. If I fail to finish the job, or not provide an adequate service then I certainly would not be in business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** CEO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@wisperisp.com Mr ****** is an avid gamer and a very persistent person. He has been a customer since Aug 2014 and never really been happy with our service. We sold him our 10mb by 2 mg package. Within 2 months he call in complaining of speed issues. We worked with him over the phone to no avail. We then dispatched a tech to his house. Our tech tested the connection a was able to get 9.75mb by 1.97mb, very close to 10mb by 2mb. There is overhead associated with all connections so you will never really see a full 10mb by 2mb. This was explained to Mr Stoud by several Wisper employees. A 9.75mb x 1.97mb is a very very good connection and he should not have any problems. He was only getting 5mb down on his laptop wireless within his house. However connected directly to the router he was able to get the full package speed. Our tech offered to run a hardwire to his computer, but Mr ****** did not want that. Our tech changed the channel in the router to try to improve his experience. Wisper is responsible for the connection to the house, the customer is responsible for the connection within the house. While we were providing him the full connect speed at the router we choose to still try to help him with his own personal network. Over the next few months he continued to call into our support becoming very very angry, loud and abusive to our support techs on each call. We agreed we could not provide him the service he wanted and offered to cancel his service and not charge a cancelation fee. We even schedule the recovery of our equipment. However he called back in and decided to keep the service after all. About 3 months ago we did in fact have problems providing him the full 10mb by 2mb service. We tried everything we could, but could not provide him more then 5mb by 1mb constantly. We offered to drop his package down to our 5mb by 1mb service for $39.99. Another option was to provide him 2 months of free service while we worked to get him back up to the 10mb by 2mb service. The last option was for us to uninstall him and not charge him a cancelation fee. Mr ****** did not like any of those options and chose to file a complaint with the BBB. In total we have been to his house several times and offered him a number of options that were fair and above and beyond. Throughout his time as a customer he had been able to use our service and has used it. We have also proven several times that some of his problems were internal to his home network and not our internet service. Throughout his time as a customer he has been abusive to our staff and unwilling to choose any options we present him. Even given the option to cancel within a few months of signing up he chose not to. I feel his demand of a full refund is not warranted as he did receive and use our service. Wisper is happy to work with him on a separation. We have given him every opportunity to cancel with no fees, however his had chosen to not cancel. The demand for a full refund was a new demand just recently requested. I am sorry he was offended by the $10 gift card. Our support staff is allowed to choose customers they work with and send them a sorry note. Some get *********** gift cards and others get Gas cards. It is not meant to "buy off" the customer, but it is meant to acknowledge they had a problem with our service and we are sorry. It is just a small gesture to try to show we understand their frustration. We get nothing be great feed back from our customers that get the gift card and a hand written sorry note. I am not sure what else my staff could have done for Mr ******. I wish we could keep him as a customer, but I am not sure I want to subject my employees to his abuse.

11/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was using *********** for internet services and they sold to Wisper ISP, Inc. I changed from them to another company. Wisper charges $56.99 per month. I was billed from 10/5/13-11/5/13. I ended services with them on 10/24/13. My usage total is $36.66. I sent them a payment for $37.00 with the memo 'paid in full.' I received an invoice from them for $17.99 for the portion of the month I have been getting service from another provider. Yesterday I received another invoice from them adding a $5.00 late fee. I tried to talk to them about it last week and tell them I did not feel I should be expected to pay for services I have not used. They said it is not their policy to pro-rate payments for people ending services. I do not consider this pro-rating. I do not want late charges to continue to be added because I don't agree with paying for something I'm not using. Product_Or_Service: wifi Order_Number: XXXXXX Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: I requested they delete the charges since I am no longer using their services. They refused. I would like the matter resolved by them agreeing to stop trying to receive payment for services they have not provided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, CEO Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@************* I am sorry I am only responding to the second request for a response. I am not sure why I only get the second request. We will work that out with the BBB to make sure we are getting them the first time. I have researched this customer complaint and would have to say ***** our billing representative, preformed great and handled a very difficult customer very well. Consumer did call in to cancel service with us and **** accepted her cancellation with no pressure to remain a customer. Consumer said we should prorate her account because of the partial unused month. We have a policy of not prorating a canceling customer, however our billing representatives are empowered to credit up to $100 on any account without needing approval from upper management. It is their discretion given the relationship with the customer as to how much to credit. If a customer is never late or has only been late a few times we will waive late fees. If there is a billing misunderstanding we try to always side on the side of the customer. We treat them they way we would want to be treated. In this case, as soon as **** was told we did not normally prorate a month for cancellation she turned very mean and difficult to work with. She went on and on belittling Wisper and ***** Finally, **** had to stop her and let her know if there was nothing else she could help her with the call needed to be over. We do not tolerate abuse towards our employees who are only doing their jobs. Our billing manager then tried to call consumer 3 times over the next few days with no response from her. Had consumer asked nicely to have **** credit the prorated amount she most likely would have; just as we have done with other customers. Even in this case where consumer is a chronic late paying customer and ***** ****** *** had a history of shutting her off for non payment. I understand no customer likes change and a new company taking over another one leads to uncertainty for the customer. We have done 16 acquisitions in Wisper's history and this one has gone the smoothest by far. In consumer's case she was paying $59/month for 3mb down by 1mb up service. In October when we took over billing her bill went down to $54/month for 10mb down by 2mb up. We also did not have her sign a new contract for the upgraded service. I am glad she found a cheaper internet service, but sad to see her leave us as a customer. However, the way she tried to leave us and then reporting us to the BBB without calling us back to even try to work something out is not right. Communication is a 2 way street, we are not perfect, but try our very best to treat each customer like our only customer and the way we want to be treated. Last week consumer sent in a check to pay her account in full so we are settled on our side. Please let me know if you have any other question about this complaint.

9/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had moved from a couple houses down, and I could get service at my old address but not at my new address. It was in the same town, just a couple houses over. Their customer service was horrible!!! I had called to schedule them to come out to see if I could get service. When we scheduled the appointment, the technician didnt have the proper equipment to check for signal. So he said he would send someone out the following day. The following day nobody came out so I called the company to find out what was going on, they said he was on vacation and they would have him come on Monday. He told me to call back on Monday and remind them. So, Monday I called to schedule a day for someone to come to my house, they scheduled for Wed to have someone check the signal and then I was told that I would have to schedule a separate day to have them install. So, I scheduled for the following Tuesday. I had received a phone call from the technical supervisor asking if there was any way I could reschedule my appt day for them to check signal. I told them no, I had to already wait long enough. The customer service just was horrible. They said that I didn't get signal at my new residence so now they are wanting me to pay a disconnection fee. Product_Or_Service: Whisper Internet

Desired Settlement: I want Whisper to waive my disconnection fee

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/20) */ I am sorry I have not seen a letter yet from the BBB. I have been out of the country on business for the past two weeks so I might have missed it. However I did get the email complaint today, 20 Sept 2013. I reviewed the account for consumer and my comments are below. Consumer had our service at her first location for a year with zero complaints about our service or the customer service we provided. She then moved to a new location in the same town and we could not get her service. We tried, but unfortunately due to physics and the FCC rules we have to operate under, we could not provide her service. We told her that if the person moving into her old house wanted to keep the service we would release her from her contract with no penalties. The new people moving in did not want to keep the service. We then worked with her to set-up a payment plan for the early termination fee as she indicated that she could not pay the full amount. The payment plan was broken down over eight payments of $25 each with no extra administration fees added. She agreed with this and made regular payments for three months. consumer moved again to another location in the same town a few months later. We again tested at the new location and were not able to provide her with service based on our standards. Additionally, we sent a supervisor to run the test again as the first test was close to our standards. She claims that we did not have the correct equipment with us on the first survey, however we did. In fact, we tested her for service on three different occasions resulting in more than ten hours of manpower. We could have told her we could not have gotten her service after the first try, but we tried two more times at no additional cost or obligation to her. Only after we could not provide her service at the second house did she decide to quit paying the agreed upon early termination fee and file a claim with the BBB. consumer claims we would not show up for appointments. According to our records, we never missed an appointment or rescheduled an appointment on her. We also have no record of her having a problem with our customer service. It was only after we could not provide her service at this third location did she file a complaint. If her service had been bad at the first location, we would have released her from the contract with no cancelation fee. This is a policy we have with all of our customers. We do not like to lose a customer for any reason and will do what we can to keep them, but if service is bad we do not force them to stay in the contract. In consumer's case, I really have no problem giving her a credit for the $125 she still owes us. However; it is the principle of the situation that concerns me. She broke the contract, agreed upon a payment plan and we still did all we could to provide her with service at two different locations. Because we could not provide her with service she lodges a complaint against us that is unfounded and false, but now we are compelled to wave her fee to insure we do not have a black mark on our account. Internet service providers are among the most hated companies in the US. The industry averages about a 60% customer satisfaction rating. This is appalling and one of the reasons I started my Wireless Internet Service Business; to put service back into Internet Service Providers. We treat our customers the way we want to be treated and put the customer above all else. We just hired a third party to administer a customer survey for Wisper. Based on that survey, our customers gave us a 97% customer satisfaction rating. The hired company administered hundreds of surveys of ISPs and has never seen one with a satisfaction rating as high as Wisper's. I understand we can not please everyone and we do put the customer above all else, however that does not mean the customer is always right. I would be happy to talk to someone from the BBB about this situation and how we work with our customers in general. I can be contacted at: ****** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX *******@wisperisp.com Thank you for your time. Please let me know if there is a next step I need to take. ****** ****** CEO of the Wisper Team Below is a cut a paste of our ticketing system log of our interactions with this customer. It has some abbreviation and other short-hand it in, but I wanted to cut and paste it without any changes. We also can provide more detailed records of our service visits and other interactions. 4/26/2012 - installed with internet service. 2 year contract term selected at time of install - address 4/25/2013 - equipment recovered from this house client moved 4/25/2013 - attempted install at new house but when tested could not get service here. Told customer that if the new tenants at her previous address keeps the service we would not charge the standard early termination fee of $200 2013-05-06 10:59:19 LE: added ETF to account. Will credit if new tenants sign up for service 2013-05-15 13:04:26 dw ****** called in to set up a payment plan on the ETF she owes. She also informed me that new tenant has opted not to go with us. Leah was on lunch so I had to take a message. She can be reached at ********* 2013-05-15 13:29:15 LE: spoke with ****** and she will make payments of $25/month for 8 months and more when she can. Will call tomorrow with payment of first installment. Once payment received mail invoice to show current balance with note that pamynets accepted to keep account in good standing. Thank You. Current phone # on account is best contact number. Work number is XXX-XXXX. New address is address 2013-05-16 08:18:17 LE: c/o to make payment of $25, resent invoice via USPS with note 2013-06-05 12:19:15 LE: pmt received for $25, reset task and sending invoice USPS to show new balnace 2013-07-08 11:32:57 LE: resent invoice via email. Will call at follow up 2013-07-13 11:07:00 MJD: consumer called in and made a 25 payment 2013-08-08 11:14:28 LE: moving within a month. Wants to get reinstalled if able to get service at her new location of address. Will call abck to schedule once date is closer, already put a deposit down. Once installed again can remove the ETF from the account. Will need to sign a new 2 year though 8/22/2013 - Rich attempted install and could not get a good enough signal. Had a radio that worked but since radios show different signals , wanted to try one of the ones that records the lowest signals to see if could get within our standards 2013-08-23 10:59:46 LE: attempted to reinstall. MD going back out to retest. f/u 2013-08-28 15:39:50 JDE: SS was FAILED, customer wasnt happy at all I tried to explain numerous times our service is based on LOS, some areas work and some do not. She said she was 30ft from her old location which doesnt look like the case. MD and Rich have tested and failed both times, she once again wasnt happy I explained we would indeed need to continue on with the ETF, she abruptly explained she wasnt paying it and we needed to send her to collections. Passed ** billing. 2013-08-28 16:18:22 LE: talked to consumer and wanted to dispute the ETF on the account. Does not understand the LOS etc. She says she will not pay the ETF and will be reporting us to the BBB. Send FNL then can go to collections. 2013-08-29 10:41:28 LE: added disconnect fee to account. Sending invoice and FNL certifed (XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX). At f/u send to collections 2013-09-06 12:20:44 LE: signed receipt received in the mail signed by consumer on 9/5


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Wisper I S P
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)