This business is not BBB accredited.

Gear Local Internet Services

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 227-6131 Fax: (314) 786-0731 View Additional Phone Numbers 1451 High St, Washington, MO 63090 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.gearlocal.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Gear Local Internet Services include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Gear Local Internet Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Gear Local Internet Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 19, 2011 Business started: 10/28/2010 Business started locally: 10/28/2010
Business Management
Mr. Ron Roberts, President Mr. Brent Ray, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ron Roberts, President
Business Category

Internet Marketing Services


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1451 High St

    Washington, MO 63090

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2245 Bluestone Dr

    Saint Charles, MO 63303 (888) 227-6131 (314) 227-0057

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to provide advertising services. Failure to cancel credit card billing when services terminated. Original service 2010-2012was satisfactory, with enough calls to generate a few patient visits per month.Never provided followup when my rep left them,probably last Sep,2014,and the response calls to my office ads stopped (none). It was over 2 months before I realized there was a problem.The new employee who contacted me was very apologetic,reworked the web pages, and my office still received no calls from their efforts. (total almost 5 months). I cancelled them 1/29/2015,but they have not acknowledged,and are still running the sites and billing me.I have since obtained a new marketer,and have had several calls and 2 visits in the last 10 days.I have had no communication from the owner of this company, employee Mr. ******* "boss", despite phone message and email sent to cancel.They are still billing me.Contracts are currently cancellable by month to month,and I am trying to stop them,as the billing is automatic.They do not respond.

Desired Settlement: Refund for failure to provide any services Sep-Dec.I can't determine if they really did anything Dec-Jan.I want them to stop billing.They were cancelled Jan 29,2015

2/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yard Pro LLC paid 300 dollars for local area optimization. My representative ***** ***** promised to link and optimize my business. Fail Sold optimization for the life of the business and failed to do any improvements or internet maintenance.

Desired Settlement: Refund or honor original agreement. The company was suppose to make me first on Google, they never did anything. I would like my money back. I have left messages and emailed Mr. ***** and no contact.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2015/02/02) */ I have attached a signed agreement with ****** *********** and Gear Local, we have fulfilled our agreement with Mr. *********** by getting his business Yard Pro to show up on Google when searching for specific key words such as ( Lawn maintenance Berea KY, Lawn care Berea KY, Yard care Berea KY, Yard maintenance Berea KY, Residential lawn care Berea KY, Commercial lawn care Berea KY etc..... In our agreement it clearly states that we do not guarantee first page placement on any search engine, but we have succeded in getting first page results on Google for our client as requested. If you have any further questions please let me know thank you.

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have contacted them numerous times and get no response for updating our website. How can we cancel our service and get reimbursed? I have emailed them on 3/17, 4/24, 4/25, 5/1, 5/2 and 5/6 to update my website. The website has not been updated since 12/13. I have been charged $149/month every month and have been told the website would be updated "tomorrow" several times and to date it has not been done!!!! I would like to cancel my service and be refunded for the past 5 months as they have done nothing for my business website, *************** Since I have had their services I have not been contacted to advise me of anything I can do to enhance my website. They have done NOTHING since putting up the site unless I asked for it to be done and SInce December 2013 nothing has been done at all!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want my access to my website, my service with them canceled and my money refunded for 1/14-5/14. $149/month x's 5 months = $745.00!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/07/16) */ We only have emails on record, and only for a request to get rid of a contest cooler on her site. However, we will get in contact with the consumer to see if we can get something resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/07/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have the copies of the emails we sent repeatedly asking for them to contact us and to update our inventory lists on the website. They have a toll free number so it is not possible to have records of those calls we made. The company did contact us by email on 7/16/14 but does not feel that they have done anything wrong because people still look at the website and they can tell us how many have looked at it. I guess they feel that is the only thing important that it does not matter if it takes them 6 months to remove a contest that ended in December and to not ever put the new contest up because it was over by the time they responded. They also did not update our inventory when we sent it several times. We are very displeased with their service and their lack of regard for contact and prompt service. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2014/09/30) */ 9/04/14: Mediator left message for consumer. 9/09/14: Mediator left message for consumer. 9/11/14: I want money refunded from January to August. They kept charging us even though we sent them numerous emails and calls to request to close the account. We requested to update our inventory list in Mach. ******* **** did not reply until May. He promised he would update it the next day but ended up updating in late June. We do portable buildings. We need out inventory list updated monthly so customers know what we have in stock. Any delay in the updates of website would be detrimental to our company. I do not want to do business with them anymore. I just want my money back. Business was also to send us statistics report every month. We have not been receiving it since 2012. 9/11/14: Mediator left message for consumer providing update. 9/16/14: Even if they did all the work there was bad communication. They never returned my emails and voice messages. I will call back again after discussing issues with my partner. 9/25/14: I have paid for their services up to September. He has offered four months of free services, but I would like six months. Final Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/09/30) */ 9/11/14: I never received cancellation request from ********. The last email I received was on July 21 at 9:12 AM about complaint of our service. We do not force customers to stay and once we receive the cancellation request I would send them a cancellation agreement and get them to sign it and return it back. Our services are mainly to give traffic to the customers websites and make sure it pops up with higher rankings in Google search. We only update websites when we have time to do so. We send out view reports upon request. We do not automatically send them out. We have performed services to ******** as in that her website view counts doubled compared to last year. View count for this year is: January 628 February 757 March 972 May 738 June 986 August 998 We have provided good service overall but maybe I could have done differently to the inventory list. Our company has policy that we cannot give a refund. But I am happy to provide four months of free service. My email is *****@gearlocal.com. I would love to see any evidence about the cancellation request but I genuinely did not receive any. Once she put that in, we will cancel. 9/25/14: I am happy to give six months of free services. I will send reports monthly as long as consumer requests it and I take this as requests from BBB on her behalf. I will also send her an email myself stating all that I have promised.

9/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with Gear Local for Search Engine optimization on 1/28/13 for $300. We were told that after giving the Google PIN number to Gear Local that we would start appearing on Google in 2 weeks. We did appear a few times with the picture of our home and no phone number to contact us. The site would rarely come up and then eventually was not on Google any longer. We asked for a refund in late April and they will not return our money. We contracted with another company and within 2 weeks of receiving our Google PIN, we have been on Google everyday with our phone number listed. We would like to be refunded our $300 because Gear Local never delivered what they promised and we had to go to somewhere else and pay them to get the job done. Product_Or_Service: Search Engine Optimization

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $300 that we paid Gear Local because they never delivered what was promised on their contract.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/20) */ Client signed our agreement on 01/28-13 the work performed requires authentication pin #'s to be sent to the client's address which will verify a real business per Google guidelines. Client is required to call us when the pin #'s arrive at their location. Typically takes about one to two weeks and is explained to customer during sales call. Client called with pin #'on 02-11-13. this allowed us to optimize the Google Plus account as well as the Google Places account. At this time the account was in propagation staus through Google which is a normal process. This process is out of our control and was explained to the customer. At this point login in privelages and passwords **** given to the client which is normal procedures for this operation. While the account we created for the client was in propagation the client took it upon themselves to go and make changes to the site ( changes cannot be made while account is in propagation ) which prompted Google to require a new pin # that has not been entered at this point due to the fact that client has not given us the new pin #'s. That is the reason their placement on Google disappeared due to the fact they went in and tampered with the info on the site by changing content and keywords while in pending status . As for the clients statement that they went to a different Company and had a new site built for Google Plus is absolutely false! Another Plus site cannot be created as long as one is already in pending mode. You can search for their business and it does not show up anywhere where in Google's search engine. This just show's the credibility of this client by making false statements.As per our agreement with client all work has been done as promised and in no way shape or form is it defective. Clients even makes the statement in their letter that the sight does appear sometimes when searching for services and per our contract agreement it reads Gear Local does not guarantee first page placement of any search engine. It also states in our signed agreement that that once the Google Plus Pa;ge has been created that there will not be any refund.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Gear Local Internet Services
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart