BBB Accredited Business since

Handyman Connection

Phone: (636) 305-7300 Fax: (636) 305-7301 View Additional Phone Numbers 1736 W Park Center Dr Ste 200, Fenton, MO 63026 http://st-louis.handymanconnection.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Handyman Connection meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Handyman Connection include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Handyman Connection
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 20, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993
Business Management
Andy Hough, President
Contact Information
Principal: Andy Hough, President
Business Category

Home Repair & Maintenance Carpenters Contractor - Remodel & Repair Home Improvements Painting Contractors Handyman Services


Additional Locations

  • 1736 W Park Center Dr Ste 200

    Fenton, MO 63026 (636) 305-1378 (636) 305-1352 (636) 305-1356 (636) 305-3462 (636) 282-8639 (636) 980-9900 (314) 344-3200 (636) 447-3131 (636) 305-7300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with the company to build me a patio fence. The workman came and put up a different fence without consulting me and it was extremely shoddy work. I told the company about a week ago and they said they would come out and remove it and we would be done with it. They haven't come back and I haven't heard a peep from them. I want someone else to come and put a fence up but they cannot until this fence is down. They have not contacted me and have not performed as they were contracted to. I have not paid them anything. The man they sent absolutely agreed this poor fence was their fault. I need this fence taken down and get someone else to install a new fence.

Desired Settlement: I want them to get out here and remove them to fence.

Business Response:

Our contract with the customer was to replace 20' of wood fencing and paint red.  The labor price after our coupon was $850.  Our contracts are for labor and the customer agrees to reimburse the Craftsman for materials purchased for the job.  Our Craftsman misunderstood the customer, who had requested a privacy fence, and assumed the slat fence he purchased was a better "privacy" fence than the shadow box style fence he removed.  At job completion, the customer was not happy with the fence style change.  Because of the change in fence style and some of the installation details (which could have been rectified), the customer has refused to pay for any labor or the $250 spent on new fencing.  

Currently, the debris from the original fence demolition is still on the customer property.  If we remove this material, the customer will be in the exact same condition as she was before we started, with a fence in place.  A new contractor would then need to remove and dispose of the existing fence before constructing a new one.  

We can do either:

1.  remove the debris from the original fence demolition and dispose of it at no expense to the customer  (this leaves the customer in the same condition as she was before we did work)

2.  remove the new fence and dispose of it, along with removing and disposing of the original fence debris.  The charge for this would be $240 labor plus $40 disposal fee.

 

******* *****, Owner, Handyman Connection

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This response from the business was totally out of line. I also want to make it known that I am in the final stages of lung cancer. This whole situation with this fence has added more stress into my life. I was never told that I had to pay for labor, if I would’ve been told that I would’ve never gone through with it. All I want is for Handyman Connection to remove the fence that was installed at no cost because of the shoddy craftsmanship. I am not paying any money for this. I do not want to pay for something that doesn’t meet any kind of standards. For me to pay for their shoddy work removed is ludicrous. The work is totally unacceptable. It has gaps, is uneven and bowed. I have used Handyman Connections several times in my home and have never had a problem and I have always paid for their services.


Sincerely,

****** ******

Business Response:

If we agree to do what the customer is asking, we will have removed her original fence and disposed of the debris with no compensation.  If she hires a different contractor to install a new fence, they will have to remove and dispose of the fence we installed. Removing the fence we installed will require the same labor and disposal cost as removing the original fence.  The customer was referred to Chesterfield Deck and Fence with the expectation that she intended to have the fence we installed replaced.  

If the customer agrees to pay us for fence demolition and disposal, we will remove and dispose of the fence we installed along with the original fence.   If not, we will come by and remove and dispose of the debris from the original fence at no charge.  This would leave the customer in exactly the position she was in before we became involved.

We would be happy to arbitrate this case with a BBB arbitrator in order to resolve this issue.  This customer is basically asking for the demolition and disposal of her fence for free.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Handyman Connection
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart