This business is not BBB accredited.

Mutual Savings Life

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 819-4300 View Additional Phone Numbers 12115 Lackland Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63146 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.unitrin.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mutual Savings Life include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 55 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

55 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 19 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 18
Delivery Issues 13
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 22
Total Closed Complaints 55

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mutual Savings Life
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 30, 1960 Business started: 01/01/1911 Business started locally: 01/01/1911
Business Management
Ed Konar, President Adrienne Bennett, Consumer Affairs Sherry Burns Don M. Royster, previous President
Contact Information
Principal: Ed Konar, President
Customer Contact: Annette Presley
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Auto Insurance - Health Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Life Insurance - Marine Insurance - Rental Insurance Services Insurance Services – Commercial Insurance - Viatical Identity Theft Protection & Prevention Services

Alternate Business Names
Career Agent Insurance Services Old Reliable Casualty Co Reliable Life Insurance Co Reliable Life Insurance Company U N National Life Union National Life United Insurance Co

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12115 Lackland Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63146 (314) 963-1480 (314) 535-1400 (314) 819-4300 (800) 325-9555 (800) 777-8467 (877) 710-5081 (800) 630-8645 (800) 777-1195

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2665 Scott Ave Ste A

    Saint Louis, MO 63103

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I do have renter's insurance with them. I had a fire over the weekend and I could no get in touch with anyone until 8/29/16. I am basically homeless since Friday. I had insurance so I thought they would help me every step of the way. They have not helped me at all. I have been paying on this policy every 6 months. I have paid up on this policy till February 2017. My home is not livable and I have a 4 year old child. The smoke is so strong so I cannot live there. I have called corporate multiple times and they have been combative. Corporate manager was supposed to call me and I have yet to hear anything. The whole point of insurance is so that I would not be in a situation like this. I am hearing different things from corporate and the local location.

Desired Settlement: I would like the manager from corporate to call me. Their customer service is horrible. They need to be understanding of consumers who are in bad situations like this. I feel I am doing this all by myself. I also feel like they need to explain the policies to their customers better.

Business Response: see attached

8/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have paid $26,000 in premiums for a life insurance policy on my son, ******* B. *******, 30 years ago. I am the owner and beneficiary of the policy. My son passed away July 5, 2016. I have yet to receive the pay out for the policy. They sent me a letter dated July 20 saying that the pay out was pending. I called my agent and he also said it was pending. I had worked for this company and there was no such thing as pending for when a policy is 30 years old. I called them multiple times and never got through to anyone. I was put on hold 20 minutes this morning. All the other policies were paid out within 2 weeks of my son's passing.

Desired Settlement: I want my policy to be paid out ASAP.

Business Response: see attached

7/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My brother, ***** ****** ******, died on May 28, 2016. He had an insurance policy and claim in reference to his death. I have been paying for ***** insurance since my mother died on May 2, 2008. The life insurance policy stayed in my mother name until *****'s death. I called Union National Insurance to report my brother's death and the supervisor for the area named Brent Boudin and the agent, Sidney, who collected my check of $132.91 every month for *****, my brother ****** ****** and my nephew ***** *****. I paid the insurance since my mother passed. Mr. Brent came to my home along with Sidney questioning me on the policy. He told me the policy was in my mother's name and I showed him my mother, ****** B. ****** obituary. He told me after my mother died passed ***** owned his policy but ***** was diagnosis in 1974 as a paranoid schizophrenic. I told them ***** was divorced since 1986, he has no children. My siblings, ******* ******, ******* ****** and ******* ******, and myself buried ***** on June 6, 2016. ******** Mortuary prepared my brother's remains and signed and sealed small estate affidavit was done when my sister, *******, and I went to make arrangement to received whatever funds are left after the funeral home is paid. Union National Insurance Co. REFUSING TO PAY the funeral home and my family. They said they need my mother's death certificate, I sent it in. Then they said my sister, ******* ******, was the contingent beneficiary, I sent them *******'s death certificate.I sent them the funeral home bill, the "BILLS" that me and my siblings had to pay for *****'s burial plot, for the grave to be dig, flower arrangements, food for repast, use of Catholic church, priest and organist.I have filed a complaint with the Louisiana Insurance Commissioner and the Federal Trade Commission informing them that Union National do not want to pay the funeral home and give the refund. Union National had an agent name,********, in the Thibodaux, La. office was cashing policy holders claims for himself.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Union National Insurance to pay Robottom Funeral Home and whatever funds left to disbursed to *****'s siblings, ******* ******, ******* ******, ******* ****** and myself, ******** ****** *******. Union National Insurance should have requested all of the paper work they needed at one time instead of asking for the information they need to process this claim one at a time. Union National Insurance still wants me to pay $132.91 every month and ***** is deceased.

Business Response: see attached

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They sent the same findings to the Louisiana state insurance commissioner's office. I sent agent ****** ******* proof of May and June 2016 bank statement and canceled checks from Whitney Bank proving they was  paid for those months. I also spoke to Union National district manager,  *****, in reference to the lies Union National Insurance stated to the Louisiana state insurance commissioner's office and Better Business Bureau. 


                          Sincerely, ******** *******


5/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter’s father, ******* **** *********** was killed October 21, 2015, it was a homicide. I have life insurance with this company and it is a good standing policy. First the company was saying they couldn’t reach the detective and can’t get the information they need. It’s been 7 months. I went down to the police department myself and they had no idea, and no one has ever contact them. I am unable to reach anyone at Reliable in the claims department. I went to the internal affairs department and let them know the situation. I worked with Sargent ********* ***** **** (************) has been trying to reach them and cannot. I have a total clearance and have ruled I am not a person of interest. Now, Reliable is saying that a third party is now doing investigative work through their company, because of some kind of fraud. I asked what the name was the company, they wouldn’t give it to me. I asked for documentation of this and they said they couldn’t be provided with that. I have been trying to deal with them for 7 months. They will not pay the claim Sergeant ***** called me today to let me know he tried to reach them again today and no luck. It seems they are purposely not contacting who they need to so they don't have play the claim. Policy #**********, Claim #********.

Desired Settlement: I want them to finish the job, contact the Sargent and play the claim. I would like it to be posted so no one has to go through what I did, especially during this time of grief.

Business Response: see attached.

5/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had a issue with my life insurance policy. I was contacted by someone to get the issue resolved. Now I can not reach this person. My life insurance policy had lapsed, due to moving, which I did notify them of the new address, but never got a statement. But then I got a letter that my insurance has been canceled. Well after calling differ agents and talking with both office, nothing got resolved. I then wrote a statement to BBB. I then got a call a few weeks later from someone who said that would reinstate my policy. He told me to give him a call before the end of April 2016. As he was giving my time to come up with the money. I tried calling him on 4-18-16 and several other days, up until 4-28-16. I left messages and several numbers for him to call me back. I talked with someone in the Decatur office, 4-23-16. She told me he was in meetings and would not return to office till Tues. 4-24-16. I called his number several more times and left messages for him to call. He still has not called of contacted me back.

Desired Settlement: I just want my insurance policy reinstated, please. And I feel with all the trouble and issues. I should get reinstate without paying all the months to catch it back up. They had returned a check after holding for several months. I have after sent 2 more payment and they still have those, because he told me they would apply to my account. So I was to pay $162. more to be caught up. I would just give up on the policy, but I have almost 10 years invested in the whole life policy. If they can not g

Business Response:

My response is attached.

 

Please let me know if there is anything else that I can assist with.

 

Mr. **** ********

5/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a house fire on January 28,2016 and I had renter's insurance and when I filed the claim they are refusing to pay. I have given them all documentation that they requested from me and more. As of today they still have not settled my claim. I'm currently staying with relatives and family moving from place to place to place. I'm now having medical problems do to the stress of this. I have lost an extreme amount of weight. I have no money, I lost everything. I don't know why this company will not settle with me. I don't have a location because the agent is mobile so she would always come to my house and pick up my payments. My agent is ******** ******* in Pine Bluff, AR.

Desired Settlement: If this company is not going pay my claim. I want a refund for every dime on premiums that I spent.

Business Response:

Good morning.  My response is attached. A hard copy will be sent to arrive tomorrow by FedEx.  I apologize for any delays.

 

Please let me know if there is anything else that I can assist with.

 

Mr. **** ******** (Thanks in advance for your assistance)

Consumer Affairs Specialist,  Legal Dept.

4/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reference: Cash surrender of a burial insurance policy I phoned 1-************ to request a cash surrender of a burial insurance policy purchased in 1973 by my grandfather. He had several policies through this company and paid everyone one them faithfully. The operator cash valued the policy at $68.10. The "cash value" information directly on the premium policy conflicted with the amount quoted. It states verbatim, "After premiums have been paid on for at least 5 years, this policy will have cash values based on those in the Table of Cash Values. If the policy has a Retail Value of $300, the cash value will be 1 1/2 (1.5) times the amount shown." The retail value is noted at $300 on the policy. In review of the table, it requires you to determine the age of issue (which I am 43)along with the years to ascertain the cash value. Upon my second contact, I spoke again with ******, a representative, who explained the policy was a 10 year term. Unfortunately, I am unable to verify this based upon the policy document. Nevertheless, with a 10 term and my age, a value of $52.65 was determined. This amount multiplied with the 1.5 equates to $78.97. However, the representative reiterated the amount at $68.10. When asked to explain the calculation, she directed me to a department that can not be reached via phone nor email. She stated a letter to Correspondence needed to be sent to explain the review of cash surrender. My complaint surrounds the mundane work in understanding a policy. Beyond the impolite customer service received by both my 91 year old grandfather and myself (on varied occasions), the company has an antiquated system that attempts inconvenience for understanding. No email nor phone number to clarify or rectify your policy procedures is just another technique used to deter patrons from inquiry and pursuit. It is not the meager difference in pay that troubles me but the dated method of resolve. Time is essential especially when you are 91 years old. Product_Or_Service: Insurance Account_Number: *******

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the Insurance Company make contact to explain the variance in their policy. Furthermore, I am proposing a strengthening in customer care that offers timely inquiry beyond the mail system. It is 2016.

3/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been insured by this company for over twenty years. On January 13, 2016 I had a fire at my residence at **** ** **** ** *** * ****** ***** *** *****. My policy amount is $10,000, as of this date I have been paid the following: I was paid $2,000.00 for my Kitchen and Bathroom items-They sent me a check in the amount of $2,307.08 which I thought was for the furnishings that could not be saved. I later was told that this check was for ********* of Kansas City, who took the savaged items for cleaning. The bill with ********* of Kansas City, Mo is $3, 85862.37? I was advised that they could not pay me for the items not saved, because the pictures they received (Taken by THEIR AGENT) WERE NOT CLEAR. I was offered nothing for "ADDITIONAL LIVING EXPENSE", which I incurred during the two months I was out of my apartment.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be paid fairly for the damages I incurred as a result of this fire!!

3/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had taken a life insurance policy out for my daughter ****** and her 3 children, taken out in 2008. I was told my policy was canceled in March 2016. I moved and sent a note with payment of new address, in Sept. 2015. I did not receive any statements at my new address. I missed a payment or two, due to no statement or contact from company. Then I called my agent, which is I believe *******, ************. She was very rude and told me to contact the Decatur office. Then later she called me back and told me to send in $79. and that would catch my account up. Well when I spoke to the office in Decatur, Al. they told me that $70. was in my account on hold, did not know why and also gave her my new address to have it updated. Decatur office to me to talk with agent. Agent said she had nothing to do with the money on hold. Well on 3-5-16 I got a check for $70. in mail from Mutual out of St. Louis Mo. I called the Decatur office and was told again to call my agent. I called her and she said again she has nothing to do with it and for me to call the main office whom would have sent out the check. She said she talked with her boss ***** and said my account was up today after sending in the $79.00. I called the main office in St. Louis and got no where except that my policy had lapsed and I would have to get it reinstated. And any more money sent ($79.) would also sent back to me as well. I asked why, and she said (***) that I missed 7 months of payment, and that after 6 months that will cancel your policy. I tried to explain that I sent in payments to Decatur office, who had $70. at one time on hold. And that my agent said to send another $79. to catch up my payments. I explained how I moved and no one every changed my address. In other words not her problem, get the form fill it out to get reinstated and that is if the company agrees to reinstate my policy.I don't want to lose all the money that I have paid in over the 8 yrs. I want them to get my contact back on track. My payments where due on the 16th of the month. I had sent them a total of $149. and my payment was $21.40 a month. My next payment is due on the 16th of March. *** at the St. Louis office said I had missed paying since August of 2015. So that puts me 7 months behind with $70. refund check and $79. at the Decatur Al. office I know for this month payment I would need $22.20 to be on track. But I know I have a few receipts from previous money orders that I sent them over that period of time. I will be gather all my data and ready to proceed farther if needed. Thank you ***** ***** Policy for daughter and grand children ****** ***** address: *** ********** *** *********** *** ***** ************ home. I have took my policy out with agent **** ***** who is no longer with the company. And the new agent who took his place, I was told by Decatur, Al. office and given the number to call her is ******* ************.

Desired Settlement: I want my insurance policy payment corrected. And a new agent.

3/24/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a consumer with Reliable for over 50 yrs thru my family and now I have taken over paying my mother's policy for this insurance. I filed a claim in 12/15 regarding wind damage. The first adjuster that came out did not even have a ladder to get up on the roof to look at the damage. He asked did I know anyone with a ladder that would do the job but of course I di not so that was a wasted trip. The next adjuster came out 2 weeks later after I had to call and speak with *** *** about what had happen. When he showed up he did not have a ladder also and stated he would have to come back once he found a company that could come out with him. The next call I received was about 1/14/16 from ***** stating he would be out on 1/16/16 about 1:30 p.m. which he came out late and the company waited in their truck about 10 to 15 minutes for him. The company pout the ladder up and ***** and the men both climbed up and when ***** came down he stated that I needed a new roof and he would recommend this to his company. He stated that the company that was with him could do the work and he gave me their card. ***** gave me his number and stated that the insurance would be the next person I word be hearing from.. The next thing I received was a check for 32.16 which I feel had to be a joke. I called *** and of course he through me off on the adjuster. When I contacted ***** he stated that he went back to the company and stated to them that I needed a New Roof but the person over him did not feel the same way. I don't believe him because a lot of times people will say what you want them to in front of your face and then when they get back to their company it is a different story. I have had Reliable for a number of years and this is terrible how they have treated this way. Here is the policy Number ********** thru Reliable.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the company to replace my roof like ***** stated would happen.. He should not have opened his mouth and said that because now I have no faith in him as an adjuster. And I have no respect for Reliable for taking a poor persons money every month and we got NOTHING in return.

3/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have insurance with them on my home hall,wind,fire, storm,damag. this make thee time this haul hope my house leak. they sent a injester each time they they would not pay me any thing to fix my house my preium is 7.92 mo I been in this insurance for long time

Desired Settlement: enoff money to put a roof on my house and fix my wash rooms.

Business Response: December 8, 2015
*****, ***** B
*** * ***
*********** TX 76364

Dear ***** *****:
We have received your claim for damages that occurred on 11/18/15.
This is to advise you that your claims has been assigned to an Independent Claims Adjuster for as assessment of your damage. The adjuster will be in contact with you regarding your claim.
If you have any questions in the interim, please contact the Independent Claims Adjuster's office at **********
**** ****
Property Claims
attached are claim report with photo's for more ingo (1534519 photos.tif)

Consumer Response: I am 88 years old but I still take off my business. I been with this Insurance co. for a long time. Years ago when I had storm damage, they paid but last two time they did pay but I took my own money and fixed it. Now shingles and roofing has been blowed off. I can't take picture I cant get on the top of the house. A friend went up there and did have a camera they said it was going to be a lot to get it fixed. With labor and all the other things over $7,000 to $8,000. My premium was $5798/mo took the policy out in 2005.
DR: $8,000 or more

3/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern, I have been doing business with Mutual Savings Life quite sometime. But since they moved their home office to St. Louis, MO they are not a good company they use to be. Information for customer they do not give it to you. The information I like to get each time is very lousy. I have another life insurance that is in Tenn I do business with and it gets the information I want easy from them both insurance company workers and the same order so I know it can be done. If Mutual Savings life can’t take care of the information I want I am thinking very much of changing all my insurance with the insurance in Tenn. Let me know if they want to comply or if not I will change. Let me hear from you. Thanks.

Desired Settlement: If Mutual Savings life can’t take care of the information I want I am thinking very much of changing all my insurance with the insurance in Tenn.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/12/28) */ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2015/12/29) */ I had (illegible) BBB of Huntsville Ala. on a complaint on Mutual Savings Life Ins. Since they have their office to St. Louis in while (illegible) they are not the (illegible) company they use to be you ask for (illegible) information and you can't get it. As it is they dont want to give you information you want. ANd the information I want cand be done for I have had another insurance company that will give you what you ask for. I will be looking to hearing from you. Policy No XXXXXXXXXX

1/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe my grandfather ******** ******* had an insurance policy with Mutual Savings. When I went to try to claim the policy I was told that there was not enough information to verify the account. The only information that Mutual Savings said that they had was a P.O. Box that the post office says is now obsolete. I am filing this complaint because I don't see how it is possible for a insurance company not to have any information on their client; a birthday nor social security number could not be verified. I have spent countless hours talking to various individuals...one in particular about a couple of months only to find out nothing was done

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to research this matter and to compare my grandfathers information to the account holders information.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/10/06) */

1/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been with Union National Fire Insurance Company for over 15 years and in these 15 years I have filed a claim two time. Hurricane Patricia blew off shingles on my house and it was windstorm damage to my roof. I contact my two agency ******* ***** and ****** ******* at Union National *** ******** ***** ******** Miss. XXXXX and they came November 1st to take pictures of my roof/pictures of the inside of my closet were windstorm/rain damage was located and pictures of the bedroom room ceiling/kitchen area of water leaks. I filled out all the necessary paper work and my insurance adjusters send all of my paperwork/pictures to Union National Fire Insurance Company to **** ******* property claims XXXXX ******** ****** St. Louis, Mo. and it has been a back and forth since November 2nd. Ms ***** and Ms. ******* has submitted all of the necessary paper work on time and have come by my home two more times for copies of roof repair receipts, took pictures after the repair work was done and as of December 14, I talk to a representative of Union National in St. Louis and she stated to me that they have all of my paper work except the picture of my roof before I had my roof repair. I explain to Ms. ****** that pictures was taken on November 2nd by my two agents from Union National. States I need to contact my agent in Natchez and I called and talk to Ms. ******* and she stated that she has already submit my pictures when she turned in my claim in November 2, 2015 Product_Or_Service: Windstorm damage Order_Number: Claim number-XXXXXXX Account_Number: Policy No. XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I have been compliance with my insurance company. I filled out my proof of loss form, inventory worksheet, agents took photographic pictures to support my claim, I had my roof repair and turn in my cancel check and receipts from my roofer and I was cooperative with everything Union National requested of me. Why have they not honor my claim?

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2016/01/04) */ Yes, i received a check in the amount of $242.66 from Union National Fire Insurance on Monday, December 21. 2015. I reported a lost of over 70 pieces of clothing that was cover with mildrew and could not be cleaned and this is the amount I received. I have had this insurance for over 15 years and was never late with a payment. I would like to say "thank you" to the Better Business Bureau for looking at my case and for your help in this matter. Again, thank you to everyone at the Better Business Bureau and I hope very one have a happy new year. ******* ******

12/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife died and her x was the benefactor of her insurance he died so i sent a death certificate for both of them they finally paid the policy . Then sent me a letter saying he had a policy with her as beneficiary . So i sent in another Death certificate for her ****** ******** my spouse which was married to *** ***** . She was the beneficiary of his policy she is deceased and i am the beneficiary of her policy . they have given me the run around for over a year .

Desired Settlement: Pay the policy i'm sure you were paid for the policy

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/12/11) */ Dear Dispute Resolution Department: Your letter dated December 3, 2015 regarding above complaint was referred to me for review and response. Mr. ******** is inquiring about a claim filed as the result of the death of *** ****** Policy number XXXXXXXXXX was originally issued by United Security Life Insurance Company in the State of Alabama as a Ten Year Pay policy insuring *** ***** for $100.00. The named beneficiary was ****** ****** Several letters were sent requesting a Claimant's Statement to be completed by the primary beneficiary ****** ****** Upon being notified that ****** ***** ******** was deceased, ****** ******** completed the Claimant's Statement and the claim was processed. The Company's Check number XXXXXX was issued December 2, 2015 payable to ****** ******** in the amount of $105.00 Should you have additional questions, you may reach me at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX extension ***** Sincerely, **** ******* Consumer Affairs Specialist Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13, 2015/12/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The company recently paid the claim thanks

12/8/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have this policy that has a disability waiver premium. They were supposed to pay my premium when I became disabled. I've been trying to get them to for 2 or 3 years. I sent them my disability letter, had my doctor fill out a form, and my agent one day told me they were off work one day and someone came in and messed up everything in his desk and threw everything away. I resubmitted this information to them, showing when I first became disabled and that I still am. They sent me a letter saying the policy didn't include the disability waiver. I showed them proof. I feel that they just do not want to honor this contract. They said the letter I have shows incorrect information. Every time I try to contact them, they don't answer their phones. I sit on hold for 20 or 30 minutes, and never get to speak to anyone in the office.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor my contract and my insurance policy.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/02) */ December 2, 2015 Better Business Bureau Serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois 211 N. Broadway, Ste. 2060 Saint Louis, MO XXXXX RE: Case # XXXXXXX: *** ***** Dear Sir/Madam: A complaint filed by Mr. *** ***** has been referred to my attention for review. Mr. ***** states that his policy has disability waiver of premium and has been trying to utilize this benefit for the last few years. He is requesting for his contract to be honored. Policy number XXXXXXXXXX is a Twenty Payment Life policy issued on May 13, 2004. The initial Waiver of Premium form was received December 3, 2015. Several letters were mailed to the insured requesting additional information. The requested documents were never received therefore the case was closed. A second request was received on October 16, 2015. However, the Retirement, Survivors, and Disability Insurance form received from Social Security was dated December 19, 2014. Therefore, we requested a current treating physician's statement indicating that he is still disabled or a copy of the current letter from the Social Security Administration. To date, we have not received a current document. In order to resolve the claim, the requested documents are required. If you or Mr. ***** has additional questions regarding this matter, please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******* ***** Consumer Affairs Specialist

10/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a Insurance policy I wanted to cash in I had on my son when he was born . Notify Mutual saving they sent me a form. went and had it a notary to witness it sign and dated . they said it was in my son name he had to sign and witness . so when and fill out the other form my son signed and notary it and witness it all fill out so got another letter last week and another form saying that it the first to was wrong now got get a notary to sign and witness another form and another witness beside the notary and they are saying it wasn't stamp and seal which both letter were. To me they are just a rip off would not recommend buy their policy . had a problem with my father-in-law after his death. Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: just send me my money on the policy it a lot less than what I paid have a copy of paid policy. tried of going everywhere getting paper signed. my son can't keep missing work

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/15) */

10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I STARTED A POLICY WITH THIS COMPANY IN 2014 FOR RENTERS INSURANCE ON A APARTMENT I HAS BEEN LIVING IN FOR 4 YEARS WITH NO PROBLEMS. MY APARTEMNT HAD BEEN BURGLARIZED 2DAYS STRAIGHT. I SUBMITED A CLAIM TO THE INSURANCE COMPANY. I DID EVERY THING THE INSURANCE COMPANY ASK ME TO DO AND MORE FOR OBTAINING INFORMATION TO SUBMIT MY CLAIM.I PURCHASE A ALARM SYSTEM FOR THE APARTMENT AND BOUGHT OTHER ITEM TO MAKE SURE THE APARTMENT WAS SAFE. THEY DENIED MY CLAIM FOR THE BURGARLY. I ATTEMPTED SEVERAL TIMES TO TALK TO MY AGENT ABOUT THE CLAIM. AND WAS UNSUCCESFAUL OF REACHING HER SEVERAL TIMES. WHEN I FINALLY SPOKE TO HER SHE STATED SHE HAD BEEN ON VACATION. SHE DIDNT LEAVE ANY TYPE OF INFORMATION ON WHO WAS HANDLING MY CASE IN HER ABSENT. I FEEL MY DENIAL WAS NOT FAIR AND UNETHICAL. I BELIEVE THE POLICY WAS A BAIT AND SWITCH. ALSO FALSE ADVERTISING ABOUT THERE COMPANY AND THE BENEFITS THAT THEY OFFER. IF YOU PAYING FOR A BURGARLY AND THEFT POLICY AND IF THOSE THINGS HAPPEN THEY SHOULD BE OBLIGATED TO FULFILL THE REQUEST OF THE ITEMS IN THE POLICY. Product_Or_Service: BURGARLY & THEFT POLICY Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE THIS COMPANY TO FULLFIL THERE OBLIGATIONS OF THE INSURANCE POLICY.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/10/06) */

9/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took out an insurance policy on my father over 60 years ago. At that time, it was in his name; *** ******* His legal name is ******* My father passed in June 2015 and his birth certificate says *********** What we had to do to get that certificate; we had to get a leaf out of the bible and when we did that they told us he could not use the name *** and had to use his legal name. He has no birth certificate in "***". I have been paying reliable with my bank checks with his legal name ever since I had this policy and they have been cashing them but they will not honor his name now because I do not have a birth certificate in ******* On his Death Certificate it has the same Last Name and SS# but they are still not honoring it. I had two policies on my father. One with this company and another with another company. The other company had no problem paying out the policy with the same information.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to pay out on the policy.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/10) */

9/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an insurance policy for my grandson who is autistic and mentally retarded. I got the policy in the late 1990's. I paid the policy off in January of 2010. I had fallen on hard times, and I called the company. I called to ask how much the policy accrued up until now. Every time I call someone asked me for the policy number, then they would tell me they can't tell me how much money is available in the policy. Then they say my grandson is the owner of the policy, which is not true it is a policy I took out on him. I took out the policy, and paid for it. They continuously say its not my policy then hang up on me. My grandson can't even talk because of his mental health issues he's had since birth. The is a nightmare, and I want my money back. I have never felt so disrespected by a company I have been paying money to in my life. I only wanted to borrow $300 against the policy. I need this issue resolved immediately.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back in the policy

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/09/09) */

7/24/2015 Delivery Issues
7/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a notice from this company on June 15th. I spoke to them because it is in regards to an account that is not mine. They told me to just mark it return to sender, which I declined to do as it would affect my mail. It appears that they have an incorrect address for their customer with the same name as mine and may have "Googled" the consumer and got me. I have alerted them to this and notified them that they need to update their records and they refuse. Their trouble shooting is for me to rip it up and throw the notices away as opposed to correcting the address. This means this consumer is not receiving their mailings and the company should take it more seriously that they changed their customers address without notifying them.

Desired Settlement: I would like to stop receiving mail- wipe my address from her account as I do not want to be responsible for any problems that may arise in the future. They should correct their address errors and notify their correct customer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/07/17) */ This correspondence is in reference to you letter dated January 19, 2015 assigned for my review and response on January 30, 2015. The complainant stating that she has received one of our customers information mailed to her by mistake. The complainant is not the same person as the insured listed above. On behalf of our company, I apologize for any miscommunications between the complainant and the Home Office here in St. Louis, MO. We always strive to satisfy our clients, once we are alerted to any situation that may have occurred. I contacted our insures **** M. ***** (Our Insured) to verify her address and realized that we did have the incorrect address on her account. I was able to have the correct address placed onto the account of our customer **** M. *****. The complainant **** ***** (Non Insured) will no longer receive any mail concerning our customer **** M. *****. I hope I have adequately answered all of the concerns of the complaint. Please do not hesitate to contact me, if you need further assistance at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. ****

6/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It is regarding a cash surrender I submitted on March 2, 2015 and I was contacted by Reliable and they needed verification of a name change. I sent a copy of my birth certificate, divorce decree, and marriage license. They did surrender on one policy but they want verification again on the second. I did not change my name after the divorce and I no longer have my first marriage license. They have been billing me with my current name for 17 years.

Desired Settlement: I want them to surrender the second policy so I can cut ties with the company. I am the owner of the policy and I don't understand the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/04/16) */ Dear Sir or Madam: This is a response to your letter dates April 6, 2015 in reference to the case listed above which was referred to my attention. You are inquiring about Policy number XXXXXXXXXX issued to **** M. ******** from The Reliable Life Insurance Company. Our records show that the policy was a 20 Payment Life policy issued December 5, 1997 in the state of Missouri. Our records show **** ******** as the insured and owner of the policy. In order to process the cash surrender we will need legal documentation supporting the name changes from Bridgett to *****. Ms. ***** states that she sent a copy of her Birth Certificate, but we are not able to locate a copy with any of the other documents sent from her. I have enclosed a copy of her marriage certificate, her divorce decree and other corresponding documents from our Company. I've also included another Cash Surrender form. If. Ms. ***** is able to send us a copy of her Birth Certificate or any legal documents supporting the change, it will help move the process along. Should you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******* **** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) At the request of Reliable Insurance I have submitted copies of the above requested documents twice. Once by mail and next by certified mail, which confirmation was sent to me that it was received and by whom. (**** *******) It included a birth certificate, divorce decree, marriage license and a letter from myself to surrender the account. I think this is a poor attempt by the company to delay this process. I can furnish proof of copies of the documents that was mailed to them. It serves no purpose for me to exclude any information that resolves this quickly. Three times the company has responded with, "we are unable to process your request at this time." I have repeatedly made phone calls to them with no avail. By phone I am told they received the above documents and it will take 7 to 10 business days to process or my call will be returned and it's not. I can also furnish proof of the many phone calls that were made to Reliable without a single phone call returned to me. Again, I ask through the Better Business Bureau to surrender the account. **** *****

6/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec. 23, 2014, I requested copies of two insurance policies with Mutual Savings and Life Insurance Company and received a response from **** ********* with their consumer affairs dept.I still don't have my copies of my certificates!As of today, March 2, 2015. Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I want the certificates replacements I PAID FOR!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/03/12) */ Your letter dated March 3, 2015, regarding the above referenced file was referred to my attention for review and response. ***** ******* is inquiring about his request for a replacement certificate for policy number XXXXXXXXXX. The original of the attached copy of the certificate which indicates the beneficiary Change to **** ******* was mailed to ***** ******* on Monday, February 23, 2015. I am mailing another certificate today, March 10, 2015 to ***** ******* at *** ********** *** Nashville, TN XXXXX. Should you have additional questions, you may reach me at X XXX XXX XXXX ext ***** Sincerely, **** *******

1/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
12/22/2014 Delivery Issues
10/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
10/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** **** and Reliable Life Insurance Company repeatedly ignore my requests for a copy of #XXXXXXXXXX for $1000 with/showing my grandmother's signature.

Desired Settlement: I want a copy of the original policy with/showing my grandmother's signature and the value of the policy paid to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/23) */ Your letter dated Oct 15, 2014 regarding the above referenced file was referred to my attention for review and response. ****** ****** is inquiring Policy number XXXXXXXXXX which she states her grandmother took out on her. She states she has been trying to get a copy and that her requests have been ignored. Our records show that Policy Number XXXXXXXXXX was issued February 1, 1973 in the State of Missouri as a Whole Life policy insuring ****** ****** in the amount of $1,000. She was 14 years old when this policy was issued. The monthly premium was $1.76. Whole life policies require premiums to be paid for the entire life of the insured. A copy of the original application is attached. Due to the age of the policy, we can only provide specimen policy language and a policy certificate which are also attached. The policy was paid on up to May 1, 1987. When the policy lapsed for non payment, it went on to the extended term provisions in the policy. As the table of guaranteed values shows, for 14 years of premiums paid into the policy, the cash value will be depleted. The current cash value is $1.16. If I can be of further assistance, please contact me at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX extension ***** Thank you. Sincerely, **** *******

10/13/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a loyal customer to mutual savings for years! I filed my first claim with them months ago, I have been getting the run around every since! I've paid them for countless months for homeowners insurance and it's a shame that they won't hold up to their end of the deal! I felt safe and I trusted this company and my agent until I filed this claim! My children and I have taken a huge lost and yet their actions show that they don't care! My agent was persistent in picking up my payments from month to month but haven't tried to collect on the policy after I made a claim! I feel like I have been robbed twice, by the people who broke into my home and by this insurance company! I will never do business of any sort with untrustworthy, unreliable insurance companies! Product_Or_Service: Insurance policy Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: My insurance policy is for $10000. $5000 for fire & $5000 for burglary. I want $5000!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/10/07) */ The consumer's claim was paid on October 2, 2014. ****

9/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Citing Delay of Payment of Claim#XXXXXXXXXX Reliable Life Ins. has received everything that they needed on the claim as of 7/18/14. I've been told by numerous employees different information over the last month. They're incompetent and can't seem to process the information that they have. The bottom line is that it has become clear to me that their sole intent is to circumvent paying this legitimate claim. The last email from the adjuster who is handling the claim states that they need a divorce decree between **** **** (the insured and deceased) and ****** ****. The only problem with that request is that ****** **** is my wife and I'm **** ****'s son. Can you see the obvious incompetence here? There are so many unhappy customers that are in the same boat with me regarding this company. They have bad reviews all over the internet. Most of their customers have similar issues with the company giving them the run around and having them chase their tales. Please help shed the light on this company because there is something going on that seems to be very suspicious in the way that they are conducting business. Product_Or_Service: Life Insurance Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: D I need the claim paid out immediately. They are beyond the time frame that has been stated by numerous employees. They've failed to process the claim efficiently and I feel like I work for their company since I've had to practically do the work for the adjuster that has been handling the claim!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/09/26) */ This letter is in response to your inquiry on the above policy number Complaint XXXXXXX was first received in the office of Consumer Affairs on September 25, 2014. We did not receive the first or second notices of the complaint. The complaint is addressed to Mutual Savings Life. Policy XXXXXXXXXX insuring **** L. *** was a Whole Life policy issued April 21, 1975 by United Insurance Company of America in the state of Oklahoma. The policy was later assumed by Reliable Life Insurance Company. The named beneficiary was ******** ******* who predeceased the insured. When the Small Estate Affidavit was received naming ******* **** as the next of kin there were issues obtaining his address and contact information causing delays. Check XXXXXX made payable to ******* **** was issued August 8, 2014 in the amount of $2,510.06. The check was cashed August 15, 2014. A screen shot of the check is enclosed. I apologize that we did not receive the first two complaint notices causing a delay in the response. My contact information is XXX-XXX-XXXX EXT ***** or fax XXX-XXX-XXXX or *********@kemper.com Sincerely, ***** ******** Consumer Affairs Specialist

9/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took out a life insurance policy for my husband ******* ****, DOB X-X-XXXX). He passed away December 26, 2013. I'm trying to find out where my check is. They said they sent it out May 16, 2014.

Desired Settlement: I would like my check.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/25) */ I received a complaint filed on June 11, 2014 for my review and response on June 16, 2014. In this letter the complaint is stating that he never received check number XXXXXX issued on May 16, 2014 paid to ****** **** in the amount of $115.66. In response to the complainant's request we have researched and come to the conclusion listed below. Check number XXXXXX was returned back to our company due to an addressed error on June 04, 2014. The check has been reissued under check number XXXXXX in the amount of $117.08 plus $1.42 interest added on June 17, 2014. I have enclosed a copy of the application, check screen print and a copy of the voided check for your review and records. We apologize for any inconveniences that may have occurred. I hope I have adequately answered all of the concerns of the complainant. Please do not hesitate to contact me, if you need further assistance at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ***** Sincerely, **** ******** Consumer Affairs Specialist Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/07/23) */ I got the $117. I am looking for a check of $1,174 I still have not received. The issue is not resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2014/09/11) */ 9/11/2014: I have not received the $1,174 still owed. I talked to a lady in Taledaga and she was not able to help. I am waiting for payment on three other policies but do not know the total amount still owed. Payments were made by ******* **** ******* from $1,300 in benefits for the funeral home and grave site. 9/11/2014: I gave the policies to a lady at the Taledaga office and she was going to submit the claim and send to St.Louis. I have these additional policy #'s XXXXXXXXXX, XXXXXXXXXX-XXX, XXXXXXXXXXX, and XXXXXXXXXXX. 9/11/2014: I still feel they owe me more money. I will wait for the agent from the Talledega office to contact me to set up an appointment. 9/18/2014: I am waiting for the representative from Mutual Savings Life to address my questions. Final Business Response /* (1000, 21, 2014/09/11) */ 9/11/2014: Left voice mail for Dean Williams XXX-XXX-XXXX ext 4653. 9/11/2014: I do not see where we still owe and additional settlement on claim XXXXXXXXX. We resent the check to the new address for $115.00 with $1.42 interest included. I have checked and do not see any additional claims. If she has other polices she can contact XXX-XXX-XXXX to submit a claim. 9/11/2014: Mediator left voice mail for Dean Willams. 9/11/2014: Policy XXXXXXXXXX was paid to funeral home for $752.47 on 2/2014. Policy XXXXXXXXXXX-XX was converted to XXXXXXXXXX and was paid to Ms. **** for $117.42. XXXXXXXXXX is in the name of ****** **** *** her son and not her husbands name. A letter was sent on May 21, 2014. I will contact the Taledaga office and have an agent call her to set up an appointment to visit her to further explain her policies.

8/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Changed banks twice and mailed the form to corporate office to update November 2013. After noticing it wasnt being deducted out of my account I called corporate again to be informed they never received it. This told me that they were miss handling my mail. After going on and on with them I gave up and contacted my local Sikeston, MO office who submitted the form for me and it was finally updated in December. My son was killed in March 21,2014. I notified them and started the claim process. Each time I spoke with someone they stated my son wasnt on my policy. I called my local Sikeston MO branch and requested a copy showing both of my sons were on the policy with term riders. I submitted my documents multiple times because they would mail letter stating they didnt receive them or request the same information. I kept most of the letters from them to cover myself. I continued to call to follow up assuming that my account was being notated like most customer service departments. On July 3,2014 I received a letter stating death claim denied due to policy lapse. Which is not my fault. Ive called them to be constantly transferred but noone wants to stop and see that due to their mishandling of mail that caused the policy lapse. Product_Or_Service: policy Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like to settle the death claim with them paying the policy or at least 75%. This policy lapse was due to their mishandling of mail and no fault of mine because I did mail the form multiple times and have been a customer for 14 years.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/04) */ Please be advised that are records show the policy in question lapsed for non-payment in December 2013. The electronic transfer forms were sent to the insured twice only to be returned by the post office that we had an incorrect adddess in the file. The forms were sent to the address shown on the return from the post office in March 2014. Meanwhile the policy was still lapsed and would have required a premium payment in order for the policy to be reinstataed and to be placed on eletronic transfer. To date the policy is still lapsed. Therefore, unfortuneately, there is not benefit for the death of Ms. ********'s son as the rider is not in benefit once the policy is lapsed. I regret i cannot provide you with a positive respoonse. **** ********* Consumer Affairs

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/24/2014 Delivery Issues
4/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2014 Delivery Issues
3/17/2014 Delivery Issues
2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/18/2014 Delivery Issues
1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/23/2013 Delivery Issues
12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Mutual Savings Life
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart