BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2015

Five Star Home Exteriors, LLC

Phone: (314) 856-9665Fax: (314) 985-0821

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/28/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
01/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had Leaf Shelter Gutter Guards installed. Company gave lifetime guarantee that if we had problems with them they would come fix for free.
We hired Five Star in March of 2013 for our gutter cleaning issues, they told us Leaf Shelter Gutter Guards would be great for us, would never clog again and we would never have to have our gutters cleaned. They gave us a written guarantee lifetime or they would come and clean them for free.

Within a six months they started dripping over the side. In the winter our side walks froze with an inch of ice from them over flowing. By March of 2014 they were overflowing in many spots so bad they started flooding our porches and causing damage. *******************************************

I finally called them in April and left a message on what was happening and asked them to return our call. I received no return. I called 5 times and emailed them and still no return. I was able to get someone who answered the phone one time and told them what was going on, he told me they would handle it and no one ever called back.

I then went found the OWNER, ***** ******* ****** personal cell phone number and called 4 times and left messages. No response... this has now been 4 months of no help.. So before I take legal action I am posting here to see if the BBB can help us.

Desired Settlement
Refund or removel/replacement or them to honor their written guarantee that if our gutters overflow they will come clean them for free, lifetime.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** / Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@fivestarext.com
I have read the above statement. I have personally never gotten a phone call from this customer on cleaning out their Leaf Shelter. It sounds to me that they are just upset with what is going on. I always tell everyone there is no perfect system and there are pros and cons to each. My cell number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Is that the number you called or was it one of my sales guys that did not return your call? If that is the case I do apologize. We do honor the warranty all I need you to do is call me and I will set up a time to clean them off for you. I would hope if I did that you would take this off my record. We have been doing this for over 6 years and have have only one complaint. That should prove to everyone that we do take care of calls and warranty issues. I do apologize about your frustration but I do need someone to call me direct or I never know. Once you do that you will see that we take care of our written warranty and it would be nice if you would take this complaint back off because this does hurt my family owned business, wife and two children.

Thank You,

***** ******
Owner/ President
Five Star Home Exteriors, LLC

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not true. I have been calling and emailing since April. I then called your personal cell phone with your message saying this is ***** with Five Star...

Since your response to the BBB complaint I have called your office, emailed you and called the same personal cell phone you left that I have been calling. You are not responding. You're not the only one with a family. You took our money, gave us a guarantee that you are not honoring. At this point we have no choice but to hire another company and ask that you give us our money back for the product that you sold us that doesn't work.

Proof that I called you every day this week. http://s1062.photobucket.com/user/arr0gant1/library/

Final Consumer Response
9/25/2014: Mediator sent email to consumer.

9/25/2014: (*** ****** President) I am still faced with the inability to contact the owner. I would like the product removed and our money refunded or he can make an appointment to return and fix the problem. I will gather and forward the receipts for the installation.

09/30/2014: I will be okay with him coming back to fix the gutter issue. I will be expecting his call to set up an appointment.

10/02/2014: He has not called to set up an appointment and fear he will not follow through. I have tried so many times to get in touch with him.

10/07/2014: He has not called to set up an appointment. We are going to hire another contractor over concerns if we wait any longer we will have water damage. We will proceed with small claims court to get our money back.

Final Business Response
9/26/2014: Mediator called and left voice mail for business.

9/30/2014: Mediator called and left voice mail message for business owner, ***** ********

9/30/2014: I need to go out and look at the issue. I've been using this product for years with great success. Send me an email with Mr Blooms contact info and I will contact him for an appointment.

10/03/2014: Mediator called business to confirm contact information to call and arrange appointment with consumer.

Consumer Response
01/06/15: What we would like is to receive a refund for the gutter guard of $800. The gutter guard being removed solved the issue. We would like to be made whole, the cost to remove the gutter guard + the $800 for installation. We have not taken them to small claims court.

01/09/15: No! I feel terrible about this. He came out and cleaned the gutters and installed the gutter guards. We had a warranty and he was called many times to come back to address the issue and just walked away. We had to pay to have them taken down. I want our original resolution and the money refunded. They want us to pay for a product that didn't work. My bottom line is our money back or don't contact us again.

01/12/15: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message.

1/12/15: No! and I do not want to hear back from him. They never worked and water just poured over. I will only accept a full refund for the $800 installation and $451.25 to remove them.


Business Response
01/08/15: I am willing to work with him and I feel they are reaching for the moon. I did come out and clean out the gutter and flush the downspouts. I have installed 1000's of feet of this product with no issues. I would be willing to to refund the $451.25 they paid to remove the gutter guard and resolve the complaint.

01/09/15: Mediator called business and left voice mail message.

01/12/15: We took time to put up the gutter guard and clean the gutters and downspouts. I am willing to work with him but do not feel I should refund the entire amount. I fired a production manger and am willing to offer him a refund. He used the product for a season and benefited by the leaf guard. We made a mistake by not getting in touch with him. For the time he used the product I feel $600 is fair to resolve the complaint.

01/12/15: Mediator called business and updated with consumer response of only a full refund will be acceptable.


Consumer Response
Attached are the documents you requested. Also, I checked their webpage and they are STILL listed as BBB accredited. http://www.fivestarext.com/

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Improvements

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.