BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2015

Five Star Home Exteriors, LLC

Phone: (314) 856-9665Fax: (314) 985-0821View Additional Phone Numbers100 Killarney Ct, BarnhartMO 63012-2808

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2015

BBB has determined that Five Star Home Exteriors, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Five Star Home Exteriors, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Five Star Home Exteriors, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/28/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
01/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had Leaf Shelter Gutter Guards installed. Company gave lifetime guarantee that if we had problems with them they would come fix for free.
We hired Five Star in March of 2013 for our gutter cleaning issues, they told us Leaf Shelter Gutter Guards would be great for us, would never clog again and we would never have to have our gutters cleaned. They gave us a written guarantee lifetime or they would come and clean them for free.

Within a six months they started dripping over the side. In the winter our side walks froze with an inch of ice from them over flowing. By March of 2014 they were overflowing in many spots so bad they started flooding our porches and causing damage. *******************************************

I finally called them in April and left a message on what was happening and asked them to return our call. I received no return. I called 5 times and emailed them and still no return. I was able to get someone who answered the phone one time and told them what was going on, he told me they would handle it and no one ever called back.

I then went found the OWNER, ***** ******* ****** personal cell phone number and called 4 times and left messages. No response... this has now been 4 months of no help.. So before I take legal action I am posting here to see if the BBB can help us.

Desired Settlement
Refund or removel/replacement or them to honor their written guarantee that if our gutters overflow they will come clean them for free, lifetime.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** / Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@fivestarext.com
I have read the above statement. I have personally never gotten a phone call from this customer on cleaning out their Leaf Shelter. It sounds to me that they are just upset with what is going on. I always tell everyone there is no perfect system and there are pros and cons to each. My cell number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Is that the number you called or was it one of my sales guys that did not return your call? If that is the case I do apologize. We do honor the warranty all I need you to do is call me and I will set up a time to clean them off for you. I would hope if I did that you would take this off my record. We have been doing this for over 6 years and have have only one complaint. That should prove to everyone that we do take care of calls and warranty issues. I do apologize about your frustration but I do need someone to call me direct or I never know. Once you do that you will see that we take care of our written warranty and it would be nice if you would take this complaint back off because this does hurt my family owned business, wife and two children.

Thank You,

***** ******
Owner/ President
Five Star Home Exteriors, LLC

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not true. I have been calling and emailing since April. I then called your personal cell phone with your message saying this is ***** with Five Star...

Since your response to the BBB complaint I have called your office, emailed you and called the same personal cell phone you left that I have been calling. You are not responding. You're not the only one with a family. You took our money, gave us a guarantee that you are not honoring. At this point we have no choice but to hire another company and ask that you give us our money back for the product that you sold us that doesn't work.

Proof that I called you every day this week. http://s1062.photobucket.com/user/arr0gant1/library/

Final Consumer Response
9/25/2014: Mediator sent email to consumer.

9/25/2014: (*** ****** President) I am still faced with the inability to contact the owner. I would like the product removed and our money refunded or he can make an appointment to return and fix the problem. I will gather and forward the receipts for the installation.

09/30/2014: I will be okay with him coming back to fix the gutter issue. I will be expecting his call to set up an appointment.

10/02/2014: He has not called to set up an appointment and fear he will not follow through. I have tried so many times to get in touch with him.

10/07/2014: He has not called to set up an appointment. We are going to hire another contractor over concerns if we wait any longer we will have water damage. We will proceed with small claims court to get our money back.

Final Business Response
9/26/2014: Mediator called and left voice mail for business.

9/30/2014: Mediator called and left voice mail message for business owner, ***** ********

9/30/2014: I need to go out and look at the issue. I've been using this product for years with great success. Send me an email with Mr Blooms contact info and I will contact him for an appointment.

10/03/2014: Mediator called business to confirm contact information to call and arrange appointment with consumer.

Consumer Response
01/06/15: What we would like is to receive a refund for the gutter guard of $800. The gutter guard being removed solved the issue. We would like to be made whole, the cost to remove the gutter guard + the $800 for installation. We have not taken them to small claims court.

01/09/15: No! I feel terrible about this. He came out and cleaned the gutters and installed the gutter guards. We had a warranty and he was called many times to come back to address the issue and just walked away. We had to pay to have them taken down. I want our original resolution and the money refunded. They want us to pay for a product that didn't work. My bottom line is our money back or don't contact us again.

01/12/15: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message.

1/12/15: No! and I do not want to hear back from him. They never worked and water just poured over. I will only accept a full refund for the $800 installation and $451.25 to remove them.


Business Response
01/08/15: I am willing to work with him and I feel they are reaching for the moon. I did come out and clean out the gutter and flush the downspouts. I have installed 1000's of feet of this product with no issues. I would be willing to to refund the $451.25 they paid to remove the gutter guard and resolve the complaint.

01/09/15: Mediator called business and left voice mail message.

01/12/15: We took time to put up the gutter guard and clean the gutters and downspouts. I am willing to work with him but do not feel I should refund the entire amount. I fired a production manger and am willing to offer him a refund. He used the product for a season and benefited by the leaf guard. We made a mistake by not getting in touch with him. For the time he used the product I feel $600 is fair to resolve the complaint.

01/12/15: Mediator called business and updated with consumer response of only a full refund will be acceptable.


Consumer Response
Attached are the documents you requested. Also, I checked their webpage and they are STILL listed as BBB accredited. http://www.fivestarext.com/

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Improvements

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/04/2009Business started: 01/05/2009
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Damon B Shultz (CEO / President)
Contact Information
Tim Ballard (General Contractor) Rodney Hauffhines (Marketing Director) Scott Keithline (General Contractor) Sam Palazzolo (Production Manager) Greg Peirick (Vice President) Amy Shultz (CFO) Tom Shumann (General Contractor)
Business Category

Home Improvements

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Five Star Home Exteriors, LLC

100 Killarney Ct

Barnhart, MO 63012-2808

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 100 Killarney Ct 

    Barnhart, MO 63012-2808(314) 856-9665
    (314) 600-4470

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Five Star Home Exteriors, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (314) 600-4470
  • (314) 856-9665
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Improvements

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.