BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/06/2007

Protective Administrative Services Inc

(800) 950-606014755 N Outer 40 Ste 400, ChesterfieldMO 63017-6050 Send email to Protective Administrative Services Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/06/2007

BBB has determined that Protective Administrative Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Protective Administrative Services Inc's rating include:

  • 8 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Protective Administrative Services Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues5
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Protective Administrative Services Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
07/31/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
the company refused to cover the repairs that the shop had recommended which was to replace the shocks/struts.

I purchased this aftermarket warranty from the location I bought my automobile from. First and foremost this Warranty Company has no sense of urgency. I'd wait for 2 or more days before they would send an inspector out to look at my automobile and then would refuse to cover the rental car costs for the days that were spent waiting on them. Secondly I'd had my car into the shop on more than one occasion at this last juncture the company refused to cover the repairs that the shop had recommended which was to replace the shocks/struts stating that the damages where not bad enough for them to authorize the repairs. Now my car is making noises indicating that the shocks/struts need replaced leading me to believe that the warranty company just didn't want to pay for the repairs. Now my warranty is expired and I'm left with a repair that should have been made and covered under my warranty. Thirdly the last time I had my car into the shop the warranty company refused to pay for my rental while they drug their feet to determine whether or not my claim would be covered (which it was).

Desired Settlement
I believe for the reason previously stated the warranty company should reimburse me for the rental car on the days they refused to reimburse me and they should pay to have the repairs made that should have been made previously while the warranty was still valid.

Business' Initial Response
We are unable to locate Ms. Service Contract with the information provided. Please provide the contract number, last 6 of the VIN# and the exact name of the person that the contract was issued to. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
7/08/2013: I have not had any further contact. I am still seeking the same things.

7/17/2013: Mediator attempted to reach consumer by phone but was unable to leave message.

7/19/2013: Mediator left message for consumer.

7/22/2013: Mediator left message for consumer.

7/22/2013: I still have issue with them saying they only cover two days of rental car because the reason I had it for additional days was because they dragged their feet about going out there. They were very difficult to get a hold of and work with. I want their response emailed to me.

7/29/2013: Mediator left message for consumer.

7/29/2013: Mediator left message for consumer.

7/29/2013: While it is not what I wanted it is better than nothing. I will let BBB know if I do not receive the reimbursement.

Business' Final Response
7/10/2013: Mediator attempted three times to reach someone at business to discuss complaint but was not able to do so.

7/10/2013: We have never received the consumer's information.

7/24/2013: Mediator left message for business.

7/26/2013: I am gong to review the file and speak with the claims manager. We might be able to credit her for a couple more days of the rental.

7/29/2013: We reviewed the file. We can reimburse for up to five days. Please email invoice to me.

7/29/2013: Rental information was mailed to business by BBB.

04/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Notice of cancellation provided and refund requested. No response. XtraRide Contract XGXX XXXXX.
Provided notice of cancellation of contract in November 2012. Follow up in December and February. No refund provided.

Desired Settlement
Refund of full purchase price per contract. $1,104.00

Business' Initial Response
On behalf of Protective Administrative Services, Inc. (PASI), we are responding to this matter.

Mr. Service Agreement was cancelled on January 18, 2013 per his request, with a cancellation effective date of November 24, 2012. PASI's portion of the refund amount was sent to the selling dealer for delivery to the customer.

Upon receipt of your correspondence, our Processing Department called the selling dealer for a status on the refund. Per the dealer, a check would be immediately sent to Mr. for the full $1,104.00 purchase price of the agreement. If the check is not received within the next 10 business days, Mr. should call PASI for further assistance, at which point, a check will be issued directly by PASI to the customer and PASI will reconcile with the dealer separately.

We sincerely regret any inconvenience this matter may have caused Mr. and hope this issue has been satisfactorily resolved. If Mr. has additional information he would like us to consider, please send it to my attention.

Sincerely,


Compliance/Legal Support

08/02/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Claim was denied for failed compressor and oil cooler replacement although these items are not specifically excluded in my contract.
Now that i am trying to cancel this policy, I am unable to reach anyone and keep getting directed to voice mail.

*****************
Contract #DMT-XXXXXXXXXXX
VIN/ last X XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like my claim approved or policy canceled.

Business' Initial Response
On behalf of Protective Administrative Services, Inc. (PASI), we are responding to the above referenced matter.
At the time of purchase, Ms. elected an Enhanced Plan Service Agreement. The Enhanced Plan is a listed-parts-only agreement which covers only the components that are specifically listed on the Service Agreement. The claim for the A/C compressor and oil cooler 0-ring were denied due to they are not listed parts.
Although this particular claim is not covered, the Service Agreement continues to provide important protection in the event of a covered mechanical breakdown. However, if Ms. wishes to cancel her agreement, she needs to contact our Cancellations department at XXX-XXX-XXXX. To date, there has not been any communication from her with regards to a cancellation request.
If Ms. has additional information that she would like us to consider, please send it to my attention.
The matters stated in this letter do not waive, but rather reserve any and all rights and defenses PASI may have under the Service Agreement.

04/06/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 02/04/2012 I traded my quest in on a 2012 quest, and called them on 02/06/2012 and talked with rich in the resolution dept. I told him to cancel the policy from 01/24/2012 because I no longer owned the 2002 quest. I also mailed a note to them to cancel the policy on 02/06/2012.They told me the policy did not start for 30 days or 1000 miles from that date, and I could cancel within 30 days for a full refund if no warranty payments had been. the policy also states this. he said he would put in the refund request on 02/06/2012. on 02/16/2012 the lady said it was in the works.it has been over 3 1/2 weeks and still no refund.you may have better luck calling (number) to talk with someone.
Account_Number: DMTXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
They should refund my money in a timely manner, like they charged my credit card.(only 1 day) to charge my card, but no telling how long to refund the same $250.00. any help from your office will be appreciated.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ************-C/S Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@Protective.com
Mr. service contract has been cancelled and a refund was issued on 3/2/12 in the amount of $250.00, back to Mr. credit card. This is a full refund of the down payment provided by Mr. upon purchase of the service contract. We regret any difficulties Mr. may have experienced in connection with this matter

04/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues
07/03/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Protective Administrative Services Inc (*********************) is engaging in Unfair and deceptive practices when determining eligible claims.
I purchased a 2007 Dodge Charger financed through ******* Finance ******************* Blvd Kannapolis, NC XXXXX (704) XXX-XXXX, it was required that I purchase a warranty as well through (*********************)Protective Administrative Services Inc agreement #VLPPX-XXXXXXX. The warranty includes Powertrain, Economy and Standard,which cover Engine, Transmission, Steering, Brakes, Electrical, Air Conditioning, Front and Rear Suspension, Fuel Delivery and Cooliing. I took my car to ******** Dodge ************************* Concord, NC XXXXX (704) XXX-XXXX and the repairs noted were instrument cluster and heating/air controller which to a layman fall under electrical and fuel pressure sensor which again to a layman falls under fuel delivery. They claim was denied by (*********************)Protective Administrative Services Inc. and stated that if the item is not specifically listed they don't cover it. This leads me to believe I would need to be a certified mechanic to insure every thing is covered when you purchase a warranty. It is not reasonable for them to think everyone that purchases a warranty can know/list all the components in categories (Engine, Transmission, Steering, Brakes, Electrical, Air Conditioning, Front and Rear Suspension, Fuel Delivery and Cooliing) that may need to be repaired. When I see categories like Engine, Transmission, Steering, Brakes, Electrical, Air Conditioning, Front and Rear Suspension, Fuel Delivery and Cooliing it is resonable for me to believe all those things are covered. This is very deceptive and unfair to the average automobile owner.

Desired Settlement
I want the repairs made to my vehicle.

Business' Initial Response
On behalf of Protective Administrative Services, Inc. (PASI), we are responding to the above referenced matter.
Mr. Service Agreement is a listed-parts-only agreement. Under the coverage plan that he elected at the time of purchase, the internal cluster and fuel pressure regulator are not listed components and therefore, not covered. Additionally, the agreement does not cover burnt bulbs, which was the cause of the HVAC control panel concern. A sample copy of the Service Agreement is enclosed for your review.
Based on the terms of the agreement, we believe this claim has been properly adjudicated. If Mr. has any additional information that he would like us to consider, please send it to my attention.
The matters stated in this letter do not waive, but rather reserve any and all rights and defenses PASI may have under the Service Agreement.

02/18/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
05/23/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Companies, Auto Service Contract Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/18/2007Business started: 08/01/1995Business started locally: 01/01/1995
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1995, MO

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Laura Foster (Assistant Vice President)Customer Contact: Mr. Brent Griggs (President)Ms. Peggy Lococo (Paralegal)Ms. Lynn Williams
Business Category

Insurance Companies, Auto Service Contract Companies


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Protective Administrative Services Inc has received 3.93 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Protective Administrative Services Inc

14755 N Outer 40 Ste 400

Chesterfield, MO 63017-6050

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 14755 N Outer 40 Ste 400 

    Chesterfield, MO 63017-6050(800) 950-6060

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Protective Administrative Services Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Insurance Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.