BBB Accredited Business since

Delta Dental Plan of Missouri

Phone: (314) 656-3001 Fax: (314) 656-2900 View Additional Phone Numbers 12399 Gravois Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63127 http://www.deltadental.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Delta Dental Plan of Missouri meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Delta Dental Plan of Missouri include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Delta Dental Plan of Missouri
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 11, 1978 Business started: 11/18/1958 Business started locally: 11/18/1958
Business Management
Rob Goren, President & CEO Pamela Martin, Senior VP and COO
Contact Information
Principal: Rob Goren, President & CEO
Customer Contact: Pamela Martin, Senior VP and COO
Business Category

Insurance Services Dental Service Plans Insurance - Vision Insurance - Dental


Additional Locations

  • 12399 Gravois Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63127 (314) 656-3001 (314) 656-3000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delta Dental asked me to provide proof I previously had major dental coverage in order for them to participate in a current dental claim. They believe the information I have provided is fraudulent and will not participate in the current claim.

Desired Settlement: Quit assuming I am providing fraudulent information and adjust the claim.

Business Response: Mr. ********** purchased an individual dental plan as of 11/1/2015. This plan has a 12 month waiting period before benefits are available for major services. His dental claim for major services rendered on 6/13/16 was denied due to the waiting period. He contacted customer service in August, and we explained that the waiting period could be waived with documentation showing (1) he had dental coverage for the 12 months prior to his effective date and (2) that the plan included coverage for major services. He sent proof of 12 months of coverage. We told him we also needed proof that major services were covered by this plan. We were faxed statements from his dental office, but these records did not specify insurance payments were made by the insurance company. These documents were not fraudulent, but they did not include the information we needed. Today we contacted his prior insurance company. They did confirm his plan included major benefits. His claim for $1,475 is being reprocessed and a new Explanation of Benefits will be issued on 9/1/2016. Let me know if any additional information is needed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** **********

12/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I told Delta Dental to cancel my membership as of 24 Nov 2015. The policy is paid till the end of year. I was not happy with their service and told th Delta Dental refused to correctly administer my policy for dental coverage. I told them to cancel the policy and I was going to insure elsewhere. They said OH NO you missed the time period which allowed you to change anything. I said I'm PAID UP til the end of the year! I am a veteran and eligible to take my business elsewhere and I will. They refused to cancel. I said keep the money you have already collected in error and just CANCEL. Now- I have not received confirmation of cancellation or a refund of the monies paid but I have gone to a veteran's approved plan whether they get their act together or not!

Desired Settlement: refund and totally disconnect from their inept services and rude people

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/04) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** SR VP & COO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@deltadentalmo.com Dear BBB, Ms. ****** has filed a complaint regarding her Individual Policy. She contacted us in September after receiving her renewal notice for November, which included an increase in premium. At her request, we switched her to a lower cost plan as of 11/1/2015. On November 24th, she contacted us stating she wanted the change made as of January 1. We explained that policy changes are only made at time of renewal. I have reviewed all recorded phone calls between our Delta Dental representatives and Ms. ******. While I regret that this member's perception is that our people are rude, I did not get the same impression when listening to the call recordings. On November 25th, Ms. ****** called and notified us that she has put a stop on all future bank charges. We have therefore processed a termination of this policy as of 12/31/2015, since her December premium had been paid on November 19th. I have prepared a summary of all phone conversations between Ms. ****** and Delta Dental representatives. This information will be faxed to the BBB at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Call information needs to remain confidential as it contains Personal Health Information protected by HIPAA. Should you need any additional information or have questions, please do not hesitate to contact me. Thanks, ****** ****** Senior Vice President & COO **********@deltadentalmo.com Phone XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was not properly informed that the date would not be 1 jan 2016 and I did pay them to the end of the year and should have at least one payment coming back. I also state that their people were extremely rude , I guess she's used to it. I remain dissatisfied with Delta Dental. They act as though they are the only business for Dentistry and you are stuck. Thanks but no thanks when it come to them - I have found another BETTER plan immediately!

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged for a service that should be cancelled and now my plan is still not cancelled and my account was charged. I have supporting documentation that says in order to keep my policy I would have to contact them 15 days before my policy ended. I wanted to cancel my plan so I planned to call and cancel before end of August, which is what I was told my customer service I needed to do. On August 19 they drafted money from my acct for a new year of service anyway. I was told to fax paper work saying I wanted to cancel my service that day. Faxed paper work to cancel on 8/22 was told it would be cancelled. By my surprise the next week I still did not have my money so I called back and had to call three days with no return calls when finally I had a supervisor call back on 8/27 saying my plan was cancelled and my monies would be refunded. Here it is 3 business days later still no refund. I called back and my plan is still active. No one can tell me why its still active or why I haven't been refunded.

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund for my services since my plan was cancelled in time and I no longer need double coverage with them. I still have their insurance with my job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/10/13) */ Ms. ***** filed the same complaint to the Department on Insurance on the same date (9/2/2014). I am attaching our response to the complaint along with a copy of the renewal notice issued to her in July. Her coverage has been cancelled as of 8/31/2014 as requested and her annual premium payment has been refunded. Should you need any additional information, please let me know. Thanks, *** ****** ******

6/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It has been two months and multiple attempts to get a check for a claim to me for which I have paid out of pocket. Claim Number: XXXXXXXXXX Patient: ***** ******** Insured or Subscriber XXXXXXXX My wife, ***** ******** had a procedure done at ***** ********* for dental work and the portion that Delta Dental of Missouri was to cover was $514.40 and the check was to be sent to us. After we had not seen a check in a month I contacted them and said the check was sent to my address and if I had not seen it by 8/4/2013 I should call in and get the check reissued. I followed through a few days after 8/4/2013 and a new check was supposedly cut and sent out on 8/29/2013. On 8/14/2013 I was told it would be sent in 7-10 business days. After I contacted them in the beginning of September the check was reported to have been sent out on 8/29/2013. It is now 9/15/2013 and the check has not yet arrived. I have asked for the payment to be expedited and the representatives have been friendly and courteous but nothing has been done to speed this up. I have been out $514.40 for over 3 months and look forward to this being resolved in the quickest way possible.

Desired Settlement: I would like my claim money settled in an expedited manner, please.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/30) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** COO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@ddpmo.org The claim in question was initially received on 6/25/2013 and check number XXXXXXXX for $514.40 was mailed on 7/4/2013 to: *********** T ****** ***** ******** **** OOSTBURG WI XXXXX Mr. called us on 8/15/2013 to confirm he had not yet received this check. Check number XXXXXXXX for $514.40 was mailed to the same address on 8/29/2013. Since this second check is now a month old. we can issue another stop payment and another new check. This time, I suggest we have the check pulled by our printer and returned to us for special handling. We can use UPS which provides tracking services to help ensure delivery. This response will be noted in Mr. records in our system, so he can confirm his wishes to have a third check special handled through you or by contacting customer service directly. Should you need any additional information, my contact information is noted below. Sincerely, ****** ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2013/10/18) */ I still have not received anything. Was the check sent by UPS or are you still waiting on me? Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2014/02/06) */ 2/6/2014: A check in full amount came through. Company was very friendly and helpful.

11/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delta Dental does not do what they state in writing. They waived the waiting period because I had Delta Dental for years prior to the cancellation and then got an individual policy. They did not waive anything as stated in writing by Delta Dental. They also will not credit for a year long policy when you cancel only after 4 months. Spent over 400 dollars to get a benefit of a thousand dollars. That means it is only worth less than six hundred dollars out of pocket. Stay away from Delta Dental, their word and word in writing mean nothing!

Desired Settlement: Should refund remaining money left on policy and pay for what they agreed to pay for dental visits!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/11) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* ** ** & *** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@ddpmo.org Our enrollment division did state in error that the waiting periods for our Individual & Family policy would be waived. We require prior coverage with no gap in eligibility in order to waive the waiting period, and Mr. did have a 30 day gap in coverage. However, during a call to customer service on October 28, we did state that we would make an exception and waive the waiting period upon receipt of his prior coverage information. Mr. was upset that we asked for this documentation. Upon receipt of his two new claims today, I contacted Delta Dental of Minnesota and obtained the information needed to waive the waiting period. These two claims have been processed for payment and reimbursement will be issued in our next weekly payment run on Thursday, November 21. Mr. enrolled on June 1, 2013. The policy clearly states there is a 12-month commitment period upon enrollment. Mr. states in his complaint that we will not cancel his policy after four months and refund the balance of his premium. Since Mr. has been displeased with his policy, we are willing to make a second exception and allow him to cancel his policy before meeting his 12-month commitment. However, if we keep only four months of premium, we would not be able to provide benefits for his dental services received in October and November. Mr. would need to have paid premiums for July through November in order to receive the plan's full benefit amount of $1,000. Therefore, we are offering to refund his pre-paid premiums for December through May 2014. Please let us know if this offer meets the desired resolution for Mr. , and if so I will request the reimbursement check for six months of his premium. If there are any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Delta Dental Plan of Missouri
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart